Dog food, Discussion of dog food type/brand

xDingx
post Sep 26 2011, 09:52 PM

613 posts

Thanks for all the info regarding the acana grassland...i edy gv up searching for this brand n bought the orijen regional poultry fish & whole egg..mixed with go salmon & oatmeal..my girl love the food so much..haha.. =)

This post has been edited by xDingx: Sep 26 2011, 09:53 PM
xDingx
post Sep 27 2011, 11:01 AM

613 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Sep 27 2011, 10:05 AM)
What do you think of Addiction Salmon Bleu Pupp?
My girl did not do well with Addiction Salmon, i fed this brand to her previously, she produced soft stool...so i dun think this brand suit her...hehe....

Btw, different pup may react differently tongue.gif
xDingx
post Jun 18 2012, 10:44 AM

613 posts

Anyone can tell where can i get Annamaet Grain Free kibble?
xDingx
post Jul 23 2012, 05:14 PM

613 posts

QUOTE(jccute @ Jul 12 2012, 12:13 AM)

You may rotate the same source of protein only. Not different source of protein. From chicken to fish then to other source of protein just increasing the chances of your dog getting allergy. Stick will 1 protein source only. Unless they develope allergy reaction, do not intend to change the protein source. Keep changing will cause your dog allergy and end up no food for your dog. Then your dog need to eat specific diet which is very very expensive.

Sorry but not to offend. Just want to know where you get this info? coz from wat i read online, i found this:

"At least three or four different foods (different main meat source and different main ingredients). More is better. You can certainly reuse a good food though, especially if your dog does particularly well on it. You could choose, for example, to feed food A for one bag then change to food B – go back to food A, then to food C and so on. This satisfies the criteria of avoiding constant or prolonged exposure to a particular set of ingredients."

"Doesn’t changing a dog’s diet increase its risk of allergies?
This is a common myth. Changing protein sources (species) on a routine basis is one of the best ways to avoid continuous exposure to the same ingredients… a major cause of canine allergies."

They mentioned that we need to rotate to the kibble with as much as different ingredients...the kibble rotation should be on periodic basis, not too often.

Source:
dogfoodanalysis
dogfoodadvisor

xDingx
post Sep 12 2012, 06:13 PM

613 posts

QUOTE(kueyteowlou @ Sep 12 2012, 05:47 PM)
anyone got feed their doggie eat BARF?
i used to self prepare and feed my furkid BARF until she 2 years old, now change to kibble so that she can have other nutrition...mayb will change bec to BARF feeding after 1 year tongue.gif

Btw, can go HERE for BARF discussion. Although the thread is not active, but there got lot of useful information.
xDingx
post Sep 14 2012, 05:29 PM

613 posts

QUOTE(Xai-V-iaX @ Sep 14 2012, 02:13 PM)
Eukanuba if I'm not mistaken falls under the 6-Star rated PREMIUM dog food category.

A good choice indeed if you ask me
Are you sure Eukanuba is a PREMIUM dog food?? It is one of the worse kibble brands doh.gif

You can see Here for some reviews on some Eukanuba dog food.

This post has been edited by xDingx: Sep 14 2012, 05:31 PM
xDingx
post Feb 7 2013, 03:18 PM

613 posts

QUOTE(queenbee84 @ Feb 7 2013, 01:18 PM)
hi all.. New member at this forum. Stumbled upon this thread while looking for pro 'raw diet' members in Malaysia.

I'm surprised no one has mentioned about raw feeding here. I would  really encourage all dog lovers out there to start RAW DIET feeding coz  honestly, it's the best thing you can do for your dogs!!  rclxms.gif

Google or YouTube RAW DIET and PREY MODEL DIET. After reading the benefits of it, and the dangers we put our dogs through with "Fast food" aka commercial diet , i am really happy about switching to raw diet..and so is my husky! smile.gif) Commercial diets are almost equivalent to feeding McDs or Maggi mee in human terms. Why do you think there is so much more cancers and horrible diseases in our furry friends in the past 50-60 years? (Is it just coincidence that dogs started being commercially fed ~70 years ago?) Seriously... no matter how high the quality is, you have no idea what is being put inside these packed foods.  shakehead.gif  http://rawfeddogs.org/toxic.html
Benefits from feeding raw:
-Great teeth from the cleaning motion of chewing through bones, fat and muscle
-Tiny poo - virtually everything eaten is digested, unlike with commercial dog food! It's not stinky, and biodegrades into the earth
-Amazingly soft and shiny coat
-No doggy smell - at all!
-Peace of mind, knowing what I am feeding my dog
-A more natural diet, eating what dogs and their ancestors have eaten for thousands of years until the very recent invention of kibble and canned food
-An outlet for destructive behaviour such as chewing, ripping and tearing behaviours, leaving your dog less likely to destroy household items and also leaving him a calmer dog
-A slow rate of growth as a puppy, reducing the chance for hip/elbow dysplasia and other conditions that can be worsened by fast growth

It's not about just feeding "plain meat", or "just a bone" everyday. The prey model diet consists of 80% muscled meat, 10% bones, and 10% organs, mimicking what a wolf might eat in the wild. As this is a holistic overall approach to your pets' wellbeing and health, i also add some vitamin B tablets, and a fish oil capsule.

Don't just take it from me, Do your thorough research and read up about this before starting. it gets easier in a few days to figure out meat planning menu and portions etc (and actually fun!)  nod.gif

here are some links to Raw dieting:

1) http://www.bravorawdiet.com/BravoBeginningsDogs.pdf
2) http://rawfed.com/myths/#articles
3) http://rawfeddogs.org/rawguide.html
4) http://puppybutt.weebly.com/uploads/7/6/9/..._raw_rv.4.1.pdf
5) http://preymodelraw.com/how-to-get-started/
There is a thread discussing BARF feeding here.

0.0322sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:06 AM