Dog food, Discussion of dog food type/brand

xDingx
post Feb 8 2011, 04:15 PM

613 posts

Hi All,

I'm currently feeding my 1 year old schnauzr BARF, and planning to switch her diet to kibble as her poo is kinda dry when she is on BARF, and i believe that this is not a healthy sign....

However, I searched around and couldnt make decision which kibble to go for. Am looking for a kibble that is excellent for a dog's health and its skin and coat, and also, prefer if the dog wont produce a VERY smelly poo after eating the kibble. My dog cant eat fish based kibble as she will produce soft poo...i tried to feed Acana Pacifica before....
Is Acana Grasslands good? anyone tried?

In addition, I know that i have to brush my dog's teeth more often if compare to feeding BARF.....any brand of tooth paste recommended? and where can i get it....? (sorry, a bit out of topic tongue.gif )

Thanks blush.gif
xDingx
post Feb 8 2011, 06:40 PM

613 posts

QUOTE(Divas @ Feb 8 2011, 06:06 PM)
I would have thought just adding more moisture to your BARF would solve the problem.

However kibble is much less hassle. Ingredients wise Acana Grasslands is a great food, as long as you don't mind the high protein (which you would be getting from a BARF diet anyway so makes a lot of sense in your situation). I don't have any practical experience with it, but with an ingredients list like that, you should expect only good things. However a word of caution - it is often the healthier, more natural and less grain foods that can cause smellier poop, however in my opinion if you pick the poop up as soon as it is done and flush it... no more smell, no problem smile.gif. Sadly though, as far as food is concerned, when trying to avoid smelly poop, it is a case of trial and error as each dog reacts differently to every food so it really depends what works for you and your dog.

If you feed your dog the kibble dry and give rawhide (or raw bones seeing as you are already doing so, i assume) there is no need to brush your dogs teeth any more regularly than you would feeding BARF (it is the bone chewing that cleans the teeth which you can continue to give even after switching to kibble). I prefer to let my dogs chew things and clean their teeth very rarely (only if i see areas where their chewing isn't doing enough), not only does it keep their teeth clean but it keeps them quiet for a while and by constantly using interesting shaped and different textured chew things it helps keeps their mind active as well.
If you choose to feed wet/canned food (which i highly don't recommend) you have to clean your dog's teeth a lot more often (even if they chew things) as wet food really really builds up the gunk and causes rotting/black/dead/decayed teeth way way way to early in life otherwise.
Thank you Divas, i though u r expert in Kibble, but u also know well for BARF rclxms.gif

Normally i bought the BARF from furrenz.com.....and i will prepare the BARF by myself too...how to add more moisture to the BARF? what ingredient can i add to increase the moisture of the BARF?

Btw, if feeding kibble, the moisture that the dry kibble contain is much much lesser than BARF, why the dog's poo will not tat hard? and do v need to increase the moisture to our dog if v feed kibble? any supplement?

This post has been edited by xDingx: Feb 8 2011, 06:41 PM
xDingx
post Feb 18 2011, 11:53 AM

613 posts

Anyone knows when will this Acana Ranchlands will out and arrive Malaysia? Wait this out, then i will change from raw food to kibble biggrin.gif
xDingx
post Feb 22 2011, 07:39 PM

613 posts

Anyone knows where can i buy this Wellness dog food at KL area? smile.gif
xDingx
post Feb 28 2011, 10:36 PM

613 posts

Dear all,

Want to ask that is high protein dog kibble or fish based kibble tends to cause a dog eat its stool? I had juz changed from BARF to kible, wellness core ocean formula mixed with go! Wild salmon. But I noticed that my pup, an 1 year old schnauzer eat her stool..disgusting! I wish I could pick up her stiool asap after she done her busness, but she normally poo at afternoon which I out for work, and midnight like 4-5am which I still can notice she was doing her business and I can wake up to pick up her stool and flush to the toilet..Btw, mayb a bit out of topic, I would oso like to ask is there any way to "adjust" my pup's poo poo time so that she will poo just soon after her meal?

xDingx
post Feb 28 2011, 11:27 PM

613 posts

QUOTE(muse@muse @ Feb 28 2011, 10:50 PM)
Reason yr dog eat's it's  own poo, is because the food it's not really digested fully,therefore it eats it's poo...there are yogurt powder to feed your dog to help them better digest the food to prevent it from eating the poo....or the other reason its coz it's hungry...

I use to train my dog, after each meal i bring him out to the grass and say poo poo....after a while he gets it....Now i ask wanna poo poo?he'll run to the dog....

At age 1 u still can train yr dog...i got mine @ 9 mths learn obedience and tricks just fine....

Patience, love and repeat the commands will do... tongue.gif
but my pup didnt have poo eating problem when she is on BARF...and now she is on kibble, i think i give sufficient food for her...70g kibble per meal (my girl is 4.5kg), i gv my dog 2 meals a day.. or maybe i just transfer from BARF to kibble, so her stomach cant digest well? and for the yogurt..i think v can oni gv plain yogurt right? may i know where can i get this plain yogurt? went to several supermarkets i oni can find the flavoured yogurt but not plain yogurt..

This post has been edited by xDingx: Feb 28 2011, 11:53 PM
xDingx
post Mar 1 2011, 09:57 AM

613 posts

QUOTE(RA54 @ Mar 1 2011, 02:51 AM)
Hello xDingx,

my shihtzu used to eat her own stool too! i was quite alarmed and surprised. It's actually a "quite" common condition called coprophagia. It's sorta like your dog's way of telling you they're not getting the full nutrients ingested from the food that they've just consumed or simply a result of them eating way too fast so not fully broken down and traces of it are in the stool.

As you mentioned, because of the switch from BARF to kibbles, perhaps its because she's gobbling it down too fast ( think about it, we do eat our koko krunch faster than biting on nasi lemak's chicken rendang) . What I used to do when I noticed she's gobbling down her food, i threw a small bouncy ball in her bowl. She somehow never figured out to just remove the ball and put up with the difficultly to maneuver around the ball for her food - which helped to slow down her eating. smile.gif

Also it would take her a long while to get used to going back to kibbles if she was on BARF. I first noticed this when i recently fed her back with emergency kibbles cause I was late with my groceries shopping for their food. Fed her at 5pm, and at 10pm she vomitted it all out, and the kibbles were still round and intact. Just shows how long it actually takes for them to break down kibbles - hence, slower nutrients ingestion. So perhaps give her awhile and her body will get used to the slower absorption rate? The whole eating their own stool ways do go away on its own for some(as shared by friends) but mine was resolved simply by switching diets to a suitable one. You can also buy these tablets called ForBid that u mix with their food. It makes their stool "unappetizing". Adding to that, perhaps read more on Wellness as well. Wasn't very good for mine sad.gif

As for yogurt, there are also capsules that you can buy which contains the same kinda stuffs. But Marigold Natural Low Fat is good too - most supermakrets have them, even petrol stations. I share a small tub every few days with my two dogs and myself. Just make sure it says contains live cultures or that probatics stuffs. ideally though, would be to just make em yourself. Very easy, just get the kit from one of those organic shops.

Hope that helps!  thumbup.gif
Thank you so much for the useful information notworthy.gif

I not sure wether my pup gobbling too fast or not, but i can notice that she was chewing the kibble when she eating...

Something come to my concern in ur statement, is Wellness kibble not good? I read from dogfoodanalysis.com, this Wellness kibble is ranked as 6 stars premium dog food....
xDingx
post Mar 1 2011, 02:09 PM

613 posts

QUOTE(muse@muse @ Mar 1 2011, 01:17 PM)
You can give yogurt or yakult or vitagen....like RA54 said as long as it contains live cultures or that probatics stuffs....but it's pricy...

so cheaper alternative u can just get those yogurt powder @ pet shop...last time i bought 1 bottle it's bout RM10-12....
Erm..the price of yogurt should be ok....as long as my pup can grow healthy and happy and can make the poo eating behaviour go away, it worth...haha... smile.gif
xDingx
post Mar 1 2011, 11:00 PM

613 posts

QUOTE(RA54 @ Mar 1 2011, 08:27 PM)
Sorry, perhaps I phrased it wrongly. I think it's a good brand for most especially on the grain free diet thing that's popular now(correct me if I'm wrong).

However my shihtzu dislike its smell. It does smells terrible and quite off putting ( I also bought the ocean formula ones). Her stool was also alot darker in colour, almost black and didn't look erm..normal to me? Seems abit dry too. Also she started to smell abit sourish on this diet - she sleeps with me, so I do notice if there's a change in smell. For some reason as well, her rashes came back and ear infections started again too --> these are mostly caused by PH imbalance sometimes which makes their skin/ear canal an awesome breeding ground for bacteria. and Food largely affects their skin PH balance directly - again, correct me if I'm wrong but this is just my understanding from research and constant hounding on my vet's door. The problem went away as soon as I switch her out of it - so i deduced it to that there is something in the Wellness kibbles that's an allergen to her. I have also read on a few forums and reviews where other owners had almost similar problems. Hence, my initial advise for u to read up as your pet seems to be having problem related to eating her stools. smile.gif Wellness is abit high on protein as well, which was another reason I went off it, I know my fat girl won't exercise it out  sweat.gif

That being said, IMHO any food can be given a 6 stars premium rating or so(alot of these are marketing ploys) the most important thing is to actually understand your pet's needs and find the suitable diet for them. My current rule of thumb had always been, if even I don't want to put it in my mouth, i won't feed it to them. I have in fact, taken a bite out of most kibbles that I've purchased. But that's just me. and just FYI, there are difference in taste between the RM30 and RM80 per bag ones. Hahaha.

Also, don't give them vitagen! additives, flavoring and sugar - even the white "original" flavour ones! Yakult is fine, recommended before by my vet. There's another korean brand too, also one of these cultured drinks which is supposedly natural, no sugar and all that jazz. Comes in a small lil bottle like yakult but its in blue - most korean groceries shop has them. Taste terrible though, coz got no sugar.

You should also consider cottage cheese! Almost the same kinda nutrients by lower lactose content compared to yogurt.
Dog kibble does affect the skin PH that will make their skin become a breeding skin for bacteria? First time I heard this, learnt new lnowledge today =)

Btw, I'm quite happy that today when I came bec home from work, I say my girl's stool still inside her toilet tray, which mean she didn't eat her stool icon_rolleyes.gif

Btw, may I know what kibble u feeding ur shih tzu now? Perhap I will changemy girl's kibble next time, instead of wellness core, will change to Tast of Thw Wild + Go duck formula =)
xDingx
post Sep 8 2011, 01:59 PM

613 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Aug 24 2011, 01:13 PM)
Innova being rated 5 star kibbles so i guess it's good. Poop doesnt smell strong but i am only feeding half cup proplan and half cup innova. Will comment once i feed him 100% Innova. Orijen is much more expensive. I think it's somewhere around Rm70+
I personally think that innova and orijien with min crude protein more than 40% is too high for a small breed inactive dog....i personally dun feel comfortable to feed such high protein to my kid.. tongue.gif

And our furkids have a very limited life, average 15 years only, i will give the best food to my kid...and the price for a good food is definitely worth anything...

anyone can recommend any pet shop located at KL (prefer kepong) that sell a big variety brand of dog kibble?
xDingx
post Sep 8 2011, 03:54 PM

613 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Sep 8 2011, 02:18 PM)
Th standard cup which is 1 cup = US 8oz.
Bro, i am feeding Innova for Puppy which has only 26% crude protein only. The one you mention should be Innova Evo.
For Kepong area, you may try petsmore at metro Prima but not really a big variety. But most brand can be preorder from there.
I went to pets more metro perdana and kepong carrefour quite often, but just cant find the kibble brand that i want...i'm looking for Acana Grasslands or Wellness Core...

Currently feeding my kid with BARF, want to let her try kiblble for a period to get different nutritions biggrin.gif

And i noticed that ur beagle has the poo eating behaviour, maybe the food u currently feeding is not suitable to it...my pup used to eat poo oso previously for some time, but the problem just gone when i switch to BARF... smile.gif

Added on September 8, 2011, 4:00 pm
QUOTE(jchong @ Sep 8 2011, 03:03 PM)
The std cup being 8oz is usually fluid oz, which is a measure of volume not weight. Easy way for you to establish the weight is take your cup and fill it with kibbles and measure the weight. I think it would be around 110-120g only.

What kind of dog do you have and how old is it?
1oz =28.35 grams

This post has been edited by xDingx: Sep 8 2011, 04:00 PM
xDingx
post Sep 8 2011, 05:18 PM

613 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Sep 8 2011, 05:06 PM)
I heard that it's better to feed kibble until at least 1 year old. This is to prevent him from only eating BARF and not kibble. When you dun have the time to prepare BARF, you can always substitute it with kibbles.
i not sure bout this...but i feed BARF to my kid since i brought her home when she 2 months old, and i switch BARF and kibble for every 6 months in between with no problem smile.gif now my kid is 1.5 years old..

This post has been edited by xDingx: Sep 8 2011, 05:19 PM
xDingx
post Sep 13 2011, 05:34 PM

613 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Sep 13 2011, 08:15 AM)
Canine Caviar as in Venison meal? The grainless kibbles right? It's rated 5 star. Very good.
Could you provide me the link to the review that mention this Canine Caviar is 5 star kibble? I interested in it oso, thanks.

QUOTE(superbaltanv2 @ Sep 13 2011, 01:58 PM)
oo...ok, think i'll get that for my old gal then.
Where r u going to buy the Canine Caviar kibble from? which pet shop?
xDingx
post Sep 15 2011, 09:11 AM

613 posts

Just got the Go Natural Wild Salmon kibble for my girl...not cheap tho...rm97 for 3kg.. sweat.gif hope my girl is doing fine with this kibble..

going to buy orijen to mix with the kibble for my girl oso...is it ok to mix the kibble for our furkid?
xDingx
post Sep 15 2011, 07:46 PM

613 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Sep 15 2011, 04:02 PM)
Wow, 3kg cost RM98?? Expensive betul..  tongue.gif Seems like being rated 5 star in Dogfoodanalysis but couldnt find any info on Dogfoodadvisor.  hmm.gif
Closes i could find in Dogfoodadvisor is Go Natural Salmon and Oatmeal which rate it as 4 star.
Why would you want to mix with Orijen? I will rather stick in one brand.
instead of using dog food advisor, i prefer dog food analysis website, more precise to each brand of kibble...here is the link to Go Natural Wild Salmon..rated 5 stars here, 6 stars is the top.

Wan to mix it because try to increase the variety of the food for my girl? tongue.gif
xDingx
post Sep 23 2011, 01:52 PM

613 posts

Anyone know where can i get Acana Grassland? been looking for few petshops, most of them dont sell this... sad.gif
xDingx
post Sep 24 2011, 04:54 PM

613 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Sep 23 2011, 03:43 PM)
Acana Grassland the grainless kibbles right? How much does it cost? I think should be expensive right?
Ya..it is grain free kibble.. i duno the price..since i cant find it yet..

QUOTE(jchong @ Sep 23 2011, 04:48 PM)
Try calling the distributor and ask: http://www.cpsmalaysia.com/
I checked this website oso n tried to call m emaol them, no ppl answer the call n no email reply..duno is this distributor really exist or not =.=

This post has been edited by xDingx: Sep 24 2011, 04:55 PM
xDingx
post Sep 24 2011, 11:18 PM

613 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Sep 24 2011, 06:01 PM)
Perhaps u can find it at petslover at kepong metro prima jusco. They have quite a lot of selection on their Acana brand.
Haha...i visited pet shop around kepong area including petsmore, plc, n pet safari quite often, but couldnt find this brand..mayb i need to consider other brand..
xDingx
post Sep 25 2011, 10:39 AM

613 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Sep 25 2011, 08:50 AM)
Ohhh, seems like rare item ya. If big petstore didn't carry this type I believe chances are low in small pet shop. Netherless, I will keep an eye n let u knOw if i sees it.
Haha..thanks in advance =)
xDingx
post Sep 25 2011, 09:22 PM

613 posts

QUOTE(muchan86 @ Sep 25 2011, 05:49 PM)
Have you try Seapark Pet Supplies? They supplied mostly from grooming accessories, food and many more. You can try Seapark if you havent smile.gif
Haha..i used to buy shampoo from there..mayb can have a look there later =)

0.0251sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:08 PM