DIY eD A7s-650 subwoofer, Sub Completed. First Impresion.
junchoon
Jul 20 2010, 08:47 AM
QUOTE(pierreye @ Jul 19 2010, 09:43 PM) Completed MultiEQ XT calibration. Done some quick view to get an initial impression which is posted on first page. Overall, a step up from velo DD-12. slightly OT, seeing how your ht room looks like, why not use acoustically transparent screen leh? then can place the speakers right behind the screen. cheers, wps
mys_terious
Jul 20 2010, 09:02 AM
QUOTE(pierreye @ Jul 19 2010, 10:46 AM) You so strong, one person to pull 50+kg up 2 floors. So, you want to bring your PC-13U over? We can only put side by side as I can't pull my sub out. bro i am interested but not so soon.. let me complete my own ht, get used to my subby 1st then only i could tell the diff during the shootout.. if not terus shootout and only hear the weakness of my sub will be very keksim lo
htkaki
Jul 20 2010, 09:04 AM
That's what I heard. More high end stuffs this year.
TSpierreye
Jul 20 2010, 09:13 AM
QUOTE(junchoon @ Jul 20 2010, 08:47 AM) slightly OT, seeing how your ht room looks like, why not use acoustically transparent screen leh? then can place the speakers right behind the screen. cheers, wps I do consider acoustically transparent screen but during my HT build, the problem is lower gain + the material is not cheap. I remember asking for a quote from Seymour AV the screen without frame is as expensive as my Carada 1.4 screen with frame. The next screen I'm interested in is Black Diamond II. There's been report that it does improve contrast of projector due to ambient and reflection light rejection. It also make your theater darker during bright scene due to less stray light bouncing back from the screen. Added on July 20, 2010, 9:20 amQUOTE(mys_terious @ Jul 20 2010, 09:02 AM) bro i am interested but not so soon.. let me complete my own ht, get used to my subby 1st then only i could tell the diff during the shootout.. if not terus shootout and only hear the weakness of my sub will be very keksim lo No problem. Take your time. I too need to do some tuning first on my setup. Yesterday I spend some time at night listen to music. Some how I feel the music sounds boring. I'm not sure is it because of lower volume (it's almost midnight and I'm afraid my neighbor would complain when the sub roar) or audessey limit the dynamic of the speakers. I read some report mention turning off audessey does sound better in treated room. Well, it sound right with B&W. Might be other issue that I need to troubleshoot. I do swap the tweeter driver from middle of the cabinet to the top but I do double check the wires connection. Will run some phase LCR phase test. This post has been edited by pierreye: Jul 20 2010, 09:20 AM
junchoon
Jul 20 2010, 10:25 AM
QUOTE(pierreye @ Jul 20 2010, 09:13 AM) I do consider acoustically transparent screen but during my HT build, the problem is lower gain + the material is not cheap. I remember asking for a quote from Seymour AV the screen without frame is as expensive as my Carada 1.4 screen with frame. The next screen I'm interested in is Black Diamond II. There's been report that it does improve contrast of projector due to ambient and reflection light rejection. It also make your theater darker during bright scene due to less stray light bouncing back from the screen. the black diamond II seems interesting, but i am still interested in AT screen. but yes i agree the price is too high lah here is a build: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread....=1252857&page=2oh well, when i build my ht after house reno is done, will ask your opinion again. cheers, wps This post has been edited by junchoon: Jul 20 2010, 10:27 AM
jchong
Jul 20 2010, 11:44 AM
Having an AT screen is nice and makes the HT look neater. However, you will need a rather long room for it because you need to allocate at least 2.5 - 3 feet behind the screen for the speakers and sub. Effectively your viewing distance is shortened by 3 feet since you have to push the screen farther out. If you have the length and budget then go for it.
Otherwise I think a solution like yours (pierreye) is neat also. Do a false wall and mount the LCR and sub below the screen.
Hey pierreye, does your screen vibrate during bass heavy scenes? With moving pictures it's hard to detect but if I overlay my projector's menu on it I can see the words blur a bit when the bass hits.
TSpierreye
Jul 20 2010, 01:17 PM
I don't see my screen vibrating from my seating system. The Carada fix screen tension system is quite tight.
This post has been edited by pierreye: Jul 20 2010, 01:17 PM
jchong
Jul 20 2010, 01:45 PM
Yup the Carada tension is quite tight. I have one too.
The vibrations are hard to detect when watching movies. U need to overlay something like text on top then can see easier (if any).
TSpierreye
Jul 29 2010, 12:58 AM
Another update on JTR T8 speaker on first page. Turn out Behringer FBQ2496 is a great EQ system to use with REW to tweak your main speaker. I initially bought this for sub EQ but because of the room mode issue, I had a problem with 300hz to 1khz which affect the vocal. Before EQ, I feel that something is lacking in the vocal. After EQ the speaker start to sing. Vocal is sweet and feel alive.
My summary on JTR T8 is its a great HT speakers and good music speaker. You need to crank up the speaker to make it sing. If you prefer low volume night listening, than I don't think this speaker will suit you.
This post has been edited by pierreye: Jul 29 2010, 12:59 AM
anfieldude
Jul 29 2010, 07:56 AM
QUOTE(pierreye @ Jul 29 2010, 12:58 AM) Another update on JTR T8 speaker on first page. Turn out Behringer FBQ2496 is a great EQ system to use with REW to tweak your main speaker. I initially bought this for sub EQ but because of the room mode issue, I had a problem with 300hz to 1khz which affect the vocal. Before EQ, I feel that something is lacking in the vocal. After EQ the speaker start to sing. Vocal is sweet and feel alive. My summary on JTR T8 is its a great HT speakers and good music speaker. You need to crank up the speaker to make it sing. If you prefer low volume night listening, than I don't think this speaker will suit you. Looks like u're having fun with BFD! Did u re-run Audyssey after tuning with the BFD in the system? The extra processing will incorporate further delays. Did you see how much the distance was added after adding the BFD?
TSpierreye
Jul 29 2010, 08:45 AM
I'm getting a second unit before re-run Audyssey. After adding BFD, I just need to add extra one foot. Also I loss around 4db after tuning so need to increase the gain on left and right speakers. With such high efficiency and powerful speaker, 4db loss is not an issue and still can hit reference level without distortion. I must say I'm quite impress with BFD with its features and price is quite cheap for such a powerful device.
This post has been edited by pierreye: Jul 29 2010, 08:47 AM
anfieldude
Jul 29 2010, 09:10 AM
QUOTE(pierreye @ Jul 29 2010, 08:45 AM) I'm getting a second unit before re-run Audyssey. After adding BFD, I just need to add extra one foot. Also I loss around 4db after tuning so need to increase the gain on left and right speakers. With such high efficiency and powerful speaker, 4db loss is not an issue and still can hit reference level without distortion. I must say I'm quite impress with BFD with its features and price is quite cheap for such a powerful device. BFD is a great tool for tweakers and if u can hide it. Its a pro audio tool so it just does not look that great with all the colourful LEDs. I admire ur room's treatments, ur bass more or less decays before 300ms! Great stuff. Also for the b4 chart on ur JTR, was it after Audyssey? Normally, main speakers are pretty flat to start with (even without too much eq). Do u think its a room interaction?
TSpierreye
Jul 29 2010, 09:27 AM
I can't turn on audyssey before EQ as somehow it sound very constraint and lack of dynamic. The chart before EQ is without Audyssey so I think it is a room issue. A big swing within 300hz to 1khz (15 db differences!). I think Audyssey set the sub and speaker at the wrong level due to the huge swing of freq. Maybe after EQ, Audyssey will be able to fine tune and as final touch.
The BFD red light is quite bright and will use a black cardboard to block out the light. As its hidden so not a problem.
This post has been edited by pierreye: Jul 29 2010, 09:32 AM
ycs
Jul 29 2010, 09:38 AM
QUOTE(pierreye @ Jul 29 2010, 09:27 AM) I can't turn on audyssey before EQ as somehow it sound very constraint and lack of dynamic. The chart before EQ is without Audyssey so I think it is a room issue. A big swing within 300hz to 1khz (15 db differences!). I think Audyssey set the sub and speaker at the wrong level due to the huge swing of freq. Maybe after EQ, Audyssey will be able to fine tune and as final touch. The BFD red light is quite bright and will use a black cardboard to block out the light. As its hidden so not a problem. can i ask if you got the Behringer FBQ2496 locally and how much it costs? thanks.
TSpierreye
Jul 29 2010, 09:51 AM
QUOTE(ycs @ Jul 29 2010, 09:38 AM) can i ask if you got the Behringer FBQ2496 locally and how much it costs? thanks. I got it locally as I don't want to deal with shipping and custom tax. First unit I get at RM 870. Second unit I nego with them and they offer me RM 820. If buy from overseas, should be roughly USD 149.90 + USD 50 shipping = USD 200 = RM 660. Add in another 25% tax = RM 825.
anfieldude
Jul 29 2010, 10:06 AM
QUOTE(pierreye @ Jul 29 2010, 09:51 AM) I got it locally as I don't want to deal with shipping and custom tax. First unit I get at RM 870. Second unit I nego with them and they offer me RM 820. If buy from overseas, should be roughly USD 149.90 + USD 50 shipping = USD 200 = RM 660. Add in another 25% tax = RM 825. Ahh....tempting, just to play with it... Will contact u to see if I can get one as well...
jchong
Jul 29 2010, 11:14 AM
Now I'm tempted to get one too
mys_terious
Jul 31 2010, 06:06 PM
QUOTE(pierreye @ Jul 29 2010, 12:58 AM) Another update on JTR T8 speaker on first page. Turn out Behringer FBQ2496 is a great EQ system to use with REW to tweak your main speaker. I initially bought this for sub EQ but because of the room mode issue, I had a problem with 300hz to 1khz which affect the vocal. Before EQ, I feel that something is lacking in the vocal. After EQ the speaker start to sing. Vocal is sweet and feel alive. My summary on JTR T8 is its a great HT speakers and good music speaker. You need to crank up the speaker to make it sing. If you prefer low volume night listening, than I don't think this speaker will suit you. yes we all know u like to crank it up when the few of us visited your house hahah
TSpierreye
Aug 1 2010, 08:00 AM
This round I can crank it to -2db. Louder than that I need more sound absorber.
ronnt88
Aug 1 2010, 08:44 AM
what's this behringer thingy? do i need one?