7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

DIY eD A7s-650 subwoofer, Sub Completed. First Impresion.

TSpierreye
post May 3 2010, 03:02 PM, updated 16y ago

1,308 posts

Guys,

I had ordered DIY kit for eD A7s-650 subwoofer. Estimated another 2 weeks to receive the item. Total weight for the whole subwoofer should be around 200lbs.

Anyway, I need help to source for Titebond II wood glue. Kind of hard to get in Penang. I asked my friend to look in Ace Hardware Puchong but he only manage to find the Titebond I.

Below is the wood glue I need for the project.
http://www.amazon.com/Franklin-Internation...72870101&sr=8-2

I'm still deciding either to just paint the subwoofer with wood paint or laminate.

The DIY kit is NOT for you if:
1. You must have your sub now!
2. You choose barbie doll over bob the builder when you are small.
3. You always hammer your finger.
4. You never fix any IKEA furniture in your life.

eD Sub comparison. Please note that this is not the max SPL level.

Update 18/6
DIY kits arrive in Penang waiting for custom clearance. Wood glue received from Amazon. Hopefully I can build the sub next week.

Update 21/6
All 5 items arrived. The sub drivers are huge and heavy. Total are around 85kg. Each sub driver is around 20kg++.

Update 22/6
Fixing up the frame for measurement. Side panels are bend a bit. Will measure and drill some pilot hole at the joint to straighten the panel.

Update 23/6
Gluing and clamping with F-Clamp. I only got 4 and should get 2 more to speed up the process.

Update 25/6
Turn out eD forget to ship the rubber feet with the kit. Alex from eD promise to send out today. So far communication with eD is pretty good. The bracing is done.

Update 26/6
Almost there. Looks like I need more screw to pull the panel straight.

Update 27/6
Final panel is in. Tonight will need to drill some pilot hole for speaker and plate amp. Then sanding the edge and off it go for spraying.

Update 30/6
Send to auto spray shop for putty fill up, sanding and spraying. Total cost around RM 350 and take around 5 days as it is labour intensive. I'm expecting a mirror finish.

Update 7/7
Spraying done. Now waiting for the rubber feet before installing the drivers and amp.

Update 15/7
Build Completed. Will test out the sub tomorrow. I need to re-organize my theater room for new speaker JTR Triple8HT for LCR.

JTR Triple 8

Beauty and the Beast

Completed HT room. Can't see the eD A7s-650 sub as it is hidden behind the false wall.

First Impression on Sub
Definitely a step up compare to Velo DD-12. The punch is better, stronger and yet there is a sense of better control. You don't feel the bass overhang in the room. One quick test is where Joker crash the party and batman is punching all the thug, you can feel the force of a solid punch. DD-12 is a bit mushy with less impact.

Kung Fu Panda skidoosh scene. I can feel the wave in stages when the energy is release which give much stronger bass sensation.

I can summarize that the bass feel very control and start and stop faster. Will do a REW graph this few days and try to integrate the DD-12 to smooth out the freq response. If I can't manually dial in the settings, might consider getting a SVS EQ1.

First Impression on JTR T8
The first feeling is it feel diff than B&W 603. When there is a scene of people chattering with background music, you can feel that you are among the crowd and music is playing in a diff layer. I think it should be the separation that work out this feeling. I'll need some more listening before giving a detail review.

REW graph for eD-A7s650 in my HT room.

Max SPL before sub bottoming out.

Estimated curve that can be achieved using FBQ2496 with REW. Note that it need 10 points correction to get it as flat as possible.

Another graph after recalibrate the sub level with 1/3 octave smoothing.

JTR T8 speaker updated impression after adding EQ
Before the EQ, I feel that the vocal is not that good compare to my bookshelf M&D speaker. Turn out after using REW for measurement, there is a problem within 300hz to 1khz where there is a huge dip initially than a boost near 1khz. That's almost 15db difference within 300hz to 1khz.

Since I got the FBQ2496 for sub eq which can be use to EQ the main speaker, I give it a try. FBQ2496 had 20 filters that can correct within the range of 20hz to 20khz. I only tune in 80hz to 10khz for the main speaker as I don't think the Galaxy CM-140 is accurate above 10khz. In fact the specs only mention it is accurate from 30hz to 7khz +/- 1.5db.

Turn out after the EQ, the vocal is sweet and believable. Watching movie, there is a sense of in there. Attached is the graph with 1/6 smoothing of before and after EQ. Going to get a second unit FBQ2496 for center channel and sub EQ.

This post has been edited by pierreye: Jul 29 2010, 01:01 AM
htkaki
post May 3 2010, 03:06 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I'll be at Ikano tomorrow. Will go to Ace and look it for you.

TSpierreye
post May 3 2010, 03:11 PM

1,308 posts

Thanks bro. If you manage to find the item, can you help to buy first?
htkaki
post May 3 2010, 03:48 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ May 3 2010, 03:11 PM)
Thanks bro. If you manage to find the item, can you help to buy first?
Not a prob since it probably won't cost an arm and a leg wink.gif PM me your no. Once I get it, I'll let you know.
paskal
post May 3 2010, 10:11 PM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ May 3 2010, 03:02 PM)
Guys,
    I had ordered DIY kit for eD A7s-650 subwoofer. Estimated another 2 weeks to receive the item. Total weight for the whole subwoofer should be around 200lbs.

Anyway, I need help to source for Titebond II wood glue. Kind of hard to get in Penang. I asked my friend to look in Ace Hardware Puchong but he only manage to find the Titebond I.

Below is the wood glue I need for the project.
http://www.amazon.com/Franklin-Internation...72870101&sr=8-2

I'm still deciding either to just paint the subwoofer with wood paint or laminate.
if you don't mind me asking, how much if the total cost for the DIY kit? any links? as i searched ebay and didn't find any eD A7 nor eD A7s
and how much did you paid for shipping?

kindda interested in building a sub myself
TSpierreye
post May 3 2010, 11:30 PM

1,308 posts

Get direct from elemental design. Total including shipping is USD 1725. Not including local ketam tax.

http://www.edesignaudio.com/product_info.p...products_id=849

dlyz
post May 4 2010, 12:00 AM

Dynaudio
1,827 posts

It would be great if u could show us ur build progress and how you do it during your build smile.gif
anchovies93
post May 4 2010, 12:52 AM

902 posts

Yeah. would love to see u building it. Please
azbro
post May 4 2010, 08:58 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ May 3 2010, 10:11 PM)
if you don't mind me asking, how much if the total cost for the DIY kit? any links? as i searched ebay and didn't find any eD A7 nor eD A7s
and how much did you paid for shipping?

kindda interested in building a sub myself
paskal...not enough firepower to bring the house down?

For you, you should get this model:

ycs
post May 4 2010, 09:15 AM

4,239 posts

this project very interesting to see.

i'm also thinking to start my own speaker project but...
azbro
post May 4 2010, 09:24 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ May 4 2010, 09:15 AM)
this project very interesting to see.

i'm also thinking to start my own speaker project but...
But what? hmm.gif
TSpierreye
post May 4 2010, 09:59 AM

1,308 posts

I'll update this thread once I get all the items. Anyway, this is just a semi DIY stuff as the cabinet, drivers and amp plate had been given. Not unlike some DIY project where you need to built the cabinet from scratch. More like fixing up Ikea furniture.

Speakers is more difficult due to crossover design unless there is ready kit with speakers matching and ready crossover.

This post has been edited by pierreye: May 4 2010, 10:06 AM
paskal
post May 4 2010, 10:14 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ May 4 2010, 08:58 AM)
paskal...not enough firepower to bring the house down?

For you, you should get this model:

looking for a sealed sub bro as i kindda hate the boomy bass that my ported sub currently produce.
already have a working sub amp, looking for a long throw driver unit.
TSpierreye
post May 4 2010, 10:20 AM

1,308 posts

eD sells driver only if you want to DIY the cabinet. Maybe built a twin 18" sealed sub like their eD A7s-900. This is a monster. Twin 13" is only slightly better than single 18" (based on total surface).
mys_terious
post May 4 2010, 10:24 AM

882 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ May 4 2010, 09:59 AM)
I'll update this thread once I get all the items. Anyway, this is just a semi DIY stuff as the cabinet, drivers and amp plate had been given. Not unlike some DIY project where you need to built the cabinet from scratch. More like fixing up Ikea furniture.

Speakers is more difficult due to crossover design unless there is ready kit with speakers matching and ready crossover.
Watch out DD12, u got new big brother coming to bully u! Poor DD12
TSpierreye
post May 4 2010, 10:40 AM

1,308 posts

DD12 might become a sidekick for A650. Help to smooth out the dip in the room.
paskal
post May 4 2010, 11:42 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ May 4 2010, 10:20 AM)
eD sells driver only if you want to DIY the cabinet. Maybe built a twin 18" sealed sub like their eD A7s-900. This is a monster. Twin 13" is only slightly better than single 18" (based on total surface).
as i thought.. elemental designs are marketing the same sub for both car sub and room sub.
the drivers used in the A7s - 650 are the 13Av.2, which is marketed as a car subwoofer.

guess a long throw car subwoofer does make a viable choice for room sub after all. easier to source locally, and i reckon a cheaper alternative for initial test builds.
will start looking into it after i finish my current project.
ronnt88
post May 4 2010, 11:44 AM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(mys_terious @ May 4 2010, 10:24 AM)
Watch out DD12, u got new big brother coming to bully u! Poor DD12
hence the name DD12 (DD = didi = lil brother in mandarin) ..... lil bro sure kena bullied by bigger bro tongue.gif

TSpierreye
post May 4 2010, 11:49 AM

1,308 posts

AS-EQ1 question. As EQ1 had 2 input/2 output, can I use 1 input and 2 output? Also, does EQ1 adjust both sub differently or as 1 sub? Time delay and EQ will be adjusted differently for both sub?

This post has been edited by pierreye: May 4 2010, 11:49 AM
htkaki
post May 4 2010, 11:58 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ May 4 2010, 11:49 AM)
AS-EQ1 question. As EQ1 had 2 input/2 output, can I use 1 input and 2 output? Also, does EQ1 adjust both sub differently or as 1 sub? Time delay and EQ will be adjusted differently for both sub?
You can use 1 input and 2 output for your subs.

EQ1 will adjust both sub differently. Sweep tones will be emitted to each sub for each location for a maximum of 32 positions. You will be amazed of its capability. I think anfieldude will be happy to show it to you.

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0314sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:30 AM