DIY eD A7s-650 subwoofer, Sub Completed. First Impresion.
mys_terious
May 4 2010, 10:24 AM
QUOTE(pierreye @ May 4 2010, 09:59 AM) I'll update this thread once I get all the items. Anyway, this is just a semi DIY stuff as the cabinet, drivers and amp plate had been given. Not unlike some DIY project where you need to built the cabinet from scratch. More like fixing up Ikea furniture. Speakers is more difficult due to crossover design unless there is ready kit with speakers matching and ready crossover. Watch out DD12, u got new big brother coming to bully u! Poor DD12
mys_terious
May 10 2010, 10:58 AM
QUOTE(pierreye @ May 10 2010, 10:22 AM) I never use any subdude but you can give it a try. The easiest way to do a sub crawl is to put your sub at the seating position and walk around using your SPL meter. This will show you where are the null and peak. Boomy issue most likely due to certain freq decay issue which can be treated by bass trap or EQ. REW will show you the actual issue in your current setup. i strongly recommend newbies to pay some1 to do a proper calibration for both audio n video .. without calibration is like buying a sports car without tuning .. if u r interested and planning to buy your own calibration tools then that is a diff story, but if u bought the whole set of av n think u can tune with your own eyes n ears alone then it is very likely u wont get the best out of what u bought
mys_terious
May 10 2010, 11:19 AM
QUOTE(pierreye @ May 10 2010, 11:11 AM) Well said. I don't understand some people would rather put in big $$$ in the display then don't want to pay extra few hundred to get it tuned. Do remember out from the factory it is impossible to get a perfectly tune display out due to component to component variance. Most of the display coming out from factory is too cool in color temp and color is over saturated. It might get your attention at first glance when comparing display side by side but after a while you will start noticing that skin tone is either too green or too red etc... We are lucky having anfieldude willing to provide the service at minimum cost (and I joke with him he is charging too low, as US calibrator is charging USD 300 per display max 2 input). I had to invest few thousand to get the equipment + many hours of studying in tuning. On top of that, different display had different menu/service menu secret key and tuner will need to look up the info first before performing the service. If I know anfieldude is providing the service few years back, I think I'll get him to do the tuning and call it a day. Even audio setup is an art as you need to know how to to position the speaker, toe in angle, subwoofer crossover and phase (and I bet a lot of people with sub doesn't know what is the purpose of phase adjustment and how to set it correctly). EQ and room treatment is another topic which get more complicated. For me i will spend on the modest calibration fee and room treatment (if needed) 1st, instead of spending my money on those crazy priced hdmi..
mys_terious
May 12 2010, 01:05 AM
QUOTE(asherteoh @ May 11 2010, 10:19 PM) no worries bro... i'm not taking the comments seriously... didn't u notice the  ? anyways, i'll see u this coming thurs  not aiming at u at all.. u seem like some1 who likes to learn n do it yourself thats diff.. but if 1 is satisfied with their purchase n performance uncalibrated then its totally ok.. just saying they dont know what they might missing and their system might perform alot better after a proper calibration ..
mys_terious
May 15 2010, 04:17 PM
QUOTE(pierreye @ May 15 2010, 11:22 AM) Some hiccup in wire transfer as eD give me the old banking info. The shipment will delay another 2 weeks. toh la like that
mys_terious
Jun 23 2010, 01:44 PM
QUOTE(pierreye @ May 16 2010, 08:32 AM) Titebond II will arrive next week. Si beh boh siok. Last week just finish assassin's creed II. Very good story and graphic is top notch. Added on June 18, 2010, 10:23 amItem arrived in Penang. I'll update the build in first post so that it is easier to read. wei your stuff arrive yet? cant wait liao.. quickly build it up and run in.. then can arrange shoot out ... when i say arrange i meant ARRANGE.. thinking of lifting the subs up your house really scares me..
mys_terious
Jul 16 2010, 09:29 AM
QUOTE(pierreye @ Jul 16 2010, 08:31 AM) Been considering JTR since last year. The current move is to meet ref level without distortion and wide dispersion. u bought jtr too??!!!!
mys_terious
Jul 19 2010, 10:11 AM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Jul 18 2010, 11:19 PM) Elite Chew, PC-U is only around 51kg to haul it. If PB-U, then it is 71kg mini-fridge size sub which will be back breaking to haul it up. My customer in Penang, Mr Tan told me that it takes more than 10minutes for 3 adults to get the PB-U up the staircase to the 1st floor. yes pc-u13 is quite easy especially if the shipping box is still on.. 1 person can go up the stairs already... Added on July 19, 2010, 10:14 amQUOTE(pierreye @ Jul 19 2010, 12:52 AM) I just shift my sub from guest room across to HT room. Well, 2 people to drag the sub for less than 30 feet and it's damn tiring. Can't imagine if need to go up staircase. My theater room is on 2nd floor, so need 25 mins (factor in extra 5 mins to take a break on 1st floor.) if the shootout jadi then every1 must bring a spare shirt.. the previous visit to your house u asked me to lift my projector.. then my computer up to the ht.. sweated like a pig.. after that had a bid of sour smell n BO through out the pj shooutout:) This post has been edited by mys_terious: Jul 19 2010, 10:14 AM
mys_terious
Jul 20 2010, 06:47 AM
QUOTE(pierreye @ Jul 19 2010, 10:46 AM) You so strong, one person to pull 50+kg up 2 floors. So, you want to bring your PC-13U over? We can only put side by side as I can't pull my sub out. nola i tested for 1/2 a floor only.. it's possible to push from the bottom and let it lie down on the stairs.... i knew if i ask a friend to help i would have to answer alot of questions.. at the end i did ask my friend to help.. and i did have to answer y the sub is shaped like that, y izt so big bla bla bla
mys_terious
Jul 20 2010, 09:02 AM
QUOTE(pierreye @ Jul 19 2010, 10:46 AM) You so strong, one person to pull 50+kg up 2 floors. So, you want to bring your PC-13U over? We can only put side by side as I can't pull my sub out. bro i am interested but not so soon.. let me complete my own ht, get used to my subby 1st then only i could tell the diff during the shootout.. if not terus shootout and only hear the weakness of my sub will be very keksim lo
mys_terious
Jul 31 2010, 06:06 PM
QUOTE(pierreye @ Jul 29 2010, 12:58 AM) Another update on JTR T8 speaker on first page. Turn out Behringer FBQ2496 is a great EQ system to use with REW to tweak your main speaker. I initially bought this for sub EQ but because of the room mode issue, I had a problem with 300hz to 1khz which affect the vocal. Before EQ, I feel that something is lacking in the vocal. After EQ the speaker start to sing. Vocal is sweet and feel alive. My summary on JTR T8 is its a great HT speakers and good music speaker. You need to crank up the speaker to make it sing. If you prefer low volume night listening, than I don't think this speaker will suit you. yes we all know u like to crank it up when the few of us visited your house hahah