8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

English Clubs Manchester United Street Talks, Post Season Talks - Review,Transfers....

Wan
post May 22 2010, 01:03 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

He's not at all average. Fine player to have for a 3rd striker. Experienced, good player still, and a fine finisher on his day. With the 25 squad limit and all that shit, plus the home grown rule, he's handy to have.
Wan
post May 22 2010, 03:20 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(Pain_X @ May 22 2010, 02:19 PM)
Harsh,i know... But sad to say,it was just a matter of time to me. I was just waiting for the headline 'Owen sidelined for XX months due to XX injury'.
I guess i never really liked Owen or his style of play. To me,he's like a poor mans RVN.(especially the past 1-2 years)
He's to me what Berba is to the anti-Berba guys here tongue.gif
He has featured in the team as much as Vida has all season. And he was out injured late February. Just like O'Shea, Ando and the rest, it's just unfortunate that he got injured. His fitness is questionable, but for the past 3 years, fitness wise he's been good. As a backup he's a great option to have. Wish he's a bit bigger or physically can bully people, but we can't have everything.
Wan
post May 22 2010, 05:59 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(Pain_X @ May 22 2010, 03:50 PM)
Any stats on his performance this season? Because he really seems average to me. Nothing spectacular about him anymore. He used to have crazy speed and ball control. But now without the pace,and being a small-built player,i really doubt his usefulness...
I thought he was good. Obviously not world class good, but for a backup, good enough most times. He scored 13 goals for a crap Newcastle side, he would have gotten more for us if he didn't get sidelined for so long. Not worse than Tevez did for us as #3 that's for sure.

QUOTE(O-haiyo @ May 22 2010, 04:40 PM)
Whatever ever it is, he should not be our no.7...harsh, but thats the truth.
Not sure I get you. Whether he deserve the number or not, that's beside the point. It's just a bloody number on the back of the shirt. He could have give Rooney a #666, VDS #101, Evra #69, Berba #0 for all I care as long as they perform on the pitch. It's not like wearing certain numbers would give added magical powers to the wearer of said numbers or affect the performances of the said player along with the team.

Added on May 22, 2010, 6:00 pmI'm sure when the right player comes along, that number would probably change hands. But it wouldn't surprise me either if Owen kept that # until his time is up with us. It's just a number.

This post has been edited by Wan: May 22 2010, 06:00 PM
Wan
post May 22 2010, 06:34 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Nani will get 11 when the time comes unless Real go hunting again in a few years.
Wan
post May 22 2010, 08:19 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(O-haiyo @ May 22 2010, 07:33 PM)
Not to me.  smile.gif Of course wearing that number won't give you magical power or whatsoever, no. 7 is a special number for our club. Of course it's not written anywhere, but I'm sure you understand why. smile.gif

Best -> Robson -> Cantona -> Beckham -> Ronaldo -> OWEN

Abit weird isn't it? I mean our no. 7 is actually our backup striker? Who would have thought that before Owen arrived?
Only to you and a few or many other people. It was so special Best wore it only 114 times out of 470 times he wore our shirt. Guess the #7 shirt didn't feel comfortable for him. tongue.gif And it was so special, SAF gave it to Owen an ex-Liverpool player who is a backup striker for us. See where I am going with this?

Yes we had famous and special players who wore that number in our history, but there have been so many other players who wore other numbers at the club. Do remember it's the players that make the number special, not the other way round. And just because that a player is special, doesn't mean he will wear or get #7 here. He could prefer a #20 or whatever or the manager/club don't want to give him that. Having a less talented player wore that number means nothing really.

You could criticize his performances for us or his ability(past his best, whatever), but because of the number?

http://www.redcafe.net/f6/famous-number-7s-184527/

Added on May 22, 2010, 8:26 pmPersonally I wouldn't have given it to him. Keep the number for the next star whoever that is. If nobody is deserving it, keep it inside the drawer till one shines through. But if we had bought Kaka, and given him the #7 and he performed as he did for Real this season and would continue to perform as poorly in his time here, would you be happy and still see it as special? It's the player themselves and their performances which make it special. It's like a mask.

This post has been edited by Wan: May 22 2010, 08:26 PM
Wan
post May 22 2010, 09:51 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ May 22 2010, 08:35 PM)
hoho for some it may mean little but not to footballers.numbers play a significant part.or else we would have seen nba style numbering(retiring the number etc)

a lot comes from numbers, a passionate way for fans, writers alike to associate the success of a player.of course it could be the motivator for a player or otherwise.but what ever it may any player getting an important number will honour it, honour the shirt his wearing, and honour the team his playing.there is also the superstitious side to it to.so saying numbers mean nothing is just not quite right laugh.gif.weve seen numbers being moved around and players talking about it so it does MEAN some thing to every one. smile.gif
'Nothing' probably wasn't the right word for it. But still, people make a mountain out of a mole hill over these petty stuff as though it's bigger than what really is. Really arguing about giving it to Owen? Who could have predicted Ronaldo was going to be the best player in the world or special when we gave it to him. But over time he's grown into one. But it could have easily gone the other way round. And who's to say Owen wouldn't be 'special' to us? Not that he has any chance to be one considering all that happens to him. At the end of the day it's just a number. Players who wore them was special, but the number itself is just that. We've just been lucky so many iconic players have wore them over the years.

QUOTE(sheng @ May 22 2010, 09:20 PM)
owen world class is old story la.
now he is a good player ,nothing more nothing less.
the finishing is still there, but age has caught up wit him, injuries and all.
technically not that brilliant, that's y one of his greatest asset was his speed.
take tat away from him, and he's a much lesser player.
but then , wut more could u ask from him?
he didn cost anything, didn get to play much , but still contributed wit some important goals.
totally agree.
somehow i feel this thread has become only a thread to praise ur own players.
even stating an opinion on who to buy in the transfer market will get ridiculed.
since when did it become like this?
Criticizing is fine. But a lot depend on how it sound/been interpreted. Some are harsher than others in replying. Just one of those things. You get extreme on both side of the coin. It balanced out. tongue.gif Just need to tebal your face and stick your ground. At the end of the day, we all love the club. We just have different views on things. But if people come here with very strong negative vibes over the stuff that is in discussion, be prepared to have water poured over you. biggrin.gif
Wan
post May 22 2010, 09:57 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

George only wore it 114 times out of 430something470 appearances for us. Go figure. And as been said in a number of posts above, he wore whatever number based on where he was played.

This post has been edited by Wan: May 22 2010, 09:58 PM
Wan
post May 22 2010, 10:00 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Still feel terrible thinking about the Bayern games. Rooney getting injured, and us conceding a goal at the death in the away game, and having battered them at home and being fairly comfortable, we shot ourselves in the foot with some fantastic act by Ribery. I still think of that match.. arggh!

Added on May 22, 2010, 10:02 pm
QUOTE(mhyug @ May 22 2010, 09:59 PM)
yep, none the less a legend attributed to the #7 itself in our folklore. rclxms.gif
Just as a number of other less talented players. tongue.gif
Fact is SAF gave it to Owen who everybody knows would be a backup striker for us.

This post has been edited by Wan: May 22 2010, 10:02 PM
Wan
post May 22 2010, 10:08 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

I wonder if Carrick will be all right. He seemed to have gone from the radar ever since that awful few weeks. Lost at Bayern, Chelsea(linesman watched bouncing boobs on the other side of the pitch) and then that fantastic game at OT but still shitty result in the end.
Wan
post May 22 2010, 10:25 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ May 22 2010, 10:02 PM)
one that slipped away due to one of our own, and the rest of the other one...well next season then.gogo inter!!!!!!!
I remember in the first half even when Bommel made a couple of fouls even though he was already on a yellow. That's why I'm actually angry over the result. Rafael should have known better though and not be that aggressive especially seeing he was in the middle of the pitch in our own half. Just let him go. Arrghh! And the referee should have handled it better too. If he gonna show the 2nd yellow there, Bommel should have walk off the pitch before half time.

QUOTE(odieseven @ May 22 2010, 10:10 PM)
I dunno why...but I feel that Carrick might be on his way out. Unless he decides to let himself change his destiny like Nani did.
Still a very good player. He's just having a shitty time of it lately. With Fletcher cementing one spot with his performances, Carrick was competing directly with Scholes who was in fantastic form. Can't see us getting rid of him right now. Scholes won't last forever, and we still don't have that replacement ready. He would prove to be a good stop gap measure. He's proved it in the past when I actually thought we would be fine without Scholes, before this season came along that is. Scholes in god mode.. sheesh. We should get the cheque book out and offer Barca/Arsenal 80m for Xavi/Fabregas. That would solve all the problems.

QUOTE(mhyug @ May 22 2010, 10:13 PM)
sheehs 1 bad season you all runnin g to the hills with carrick.if berba oso staying, im sure carrick will be here.unless we suddenly faced financial meltdown then he will be among the one to be cashed ngahahah

so whos next on the reform bandwagon??park??owen??the other owen? the list goes on........ tongue.gif
I thought we're already in a financial meltdown. That's why we haven't splash the cash. laugh.gif

Added on May 22, 2010, 10:26 pmAs for the CL final. Go Mourinho FC! Win the CL, take over Real, win a couple of throphies, and come take over from SAF. Everybody wins.

This post has been edited by Wan: May 22 2010, 10:26 PM
Wan
post May 23 2010, 12:50 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ May 22 2010, 11:09 PM)
ayo by meltdown i mean glazer banrupt ma, were in debt not meltdown, 2 diff things ma.anyway about our cl game, yeah it was full of incidents.with the ref, the way our player handled themselves(rafael mainly), their players on top of that but it wasnt to be our night.
Was kidding there. tongue.gif If you really read the comments about why we haven't splashed the cash you would know what I mean. They think we absolutely have no money or have very little to spend.

QUOTE(Sheep319 @ May 22 2010, 11:10 PM)
but eh. seriously. Zlatan would be a good addition cum replacement to Berbatov.

He is teh shecks. But he's old la. ;_;
If we look to replace Berba, he would be a good option. He can actually play as that loneman upfront. He's physically stronger too, and is more of a striker than Berba is while also have that creative spark. But no chance to get our hands on him. He would cost a lot which is a big no no at his age under our circumstances. Barca would be looking 30m+ at least. And if we hate Berba, I can't see people take a liking to him since on the big stages, he chokes more often than not.

QUOTE(O-haiyo @ May 22 2010, 11:13 PM)
Yes, I do know Best also wear other number, but that doesn't change the fact whoever wear that number or whoever given that number is someone special, or at least a key player. Owen WAS not. And I did not criticize his performance because he does get enough playing time to be criticised. On the bolded part, are you being sarcastic? Because if you not, I have the same feeling. Nothing more than that. I am not critisizing him or wat.

No. 7 has always been someone special since Best.
Why didn't Best use the number at all times then? I'm not arguing about whether you rate, criticize or whatever about Owen. Just regarding the numbers. About the bolded part, I meant it. But I'm not making an issue out of it, like you did, saying he doesn't deserve it. We probably have the same thinking, just how you worded it sound harsh to me. tongue.gif

There's nobody deserving of that number currently anyway although if Nani keep his red hot form, he may well inherit that number although I want him to get the #11 jersey. That number was probably the only available number that is 'good looking' to give to Owen. If not he has to wear #3x. But who knows what was SAF's agenda when he decided on that. Probably trying to deflect attention or maybe he really thought Owen would be something special. tongue.gif

QUOTE(O-haiyo @ May 22 2010, 11:37 PM)
I really hope he will. We need him to be fit and ready unless we buy another CM. At the moment, for CM with have Fletcher, Gibson, Hargreaves, Anderson and Scholes. Of all these, only Fletcher, Carrick and Scholes have proved themselves. Gibson needs more time, Hargreaves will never completely recover, Scholes will not play as many as before, and I dunno what to write about Anderson laugh.gif . Having said this, I think we have enough.
Carrick position is safe. But maybe SAF hold a grudge or something over what happens. Like you said, we only have 3 proven options there(plus Giggsy). Ando blows hot and cold right now.. doing a Nani before the Nani of today. Let's just hope he can turn it around like Nani has.

It would be a bonus seeing Hargreaves walk to the bench in a lot of games next season, never mind seeing him start. laugh.gif We shouldn't count on him. If he truly gets back, great. If not, we must be prepared. It's like Saha all over again, except that this time it's worse. Gibson have a long way to go. Think to how Fletcher was before he really cement his place in the team. Games easily past him by. That shooting boot of his is very valuable right now. If only he could show his all round game a lot more in games, he'd be a very handy player. Ando same boat really. Either we're prepared to wait for them to grow there, or we dump one and get someone closer to their peaks as replacement. Seeing Nani becoming consistent this season, I hope we wait a bit more. Scholes would still be able to turn it on for another season and in Carrick and Fletcher, we have enough firepower although barely.

We could do with strengthening there right now. But if that doesn't happen. So be it.
Wan
post May 23 2010, 01:09 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(Pain_X @ May 23 2010, 12:50 AM)
I never doubted the player he was la. Im saying now,he looks nothing more than an average player.

Was wondering earlier,who should fill in your CM role next season..?
I wish i can see Ando-Scholes/Carrick-Fletch...
I've been pleasantly surprised by his all round game actually. He's pretty good at linking play up and not just looking to get into the box and score. Obviously he's no Rooney/Berba, but more than decent enough. He had to be good at it since he lost his pace that makes him special in those days. And he was deployed in midfield in some games for Newcastle. They wouldn't have deployed him there if his all round game ain't much. And as a top player(once before), he surely must have been pretty decent at it too. If not he would be like Bent. A goal scorer, nothing else. And he is good enough to be a backup striker for us. Doubt you would find that many better 3rd striker anywhere. If only he was a bit bigger and stronger physically, then he would have been truly perfect for that role. Experienced, good finisher, good striker, free, and his fitness record seemed to be good too although it's not perfect. He provided us with 9 goals in all competitions.. and he only played till late February. He would have been handy to have in the closing stages of the season.

As for CM next season, as it stands, Scholes/Carrick-Fletcher. The usual. A pair of two for the normal/easier games, and go with 3 for the harder games(whatever variation it may be. Flat 3 or 2 CMs with an AM ahead of them). I want the Ando in the first season when he wow'ed us over in his first run in the side. He was awesome in those games, especially those in which we scored 4 goals. It must have been around 4 games or something in a few weeks.
Wan
post May 23 2010, 04:43 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Bommel again on a yellow, commited a foul. And he's let off free, again. He is like Michael Brown, only less dirty and a bit more talented. It's annoying seeing him. Why can't the ref be consistent with their decisions! One is deserving another yellow, and yet he does the same almost every single time and got away free.

Inter deserved it. Bayern isn't all that. They work hard I give you that and is a threat when they attack. But their first half against us was shambolic. We tore them apart. ArrghhHhhHhhHHhhHhHhhhhhhh. Stupid referee to the rescue again. And then the distracted by boobs on the other side of the pitch linesman vs Chelsea.

Added on May 23, 2010, 4:44 amNow Mourinho is free to join Real Madrid so he can conquer Spain next. After that, take over from SAF. Get a few years out of him to bring a bit of stability, and if he doesn't follow our tradition re youth and all that, groom someone to take over.

This post has been edited by Wan: May 23 2010, 04:44 AM
Wan
post May 23 2010, 11:41 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

He will bring back Ronaldo in a few years. Your heard it here first!
Wan
post May 23 2010, 02:51 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(sinoffire @ May 23 2010, 01:36 PM)
and i wonder why manutd kalah to them at the 1st place.  shakehead.gif  doh.gif
We were crap away and we switched off at the last minute there. Karma I guess. Our turn to feel the pain we inflicted on them years back. Inconsistent refereeing + Ribery acting + Rafael's young blood + our away performance meant that we're out. But we were devasting that night. Just not our season. I blame the girls with their revealing longkang at matches these days.
Wan
post May 28 2010, 03:16 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

From reading reports on him so far in the recent Mexico games, he's pretty handy in the air and his movement is good. That's good to hear. Now we just need to see whether he would suit out lone striker setup.. if he does, purrfect. If we don't get anyone else, I'm happy with the squad. Just need Ando to do a Nani..
Wan
post May 28 2010, 07:22 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Mourinho said himself in the same article it's impossible.

He wants to coach us.

Winner!

Wan
post May 28 2010, 11:35 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Kezman, Kuyt(he's good to be fair, but he was tearing it up over there, and here, he's just another good player), Alfonso Alves, Huntelaar..
Wan
post May 29 2010, 12:40 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Good player, if he comes cheap why not. But he will miss half of our games when we play with two strikers. We won't play 433 every single game. But it's obvious we need someone of that type when the big game comes to play just ahead of the CMs or alongside them and bring a bit of guile and class to the play. That's one of the reason why we missed out on Sneidjer last season I guess. We have space for them, but would they be comfortable playing less than half of our games?

Last season:
34 games with two strikers,
22 games with a lone striker setup

Anybody seen this? laugh.gif
Wan
post May 29 2010, 03:14 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ May 29 2010, 01:40 PM)
forget about the higuins, van der varts and all other names, coz there might be one "surprise/not surprise" signing very soon and remember you heard it here first. tongue.gif

wait for it lads and lasses.mwahahahaha on the cheap summore.
Seeing the squad I'm not expecting any more buys. We got the striker in Chicharito, the young up and coming defender in Smalling, and everywhere you look, in term of numbers and experience(along with a mix of youth/up and coming players), we have more than enough for each position. We could do with an AM like Van der Vaart, but like I said, it's a luxury player for us. We use that type of guy less than half the time so it would be kind of a waste to get a good one who may not be happy at the end of the day. Besides we have Ando and Giggsy still. No middle ground there unfortunately. One on the end, and another one still finding his path.

But read the rumours about Joe Cole on a free. Wouldn't mind him if it does happen.

Manchester United boss Sir Alex won’t be a big spender: Gill
in almost six years as chief executive of Manchester United, David Gill has signed Wayne Rooney, sold Cristiano Ronaldo and been part of a club that has had to fight its corner against the new money brought to English football by the owners of Chelsea and Manchester City.

He was a key member of the United board that sold David Beckham in 2003 and signed Ruud van Nistelrooy, Juan Sebastian Veron (2001) and Rio Ferdinand (2002) for the best part of £80m.

They were the biggest-spending days of United's transfer history which, but for the intervention of Barcelona, would surely have included the signing of Ronaldinho in 2003.

Seven years on and the economics of the transfer market have changed.

United will not get into auctions with Russian oligarchs or Abu Dhabi oil billionaires and neither, says Gill, will they pay the hyper-inflated wages paid to the biggest players in Spain and even Italy.

With Sir Alex Ferguson, Gill has charted a new direction for United that he says will enable them to compete with the vast wealth of Sheikh Mansour and the seemingly limitless funds of Real Madrid.

United still have money for transfers — Gill is adamant that the Glazer family ownership has not changed that — but a significant part of football's landscape has changed.

On Thursday, Uefa introduced the ‘financial fair play’ regulations that will require clubs to break even by 2012. The era of a big money, record-breaking transfer every year at Old Trafford is over.

Already this season the club have committed around £20m to signing the 21-year-old Mexican Javier Hernandez; Fulham's England under-21 Chris Smalling and the Senegal international Mame Biram Diouf.

That is the way they intend to go from now on: a policy of more players like Ronaldo (£12.24m at the age of 18) and fewer like Dimitar Berbatovs (£30.75m at the age of 27).

Gill said: “The only player in his late 20s whom we signed for a lot of money was Berbatov and people forget we spent a lot of money on Ronaldo (pictured) who was 18 at the time.

“Players like Smalling and Hernandez — we try to identify all those with great, great potential. They become fantastic players but they are not the finished article. The other issue we have to face going forward is financial fair play with Uefa. That will have ramifications for squad sizes, we are bringing that into the Premier League next year (25 players, eight of which must be ‘homegrown’) and we are comfortable with that.

“It is wrong to say we are not in the market (at the high end) but Hernandez is coming in and we believe we can make him a fantastic player and his wage will go up. It is not like getting him when he is already a top, top star in that market. That's our philosophy.

“We are not going to do that (pay big fees for players in their late 20s). The other issue you face with certain players coming from overseas is the wages. We pay very good wages by English standards but we have never competed against the top Spanish wages or the top Italian wages. We are not going to do that. There is less chance of a top, top player coming from overseas.

“We are not out of the market. We pay excellent wages. But what you read (Zlatan) Ibrahimovic was earning — not that we are interested in him, but just to give you an example — we are not into that (reported to be around £170,000-a-week at Barcelona).

“When Ronaldo went to Real Madrid we made a lot of money out of it and he made a lot of money out of it. We have always had a sensible pay policy that ensures that we can attract and retain top players within the confines of what is good for Manchester United as a whole.”

Equally, however, United are not prepared to lose any of their established stars. When the question was put to Gill that Real Madrid would try to sign Rooney this summer, his immediate answer was short and to the point: “No chance”.

“He (Rooney) is on a contract (with two years remaining). I don't want to put timelines on it but I am sure we will sit down with Paul (Stretford, Rooney's agent) and draw up a new contract. He (Rooney) won't go there. He won't want to go there. There may be some noise around it. I don't care.

“In (comparison) David Beckham was clearly a lot older in terms of his career (when he moved to Madrid) and Cristiano had six years with us and he had wanted to move the previous year. There is nothing in Wayne's demeanour or Wayne's comments that he is anything other than very happy with us.

“As you can imagine, he is a big personality around the training ground. He has a young family now, his first son. He is very happy here. I get on well with Paul, he's fine. He is a sensible agent. He understands and you can negotiate with him. It's the ones who don't listen that you get problems with. He (Rooney) is a fantastic signing and he symbolises the club. Skill and work ethic all combined, like Ryan Giggs. He works his socks off. That's a Manchester United player. If you had to sum them up it is a combination of skill, work ethic, real guts and determination.”

Gill's expectation of the summer was that “some will leave, some will come in” and “there won't be any major players leaving”.

Whether the definition of “major” includes the out-of-favour Michael Carrick or Luis Anderson can be debated but Gill does not envisage the club selling Berbatov, who has not fulfilled the expectations of him when he joined from Tottenham.

Gill said: “He has three years left on his contract. It is two years plus an option for us. We spent a lot of money on him. We have no real desire to sell him. He will be there next season and Alex has been clear on that. He (Berbatov) gets a bit of a difficult press in some respects.”

It would not be Manchester United if there was not pause for thought about the future after a season in which Chelsea won the double and brought to an end three seasons of United dominating the Premier League.

But even with the green and gold protest gathering momentum and the funds available to Roberto Mancini at City, there is no panic. Gill said: “We have to have the best scouting, the best analysis and then compete for the players and make sure we can sell to them the benefit of coming to Manchester United: 76,000 every week, the history and heritage and the great players.”

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0453sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 08:11 AM