Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoises V5

CreepyCrawly
post Jun 13 2011, 05:40 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(a_sim @ Jun 12 2011, 11:03 PM)
Hi All Sifus,

My new pair of 6" leopard tortoise just got them on saturday.
[attachmentid=2270056][attachmentid=2270073]

I have some concerns on them. Do not really sure on their sex even i follow online guidelines. Same goes to my Indian Star Tortoise. Below is the picture of their plastron.
[attachmentid=2270059]

One of the leopard has clear but waterly eyes and blink more frequent compare to the other one which has clear dry eyes. Is it normal? I did notice water/ mucus mark on the nose sometimes if really look properly. A bit worry whether is flu but he/she still very active and eat alot. Do I need to worry?
[attachmentid=2270076]

Anyone interested on following tortoise/ turtle can visit following pet shop:-
few tails of Soft Shell Turtle (88 Pet Smart Pandan Indah)
5-6 tails of 6" Russia Tortoise (88 Pet Smart Panda Indah)
1 tail of 10" Ally Snapper (OK Aquarium Salak Selatan)
1 tail of 10" Pig Nose Turtle (OK Aquarium Salak Selatan)
3 tails of 2" Pig Nose Turtle (YK Aquarium Salak Selatan, just next to OK Aquarium)
Leopard get RNS quite easily if not properly taken care of smile.gif

This post has been edited by CreepyCrawly: Jun 13 2011, 05:43 PM
CreepyCrawly
post Jun 15 2011, 04:21 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(a_sim @ Jun 15 2011, 03:45 PM)
ok brought all my tortoises to Dr. S.Vellayan last nite and confirmed the watery eyes leos having middle stage RNS. Need to inject every alternate day up to 10 days.
All of them also need to de-worm because they infected by oxyuris and ameba cry.gif
Some more dr said oxyuris is sucking tortoise blood, worry the one with RNS too weak and cant make it cry.gif

All of my tortoise are male according to dr doh.gif .. kena con by seller said one male one female ish vmad.gif
Hi bro,

Where is the loc of Dr Vellayan? can i have his phone num? Is he the Vet in the national zoo lastime? ( jus in case any of my tort fall sick in future tongue.gif )

Lastime my leo tort oso went for injection, but THEY dint make it. (but my leo are small)

Good luck bro

Oh ya, what med he giv for de-worm?

This post has been edited by CreepyCrawly: Jun 15 2011, 04:24 PM
CreepyCrawly
post Jun 15 2011, 07:31 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(a_sim @ Jun 15 2011, 06:34 PM)
PMed rolleyes.gif

Added on June 15, 2011, 6:42 pm

yupe he is the one. Now he is a lecturer so he only available at nite if weekday:)

Dr.S.Vellayan (call him before you go)
Mobile: 6013-6246918
Home: 603-41085530
Add: 10, Jalan L2, Taman Melawati, KL (house + Clinic)

I'm not sure on the de-worm medication name but is powder form.
Now the other 3 of my tort also on nostril drop just for prevention until the sick tort fully recovered but when they are on medication they not really eat.  sad.gif
thanks bro, this is the experienced vet i m looking for :-)

how do u apply the nostril drop by the way? I always wonder if we drop the medicine, does it really go into their nostril since the hole is so small?
CreepyCrawly
post Jun 20 2011, 03:31 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(a_sim @ Jun 20 2011, 01:51 PM)
hahaha.. thank you iminuru:)....

Vets said all male i also doubt so:)... but one of the g.elegans start showing his little thing while i dry him after soaking. So is really hard to tell now:D.
How's the leo tort? getting better?
CreepyCrawly
post Jun 21 2011, 10:50 AM

248 posts

when are u going again?
mayb u can help me buy some de-worm medicine :-)
CreepyCrawly
post Jun 29 2011, 04:35 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(a_sim @ Jun 29 2011, 03:00 PM)
Hey visited xortic ranch last nite and just now....

They have alot alot of exotic pet there... if you would like to find tortoise or turtle, you can visit there... they have like

hinge back tortoise - The shop owner said adult already and ready for mating;), about 6-8" i think
Taiwanese turtle - more than 3"
Side neck turlte - more than 3"
etc (1-2 more species i dunno the name:))

happy hunting icon_rolleyes.gif
xortic ranch ---> where is this ?

Added on June 29, 2011, 4:35 pm
QUOTE(a_sim @ Jun 29 2011, 03:00 PM)
Hey visited xortic ranch last nite and just now....

They have alot alot of exotic pet there... if you would like to find tortoise or turtle, you can visit there... they have like

hinge back tortoise - The shop owner said adult already and ready for mating;), about 6-8" i think
Taiwanese turtle - more than 3"
Side neck turlte - more than 3"
etc (1-2 more species i dunno the name:))

happy hunting icon_rolleyes.gif
xortic ranch ---> where is this ?

This post has been edited by CreepyCrawly: Jun 29 2011, 04:35 PM
CreepyCrawly
post Jun 29 2011, 05:12 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(a_sim @ Jun 29 2011, 04:43 PM)
new shop?

got any frog there?
CreepyCrawly
post Jun 29 2011, 06:04 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(a_sim @ Jun 29 2011, 05:38 PM)
Ish out of so many u ask for frog ah:)... frog there dun hav.. ikano tat one got few tree frogs (quite big liao) and left one pac-man.. that was like a week ago i went there:)

Dun tell me u r into them also? if yes i really wan to visit ur place liao coz i like them but still not ready to keep them...to me they not really active muahahhaha...
Dun have time to go la

nextime u go let me know, help me buy n keep in ur place 1st, haha
CreepyCrawly
post Jul 2 2011, 03:44 PM

248 posts

Any update on the result of special permit application under the new act?

the deadline is over?
CreepyCrawly
post Jul 5 2011, 10:57 AM

248 posts

Just wonder. wat kind of vege or grass can we grow to feed tort like radi n sulcata?

Added on July 5, 2011, 10:59 am
QUOTE(CreepyCrawly @ Jul 5 2011, 10:57 AM)
Just wonder. wat kind of vege or grass can we grow to feed tort like radi n sulcata?
Another thing is, do we need to de-worm the tort like once a year? even there is no sign of worm?

This post has been edited by CreepyCrawly: Jul 5 2011, 10:59 AM
CreepyCrawly
post Jul 5 2011, 04:19 PM

248 posts

where can i find these seeds?

actually i hav planted some bermuda grass( i guess it is) , but they seems not interested on it

For those weeds o grass on roadside, they all looks the same for me, not dare to feed it to the tort

CreepyCrawly
post Jul 5 2011, 05:47 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(a_sim @ Jul 5 2011, 04:32 PM)
FYI, i'm planting opuntias now and i think is prickly pears. hope it will grow, if grow lot lot then pass you some lo icon_idea.gif ... but the problem is dunno need to wait how long only can grow big blink.gif.. touch wood if cannot grow dunno can beg from the owner again or not blush.gif
opuntias i planted for 1 year only can serve for a meal less than 5 min, gived up on that, lol
CreepyCrawly
post Jul 13 2011, 10:36 AM

248 posts

Do we need to "de-thorn" the opuntia b4 feed it to the tort?
CreepyCrawly
post Jul 13 2011, 11:43 AM

248 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Jul 13 2011, 10:54 AM)
I plant the " thornless " type n the few hair-fine thorn I don't bother to de-thorn before feeding !
Can i feed them aloe vera?

Coz i hav lots of aloe vera at home biggrin.gif
CreepyCrawly
post Jul 15 2011, 04:39 PM

248 posts

is dragon fruit good for them?
CreepyCrawly
post Jul 21 2011, 05:45 PM

248 posts

recently i m sprouting some alfafa, radish and red clove

are they good for tortoise?

I m sprouting them in a glass bottle, consume for detox purposes actually ( not for me )
CreepyCrawly
post Jul 22 2011, 10:32 AM

248 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Jul 21 2011, 07:14 PM)
Sprout only good as snack , try grow the alfafa n clove up till bloom to get more fiber into them ? If can't finish dry them to make hay .

Cheers
smile.gif alrite, wil wait until they bloom

bought the seed from organic shop, cost me rm30 for 150g, but it can grow a lot of greens for sure

This post has been edited by CreepyCrawly: Jul 22 2011, 11:22 AM
CreepyCrawly
post Jul 22 2011, 09:46 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(a_sim @ Jul 22 2011, 02:59 PM)
Hmmm then i will mix with their daily meal with alfalfa hay again:) as for the sprout they not really like it and i'm not sure still eatable or not coz forgot that i leave it in the fridge since last month blush.gif . Should throw it away later back home hmm.gif
but how come the alfafa hay seems to be indigestible to my tort?

Added on July 22, 2011, 9:48 pm
QUOTE(ncl1511 @ Jul 22 2011, 05:02 PM)
My darlings.......
nice,
how much n where did u buy them?

This post has been edited by CreepyCrawly: Jul 22 2011, 09:48 PM
CreepyCrawly
post Aug 2 2011, 06:27 PM

248 posts

Try some small fish, they like it
CreepyCrawly