Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoises V5

SAMPERTH
post Feb 24 2012, 03:32 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(akuning @ Feb 24 2012, 02:32 PM)
ok lor.....is there any season for them to breed? any specific month need to put them together?
All depends as theres no fix or real big change in our tropical climate ( each year's rainy season start slightly differently ) Even East and West of our country has different " Dry " and " Wet" season !!

But the onset of heavy rain do set off breeding urge more - Indian Star is an example !!

SULCATA don't seems to have any season in Malaysia I get eggs 9 mths a year ( 8-10 clutch average )

Cheers

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Feb 25 2012, 05:49 AM
SAMPERTH
post Feb 25 2012, 07:44 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(ajiemohamed1230 @ Feb 25 2012, 07:46 PM)
i wonder how much a baby sulcata will cost in malaysia? thanks
Depends RM 200 to RM 800 or more for 2 to 3+ inch specimen !!

Cheers

SAMPERTH
post Feb 26 2012, 01:44 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(ajiemohamed1230 @ Feb 25 2012, 10:43 PM)
a shop in putatan sell rm1000++. so i wonder if that a reasonable price...
I think I know who's selling that or maybe who supplied it !! A shop in sandakan also tag similar price for a 4 incher !!

Cheers
SAMPERTH
post Feb 27 2012, 08:40 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(ajiemohamed1230 @ Feb 27 2012, 08:39 PM)

by the way, is this even a malayan box turtle? i just assume based on google pics.. the seller say this is tungtung...
A Malayan box turtle . As for Tungtung not anywhere near ( which will grow big but this Boxie never more than 12 inch long )

Flaking ? Where looks ok to me

Cheers
SAMPERTH
post Feb 28 2012, 04:19 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(tygoh @ Feb 27 2012, 11:59 PM)
That is not a star. Its Geometric tortoise....very rare of a kind. Very nice one you have there.
How to tell ?? Care to share ?? I still think it's as indian star as can be !!

Just to let you know most of the " geometric tortoise " pictures in Internet are just indian star !!

Added on February 28, 2012, 6:31 pm
QUOTE(cameldog @ Feb 28 2012, 11:24 AM)
Samperth,

Now I have doubt.... i "suspect" the "presumed female" is male ! How do you sexing the radi ? care to share?
Same as any other tortoise - Tail , Butt eye , Plastron , Anal scutes......... Bit of everything actually , if no tell-tale specific one !!

But most Radi has rather short tail (thus sexed female when young ) till mature - if not why ppl say they can only safely sexed Radi after 9-10 inches or larger !!

Cheers

Added on February 28, 2012, 6:54 pm
QUOTE(ajiemohamed1230 @ Feb 27 2012, 09:57 PM)
is flaking = terkupas? like when u have cuts on skin u can lift it, around the edge of it shell also got like terkupas.

Added on February 27, 2012, 10:47 pm

Cant really tell as pic blur !!

But WC animals anything is possible !!

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Feb 28 2012, 06:54 PM
SAMPERTH
post Feb 29 2012, 08:14 AM

517 posts

[quote=ajiemohamed1230,Feb 29 2012, 09:12 AM]

Added on February 28, 2012, 6:54 pm
Cant really tell as pic blur !!

But WC animals anything is possible !!

[/quote]

WC=wild caught?

all malayan box are caught from the wild? no one breeding them?

[/quote]

Ya just a handfull of breeder and with them laying 1-3 eggs clutch 2-5 times a year They not productive enough to initiate commercial breeding !!

Cheers
SAMPERTH
post Feb 29 2012, 10:05 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(ajiemohamed1230 @ Feb 29 2012, 09:17 AM)
Ya just a handfull of breeder and with them laying 1-3 eggs clutch 2-5 times a year They not productive enough to initiate      commercial breeding !!
Cheers
i see.. u ever been to mimpian jadi resort? they have about 6 or 7 malayan box. is it possible the turtle lay eggs? or it need certain environment to produce eggs?
Not really , as long as there's enough food and water deep enough for them to breed ( this sp mate in water ) they will give fertile eggs ( smaller n less if less ideal parameters provided )

Cheers
------------------------------------------

This sp even thou protected internationally ( they have a big home range ) are quite common locally

Certain if not most Tamu in Borneo have them for sale (if in season can be as cheap as RM 5 a pc )

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Feb 29 2012, 05:07 PM
SAMPERTH
post Feb 29 2012, 05:52 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(cameldog @ Feb 20 2012, 07:58 AM)
Yup... it's kinda fun and excited when ppl start to discuss and exchange rather then keep on "taking" but not "giving back". smile.gif

So, i think the next we should dive into are food...
lotsa ppl keep on struggling "should i feed this? should i feed that?"

I ever saw an forum was asking... "can i feed hard boiled eggs to my tortoise"?

and another forumer replied.... What do you think? and how the tortoise going to find hard boiled eggs when they are in the wild? and who is going to boil for them ?
[attachmentid=2711709]

I feed mine , just did this evening !! ( infertile or early death embyro Turkey and Kampung chicken egg )

Cheers
SAMPERTH
post Feb 29 2012, 08:45 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(ajiemohamed1230 @ Feb 29 2012, 09:07 PM)
where can we find them in nature? river or lake?
how did the seller catch the hatchlings? where to find them?

i will have to try my luck around april . as u say that the time they hatch..
The size you bought even if CB need about 2 years to grow to that size !! WC will take even longer
- Their hatchlings size 1.5 - 2 inch ( some even smaller i.e. twins or tiny eggs )

They live in all sort of water related habitat so ...... search around Go to forested area may even find one on the road !!

Seller catch hatchlings ? If you refer to what I written I was referring to WC adult or sub-adult @ RM 5 and above

No hatchlings on hand to show SOON maybe end March as many eggs buried waiting to hatch
Cheers

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Feb 29 2012, 09:20 PM
SAMPERTH
post Feb 29 2012, 09:22 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(ajiemohamed1230 @ Feb 29 2012, 09:58 PM)
i thought the seller catch them as hatchlings.

their healthy poo should be the same as RES poo rite? but this turtle look like cirit birit?
Depends BUT WC of this sp almost always cirit birit soft soft poo !!
SAMPERTH
post Mar 1 2012, 10:23 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(ADEXXXX @ Mar 1 2012, 10:00 AM)
may i know now any chances to get radi tort? and where? hmm.gif
Not really as non can be legally exported n thus legally imported into our country !! Any in market are illegal so be warned n be careful unless u don't care .

Cheers

SAMPERTH
post Mar 1 2012, 11:22 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(CreepyCrawly @ Mar 1 2012, 11:53 AM)
gonna buy some eggs later to feed my tort too :-)

If diner big enough leave it shell on ( crack the shell a bit ) if not shell off or use quail egg !!

Egg shell = Almost 100% calcium carbonate !!

Cheers
SAMPERTH
post Mar 1 2012, 01:26 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(cameldog @ Mar 1 2012, 08:02 AM)
Ok.  i'll feed mine with hard boil egg too ! i swear ! smile.gif I think that will be another way to obtain protein... i read some research doc and saying they do eat "meat" in the wild sometime to gain protein... and you hit me! i feed mazuri sometime too! haha smile.gif

Oh yeah, I just took some photos of my radi....

I think this is female.....
(not too active, most of the time she will stay on certain area and rest for a few hours....)

and this is male...
(this fella is a monster.... he eat anything that he can see! dog poo too!)

Samperth, what you say on my tortoise sexing guess?
And they only have access to dry or rotten meat , hair/fur on !! ( most of my herd has access to animal/insects protein after 1 yrs old - just how often for different sp )

Looks to be what you guessed !! Maybe she's gravid ? Have you tried sending her for X-ray before ?

Your monster Male does has shorter tail but the part joining the body looks big enough to " conceal " his gun !! So should ok to breed/mate

Cheers

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Mar 1 2012, 01:29 PM
SAMPERTH
post Mar 1 2012, 01:32 PM

517 posts

[attachmentid=2712811]

The highlighted red oval part of the anal scute " slighted raised " outside and thick thru into the inside ??

Cheers

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Mar 1 2012, 01:34 PM
SAMPERTH
post Mar 1 2012, 03:46 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(cameldog @ Mar 1 2012, 03:13 PM)
Erm.. I'm not too sure what you meant by [ " slighted raised " outside and thick thru into the inside ??]...
are you saying the anal scute that you circled is thick thru inside the platron ?
Will try snap a shot ( of mine ) of what I meant from another angle to show you !! Male will/should have that !!

--------------------------------------

[attachmentid=2713516]

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Mar 1 2012, 08:43 PM
SAMPERTH
post Mar 2 2012, 05:34 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(mic_tcs @ Mar 1 2012, 10:34 PM)
That's a monster tail...
He is a stud so needs a big tail , mates or ram anything that comes into his enclosure even my leg !! LOL

Havent weigh him this year but he is heavy , length about 15 inch - biggest in my Radi herd!!

Cheers

Added on March 2, 2012, 5:36 am
QUOTE(dandelion83 @ Mar 1 2012, 10:42 PM)
hi all,lately my star tortoise laid 3 eggs again.anyone interested to hatch it?
Tortoise eggs can't be moved/rotated after day 1 !! So you are stucked with them - try bury them under 6 inch of sand and try "cook" them to hatch !!

Cheers

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Mar 3 2012, 04:54 AM
SAMPERTH
post Mar 2 2012, 09:45 AM

517 posts

I measure plastron ( if another sp I minus the protruding gular scute ) only !! That guy last weigh-in about 8 kg !! Will measure this evening . But since it's condition-ing time ( fattening for mating ) he should weigh more !!

I don't usually weigh my animals except medication time ( calculating dosage ) unless they feel light for their size !!

Cheers
SAMPERTH
post Mar 2 2012, 11:17 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Mar 2 2012, 10:45 AM)
I measure plastron ( if another sp I minus the protruding gular scute ) only !! That guy last weigh-in about 8 kg !! Will measure this evening . But since it's condition-ing time ( fattening for mating ) he should weigh more !!

I don't usually weigh my animals except medication time ( calculating dosage ) unless they feel light for their size !!

Cheers
So how u measure ?
- end to end
- plastron

As I think end to end not fair to male as male will measure 0.5 - 1.5 inch shorter !!

Cheers

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Mar 2 2012, 11:23 AM
SAMPERTH
post Mar 2 2012, 01:41 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(cameldog @ Mar 2 2012, 02:31 PM)
I measure end-to-end... because i read some article and they are claiming that might be more accurate since some SP like plagshere with longer "sabre" (i dun know what it called smile.gif)
Thats call gular scutes ( only Male has longer one unless broken off or deformed from birth )

And its call Plowshare tortoise @ Angonoka @ Yniphora @ Geochelone yniphora @ Astrochelys yniphora ( I omit 80% of the gular scutes when measuring this particular sp - mention b4 right )

Male of this sp uses this " saber " of theirs to flip other male or female !!

Cheers

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Mar 2 2012, 01:42 PM
SAMPERTH
post Mar 2 2012, 07:48 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(tygoh @ Mar 2 2012, 06:27 PM)
Do not worry. Geometric is much more precious than star. Star is just too common. Most claim they are same but not. If you compare geometric and star, yes they have similar yellow lines but geometric has straight lines across each carapace where star is not. Star lines are crossing each other. Check carefully.

Added on March 2, 2012, 5:30 pm

Very very slim i guess. It also depends your budget. They are gemstone now.!
One is african while the other Indian/Sri lankan how similar with the yellow line also can't be the other !! If you mention straight line why not say its a Burmese star ( also rarer than Indian Star ) ?

The yellow also not in the right hue to be Geometric just to let you know !! Unless photoshop in that picture .

But hey all make good pets as long as they are healthy and doing great why bother so much which sp is which

-------------------------------

Maybe thats why he is after the Sulcata ( African origin ) and not his " wife" ( Indian origin ) LOL

Added on March 2, 2012, 7:49 pm
QUOTE(tygoh @ Mar 2 2012, 08:05 PM)
rclxms.gif  Not one will argue with that point except someone come up with yniphora...  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
Except for a longer gular and a higher dome shell I THINK radiated make a more pretty pet .

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Mar 2 2012, 07:49 PM

24 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0454sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:29 PM