Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoises V5

cameldog
post Mar 1 2012, 07:02 AM

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Feb 29 2012, 05:52 PM)
[attachmentid=2711709]

I feed mine , just did this evening !! ( infertile or early death embyro Turkey and Kampung chicken egg )
Cheers
Ok. i'll feed mine with hard boil egg too ! i swear ! smile.gif I think that will be another way to obtain protein... i read some research doc and saying they do eat "meat" in the wild sometime to gain protein... and you hit me! i feed mazuri sometime too! haha smile.gif

Oh yeah, I just took some photos of my radi....

I think this is female.....
(not too active, most of the time she will stay on certain area and rest for a few hours....)

and this is male...
(this fella is a monster.... he eat anything that he can see! dog poo too!)

Samperth, what you say on my tortoise sexing guess?

This post has been edited by cameldog: Mar 1 2012, 07:02 AM
ADEXXXX
post Mar 1 2012, 09:00 AM

154 posts

may i know now any chances to get radi tort? and where? hmm.gif
SAMPERTH
post Mar 1 2012, 10:23 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(ADEXXXX @ Mar 1 2012, 10:00 AM)
may i know now any chances to get radi tort? and where? hmm.gif
Not really as non can be legally exported n thus legally imported into our country !! Any in market are illegal so be warned n be careful unless u don't care .

Cheers

CreepyCrawly
post Mar 1 2012, 10:53 AM

248 posts

gonna buy some eggs later to feed my tort too :-)
SAMPERTH
post Mar 1 2012, 11:22 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(CreepyCrawly @ Mar 1 2012, 11:53 AM)
gonna buy some eggs later to feed my tort too :-)

If diner big enough leave it shell on ( crack the shell a bit ) if not shell off or use quail egg !!

Egg shell = Almost 100% calcium carbonate !!

Cheers
cameldog
post Mar 1 2012, 11:38 AM

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Mar 1 2012, 11:22 AM)
If diner big enough leave it shell on ( crack the shell a bit ) if not shell off or use quail egg !!

Egg shell = Almost 100% calcium carbonate !!

Cheers
Hey sampeth did you saw my tort pic? how do ya think about my accessement about the sexing? pls enlighten me abit smile.gif
SAMPERTH
post Mar 1 2012, 01:26 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(cameldog @ Mar 1 2012, 08:02 AM)
Ok.  i'll feed mine with hard boil egg too ! i swear ! smile.gif I think that will be another way to obtain protein... i read some research doc and saying they do eat "meat" in the wild sometime to gain protein... and you hit me! i feed mazuri sometime too! haha smile.gif

Oh yeah, I just took some photos of my radi....

I think this is female.....
(not too active, most of the time she will stay on certain area and rest for a few hours....)

and this is male...
(this fella is a monster.... he eat anything that he can see! dog poo too!)

Samperth, what you say on my tortoise sexing guess?
And they only have access to dry or rotten meat , hair/fur on !! ( most of my herd has access to animal/insects protein after 1 yrs old - just how often for different sp )

Looks to be what you guessed !! Maybe she's gravid ? Have you tried sending her for X-ray before ?

Your monster Male does has shorter tail but the part joining the body looks big enough to " conceal " his gun !! So should ok to breed/mate

Cheers

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Mar 1 2012, 01:29 PM
SAMPERTH
post Mar 1 2012, 01:32 PM

517 posts

[attachmentid=2712811]

The highlighted red oval part of the anal scute " slighted raised " outside and thick thru into the inside ??

Cheers

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Mar 1 2012, 01:34 PM
cameldog
post Mar 1 2012, 02:13 PM

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Mar 1 2012, 01:32 PM)
[attachmentid=2712811]

The highlighted red oval part of the anal scute " slighted raised " outside and thick thru into the inside ??

Cheers
Erm.. I'm not too sure what you meant by [ " slighted raised " outside and thick thru into the inside ??]...
are you saying the anal scute that you circled is thick thru inside the platron ?
SAMPERTH
post Mar 1 2012, 03:46 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(cameldog @ Mar 1 2012, 03:13 PM)
Erm.. I'm not too sure what you meant by [ " slighted raised " outside and thick thru into the inside ??]...
are you saying the anal scute that you circled is thick thru inside the platron ?
Will try snap a shot ( of mine ) of what I meant from another angle to show you !! Male will/should have that !!

--------------------------------------

[attachmentid=2713516]

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Mar 1 2012, 08:43 PM
mic_tcs
post Mar 1 2012, 09:34 PM

That's a monster tail...
dandelion83
post Mar 1 2012, 09:42 PM

hi all,lately my star tortoise laid 3 eggs again.anyone interested to hatch it?
SAMPERTH
post Mar 2 2012, 05:34 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(mic_tcs @ Mar 1 2012, 10:34 PM)
That's a monster tail...
He is a stud so needs a big tail , mates or ram anything that comes into his enclosure even my leg !! LOL

Havent weigh him this year but he is heavy , length about 15 inch - biggest in my Radi herd!!

Cheers

Added on March 2, 2012, 5:36 am
QUOTE(dandelion83 @ Mar 1 2012, 10:42 PM)
Tortoise eggs can't be moved/rotated after day 1 !! So you are stucked with them - try bury them under 6 inch of sand and try "cook" them to hatch !!

Cheers

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Mar 3 2012, 04:54 AM
cameldog
post Mar 2 2012, 06:59 AM

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Mar 1 2012, 03:46 PM)
Will try snap a shot ( of mine ) of what I meant from another angle to show you !! Male will/should have that !!

--------------------------------------

[attachmentid=2713516]
Hey Samperth,

Yep. mine is exactly same like yours... what's ur 15" monster weight?

my biggest is about 13-14 inches.. about 6kg... but the 12 inches one is about the same weight.. 5-6kgs...

smallest one is.....i think 10 inches...

but how do you measure the size? some ppl measure it's platron, some measure the end to end of the shell....

but my female (13-14 inches) abit skinny.. her foot not as "thick" and strong as the 12 and 11 inches one.....

oh yeah, i have a leopard too.... about 10 inches... argh!!
SAMPERTH
post Mar 2 2012, 09:45 AM

517 posts

I measure plastron ( if another sp I minus the protruding gular scute ) only !! That guy last weigh-in about 8 kg !! Will measure this evening . But since it's condition-ing time ( fattening for mating ) he should weigh more !!

I don't usually weigh my animals except medication time ( calculating dosage ) unless they feel light for their size !!

Cheers
cameldog
post Mar 2 2012, 09:57 AM

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Mar 2 2012, 09:45 AM)
I measure plastron ( if another sp I minus the protruding gular scute ) only !! That guy last weigh-in about 8 kg !! Will measure this evening . But since it's condition-ing time ( fattening for mating ) he should weigh more !!

I don't usually weigh my animals except medication time ( calculating dosage ) unless they feel light for their size !!

Cheers
Yup. i only measure when i feel they are not "too right" be it too light or sleep too much tongue.gif

i think yours is at least 2-3 inches bigger than mine !
SAMPERTH
post Mar 2 2012, 11:17 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Mar 2 2012, 10:45 AM)

Cheers
So how u measure ?
- end to end
- plastron

As I think end to end not fair to male as male will measure 0.5 - 1.5 inch shorter !!

Cheers

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Mar 2 2012, 11:23 AM
slackerz
post Mar 2 2012, 11:30 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(dandelion83 @ Mar 1 2012, 09:42 PM)
are you sure?where is your place?if far cannot lah..
cameldog
post Mar 2 2012, 01:31 PM

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Mar 2 2012, 11:17 AM)
So how u measure ?
- end to end
- plastron
As I think end to end not fair to male as male will measure 0.5 - 1.5 inch shorter !!

Cheers
I measure end-to-end... because i read some article and they are claiming that might be more accurate since some SP like plagshere with longer "sabre" (i dun know what it called smile.gif)
SAMPERTH
post Mar 2 2012, 01:41 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(cameldog @ Mar 2 2012, 02:31 PM)
I measure end-to-end... because i read some article and they are claiming that might be more accurate since some SP like plagshere with longer "sabre" (i dun know what it called smile.gif)
Thats call gular scutes ( only Male has longer one unless broken off or deformed from birth )

And its call Plowshare tortoise @ Angonoka @ Yniphora @ Geochelone yniphora @ Astrochelys yniphora ( I omit 80% of the gular scutes when measuring this particular sp - mention b4 right )

Male of this sp uses this " saber " of theirs to flip other male or female !!

Cheers

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Mar 2 2012, 01:42 PM

134 Pages « < 101 102 103 104 105 > » Top

0.0244sec    0.97    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 09:08 PM