Photography Nikon D90 v7
zellleonhart
Jul 3 2010, 12:28 AM
QUOTE(noobie1 @ Jul 2 2010, 06:51 PM) hmm...sb900 got a sensor at the right side(if the screen facing you), the sensor nid to face to the camera to receive the pop up flash light in order to be trigger....if the sensor face other place,it wont be trigger too...does this answer ur question?? well, that's the answer I want. I thought SB900 can do wonders, can receive pop up flash trigger even though not facing the pop up. but my nissin can be triggered even though with the sensor away from the pop up range, but need to use TTL (stronger pop up flash power). So now i just use TTL if i need to trigger quite far, but lower the flash compensation for pop up flash.
zellleonhart
Jul 3 2010, 01:25 PM
QUOTE(ifaaan @ Jul 3 2010, 02:00 AM) nostalgic? O.O care to elaborate? it doesn't Have to face the flash, just make sure that somehow the light from the built in's preflash reaches the sensor. usually the remote flash will trigger cos the preflash light bounces of walls and stuff to reach the sensor. hmm. i wonder if a remote flash is placed far enough from the camera in an open space (light can't bounce from preflash) thn you put a small reflector angled so that the preflash bounces onto the sensor, will it trigger?  I see, so that's optical trigger instead of radio trigger. Err if I use a SU800 + sb600/sb900 then it no need to face the su800 because it uses radio signal right? Erm, putting a reflector and bounce onto the sensor of the flash might work, but you need some set up there...
zellleonhart
Jul 3 2010, 02:08 PM
QUOTE(celciuz @ Jul 3 2010, 02:05 PM) Yeap, Nikon CLS uses optical trigger from body pop up. Radio signal only for the TTL data. But SU800 is not using optical trigger right?
zellleonhart
Jul 3 2010, 10:28 PM
QUOTE(celciuz @ Jul 3 2010, 10:07 PM) Yeap, problem is when the flash is placed too far it can't trigger. If so far can trigger, SU800 can't sell good XD
zellleonhart
Jul 3 2010, 11:11 PM
QUOTE(ifaaan @ Jul 3 2010, 10:54 PM) yeah, i did it for mine.  edit one of the picture controls and change the tone. and rename it sepia  i'm looking for a flash diffuser for my SB-600. will there be a difference between flash diffusers of different makes? eg. nikon, phottix, octopus, some china brand. or can i go with whichever i want and still be happy?  IMO there's no Nikon brand flash diffusers, and there should be no much difference for different brands. What is different is the TYPE of the diffuser. The most common one is the stofen diffuser, squarish one and just fit into your flash head. there are lots of other types of flash diffuser and can result in different effect. Other diffusers are Lambency diffuser (looks like big maggi cup), bounce card, Demb Flash Diffuser Pro (DFD, very famous) etc... I personally think DFD's design is good and the most versatile. Celciuz will know how good it is =D
zellleonhart
Jul 5 2010, 07:53 PM
QUOTE(jobneed @ Jul 5 2010, 04:52 PM) okok...i think i might join the party then...and 1 more thing...is there a guide on how to take pic of model? because i mostly take landscape only...never took a model before... Portrait shooting is not something you can learn just in a day or two. You need constant practicing and gain more experience and eventually you will get a hang of it. In outdoor you need fill flash, indoor you need to learn how to produce well exposed portrait without harsh flash and bad framing. So, take this golden opportunity and learn from the group! Added on July 5, 2010, 7:55 pmQUOTE(celciuz @ Jul 5 2010, 07:53 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Spreading bokeh poison~ Wow, sifu too much poison leh This post has been edited by zellleonhart: Jul 5 2010, 07:55 PM
zellleonhart
Jul 5 2010, 07:57 PM
Never heard someone complain that his lens can cover more range, unless it's about IQ/sharpness. Perhaps he thinks that he need a 18-55 for close range, 18-105 for medium range and 18-200 for tele? >.<
zellleonhart
Jul 5 2010, 08:04 PM
Wow celciuz, you always have events/models to photoshoot don't you  How you can be so free ah? no work or study? XD
zellleonhart
Jul 6 2010, 02:59 PM
QUOTE(kenji_britney @ Jul 6 2010, 10:12 AM) adjusted WB, too cold? or ok? » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « WB looks okay for me though, a bit cold on the background but it doesn't matter for me. The model is well exposed and the skin tone is just nice =D
zellleonhart
Jul 6 2010, 03:01 PM
QUOTE(ryancfs @ Jul 6 2010, 02:56 PM) Hehe... many seems to appreciate the Q of prime... 6K is out la... how much is the 11-16 f/2.8? and is f/2.8 enough for restaurant dinner setting? or will i need a flash? i hate flash... Thanks all for yr comments. f/2.8 is sufficient, one stop faster than your 18-105 @ f3.5. But you get wider focal length in tokina 11-16. if you pump some ISO and use slower shutter (1/30~1/40?) at f2.8 should be ok. But it wont look so well exposed and not sharp. If can some bounced/diffused flash would be better to illuminate more. This post has been edited by zellleonhart: Jul 6 2010, 03:02 PM
zellleonhart
Jul 6 2010, 03:10 PM
QUOTE(ryancfs @ Jul 6 2010, 03:05 PM) thanks, but i prefer not to use flash at such public settings... very impolite i feel... want o be polite but no money wor... how a?... hahaha...  Hmm maybe 35mm f1.8, not too expensive, fast enough but not wide enough lol. Or, tokina 11-16 @ f2.8, pump ISO maybe 800~1600, shutter 1/20~1/30s. Then shoot in RAW and light up a bit in PP. You don't wanna use tripod for just photoshooting in a restaurant right. Either slower shutter or flash =X