Nokia N8 Thread V1 Its now OFFICIAL, The next revolutionises cameraphones

BBXiong
post Jun 3 2010, 08:53 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 3 2010, 06:51 PM)
Yeap looking forward for a mini N8 compare to the upcoming brix sized phone  biggrin.gif
just cut off the thick bazel and remain the screen size, and it's called n8 mini already tongue.gif
maybe finally addding a camera lens cover would be nice...

just hope it would come out with more Symbian^3 devices that will push the market and drag devs to make nice apps and games for us...IMO most the current games and apps are rather dull and boring
BBXiong
post Jun 4 2010, 12:48 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(alvin_yong_87 @ Jun 3 2010, 10:23 PM)
another ultimate device?perhaps N8 with at least four row of qwerty keyboard and increase its screen resolution to 854x480 laugh.gif  laugh.gif
symbian all this while have 'unified' screen resolution..i guess it still doesnt support OS level resolution scaling yet...but as i said, the extra resolution will only cause smaller font..not really for the OS, but for browsers and all, the default view would be smaller and u will need to zoom in a lot more
BBXiong
post Jun 4 2010, 08:34 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

in this case, the gpu, but i guess it can still handle it, but games wot be that nice already lo....iphone nice also due to its low res, require less processing power so can look nicer
BBXiong
post Jun 4 2010, 09:54 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

nokia n82's picture was better by a little even without the flash...dunno is bigger sensor or something...but n92 have everything else..bigger screen, way better speaker
BBXiong
post Jun 4 2010, 09:03 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(GothFebrio @ Jun 4 2010, 08:24 PM)
true, i dont like iphone cuz it doesnt hv secondary camera to make video calls.
yeah, that suck too, but when u come to think of it...how often do u do that, or do u even do that at all? for me, the answer is, no i don do that, none of my friends bother to do that, and it's like a waste to me...so...that issue didnt really bother me much for iphone...it's just the stupid camera and ultra low resolution, and at least another 5 things made me stay away from it
BBXiong
post Jun 10 2010, 10:14 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Jun 9 2010, 02:22 PM)
sorry guys.i mentioned N8 doesnt have front camera because thru the picture i cant see something like N95,5800 front camera?i can see the sensor right there only...can state it out?thanks very much.ps:my fren(iphone fanboy) nonstop saying iphone very geng,with best screen resolution in market,multasking,apple processor(forget the code name and my fren said that snapdragon and ARM lapsap),the best TFT that can equally bright with AMOLED.how to shoot back?im totally lose when in the argument today.
1 more thing,he said that iphone doesnt integrated flash lite 4.0 coz adobe/flash lite consume a lot of ram,for smoothy purposes,steve jobs neglect it.

Added on June 9, 2010, 2:24 pmu all so fast selling all of ur phones d?OMG.my satio,iphones still with me!!gotta sell it fast before price drop!
looks like ur friend have been brainwashed by steve jobs...

here's something that N8 have that it doesnt:

1)Customizable homepage
2)Multitasking properly done
3)Video call that WILL NOT require the other side to use another N8
4)a freaking good camera that quality is above digital camera
5)Xenon flash
6)File manager
7)phone to phone Bluetooth File transfer(like mp3 and those, non jailbreak cant send songs thru bluetooth)
8)memory card slot, yeah, 32GB is nice...but if u actually don have enough, then how?
9) HDMI output...apple will surely come out with a HDMI Dock, to earn more money from u
10)it doesnt uses micro sim, so compatibility for telco from all around the world is better
11)on iphone, i see batman, superman, wonderwoman, but where's Flash??

those are the ones i can think of now..but there are so many flaws on that OS as for now...that held me back...i like the design though tongue.gif
BBXiong
post Jun 10 2010, 11:04 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Jun 10 2010, 10:26 AM)
@BBxiong thanks.but those point seems useless infront of him.i've told him about all those point...
the power of truth is nothing in front of fanboism...they are brainwashed and the live in their own fantasy
BBXiong
post Jun 14 2010, 04:36 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Jun 14 2010, 03:37 PM)
streamyx is the best!i using streamyx to watch world cup live HD quality.
lol..not for me though...btw how u watch live streaming for world cup?
BBXiong
post Jun 18 2010, 01:59 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

1) Customizable hompage? means what?
>>means u don see ur boring fixed home page, can put whatever widget u want for fast access, something that iphone cannot do

2) iphone 3gs already support multitasking with 3rd party software, and iPhone4 OS4 is Multitasking
>>iphone's multitasking must be supported by the program, meaning the program must have the related multitasking codes to make it run properly...while symbian natively supports that, long long long time story lo...btw, 3rd party app? jailbreak? c'mon la, most home user don even do that..they still want their warranty ok?

3) Video call expensive, malaysian only 0.01% ppl use that function.
>>tell that to steve jobs, like his facetime is gonna be any cheaper then normal 3G call, plus, there are actually quite a number of people using it la..he doesnt see doesnt mean no one using it

4) I am using DSLR camera, if you want get a very good quality of photo, that must be a camera.
>>yeah, and he's gonna carry his DSLR everywhere....

5) u r right, no xenon flash. but already improve with a LED flash
>>but man is that LED flash big....

6) ya, there is a file manager call iFile, long time story loh!
>>what? u need an app for what? aiks, we symbian users already have the default one...and got so many 3rd party ones that can even view system file and hidden folders...bet ur iFile cant do that, unless it's a jailbreak app, that to, also voids ur warranty

7) if u dun want jail break, then buy the software to do that la!
>>but i wan play PS game, the emulator need jailbreak one wor...u can find a non jailbreak one for me?? same goes to other emulators there..plus, i rather have full control, in order to fully utilize it

8) what data u put oh? 8 gb i also can't finish. i won't use it watch movie, if put songs, more than 10k songs loh! lol
>>stupid question la this one...sure got ppl 8GB not enough one mah....wait till iphone get HDMI dock...then u see 8GB enough a not...

9) er... HDMI for what? do v need that?
>>depends lo...it's also like asking TV-out feature, do we really need it..to some, yea, for the rest, depends..

10) never try, never know. many ppl use iPhone, but they dunno how to fully utililize it. they just treat it as a normal phone, u dunno how powerful it is.
>>oh..we know....without jailbreak, u can never customize ur homepage, never really explore all ur folders(some hidden or system folder), got limitation on data transfer thru bluetooth, cannot take out battery..er...i dunno la, lazy list out everything...yeah, very powerful... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by BBXiong: Jun 18 2010, 02:09 PM
BBXiong
post Jun 18 2010, 04:08 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(gzero @ Jun 18 2010, 03:49 PM)
There's a reason why they avoid 3G video calling, using apps switcher instead of true multitasking, avoid using flash, no java, and no 3G video calling (3g calls are not smooth).

It's not because they don't know how to do it, it's just that if they even try to implement any one of it, it will cause unavoidable lag because most of those features are high load consuming features (flash being the obvious one), thus breaking the Iphone tradition of so called 100% smooth o/s. Pfft.
that's one..another one would be...
[announcement in iOS5]
Steve Jobs: you know what, we think and think..and we thought that the internet experince are with Flash, so in iOS5, the biggest feature would be...Flash!

*Apple fanboys goes crazy cheering and praise steve as god*
BBXiong
post Jun 18 2010, 05:11 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(kae7 @ Jun 18 2010, 04:29 PM)
lol.. 1 week is ridiculous...

at least so far  , 1 day before... is okay..
actually ur typical apple product sales launching, the crowds started coming at around 3-4 days before that...ensure u are the first one, 7 days earlier...it's common...wtd..their religion is Apple and their God is Steve Jobs liao..
BBXiong
post Jun 18 2010, 05:22 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(GothFebrio @ Jun 18 2010, 05:20 PM)
video call friend is so gay......lol....
last time when 3G just came out got try before la...just 2 friends side by side testing video call...lol
after that never used edi..hahaha
BBXiong
post Jun 18 2010, 05:28 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jun 18 2010, 05:23 PM)
because last time expensive and both ppl must be in 3G area only can use
lol..ya last time when come out it'ps bloody expensive...but just testing mah...somemore we just sitting on the same table somemore..just wanna see how 'wonder' is the thing
BBXiong
post Jun 22 2010, 05:53 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

performance comparison:
OMAP 3630: PowerVR SGX 530 has max 14M poly/sec
PSP: max 33M poly/sec
Tegra: no info on poly/sec

NVIDIA TEGRA APX2500 has more than 600M pixels/sec , PSP graphic has 664M pixels/sec, PowerVR SGX530 has 1200M pixels/sec

sos

so i think from the above chart, we can conclude that in gaming performance PSP still win OMAP3630, but as for tegra, really dunno

Added on June 22, 2010, 5:56 pm*update*
just checked, some site mentioned that Snapdragon's graphical performance is better then first gen Tegra, that means N8 will be better then first gen Tegra in terms of graphical performance

Added on June 22, 2010, 6:03 pm
QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Jun 22 2010, 05:31 PM)
will better than psp graphic processor?
the only GPU i found right now on mobile phone that can pawn PSP is the samsung humming bird, used on Galaxy S
however, due to the higher pixel count that the phone have, i think the graphic wont be too much difference to the PSP as well

This post has been edited by BBXiong: Jun 22 2010, 06:03 PM
BBXiong
post Jun 22 2010, 06:07 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Jun 22 2010, 06:04 PM)
snapdragon graphic performance so good???i doubt about it..

Added on June 22, 2010, 6:06 pmbtw wanna share about this.N8 demo nokia connection 2010.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sSDCm8D8oCY&NR=1
don doubt that....benchmark test shows that nexus one only lose a little to droid, although droid has slightly higher screen resolution then it...but i think u get my point. Snapdragon and OMAP3-series have great GPU, allowing android's graphical performance to watch up with at least iphone 3G

i don really meant to be harsh, but don think N8's GPU is something so godlike that other phone cant compete...and from the beginning also snapdragon have already show decent graphic processing capability...

This post has been edited by BBXiong: Jun 22 2010, 06:23 PM
BBXiong
post Jun 22 2010, 06:49 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

what version of android are u using? as far as i know, first of all, the general menu doesnt really make much use of the GPU, second, 3D API for android only came out on android 2.1, and 3rd there's only few games that really make use of GPU, i only can remember one, which is the ExZues, the rest of them are built for lower ends like dream, hero...just like how N82 have nice GPU but cant play nice games..
btw can u explain more about graphic performance that u mentioned?

oh ya, and the link i refered to is here:
http://androidandme.com/2010/06/news/high-...d-gpu-showdown/

just to make things clear, my arguement here is not symbian vs android, it's purely hardware vs hardware..hope this doesnt turn to a OS war
BBXiong
post Jun 22 2010, 11:55 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Jun 22 2010, 11:36 PM)
arm cortex is already dual core right?correct me if im wrong.
it doesnt really matter..the fact is on general performance that is linked at the site i posted, it says that the Droid loses to Nexus One...and OMAP 3630, 750Mhz, is just a faster clocked version compared to the Droid's 550Mhz, so i bet even N8 also wont be beating Nexus One in terms of raw processing power. However do note that symbian is more light weight then android, hence i wouldn't say that the experience would be worse then Nexus...so need to really compare Symbian^3 and Android 2.2 for the actual experience..since Froyo introduced the JIT compiler.

@Bufung: i think froyo have little impact on the graphical improvement..the JIT compiler is very good in improving general processing..but i am not sure how important it is on graphical performance
BBXiong
post Jun 23 2010, 12:11 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Jun 22 2010, 11:58 PM)
@BBXiong u are really expert in processor thingy.thanks for ur good analysis.but my personal experience for Nexus One not really impress me.maybe i should try the other snapdragon device like HD2.
meh, i wouldnt call myself expert at all..just interested in mobile...

HD2, i think it would be slower then android lol..after all, WinMo 6.5 aint really a great OS..haha...i think for android is ok to use, but not really the 'speedy instant respond' type...well, that is, at least until 2.1...yet to see how JIT compiler hype up Nexus' performance...

anyway, back to OMAP 3630...Droid 2 has the same chipset, and it's clocked at 1Ghz, now that's something i would like to see if it's possible to archive in Symbian^3, user overclocking...just hope in the end, Symbian will have the flexibility that android is offering, like fully customizable with custom skin/theme/UI programs, and root full control access including advance hardware control...

oh, and also a fully working GBA emulator(vBag doesnt work on every game), maybe a NDS emu, and definitely a PSX emu...

This post has been edited by BBXiong: Jun 23 2010, 12:12 AM
BBXiong
post Jun 23 2010, 12:23 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Jun 23 2010, 12:19 AM)
btw samsung is going to announce their ARM cortex 1.2ghz right?or just rumour?
as i recall that's for the tablet they are working on..not sure if they are going to put on phone yet...
i think right now for phone 1Ghz is enough la...we don really need that much performance yet...however i would like to see more and more powerful graphic chip on phone.. hmm.gif

i always dream of high quality gaming experience on phone, looks like my dream is almost a realistic now thumbup.gif
BBXiong
post Jun 23 2010, 10:47 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Jun 23 2010, 10:45 AM)
they must be saying this on first of April....    laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
haha...unless they throw in PSP2's rumored GPU in it la..the quad core version...it's said that the quad core version to be having same level performance as a nvidia 8-series mainstream card( 8600GT that is), and there's a 8 core version, that performance is at par with GTX 260....so if HTC throw that one is..yeah, can, PS3 graphic, but maybe just 5 hours battery life lol

8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0243sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:48 AM