im doing just 70kg DL, people already bising2 in my gym coz not wearing the belt.. but im seeing many people here doing more than that, still without belt.. how much all of u considered it safe before u are wearing belt?
I don't really favor the use of belts, as we already have a natural weight-lifting belt - the transversus abdominis (TVA). The overuse of lifting belts would cause your TVA to atrophy, similarly if you were to use straps on just about everything, your grip strength will atrophy. The overuse of lifting belts would create a dependency on it and would increase the risk of injuries when you aren't using it; the TVA atrophied because you didn't train it without the aid of belt. It's a common myth that you will not get injured if you wear a belt - you can still round your lower back even if you have it equipped.
I'd recommend that you first learn to brace your core to generate intra-abdominal pressure on your own without the aid of a belt, before you start to use one. In fact, you could also learn the Valsava Maneuver for max pulls but most importantly, work on your overall form. And if you're above 60kg in bodyweight, any lift that is below 100kg should not require the use of a belt. Once you hit above 100kg or more for lifts, maybe you can start to use the belt for your 3RMs or less.
Honestly, I think it's a myth that going to lockout can cause injuries (unless with really, really poor form). Powerlifters and weightlifters lift a hell ton more weight and they all lift to lock out, more so for weightlifters - elite weightlifters clean and jerk more than 200kg and yet they are fine. And I agree with Mike Huan on the partial ROM issue. I've read an article on that topic before - http://www.rangeofmotion.net.au/blog/half-squats-are-bad-you
As you get stronger, your joints also get stronger by adapting to the new weight. If you can deadlift 100kg @ 5RM with good form, I believe you might also be able to deadlift 105kg x 5, but as with most cases, with sub-par form instead. Some people think that because they've achieved a certain weight for a certain rep, they should move on to a new weight immediately without first working on their form. It's an injury prone mistake that too many people make.
Added on May 15, 2011, 10:08 pm
QUOTE(shiloong7081 @ May 15 2011, 12:55 PM)
Comments on form ?
Personally i think it's bad, first time checking my own form. Might need to reduce the weight and adjust
Like what you said, you could use some hip drive. I'll try to give you an explanation on how I work on the hip drive with the low-bar squat:
1.) chest up, lower back tight and arched, move just your hips out and backwards as much as possible (without straining yourself),
2.) lower your hips while attempting to keep your knees as close and as parallel to your toes (keep your lower back and legs tight); it's okay even if you have your knees just slightly forward, just so as long as you're not thrown off balance - the idea of keeping the knees as far back as you can while keeping the balance is to engage as much of the hamstrings,
3.) With all muscles tight, move only the hips upwards - you'll go back to the "move just your hips out and backwards as much as possible" stated in "1.)". You'll notice that the lower back is more prominently used on the way up,
4.) Drive your hips forward until you're back to the original position. You should probably try this without a bar to get the idea of it, and then proceeding to the bar as things will change somewhat under the weight.
You'll notice that the hip does a lot of the work - on the way back, down, up and front (back to original position). I've got a friend who describes it as the 'in the p*ssy, out the p*ssy' movement. But I guess that sort of description won't appeal to everyone..
Also, your feet - notice how you tend to press forward with your toes and lifting your heels up a little? Try not to do that. You get the most of your leg power and stability by driving with your heels. Keep your heels firmly planted to the ground on and use it to drive you upwards.
I hope that helps
This post has been edited by Vbs: May 15 2011, 10:14 PM
@Vbs ah, that article perfectly described what i just said earlier.
Is it possible to hip drive with the high bar squat ? I can see how it would work with a low bar squat as you are leaning bit more forward. Is it kinda like the starting motion of a deadlift ?
Honestly, I have limited knowledge of the high bar squat and I don't high bar squat because it doesn't quite make sense to me. I feel that it's quite a mash-up of a leg exercises which lines are not drawn clear enough for me to understand. The low bar squat's more of a posterior chain exercise due to its bar placement and one never squats way below below parallel because that can lead to a pelvic tilt and a rounded back. For that, the hamstrings (and back) are mainly used, unless of course your knees go way past forward your toes which engage more quad muscles, like what the high bar squat does. For anterior chain exercise, I go with ATG front squats. I personally think that anterior and posterior chain exercises should be separated, and that's why I stay away from high-bar squats.
When I first started high-bar squatting, which only lasted for like 3 weeks before I shifted to low-bar, I could only feel that my quads were being worked on. Hamstrings? None. Glutes? None, because it was reaaallyyy light. Lower back? None at all. Probably it's because I didn't use any hip-drive that the back and the hams were hardly used.
I explained how I use the hips for low bar because I thought you would figure it out from a high bar stand point. Well anyway, try to dissect the issue bit by bit and work on it step by step. If you want hip drive, look at the hips first, and then change how you'd like to squat accordingly - depth, knees and toes, etc.
but if too much technicalities involved, macam quite difficult also to focus on the thing that matters - pushing / pulling the weights i dunno, just me
but whatever it is, articles can say what they want, i can say what i want the important thing is, u get the feel out of what ur doing i got injured due to full ROM and knee lockouts while others dont do what works for you
Hey man, I don't disagree with you on your point. Though, that article points out the truth for 'normal' cases - there are certain school of thought and studies that are generally widely accepted for those in the 'normal' population category - people without pre-existing conditions with the 'normal' structure of the human anatomy (proportionate limbs and such), you know, all that stuff. I think it's a 50 technical/50 personal thing. You can have knowledge of the best squatting technique and yet squats are bad for you if you have pre-existing conditions that do not allow you to squat without getting injured. On the other hand, you may be fit to squat and yet you can get injured from poor squatting technique.
It's good to understand some technicalities to each lift as it can help you to understand, when the need arises, how and why you've gotten yourself an injury, if any, and then remedy the problem from a technical stand point. Well, most importantly fix the injury first before you lift again. But if you've tried everything and it still doesn't work, then listen to your body and do what's best for it.
Added on May 16, 2011, 2:04 am
QUOTE(mikehuan @ May 16 2011, 01:59 AM)
i think it differs for everyone. vbs might get different muscles worked for high bar squats than other individuals. for me glutes, quads and hams all get worked. sure as hell feel them the next day. IMHO height is definitely a factor here.
Ah, right. Differing human anatomies might be a factor here.
This post has been edited by Vbs: May 16 2011, 02:18 AM
ps. they wear shoes with elevated heels though. they'd definitely get more stability out of the shoes. Maybe provide more hip drive as well. Gotta ask someone who has used them before to verify.
This post has been edited by Vbs: May 16 2011, 11:25 AM
Since we're on the topic of squats here, I've got something on my mind. Where is the bar meant to go for the low bar setup for back-squats? Is there a kind of sweet spot to place the bar like with front squats? Did the low bar variant today and my back felt great (ie no pain afterwards) but my rear delts got bruised up. So my question is, is my positioning of the bar wrong, or it's correct and I should just suck it up?
Bruised rear delts? That's a really odd case. I remember having sore rear delts when I first started and have no problems after awhile.
For the low bar setup, your rear delts act as a shelf when flexed - squeeze your shoulder blades back (not to the point of stressing it too much) and closer to one another, that would flex your rear delts and create an ideal spot for the bar to rest on. You should be holding onto the bar with a thumbless grip and leaning your torso forward slightly. For better stability, try bunching your traps up and keeping a closer grip ie. where the hands are placed on the bar. Keep them close, but again, not to the point of placing additional stress to them.
Not sure what went wrong as you didn't really explain where you place the bar in detail.
vbs, it will be great if I can see your video... how much do you weigh and your height? How much can you squat and deadlift 1RM?
Will you please comment on wide stance vs narrow stance? I personally dont do wide stance by virtue that in real world, if I'm going to squat, it will always be narrow stance (taking a bath, using "gayung, taking water from baldi"). It seems that with wider stance, you get more weight, but sacrifice on hip mobility, hence difficulty on going parallel or beyond...
But still, I do narrow squat just to mimic how I will squat in real world application (picking a pen, etc2).
I weigh at a pretty light 61kg for someone who stands at 173cm. Have plans to get to 70kg and beyond in about a year time or so. As for my 1RM squat and DL, it's pretty light that's it not worth mentioning.. at least for now
On stance, it's somewhat a personal thing - some prefers narrow, some wide and different people has different things to say about which they can go heavier with. Though, one thing is true for wide stance - the distance the bar has to travel is shorter, and the same goes for the deadlift. Shorter lifters may benefit from the wide stance. I personally do narrow stance as it feels more 'natural' to me. Wide stance provides stability but like what you said, going parallel or below is a little more difficult. I also agree with your point on the hip drive. Also, the wide stance makes it hard for me to make use of the stretch-reflex at the bottom of the movement for an explosive lift. I deadlift with narrow stance as well.
Since you asked, here are 2 vids of me squatting:
This was taken last December when I was still fixing my form at a light weight, sideview. Depth wasn't enough. Was also pretty rigid at keeping the knees as close to parallel to the toes, which decreased stability. Skip to 0:35. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XMZrqH3d1So
This was taken a few weeks back. It was a 4 x 5 sets workout (Aimed for 5x5 though), front view. Sapped the life out of me. Need to sit back some more. Skip to 0:42. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k0JT5_rN0pc
Recorded using my 2mp phone, hence the quality. I train alone all the time and it's difficult to find a place with the right angle to place my phone for recording. I need more workout videos for reviews =/
This post has been edited by Vbs: May 17 2011, 03:38 PM
vbs, ok ok... obviously my squat knowledge is shallow compared to everyone else... . My technique up until now is flawed. Wrong:
a) My hand far apart, hence cant fully tension my back b) I point my foot straight, should point it slightly outward to make me able to contract glute even more c) Pointing my elbow outward, should pointing straight down, care to explain why? I suspect more body tension by keeping elbow close to body...
6. Sit Back and Down
Now that we’re set-up, let’s get to the actual performance of the lift.
Your first movement when squatting should be sitting back with the hips. Too often novice squatters try to initiate the squat with their knees; all this does is result in knee problems and, worse yet, shallow squats. By sitting back, you distribute the weight evenly between your quads, glutes, and hamstrings, allowing you to perform the lift in an effortless, balanced fashion.
As you’re sitting back, you also want to push your knees out to the sides hard. Remember that the glutes are our primary hip extensors and abductors, so activate them early on as they’ll help you stay tight and get out of the hole. 8. Coming back from the depths
So you’re almost there, you’re coming up out of the bottom, but what do you do know? This is where a lot of people go wrong; so make sure to apply these principles to finish that squat.
As you’re coming up, most people have a tendency to think about pushing their heels through the floor; while this may work for some, I’d venture to say most elite squatters don’t let this thought cross their mind. Instead, they focus on forcing their chest up and pushing their back into the bar. It’s not a huge difference in thought process, but this cue is perfect in its simplicity and its effectiveness. After all, your goal is to move the bar, not your legs, right?
As well, you’ll also want to make sure you’re pushing your knees out hard to the side. This movement will really activate the muscles of the glutes, helping you finish the lift. Finally, keep the head, chest and eyes up throughout until you finish the lift. * Grab the bar with a narrow hand-spacing near the shoulders (as close as flexibility will allow) * Pull yourself underneath the bar, pointing the elbows down and resting the bar on your “muscle shelf” * Get your feet and hips underneath the bar * Take a big breath, then push aggressively into the bar while extending the hips and knees to un-rack it * Take 3 steps to get set; one moderate step back, place the opposite foot, then place the lead foot * Make sure the feet are in-line with each other and have the same amount of toe-flare. Your weight should be distributed through the middle of the foot or slightly towards the heels * Lift the head and chest, then set the eyes on something above eye level * Big breath, then Squat! * Sit back and down, forcing the knees out hard * Hit the hole at a comfortable pace, then use a little rebound to bounce out of the hole * Push back into the bar, keeping the chest up and continue forcing the knees out hard * Finish the squat, and then rack it Flaw #2 - Tendency to cave-over during the lift Solution – Bring your hands in, use the muscle beach effect, point elbows down
Flaw #3 - Knees cave in Solution – Get some glutes
Flaw #5 - Weight shifts onto toes Solution – Toe out more; get better hip mobility; get some posterior chain strength
Customization
If the body has not adapted to a greater torque force, injury can result. It is not necessary to avoid the torque force if the muscles and joint structures can adapt. See adaptation criteria. Of the hip and knee joint, the knee is more vulnerable to injury than the hip due to structural and functional differences. Certainly, if an individual has had a history of knee pain associated with these types of movements, the squat can be modified to to place more torque on the hip and consequently less on the knee joint. Based on the above analysis, this can be accomplished two ways. Simply by not squatting down all the way (e.g. 90°) both the knees and hip do not experience as great of torque forces. Although, this decrease is often off set by the tendency to add more weight to the exercise. Alternatively, by bending at the hip more than the knee, the knee will travel forward less, as in the powerlifting type squat. Recall, the quadriceps will not be exercises as intensely since there is less torque on the knee joint. In addition, since balance must be maintained over the feet, bending over not only transfers more torque to the hips, the torque forces through the spine (lower back) increase; another vulnerable joint for some. Certainly a compromise must be made to evenly distribute the torque force between the knee and the hip / lower back, particularly when both the knees and lower back are healthy.
If the ankle is not flexible enough to allow the knee to travel forward sufficiently, the back will need to be bent forward more to maintain the center of gravity within the foot base. Consequently the lower back with be subjected to greater torque forces. Squatting with the feet wide apart can alleviate part of the problem, allowing the back to be positioned more upright. This solution does not, however, distribute equal stresses on the quadriceps and glutes as would be possible with adequate ankle flexibility.
Until flexibility can be restored, a temporary solution is to elevate the ankles on a board or platform. This will allow the knees to travel forward the same distance as the hip travels backwards. Elevating the heels may present a risk to individuals with adequate ankle flexibility who have not adapted to greater torque forces through the knee. In which case, the knees can potentially travel forward more than what they are accustom. Even when elevating the heels with insufficient ankles flexibility, resistance should begin light and progress only 5-10% every workout until a true workout weight is achieved so joint adaption can occur.
Obviously, individuals who are at a higher risk for specific types of knee pain may choose to avoid certain exercises specifically designed to emphasis the quadriceps involvement by increased knee torque (e.g. front squats, sissy squats, safety squats, barbell hack squats, leg extensions). Likewise, individuals who are at a greater risk for particular types of lower back pain may choose to avoid certain exercises specifically designed to lower back involvement by increased lower back torque (e.g. squats, deadlifts) or hip torque (e.g. deep glute exercises).
Seriously... this kind of analysis makes squat complicated!
I want to ask about grip, what do you recommend? Gripping loosely? False grip (grip without thumb)? Or grip so tight? I believe from your latest video, seems like you using false grip, care to explain why?
I'm a Pavel guy, if anything... I'm pretty sure Pavel will recommend for tight grip. It helps to tighten the whole body.
BTW, up until now, my 1RM is only ~70kg (77.5kg, but I suspect not nearly parallel enough) at 52kg BW, 1.66cm. Relatively low weight compared to all others here... no video k...
Now you know how weak I am... I'm still going to provide my useless review of your squat (cant believe I do this).
1) Your knees cave out when descend, when you ascend, knees cave in 2) You out of balance after completing a rep, I think you dont maintain proper tension on the body after rep completion.
I'm very sure I have the same problem 1), 2) above, and on top of the existing problem a)~c). Lots of adjustment need to make...
I post your video one more time below for easy browsing.
Dude, we're all here to exchange knowledge and opinions so don't be so tensed over it alright? I always welcome constructive criticism; it helps us to improve.
Well I'll answer some of your questions based on how they are sequenced:
About your grip width, imagine squeezing something in between your shoulder blades to flex the rear delts some more. Your elbows are pointing outwards because you didn't have them locked to your sides. So remember - lock elbows to sides, then pull your shoulder blades back and towards one another - this will give you a tighter, narrower grip. Remember not to overstress the joints and muscles. It's also important to remember to always point the feet slightly outwards or more to reduce the tendency for the knees to cave-in.
I find it trivial to 'activate more glutes' when squatting. If you carry a weight heavy enough, you will get the glutes and abs working.
On 'forcing their chest up and pushing their back into the bar', that sounds like the hip drive to me.. or more accurately a good morning with the chest up, which is ironic. But yeah, simply put I see that sentence as the hip drive. And well by default, we should already be squatting with our chests up.
On ankle flexibility, the CNS will adapt better to a heavier weight through time and thereby improving stability (one reason why the squat is better than the leg press in this aspect). Unless you have, say, weak ankles, back or knees, then the 2nd article is of less importance to you. Seriously, information overload isn't really a good thing.
Yes you're right, I'm using the false/thumbless grip. For one, it feels more natural to me. If you're doing it right, your rear delts and traps are supposed to be sufficient enough in providing a stable shelf for the bar to lay on. The hands are just there to 'keep it there'. I don't recommend the conventional grip, or even tight gripping because that would place unnecessary stress to the wrist joints - it is not uncommon to bend the wrists while holding onto bar. Just take a look at some powerlifters who squats with a secured grip; they are seen wearing wrist wraps most times to protect wrist joints. Also by using a tight conventional grip, there is also a tendency of applying force to the bar and thereby shifting the center of gravity (ie. pulling it back and downwards), even if it's just a small tiny degree - imagine squatting 300kg, that small degree of shift can great affect your balance. Your hands shouldn't be doing any work other than keeping the bar on the rear delts.
On keeping the whole body 'tight', I wouldn't do that. Damn scared I 'chao kan' before or midway squatting lol. Keeping the muscle with sufficient tension would be enough, like contracting the abs about 30-40%. The most important thing is that you are mentally 'prepared' to take on a weight. I'll give you a real life example of mine when it comes to mental preparedness: That 2nd video I posted here - As planned, I did a full 5 sets of 4s. But what really happened was this: 4-1-4-4-4-4. The 2nd set wasn't a 'valid' set as I only managed 1 rep; the bar was lying on the catch on the 2nd rep. I made sure I was fully mentally prepared for subsequent sets and managed to complete them as planned.
As for my video, oh trust me brother.. if I didn't maintain sufficient tension I wouldn't be able to lift those weights off. The knees caved in, yes, but only to a minor degree. I say this because if they were serious cave ins, I would have felt it during the lifts. Also, that was my heavy squat day where I just moved to the new weight and aimed for 5x5s but only managed 5x4s. Minor imbalances and cave ins are normal, and that's why I worked with the weight for another week or 2 on top of my light squat (80% of 5x5s) session, which is aimed to improve form. I have a heavy and light lifting session every week.
-
Okay, for the rest of you who are reading this, can you visit the Malaysian Powerlifting Group FB page and 'like' it? The link's just below in my sig. I made the page with the aim to popularize the powerlifting sport in Malaysia since it's a very much unpopular in the country. We have competitive weightlifters and bodybuilders but no powerlifters
Would really appreciate it if you guys can show some support for the page and the powerlifting sport. Thanks in advance
This post has been edited by Vbs: May 22 2011, 09:09 PM
If I'm seeing it right, you're using your knees during the concentric phase instead of the hips. You'll need more hip drive. The hip drive is very important for the low bar squat as it helps to activate more lower back power, one reason why you can squat heavier with the low bar setup. Think of the hips as the prime mover here, probably that will help.
Also, again, your feet. Keep your heels planted firmly to the ground at all times. Drive up using your heels as you get the most power out of it. If you notice, your heels tend to come up a little during the concentric phase. You don't want that as you will distribute more weight to the weaker muscles - the calves. This may also add to some instability during the movement.
Your wrists shouldn't be the major support of the bar. Try lowering the weight to 40-50kg and then work on your form first. Work on 'shelving' the bar properly and securely, and hold it with a thumbless grip. If you have sweaty palms, use some chalk. I had that exact problem with the wrists when I first started out. Switched to thumbless and that helped in alleviating the stress placed on the joints. It then took me some more time to get used to gripping thumbless. Your body will take time to adapt to the low bar setup, and along the way it will 'correct' certain issues by itself as the weight increases so it is important that you start off light to better your form first.
Form > poundage - anyday, anytime.
This post has been edited by Vbs: May 22 2011, 07:08 PM
alright, gonna try and fix that the next session. thanks for the pointers. How often do you squat in a week ?
Minimum twice a week. Once heavy, once light. Light sessions are to improve form. The same goes for bench press and deadlift. I'm actually thinking of squatting 3x a week, 1 day heavy 2 days light, that is if my body could recover in time.
Okay, finally recorded my squats, thanks to my friend. These were my 2nd and 4th sets respectively. I'd really appreciate some C&C, peeps. Watching it myself, I think I don't go low enough?
Like some have already mentioned, you broke at the legs first instead of the hips. But on the way up, you drove with your hips so good job on that. On your last few reps, you could be seen using more lower back strength, close to doing a good morning but I guess that's normal since you were almost out of gas kot? lol.. but still try to avoid that la if possible. On depth, I would actually go lower until the crease of the thigh is higher than the knee.
The way I see it, your knees buckled in, from pointing outwards to pointing slightly straight ahead. I seem to have the same problem though, could be due to heavier weight. Well, I guess as long as they aren't pointing inwards, we should be safe.
Overall your form is quite solid. Few tweaks here and there and you'd be squatting close to perfect.
ps. It's not everyday I come across someone squatting barefoot
Edit: My bad on the issue of the knees. The knees should not buckle in at any time; should always be pointing where the feet does.
This post has been edited by Vbs: May 30 2011, 08:47 PM
Those are some sweet looking Ivanko plates. You're really very much into grip work, aren't you? I think I saw you doing some grip work with CoCs a few pages back. Do you have a fat bar? Or better yet, the portable Fat Gripz?
This is a personal request, but do you mind showing me some pics of your home gym? Really interested in seeing what toys have you got
Love the home gym and the equipments you have. It is one of my long term goals to have a complete home gym at home, though space will be an issue. All I'm looking into is just an Oly bar + plates + home-made sled + home-made bench + home-made squat stands. Why home-made squat stands? Because of the lack of space within the house, I plan to workout at the porch of my house. To buy the real, steel kind of squat stands would be 1.) expensive, 2.) a hassle to carry them in and out of the house due to the weight and size, 3.) unwise to leave them outside of the house (in fear of theft). Check out some vids of the DIY squat stands below.
You must have a grip of steel to be able to pull up such a heavy weight dude. I totally second your say on grip strength because I purchased a pair of RM14 deluxe grippers from Kettler last year and they helped my deadlifts tremendously in the 60-90kg range (that's 30kgs!). Though not as tough as CoCs, they are a pretty good investment for the price. I've also added a few reps to my chin ups at that time. Am I right in any way to say that your grip strength helped your pull ups more than your lats?
Your bridging/back-bend exercises reminded me of powerlifter Lamar Gant, 9 time world champ who has a record of deadlifting 5x his bodyweight (at 60kg). He too incorporate flexibility exercises to prevent injuries from lifting. Another reason why he did those exercises was because he had scoliosis, a spinal condition which ironically helped him deadlift bigger numbers; Gant's overall anatomy was built for the deadlift. See an article about Gant here.
I have a question. How long did it take for you to get adapted to the hook grip? I tried it once and my thumbs were in a throbbing pain thereafter. I know I should work up the weight gradually with the hook grip but gah! I guess it's just like getting used to lifting without gloves, takes some time to adapt. The video below is the reason why I want to switch to hook grip. I dare not attempt max pulls anymore before I master the hook grip.
(Look at the contraction of the left bicep and listen to the 'pop' at 0:47.. that's the sound of a bicep tendon tear!)
(Bicep tear when deadlifting an axle bar)
I don't have any grip issues, I think, cause I was able to rackpull 110%RM of my deadlift (theoretical number) for 5's without my grip failing. Though I don't think that would stop my bicep tendons from tearing apart.. If you noticed, the 2nd lifter above actually gripped in a hand position whereby the biceps had to contract beyond maximum; his hands weren't as straight as they should be. The first lifter looked like he was lifting with straight arms though. What do you see?
Added on June 24, 2011, 3:08 pmBTW, is anyone going for PushMore's open day event tomorrow?
Thanks for sharing the article on irradiation. I know now why we are often advised on keeping everything tight. On false grip and lat involvement, what exercise were you referring to? Deadlifts or pull ups? Or that applies to various exercises?
Actually I'm still trying to find out whether pulling with a mixed grip leads to a bicep tear even with arms fully locked out. The lifter in the first video seem to be lifting with a straight arm, but whether it's locked seems unclear to me.
Well, I'll let someone else open a thread on deadlift, squat or any of the powerlifts. There are lots of stronger, more knowledgeable and experienced lifters here in LYN than me. I can never learn enough, and I just learned about irradiation today, thanks to you
@Bata
What issues are you facing on the deadlift? Why stuck? The deadlift should never be replaced by assistance work like the rack pull. Instead, it should be supplemented on top of the deadlift. But yeah, adding rack pulls sound like a good idea. Works the grip and lower back better with heavier weight.
This post has been edited by Vbs: Jun 26 2011, 06:17 PM
@Vbs : how should i know the issues? LOL...i jz cant pull heaver wieghts Chow
Can't even increase 5lbs/2.5kg? Cannot be right, lol. How many reps you are doing with your current weight? You lift that weight with a straight/neutral or rounded lower back?
Issues can be like.. muscular weakness. Maybe a weaker lower back, or weaker legs. Those weaknesses can be identified through a lift. That's when assistance work comes into play.