Photography Micro Four Thirds (m43) User Thread V2, Panasonic G/GH/GFx & Olympus E-P/E-PLx
bobds78
May 8 2010, 05:50 AM
Good news is its a whole lot cheaper than big oly's. Its an easy to use flash and very direct operation compared to some other flashes, not only are they difficult to master but also difficult to operate. Nissin is one of the best who produces only to a select few, notably Canon and Nikon ONLY!
Just look at the compatibility chart and you will know. Its funny why Olympus was never included all these years up until now.
This post has been edited by bobds78: May 8 2010, 05:52 AM
walikard
May 8 2010, 05:21 PM
Got mine 17mm 2.8 for RM750 today. It is extremely look like new, and the owner "upgraded" to Pana 20mm 1.7 already. So, he's junk, is my precious now  Sharing the 1st test shot during COD at Burger King Petronas Gombak:  Love the bokeh, lemak berkrim disukai saya
samurai1337
May 8 2010, 06:16 PM
@_@
QUOTE(bobds78 @ May 8 2010, 05:50 AM) Good news is its a whole lot cheaper than big oly's. Its an easy to use flash and very direct operation compared to some other flashes, not only are they difficult to master but also difficult to operate. Nissin is one of the best who produces only to a select few, notably Canon and Nikon ONLY! Just look at the compatibility chart and you will know. Its funny why Olympus was never included all these years up until now. Thank to the gaining popularity and potential of Micro Four Thirds, I believe QUOTE(walikard @ May 8 2010, 05:21 PM) Got mine 17mm 2.8 for RM750 today. It is extremely look like new, and the owner "upgraded" to Pana 20mm 1.7 already. So, he's junk, is my precious now  Sharing the 1st test shot during COD at Burger King Petronas Gombak:  Love the bokeh, lemak berkrim disukai saya  Interesting Bokeh at f/2.8! What's the lemak berkrim about anyway?
walikard
May 8 2010, 06:19 PM
QUOTE(samurai1337 @ May 8 2010, 06:16 PM) Interesting Bokeh at f/2.8! What's the lemak berkrim about anyway?  I am referring to the bokeh bro, creamier by a lot compared to my kit lens  And "lemak berkrim" was a quotation from Susu Cap Teko adverstisement, I guess 10 years back
chgchksg128
May 8 2010, 10:06 PM
frequency
May 9 2010, 11:27 PM
Any one tried HDR with E-PL1?How's the result? I still din get tripod yet. Hard to do the lesson with changing bracket each shoot... btw some shoots from Taiwan » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by frequency: May 10 2010, 10:46 AM
hellfire8888
May 10 2010, 11:12 AM
u need to learn how to use noise ninja and neatimage... then bump up the iso to shoot in low light...
sniper on the roof
May 10 2010, 11:20 AM
QUOTE(frequency @ May 9 2010, 11:27 PM) (any advice?...the picture becomes blur in low light environment eventot I can AF locked....  ) Handshake... set your shuttlespeed to something you're comfortable with and bump up ISO lor.
Wuahaha
May 10 2010, 11:55 AM
Kindly note guys, for users of Panasonic G series camera including G1, GH1 and GF1. New firmware update will be available today 10th of May GMT 8:00 (ie. 4pm in Malaysia time)   Can download from here: http://panasonic.jp/support/global/cs/dsc/.../fts/index.htmlhttp://panasonic.jp/support/global/cs/dsc/...fts/index2.htmlThis post has been edited by Wuahaha: May 10 2010, 12:00 PM
samurai1337
May 10 2010, 02:25 PM
@_@
Check the site again, it's available
Gonna update it soon
p/s: FYI GF-1 updates
1. Improved operation menu for image stabilizer ([OFF] will be added under [STABILIZER] only when LUMIX G VARIO 14-42 mm / F3.5-5.6 ASPH. / MEGA O.I.S. (H-FS014042) is attached). 2. Improved AF (auto focus) performance with lenses of other manufacturer.
This post has been edited by samurai1337: May 10 2010, 02:50 PM
k8118k
May 10 2010, 03:09 PM
F0r windows....
Wuahaha
May 10 2010, 03:11 PM
QUOTE(k8118k @ May 10 2010, 03:09 PM) What do you mean for windows?  You mean EXE file? You can download the ZIP file, then extract the firmware out. Refer this: http://panasonic.jp/support/global/cs/dsc/...fts/dl/gf1.htmlThis post has been edited by Wuahaha: May 10 2010, 03:14 PM
AIAF
May 10 2010, 05:27 PM

This thread is a great guide for newbies, thanks guys!
Two question, what's bokeh and HDR?
walikard
May 10 2010, 05:27 PM
Just wanna share several shots from the 17mm 2.8    A cheapo 37mm CPL filter was used. But I guess, I would be better if with out those filter. Added on May 10, 2010, 5:30 pmQUOTE(AIAF @ May 10 2010, 05:27 PM) This thread is a great guide for newbies, thanks guys! Two question, what's bokeh and HDR? Bokeh is actually referring to blur part at the foreground of your pic while the subject remain sharp. HDR I am not that sure...but it generally refers to unusual colours involved in a picture. Doesn't look natural, but if properly done, the result would be outstanding. This post has been edited by walikard: May 10 2010, 05:30 PM
faidz85
May 10 2010, 05:49 PM
Nice shots there bro.
is it the filter that made the picture looks a bit dark?
Anyways, my brother got a Nissin flashgun for his d40 and it is actually compatible with the E-PL1.
frequency
May 10 2010, 06:29 PM
Good news...for Nissin Flash... hehhe
"AF Assist beam In darkness or dim light conditions, the Di466 beams an orange LED light to create a sharp contrast to enable the camera's focus sensor to focus easily on the subject"
this is what I looking for..
if the price RM500 then it is really good buy
Shopping list: 20mm 1.7, nissin flash....kekek zoom lens in lower priority
faidz85
May 10 2010, 06:38 PM
Yeah that would totally make the E-PL1 suitable for just about anything.
But I'd rather to have an AF Assist accessories only since I prefer to not shoot with flash. Is there such thing?
bobds78
May 10 2010, 06:45 PM
QUOTE(AIAF @ May 10 2010, 05:27 PM) This thread is a great guide for newbies, thanks guys! Two question, what's bokeh and HDR? Walikard has somehow correctly explained what is "bokeh". I think it refers to the part of a picture that is in the 'BLUR', irrespective of whether its in the fore- or background or at the corners, top, side or bottom part of a picture, while HDR (a.k.a. High Dynamic Range) refers to a technique used in photography that expresses the luminances of a subject. Plainly, an HDR picture will show the wide range of intensity levels of a given scene. Just Google it and you will get a quick answer. In practice, "bokeh" is much much easier to achieve.
frequency
May 10 2010, 06:48 PM
QUOTE(faidz85 @ May 10 2010, 06:38 PM) Yeah that would totally make the E-PL1 suitable for just about anything. But I'd rather to have an AF Assist accessories only since I prefer to not shoot with flash. Is there such thing? bring a laser beam key chain?