Intel LGA1155 P67/Z68/Z77, Sandy/Ivy Bridge Architecture

billytong
post Feb 2 2011, 12:09 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(xzzr @ Feb 2 2011, 12:04 PM)
that's rite. it's not like it's a major flaw or anything. current SB users can use it fine, I suppose. it's just that current owners would have to experience the inconvenience of RMA, if they chose to (most of them would, of course, if not they would have a hard time selling later on).

Lets not mentioned the logistics cost involves when RMA. I dont think those companies/distro will cover both sides of postage for us.
billytong
post Feb 2 2011, 02:38 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(inyuret @ Feb 2 2011, 01:44 PM)
Good news for Gigabyte users I guess. If asus doesn't step up I'll fu#%!ng RAGE.

Same feeling here. if Asus didnt do this, they can kiss good bye for any of my future purchase.
billytong
post Feb 2 2011, 06:17 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

As mentioned above, you may opt to return any affected products to ASUS for a swap or sales return.

yeah thanks, next thing is wait for April and how to identify the new mobo is a FIXED version. I cant be removing the heatsink to see the chipset revision or switching on the mobo on the spot to view it.
billytong
post Feb 2 2011, 09:35 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(mohdazuan @ Feb 2 2011, 08:00 PM)
cybersans: if there is "LIKE" button for every post, i will click for your screenshot! full of "sarcasm" and "message" biggrin.gif

for intel who loss (i prefer the words "profit reduction") about 700m something like that, is just small matter to them. celah gigi saja!
for those who already own the board, don't worry, don't become paranoid. it is not a timebomb, that will damaging the hdd physically, just the sata port bandwidth. data corruption occured between transaction, not damaging the hdd plate wink.gif

No its not small amount. If you divide that 700m for each Intel employee, *assuming data from Wikipedia is accurate Each of Intel's 84K employee will lost over 8K bonus. I say their test engineers getting every intel employee butthurt lol

This post has been edited by billytong: Feb 2 2011, 09:36 PM
billytong
post Feb 3 2011, 10:17 AM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Lonely @ Feb 3 2011, 04:17 AM)
if not mistaken CPUID's CPUZ can view motherboard's chipset revision oso

Problem is you cant open ur mobo when u are receiving from distro. (*I dont trust them)

The only hope is Vendor to get a revision number printed on the mobo PCB itself.

Intel really gave us a "good Ang Pow" b4 CNY. sweat.gif
billytong
post Feb 3 2011, 05:03 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

Its good to know they actually act a lot faster than I expect.

Only drawback from Asus Announcement is they only do swapping at best no refund. If they offer full refund like Gigabyte had, I probably would have take the refund option and swap for Z68 when it arrives.
billytong
post Feb 5 2011, 09:02 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(cybersans @ Feb 5 2011, 01:56 PM)
based on experiment did by tristanx using hdtune, saying that p67 beat p45 based on sata bandwidth. since intel saying that sata port 2.0 bandwidth performance will degrade from time to time (estimating 3 years range), so start counting. degradation (as per their statement) will not damaging hard disk drive, just slow the data transfer, and maybe causing data corruption. so, for those who REALLY own this chipset, wait until replacement announcement from manufacturer.

this is NOT the big issue. intel take responsibilities, asking the product to come back to home, and they'' release the new revision/stepping. by then, why so paranoid about data corruption bla bla?

Well for you data corruption may be is no big deal, I guess formating/recovery 5 times PC + reinstall all program 5 times is ok. I even had 2 of my application corrupted twice each and one of them have saves files that is corrupted. So all these seems ok for u right? not for me. I dont have time for this shit.

Just like Cherroy said, some of us really cares about data corruptions, and the issue gets worst if ur backup is corrupted as well. The importance of this is really up to individual.

I am not sure if all the trouble I had exp on my sandy platform is related to this sata issue or not since I am not intel engineer to verify it. But in my exp I never had this much issue in such a short amount of time on a PC since winXp era. Dont tell me to port to sata3, because for some unknown reason my sata3 seems to perform unreasonable slow,(*took 10min to boot win7) which overrall worst than sata2. I have yet to try the 3rd party sata, May be I'll try again later when I got time or recheck the sata3 problem. But for now I have no choice but to wait the new chipset since most mobo are recalled. smile.gif No offence dont say no big deal base on reading/benchmark unless you own a mobo or u face one with a problem urself. Cheers. smile.gif

The problem exp by each user is totally random, some of them exp more problems, some of them are lucky to have no prob. you cant blame some forumer here especially some of them who are less tech literate & do not know what will happen after reading that news. I can understand their *panic mode, if I am the mr dont know PC tech guy i probably do the same. wink.gif

This post has been edited by billytong: Feb 5 2011, 09:11 PM
billytong
post Feb 5 2011, 11:35 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(angeldothack @ Feb 5 2011, 09:13 PM)
billytong: If I may ask, which HDD are you using? Sounds like a bad case of hdd, but this warrants further investigation to pinpoint the exact problem. Mind telling more about your setup?

dont seems to be the HDD prob, as it was running perfectly well for 6 months on my old rig. but thanks for asking, I'll deal with it when I got time. smile.gif

its running "OK" for now. Lets hope this is my last trouble. sweat.gif

billytong
post Feb 8 2011, 11:08 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(jinaun @ Feb 8 2011, 11:04 PM)
i think i'll return my asus p67deluxe and topup to either maximus4EX, UD7 or BB Marshal

whatya guys think?

coz intel or some1 mentioned ivy bridge can be used in socket1155/P67, so the motherboars could at least last for 2 gens

You might as well wait Z68. *if it wasnt gonna be delay it will come by Q2, which is not far away from End of April.

having extra onchip(*on CPU) VGA can be handy sometimes if you VGA is down tongue.gif
billytong
post Feb 10 2011, 09:08 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Feb 9 2011, 09:39 PM)
I don't think it is good move to resume the shipment with known defective issue.

Even the OEM manufacturers are not using the defective Sata port, but the feeling of customers may not the same.

Just like buying a new car with 4 tyres + 1 spare tyres.
But the 1 spare tyre is defective one, although it won't affect the car operation/driving, everything still run perfectly, but as a customer although you are not using it, the feeling of buying this car is not the same.

Unless the chipset mobo being sold at significantly discount, then make sense for customer
and the customer being told the issue.

Above just my opinion.

While I agree with you that customer will not be buying it if they aware of this issue.

but if that mobo have only 2x Sata 3 port. It wouldnt affect it in anyway. but I am curious what kind of mobo these days got only 2 sata port. Other than notebook.

Added on February 10, 2011, 9:12 pm
QUOTE(yangchee98 @ Feb 10 2011, 07:54 PM)
i'm kinda confused,lol.
so,
if i have
Corsair F60 SSD
Samsung Spinpoint F3
Optical Drive

where should i put those at ?

I tell u wat, put SSD,optical on sata3, put HDD on marvel Sata2 Green color one. JUst put whatever drive that u need to boot for sata3.

This post has been edited by billytong: Feb 10 2011, 09:12 PM
billytong
post Feb 23 2011, 03:14 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

u wont get Z68 by march. June/july may be.
billytong
post Feb 24 2011, 10:44 AM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Feb 23 2011, 03:37 PM)
The difference is so huge after 1 and half month?  sweat.gif

To be honest, I am quite surprise too, I had all sort of random crash problem when I use Sata2, since switching to my sata3 havent had any problems.
billytong
post Feb 28 2011, 01:01 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

I heard most major manufacturer pay for ur 2 way postage fees, so why give the fuss about bothering Retailers, just request local distro to send u the package for collections and wait for ur new board, right?

but one thing is the Asus "B3" stepping identifier is not really secure, they should have printed the B3 directly to the mobo PCB, not on box,sticker. doh.gif

This post has been edited by billytong: Feb 28 2011, 01:03 PM
billytong
post Feb 28 2011, 04:25 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

stockpile in half a month of manufacturing? thats massive I say.

if it is true, I say us users should be getting replaced easily here in no time, may be in 2weeks +/-
billytong
post Mar 10 2011, 09:29 AM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(HiT-AbLe @ Mar 9 2011, 05:09 PM)
Does Asus give any ending date or time for this swap/refund? From what I heard Intel might release the Z68 MB in early April, I might hold my P8P67 Pro a bit longer until Z68 MB coming out, then top up a bit to get Z68 MB. Of course the release date for Z68 is just a rumor.

There isn't any much news on Z68, I think it would much later than what you heard. The only diff in Z68 is allowing you to use onchip IGP + possible SSD cache. Other than that everything is the same. May be you might wanna use the quick sync in Sandy bridge for video encoding, but I say I'll pass on this at least for me.

Onchip IGP isnt any special unless all these 3 companies, Intel, AMD, Nvidia can come up a solution where u can use onchip IGP to add "performance" over the discrete graphic card. However I dont think the small performance gain would worth the trouble.

billytong
post Mar 10 2011, 08:17 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(lingloong @ Mar 10 2011, 07:32 PM)
We dealer/retailer are not being inform on the refund part, nor given the fund or any official letter/note/memo/announcement/"black & white" from ASUS Msia, they just inform me can only swap with B3 Rev from respective distributor, not through them (lepas tangan)

So conclusion,

1. You Want REFUND - Get Directly From ASUS Msia = Coz They Said So
2. You Want SWAP (my previous buyers) - Can go through me, turn over 1 week coz don't expect me to go distributor office everyday for single board, they don't provide any pickup service nor cover any transportation cost. Plus they also don't provide any advance units for direct SWAP  smile.gif

So the swap is available now in Malaysia?

Gonna need to swap my sabertooth with my seller soon. blush.gif

Where is Asus Malaysia btw? might be good to swap directly 1 to 1 on same day if they allow to swap @ distro.
billytong
post Mar 12 2011, 09:52 AM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

Think I gonna wait for Z68. I might need that quick sync feature. Been doing movie encoding a lot lately.
billytong
post Mar 13 2011, 02:18 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(lingloong @ Mar 12 2011, 06:50 PM)
Why the lowest chain have to bear all the cost?  whistling.gif

Too bad, buddy, thats how cruel the real world works. Infact I even think Asus "being" below Intel also have to bear some losses. As far as I know Intel ONLY cover the chipset losses, any logistic, refurbished losses seems to bear by Asus. doh.gif

Even us as customer have loss our time, COD petrol with seller too.

it is an unfortunately event. but well for me the refund policy seems to be a good opportunity for me to gain Access to Z68, then I have more warranty than b4 since it resets. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by billytong: Mar 13 2011, 02:27 PM
billytong
post Mar 22 2011, 06:46 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(aliesterfiend @ Mar 21 2011, 05:25 PM)
Any SB mobo that still support IDE port ? I've read some Foxconn model do have that but not sure if available at LYP.

None so far, all my old CD-RW,DVD-RW are useless now. sad.gif

or rely on USB as external drive. doh.gif
billytong
post Mar 22 2011, 09:41 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

Mine Sabertooth doesnt come with IDE :S

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0556sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled