Sennheiser Headphones/Earphones Fan Club V2, Create the Sound.................

awyongcarl
post Apr 20 2011, 02:59 AM

1,870 posts

Just got myself a PXC250-II.
Kinda sucked compared to PX200-II, A LOT.
The vocal is messed up, the music/instrument is somewhat congested, the bass is..terribad.

Now..the noise-cancelling. It works well in noisy places but..It hisses like mad when the surrounding is quiet. It still sounds without the Noise Gard activated but yeah, it sucked. (high impedance)

Not to say it sucked entirely but..well compare to PX200-II it is really inferior lol. Even the build quality is worst. Now don't get me wrong, it is still solidly built and feels very durable when I tried abusing it, but compared to the PXs..Eww.

Got it for 50GBP from ebay so..meh.

So..for you guys who are looking for a portable closed headphone, I'd recommend PX200-II strongly, it worth every freaking penny I've spent. (Well, I got it for 39GBP over here so..)

Unless you absolutely need the noise cancelling feature..(Then again I'm pretty sure there are others alternative...ie, AKG K480NC that offers detachable cable that you can just use the headphone without the noise cancelling unit which is brilliant)

Still..This is only after a 2 hour of listening.
Let see if "Burn-In" have any effect on this pair of cra..uhhh headphone.

This post has been edited by awyongcarl: Apr 20 2011, 03:15 AM
awyongcarl
post May 6 2011, 03:50 AM

1,870 posts

Well, I'll be very honest here, I am somewhat ashamed.
While there is absolutely nothing wrong with going to the top flagships right off the bat, there is ONE fatal flaw doing so:

You will not be able to fully appreciate it.

This is true and can applies to many other things.

Anyway, back to my experience.
My first reference is AKG K701 and I am stunned by its capability to produce the high, it turns an absolute basshead like me into one who appreciates high/trebles, it also made me hating low quality bass (muddy and overwhelming).

Then I found a good deal on HD800, pulled the trigger, and I am in another level of world now. I love the neutrality and imaging HD800 produces, it is an absolute perfection of the AKG K701. It is undeniable that K701 is a flawed headphone though, thus the cheap price. HD800, in a nutshell, is a fixed AKG 701 in almost every aspect. Fuller and better bass presentation, balanced treble and they are all very well controlled.

I've always thought and felt that K701 is the start and the end of my journey, until I've gotten HD800, all of sudden, I felt that my journey has just started. HD800's neutrality sparked the curiosity in me, the curiosity to find out the vast definition of "coloration" of many headphones.

With all that said, I still like K701, it has something HD800 don't have and vice versa. The flaw of K701, uncontrolled peak high and lack of imaging is the major turn off for most people I guess. It is very left and right, while listening through HD800 feels like I am listening to a pair of speaker, not headphone.

Now..I can't talk for shit because I don't know shit. Above is just my opinion comparing HD800 with K701.

Fun Fact : I can get both HD800 and K701 with Rm6000 with some changes enough for me to buy a cheap mid entry level amp (ie, Fiio E9)

This post has been edited by awyongcarl: May 6 2011, 03:56 AM
awyongcarl
post May 6 2011, 11:46 AM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(d3m0n @ May 6 2011, 10:13 AM)
So meaning to say HD800 is in another different league compared to HD650?

Any models with the same price range/level as HD800. Ok, the HD800 is neutral yea? So how does it do against other neutral cans?

It certainly does need a good amp, which I believe will cost just a little less than the cans right? RM6k ain't cheap bro, not for people like us that is. RM6k can get a scooter bro. Lol.
Ouch, but I do believe that you can't put a price in quality.
A massive hole it will be indeed. How much will the total damage you reckon? RM10k for the headphone + amp?
Thanks for the word of advise bro. I agree with you on that, thus why I didn't fork out my savings right away after I felt like I "need" HD800. Would be a big mistake if I did. I would really want to have one, but not yet. Not till my ears are capable to appreciate every penny out of it.

So in other words the HD800 is pretty perfect ain't it?

Wow, how much does a HD800 cost in UK? You're in UK right?
Take it slow bro, we have all the time in the world. This is just hobbies for us right. Thumbs up for setting your priorities straight.

Anyways, my dad once told me the more you struggle to earn/gain something, the more you'll appreciate it. Wise man that old chap is. Lol.  notworthy.gif
Now here is where the problem comes in, I can' tell.
What is perfection?? I can't tell shit lol.

Reason is simply because I have never tried the low and mid tier headphones, proper one anyway.

Price of HD800 could vary from 600GBP to 999GBP.

This post has been edited by awyongcarl: May 6 2011, 03:14 PM
awyongcarl
post May 7 2011, 08:54 PM

1,870 posts

Well, I'm not sure if there is a line out dock for x1k or not but it sounded amazing for me, period smile.gif
awyongcarl
post May 12 2011, 10:46 PM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(Invalid Username @ May 12 2011, 08:23 PM)
hi guys, i'm new to these audiophile stuff and wanna get into it now. i'm planning to buy a headphone for around rm 200-250 (possibly IEMs too, depends.)

currently i am thinking about the Senn HD202. hw is it? and also do you guys think headphone / IEM is better? open/half open/ closed?

sorry for these questions. i'm new to these stuff tongue.gif
I have heard good thing bout HD202-II, seems it worth what it costs.

Personally I like headphone more than IEM, reason being that headphone is much more comfy.
Open/closed are depending on your usage.

Open are generally better but does not offer any kind of isolation and is not suitable for public place.
awyongcarl
post May 14 2011, 04:08 AM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(Windcent @ May 8 2011, 09:29 AM)
that's good u're enjoy em hmm.gif ,just realized the matching is important,some of us match like standalone dac + Standalone amplifier,or Portable player add some line out dock to Standalone amplifier ,or Computer USB to Amp+DAC combo ,or CDplayer + Amp etc,depend to u which more prefer smile.gif
Ya know, after what you have told me, I went an order a FiiO L5, the LOD cable for sony walkman.
And I hooked it up to my rig and...I find it weird?

The output became very weird, and it's got more distortion than using the 3.5mm out lol!
The output also became very unstable, sometimes the music/song is soft then suddenly loud, i'm not sure what the hell is going on sweat.gif
awyongcarl
post May 14 2011, 07:13 PM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(Windcent @ May 14 2011, 10:24 AM)
can u tell us how your rig setup?wondering how u use L3 switch to...L3 is usually for portable amp 1,maybe u need Line out Dock alone(not included the cable 1,it can plug in whatever cable u like)

If u want set your portable player to Desktop amp,it would be Sony walkman- >Line out Dock -> 3.5 to RCA cable ->Desktop amp...mostly i set like that before
It's a L5. L3 is for ipods lol.
Well I've tried looking the dock without cable but all I can find is the L5 :/
awyongcarl
post Feb 3 2013, 05:28 PM

1,870 posts

I have a pair of used HD800 to let go, anyone know the market price for it?
awyongcarl
post Feb 5 2013, 01:51 AM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(G_KeN @ Feb 4 2013, 11:37 PM)
I think it would be somewhere in higher rm4k region.

Btw, why do you wanna sell it?
anyways, i can see that you're owning both HD800 and HD700. How's the comparison between those 2 anyways? smile.gif
Hmm I see, thanks for the heads up.

Well, I have 2 pairs of HD800, that's why.
HD800 is waaaaaaaaaay superior than HD700. I'm not sure if it's just me but, even the DT880 sounds better than HD700 lol.

HD800 is better than HD700 in every aspect. While DT880 being much smoother, HD700 still have the upper hand in terms of the surround and imaging. At times the high on the HD700 sounds odd, it feels, "artificial" somehow.

I cannot say these are absolute though, because I never had a chance to test them out in different settings. Could be that the Lyr isn't a suitable partner for it. I did try it with a portable Amp (FiiO E11), and the result is actually surprisingly good. Not so on DT880 cause it's a 600 ohm version.

This post has been edited by awyongcarl: Feb 5 2013, 01:54 AM
awyongcarl
post Feb 5 2013, 02:11 AM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(joshuachew @ Feb 5 2013, 02:09 AM)
Why do you have 2 HD800's?
Because, why not?
I see HD800 as a masterpiece of art, and I was literally crazy for it. So I bought a second pair to "keep" it. But after a while I realized that's kind of crazy so...lol.
awyongcarl
post Feb 5 2013, 10:42 AM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(joshuachew @ Feb 5 2013, 09:42 AM)
I remember the time where I owned 4 Shure SE535's for the same reason too, but anyway, if you are selling, do keep me informed. wink.gif
You interested? Offer me biggrin.gif
awyongcarl
post Dec 19 2013, 10:08 PM

1,870 posts

Got a used HD800 for sale, please check it out biggrin.gif
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3071932
awyongcarl
post Dec 19 2013, 10:44 PM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Dec 19 2013, 10:29 PM)
do you prefer your HD700 more than the HD800?  tongue.gif
Not really. HD700 is fine but it's sorta a lost cause if you have a HD800. It's purely for me to switch in-between so I don't get used to HD800 lol.

0.0249sec    1.11    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:25 AM