Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, v3

funnyface
post Sep 15 2010, 10:31 AM

696 posts

For the industrial spray can, i usually use DPI/Anchor brand. nod.gif
Works the same and extremely cheap!!! drool.gif
just be careful sometime the metallic paint particle is thick, cant get a very smooth surface...
Rm5-7 per can, 400ml compare to Tamiya/mr hobby spray can which cost RM30 per can, 100ml... sweat.gif
Even if anything wrong happen, just use mrhobby thinner to clean off~~ whistling.gif
CAUTION!!! DO NOT, i mean DO NOT EVER try using industrial thinner, model kits surface will melt and here goes your modal kits...! shakehead.gif
funnyface
post Sep 19 2010, 08:01 PM

696 posts

wow~ get your advice~

I got try using Rm3 punya industrial thinner, can clean off paint very fast but..... Too fast until your gunpla surface also melt... doh.gif
At the end i need to sand kao kao and repaint again.. cry.gif .After that, i swear that will never use industrial thinner to thin or clean model kits... wink.gif

i really hope anchor brand release matt clear paint !!!

They do have matt paint, i personally like to use matt black as undercoat. nod.gif
If you want use glossy clear, try Number 1 (the code for Anchor/DPI paint), is glossy clear. rolleyes.gif But hard to get even surface though... sweat.gif

i totally agree with funnyface! just tested using cheap spray cans. WORKS!

thumbup.gif
funnyface
post Sep 21 2010, 07:30 AM

696 posts

QUOTE(Grankaiser @ Sep 21 2010, 12:15 AM)
About Top coat ,which 1 are better? any recommend?
Personally, i use Mr.hobby topcoat. around Rm30 per can, 100ml..... shocking.gif
still cant find cheaper alternative that can do the job right... wink.gif

Added on September 21, 2010, 7:34 am
QUOTE(em0ti0n @ Sep 21 2010, 05:46 AM)
if use industrial spray can, still need to use surfacer?

sorry if this hv been ask b4  icon_rolleyes.gif
I got try to use -->Primer?
but it will become a layer of rubber as undercoat which......well, spoil your models.... doh.gif
So end out spraying without undercoat/surfacer, no problem so far... nod.gif

This post has been edited by funnyface: Sep 21 2010, 07:34 AM
funnyface
post Sep 22 2010, 12:18 AM

696 posts

If anyone of you want to see the effect of spray can.... tongue.gif

That is MG Sinanju Ver Ka normal edition. I use Anchor spray to make it titanium look. nod.gif

*Silver for inner frame and red pieces undercoat. Then Fire Red on second layer. The black colour i use flat black. Then i use Gaia Star bright gold for the gold line...
funnyface
post Sep 22 2010, 07:09 AM

696 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Sep 22 2010, 12:25 AM)
veli nice. smooth too in the close up shots rclxms.gif
wow.. really nice.. thumbup.gif rclxms.gif

tq~~ wub.gif

Here is the silver inner frame.
funnyface
post Sep 24 2010, 10:45 AM

696 posts

QUOTE(shauno @ Sep 24 2010, 10:41 AM)
well, seeing as how you can mix Gaia and Mr Hobby paints together, their thinners should be the same as well. Gaia paint = WIN btw
Not sure about Gaia Thinner.... hmm.gif
But Mrhobby Thinner is RM42 for 400ml, quite OK la... But dont compare with industrial Thinner sweat.gif

Gaia Star Bright Gold is FTW!!!!! drool.gif
funnyface
post Sep 24 2010, 10:52 AM

696 posts

QUOTE(shauno @ Sep 24 2010, 10:48 AM)
if you get it from tkting, gaia 500ml is 38.40 cheaper lo..
campur shipping around RM45 for 500ml..... hmm.gif Not bad, can consider... nod.gif
Anyone can try then let us know how the Gaia Thinner works? drool.gif
funnyface
post Sep 24 2010, 02:29 PM

696 posts

QUOTE(shauno @ Sep 24 2010, 12:19 PM)
no need shipping wan la.. just go to his house lo. then he will poison you.. before you know it, you'll walk away with all sorts of stuff.. hahah
But i am not from KL area... sweat.gif
funnyface
post Sep 24 2010, 03:03 PM

696 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Sep 24 2010, 02:46 PM)
Oh goodie. My wallet much appreciates this.
+1 cool2.gif
funnyface
post Sep 27 2010, 08:32 PM

696 posts

QUOTE(Grankaiser @ Sep 27 2010, 08:27 PM)
wow..effect look really nice...make me wan to buy Anchor spray now ..>.<
see my latest Anchor spray effect--> 4 caterpillars tongue.gif
funnyface
post Sep 30 2010, 07:15 AM

696 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Sep 29 2010, 11:28 PM)
of course is spray paint...
y? because spray paints can achieve smooth layer of paint
hand paint can but not as smooth as spray cans and you'll need a lot of experience but hand paint also comes in handy for tiny detail parts.
<-- better
hand paint <-- Spray cans <-- Air Brush
Price also follow the same direction... whistling.gif
except
<--more $$ than tongue.gif
funnyface
post Sep 30 2010, 05:38 PM

696 posts

The reasons that i use DPI/Anchor spray can over AB are:

1, $$$: cheaper starting cost, virtually no maintenance cost, $0 electricity bill, No need add thinner (Which is also $$ coz cant use industrial one) drool.gif

2, Area:AB need bigger space to store and use (personal opinion,dont shot me... tongue.gif ), while spray can just need this-->

3, Availability: There are 2 big Hardware shop selling Anchor paints which almost cover the color that i wan... whistling.gif . Compare to Tamiya/Mr hobby, harder to find... wink.gif

* I am still noob in gunpla/spray can, now working on more metallic's metallic.... brows.gif
current WIP is HGUC kshatriya... nod.gif
funnyface
post Sep 30 2010, 06:08 PM

696 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Sep 30 2010, 05:48 PM)
lol...
when i started, i also started from hand paint --> spray cans --> AB..
i bet it won't be long you'll go to AB. IF you tried it once i bet you would want it again. spray can is one of the best methods to paint your kit for starting cost. smile.gif
Dont want, dont want....No $$$ liao... unsure.gif
Want to detox myself from Bandai poison... tongue.gif
funnyface
post Oct 1 2010, 11:29 AM

696 posts

QUOTE(shauno @ Oct 1 2010, 11:01 AM)
actually, a whole compressor set is not too exp ma.. compressor is 300, hand piece can get for 80++ not too bad at all.. get more control.. get to mix custom paints.. i for one, have never bought a grey color yet.. just mix black and white.. long term savings..  rclxms.gif
380....quite OK la, but i can buy 55 DPI spray cans with that... sweat.gif
But i have to admit Spray can effect cant match AB though wink.gif , and much more works as some pieces might screw up becoz cant control pressure in spray can doh.gif
but 380 is just starting cost, thinner and electric bill are the one killed me... sweat.gif
funnyface
post Oct 1 2010, 11:45 AM

696 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Oct 1 2010, 11:37 AM)
thinner mahal. electricity nope.
Power consumption? like water heater? hmm.gif Or air-con...? sweat.gif
funnyface
post Oct 1 2010, 12:48 PM

696 posts

QUOTE(shauno @ Oct 1 2010, 12:09 PM)
can use to paint wan.. just after that melted only mah..  rolleyes.gif  rolleyes.gif
After melt sand kao kao lo.... rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif

Have u all heard about Paint Remover from Mr hobby? hmm.gif
Boleh pakai one ar? unsure.gif
coz now i use M.hobby thinner to clean paint, 400ml can habis within 1 week.... doh.gif
funnyface
post Oct 1 2010, 01:34 PM

696 posts

QUOTE(rayloke @ Oct 1 2010, 01:27 PM)
I have not tried Mr hobby paint remover, heard it s*cks; no concrete evidence on that though.

However, go HLJ search for this key words "Paint buster". Really good! Though for such a small bottle, it looks really expensive with its price tag; i still think it's worth checking out. Lemme try my best to explain a little:

Usually when we clean up paint , we use thinner. The problem of thinner is it dries fast. We gotta make sure all the paint's off the plastic before the thinner vaporize. cause if the thinner is gone, the paint is no longer "melted" and cannot be clean. So we repeat the process of adding thinner- melt the paint-quickily wipe of the unwanted paint; on n on n on again. Hence wasted lots of thinner.

This paint buster thing, once you apply onto painted surface, the paint melts, and u can clean it. In case when it dries and u haven't remove all the unwanted paint, no worry. This thing has some kind of oil element in it. even after dried, unlike using thinner, the paint is not grabbing onto the plastic surface again. So u can slowly apply the chemical all over the plastic kit; even thought some parts r already, in the end, u can just use tap water to wash everything off.
Of course, if u want to strip the paint for the entire kit, the cheapest way for stripping lacquer paint is still brake fluid. soak it in the fluid/oil, and the paint actually peel off by itself
Wao! Sounds real good~~ drool.gif
I also heard of brake oil... hmm.gif Any brand will do? or got specific brand like Zippo for lighter fluid. unsure.gif
funnyface
post Oct 4 2010, 11:34 AM

696 posts

QUOTE(leyley @ Oct 4 2010, 11:23 AM)
How much it cost for the paint remover hmm.gif
My place selling RM18 for 40ml... doh.gif
More $$ than thinner... wink.gif

* thinner woks better, can use brake oil as well.... whistling.gif
funnyface
post Oct 11 2010, 08:59 PM

696 posts

QUOTE(Grankaiser @ Oct 11 2010, 08:05 PM)
about black and white color for GUNDAM , usually what color name is use?
u wan glossy or flat? hmm.gif

there are flat black and flat white, the other will be glossy black and glossy white... whistling.gif
funnyface
post Oct 20 2010, 09:55 PM

696 posts

QUOTE(shauno @ Oct 20 2010, 09:32 PM)
they're not exactly ink pens per-se.. they're more like..multi surface markers.
how is the tip? is it small enough to do panel line? hmm.gif
or it is like normal gundam marker size? unsure.gif

0.0482sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:02 PM