Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, v3
HxiiiK
Feb 25 2013, 04:03 PM
QUOTE(shauno @ Feb 25 2013, 03:59 PM) Both icw and tkting are known to sell alclad. Pm Rayloke for icw stock if you're worried. Alclad needs to be sprayed tho.. if you're hand painting, you're gonna be wasting your money on the paints. yeap, i have a beginner level airbrush set that i think will do the job well enough.. i'll be sure to check with rayloke.. i'd go over myself but it's quite a long drive.. thanks for the info
HxiiiK
Feb 25 2013, 05:41 PM
QUOTE(rayloke @ Feb 25 2013, 05:35 PM) Sorry, we r outta stock right now. We only carry the chrome paint, not other paint. U can try tkting. rats.. i checked mgs2u (and i never noticed there were actually different colors by alclad II, pretty silly of me to think they only did chrome silver) and his alclad II chrome silver had a few types, but they were all REAALLYY expensive.. as in.. 3 digit expensive  are they really that pricey? i think a google search earlier this morning mentioned they were about RM3x per bottle any clue as to when you would restock, if you are restocking at all?
HxiiiK
Feb 25 2013, 06:20 PM
QUOTE(rayloke @ Feb 25 2013, 05:59 PM) 3 digit? probably that's a big size bottle. It comes with 2 sizes. The small one already cost about RM40 (slightly less than that). so the big bottle which is probably 3x the volume might be selling at this price. Besides that, is not easy to get direct stock from USA due to the chemical control act. The best bet would be smuggle small quantity from countries with less control.... as a result, might oso jack up the price. So far i have used alclad II for chrome which i think for painted chrome to mimick the real thing, it's pretty good. Other alternative would be some taiwan brand which i think offer similar result. I dont comment on that coz never have first hand experience. That one is much cheaper. mgs2u should carry that oso. Other would be Gunze (Mr color)'s super metallic series new formula chrome silver. I ve tried on an untreated surface n looks good. But dunno how far it can go on a mirror reflect surface.... i see, thanks for all the info, as should be expected (i think?) i'm using it for candy coated/titanium finish.. so i'm looking for the alclad since a lot of people are giving it good reviews.. may i know what the taiwan brand is called? i saw the gunze super metallic too, forgot the price, will scroll through again
HxiiiK
Apr 7 2013, 09:23 PM
got a stupid question.. as far as i know, to achieve glossy/metallic/candy coating, i have to have a base coat of black, then metallic silver, then a clear coat of the color i want as the last layer.. but how about if i want a metallic sheen for black? would just gloss coating it work after spraying black? or is there a way where i can make the black look a bit better, glossier..?
HxiiiK
Apr 7 2013, 11:30 PM
QUOTE(shauno @ Apr 7 2013, 11:18 PM) metallic sheen would involve actually adding metallic particles.. to be clear, metallic doesn't mean gloss. a high gloss kit can be a non metallic, and likewise metallic can be matte also.. so, if you want a metallic finish, my guess is maybe try to add some silver to the black, but a small amount, like maybe 9:1 black to silver, just for the metallic particles. otherwise, if you just want a high gloss finish, just finish off with a gloss coat and polish if you want to. ah, that does make things much clearer.. well i didn't actually mean adding metallic particles though, just as good as black can get.. want to make my Blitz really stand out but it's mostly black so i find that a bit troublesome.. i suppose i'll have to go with the gloss then polish then.. thanks a lot! although maybe i'll dust off the ol airbrush and give the silver and black combination a go
HxiiiK
Apr 8 2013, 03:19 PM
QUOTE(limfreelance @ Apr 8 2013, 12:28 PM) u can try: Mr. Clear Color GX 101 Clear Black. (new product) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « But for banshee Metalic finish, it more like Clear Dark Blue. thanks for the suggestion.. but i'm looking more to Blitz black.. so i think i'll give your suggestion a try
HxiiiK
Apr 22 2013, 09:21 PM
i'd like to ask what are the steps to achieving such a finish for the red
HxiiiK
May 12 2013, 08:52 PM
i've always wondered, how to u mold plastic together, like adding a ball joint onto what was original just a straight joint and not have it get damaged later or disassembled when posing or etc.? i mean how do u make sure the connection is solid.. just put cement? is that sufficient?
HxiiiK
May 12 2013, 09:25 PM
QUOTE(mf_yamato @ May 12 2013, 08:54 PM) i put cement and after that cement cure, i put putty to secure the parts... huhuhu i see  will try.. cos i've tried mending some parts and i'm afraid they will not hold.. so i'm looking for better ways.. it's hard to find the actual process online or in videos