Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, v3

stanleysum
post Oct 31 2010, 01:41 PM

318 posts

it is kinda hard to buy Mr. Super Clear nowaday... anyone know where else can i get some biggrin.gif or should i go for AB instead?
stanleysum
post Oct 31 2010, 03:07 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Oct 31 2010, 02:36 PM)
If can invest for AB then go ahead, you'll never regret it...
Topcoat using AB , the risk of getting frosting is so low compare to spray can types
yup.. i actually willing to invest but may take few months of saving before i can afford one with all those necessary accessories blush.gif
since I'm quite lazy and not into painting (at least not for now). the main purpose for the AB will be top coating only biggrin.gif
do u think it is still a wise idea?
stanleysum
post Oct 31 2010, 09:29 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(C-Terahertz @ Oct 31 2010, 05:44 PM)
I say its worth it since AB can do the topcoat function really well.
You are already pretty much painting anyway. Paint and topcoat have similar application techniques, only you are using different liquids.
lol.. i guess i have to agree with you. alright then, AB here i come biggrin.gif in the near future of course tongue.gif

Added on October 31, 2010, 9:33 pm
QUOTE(Grankaiser @ Oct 31 2010, 07:21 PM)
is that Top coat is a must or optional?
optional and purely depends on individual. especially flat coat if you try it you might want to top coat every Gundam you own later brows.gif this is what happen to me actually sweat.gif

This post has been edited by stanleysum: Oct 31 2010, 09:33 PM
stanleysum
post Nov 1 2010, 12:30 AM

318 posts

QUOTE(inquisytor @ Oct 31 2010, 11:23 PM)
Trust me ... once you start using your AB ... you wont be stopping at Top Coat only. You will be poised to start painting ur kits biggrin.gif
I even use my AB to clean my keyboard biggrin.gif

Once you have an AB, you will definitely not using it for top coating only. So conclusion, extremely wise choice biggrin.gif
lol.. i guess getting a AB is the way to go.. i remember AFHobby's boss always poison me to buy AB instead of buying those can type flat coat.. he said AB will save me a lot $$ for long term even for top coating only..
stanleysum
post Nov 7 2010, 11:10 PM

318 posts

my friend just borrow (actually was given as FOC) his cousin's AB compressor to me. there were no accessories at all. just the compressor alone and the age of this thing is about >15 years old. weight about 19kg and my leg was shaking after i carried all the way to my walk-up apartment on the 3rd floor. I was told that the compressor had been sitting in his cousin store room untouched for more than 7 years. i try switch on the compressor and did felt some air blowing out from the valve but it was dead silence without any compressor sound at all? is this normal? anyway my question is where can i find the compatible hose and AB for this antique sweat.gif

i think the brand is called "Rhino" as indicated on the box but never reveal the model of it neither can be found on the compressor itself.

stanleysum
post Nov 8 2010, 01:57 AM

318 posts

QUOTE(rayloke @ Nov 8 2010, 01:18 AM)
u got yourself a very nice gift. This is the type of compressor a modeler should get, if financially there's no problem.

Basically it's the same type of compressor u find at your refrigerator; powerful, stable, and silent.

u think it's an antique, well, it might be. But more importantly it says a fact: this compressor memang tahan lama. Mine, i think is at least 20 year old and it's working fine; more quiet and stable than compressors i saw my friends own.

since yours had been idle for so many years, probably u need to spend a little money to give it an overall service. i can recommend someone to u; he's also a modeler so u guys should be on the same wave length. He's profession is actually dealing with compressors. u can also ask him to check out the specs of your compressor: how big the air tank, how often the motor need to run, air gauge, moist trap etc etc.

it might cost u a few hundred bucks (mebbe approx. RM200); but trust me, once it's done, this thing should at least last u another 10 years. OF course, unless u think the hobby wont last that long..... tongue.gif
ic... thanks for the head up... can you pm me your friend's numbers? i'm staying in puchong btw. hope your friend stay in Klang Valley too biggrin.gif
stanleysum
post Nov 15 2011, 09:41 AM

318 posts

some questions regarding gold color. i know using gundam marker gold on the kits will become worn off in time because that is what happen to my kits. i'm wondering if i use spray can gold color and top it with gloss coating, can it last longer without wearing off? any suggestion which gold color spray can recommended? thanks in advance biggrin.gif
stanleysum
post Nov 15 2011, 11:05 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(Neofushion @ Nov 15 2011, 09:59 AM)
Have to be a bit careful with metallic colors (esp gold) actually.  If you gloss coat it, the metallic particles or shine may lose its lustre.  You may end up in yellow color instead.

Maybe what you can do is spray clear yellow (a few thin layers) on top of gold and then only gloss coat it......
Thanks for the tips... i google around and found out a gold color spray can call Tamiya TS-21. i wonder is it selliing in Malaysia tongue.gif maybe i will try go shop around during the coming weekend biggrin.gif

Any experience users or tips? laugh.gif such as avoiding dull effect over time sad.gif

This post has been edited by stanleysum: Nov 15 2011, 11:11 PM
stanleysum
post Jul 8 2012, 03:18 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Jul 5 2012, 02:12 PM)
Times Square shops hardly have any paints
the one with lots of paints is Time Machine @ Plaza Berjaya, opposite of Times Square
but that shop is having Mr Hobby paints

if u want Tamiya Arcrylic afaik Tamiya Undergroundz @ 1U has the most  thumbup.gif
just went to 1 U but found out Tamiya Underground no longer there... at least not at B2 anymore (now occupied by Thai Oddysey). i can't seem to find them anywhere... 1 U too big. then i straight go to Time Machine and buy 2 can of Tamiya TS21 gold color + some gundam real touch markers too biggrin.gif

0.0474sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:02 AM