Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, v3

stanleysum
post Apr 29 2010, 06:06 PM

318 posts

hi guys. i'm thinking of building my gundam with below method. (no painting)

1. panel line + decal STRAIGHT FROM THE RUNNER
2. top coat (flat for my case)
3. cut out from the runner and trim
4. assemble
5. final topcoat (flat for my case again)

haven't try the method yet but will buy a cheap HG for experiment tongue.gif Hope some sifu can give me some guide. thanks in advance biggrin.gif
stanleysum
post Apr 30 2010, 04:46 PM

318 posts

bro inquisytor

your explanation do make sense.. i will keep that in mind.. thanks again biggrin.gif

probably i will try like this

1. panel line STRAIGHT FROM THE RUNNER
2. spray a thin layer of gloss/semi gloss coat to protect panel lining
3. cut out from the runner
4. file or sand the nub OR use design knife to trim then use gundam marker to touch up if necessary.
4. assemble and apply decal
5. final topcoat (flat for my case again)

This post has been edited by stanleysum: Apr 30 2010, 04:53 PM
stanleysum
post May 3 2010, 12:22 PM

318 posts

i dunno my white gundam marker got problem or not. i can't paint white on color area at all.... i think is too thin or what... whenever i painted on a color area.... it can't seems to cover it at all... u can always see the original color there... haizz....
stanleysum
post May 3 2010, 02:27 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(orestes @ May 3 2010, 12:25 PM)
i guess that's where primer become handy
waa.. does that mean need to use primer before applying white color on color surface every time? even gundam marker, hand brush and AB too? i just been lazy and just need to touch up with some white color on a very small portion on the kit... i guess i need to go buy a bottle of tamiya white color and a thinner and some brushes.... try it on the runner and see whether can resolve my problem or not blush.gif ..

Added on May 3, 2010, 2:31 pm
QUOTE(dante_cool @ May 3 2010, 01:26 PM)
hey guys,

Just a quick question. I just completed my very first PG 00 Raiser. I planned to top coat the entire kit with a FLAT coating.

There are some parts which has the transparent plastic ( eg :- Joints of the leg / arms which has the green transparent plastic ), I was just wondering if anybody knows if I should remove those parts and TOP coat it or leave it on ?

I wonder if the transparent plastic gets blurry after being sprayed by coats?

Any answer will be much appreciated.

dante_cool
good thing u bring up as i'm planning to do this too but never thought on the clear parts issue.. tongue.gif will start my PG 00 project soon biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by stanleysum: May 3 2010, 02:31 PM
stanleysum
post May 5 2010, 07:44 PM

318 posts

hi.. i just bought a Mr.Super Clear (Flat) and test spray on my very old SD kit and giving me frosting effect? I wonder why. is it my method or the product i bought is faulty?

stanleysum
post May 5 2010, 08:06 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(man_hakim87 @ May 5 2010, 07:58 PM)
i think u spray it too close n too thick.
what is the suggested distance? i spray about 1 1/2 feet away. some guide is appreciated biggrin.gif or maybe i press too hard when spray?? i think i press too hard...

This post has been edited by stanleysum: May 5 2010, 08:07 PM
stanleysum
post May 5 2010, 08:50 PM

318 posts

Humid? i think so because just now got rain over here... and i spray in my apartment yard area.. i guess consider outdoor already..

left to right then right to left? i keep that in mind.

i think i will try again on a sunny day and see the result again biggrin.gif i still got 1 more very old HG to test on it biggrin.gif
stanleysum
post May 5 2010, 10:12 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(inquisytor @ May 5 2010, 09:35 PM)
Never ever use flat topcoat during and right after rain. Confirm cause frosting. Do it only on a nice sunny day biggrin.gif
thanks for the tip. lesson learn here tongue.gif and also thanks to all sifu who responded to my issue notworthy.gif
stanleysum
post May 9 2010, 04:14 AM

318 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ May 8 2010, 11:04 AM)
No.... enamel most suitable because you need the flow of the paint
what if i use this technique on plain plastic? acrylic can? i was thinking to use this technique by using Mr. Hobby color + Mr. Hobby Leveling Thinner. after that will apply Mr. Super Clear Flat.

Acrylic = water based?
Enamel = oil based?
Lacquer = water or oil based?
Mr Super Clear Flat = acrylic/water based?
Mr. Hobby Color = acrylic/water based?

This post has been edited by stanleysum: May 9 2010, 05:04 AM
stanleysum
post May 9 2010, 12:26 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ May 9 2010, 12:07 PM)
You can use lacquer or acrylic as a base paint... Either one only!
Both can be used for hand painting or Air brush..

Acrylic = water based
Enamel = oil based i think(not sure)
Lacquer = oil based
Mr Super Clear Flat = oil Or water, more info on the link below
Mr. Hobby Color = old or water,  more info on the link below

Check this link for more info...
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/488910
thanks for the info... actually i'm trying to use wash technique to do panel lining on plain plastic... i'm not into painting the kit... just need good clean panel line biggrin.gif i already have Mr.Hobby color (acrylic) now and mr. hobby leveling thinner... i was thinking if i could use wash technique by using the mentioned colors instead of enamel... i understand and saw many tutorial online teaching this technique but always talking about enamel paint. i haven't dare to try on acrylic paint yet. if really need enamel then i need to fork out money to buy those tongue.gif hoping to save money for other things tongue.gif
stanleysum
post May 9 2010, 03:35 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ May 9 2010, 01:05 PM)
ah ic...
enamel is actually the way to go.. because you'll need to clean them up after the excess paints come out.. So enamel is easier to clear rather than acrylic
ic.. thanks for clearing my doubt biggrin.gif i guess i must head out and buy enamel paint + enamel thinner cry.gif broke again

1 more question.. since i'm not painting my kit. i don't need to spray a layer of Mr. Super Clear Gloss before i perform panel line wash right? hope the answer is NO NEED and will save me another RM3x tongue.gif

This post has been edited by stanleysum: May 9 2010, 03:44 PM
stanleysum
post May 11 2010, 09:27 AM

318 posts

finally painted my SD Strike Gundam shield. My first attempt of hand painting thou. one thing i learn during the process of painting... painting does not stay on the plastic well (i think this is where primer shine. is it recommended to prime before hand paint?) and it is very hard to cover the original plastic color (painting white color over the red plastic). brush stroke is also an issue. i'm using Mr. color semi gloss paint paint + leveling thinner. Took me 2hours++ to complete the small shield.. lol..
stanleysum
post May 11 2010, 10:44 AM

318 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ May 11 2010, 10:27 AM)
You can paint without the primer but your paint will not stick so well and it'll peel off easily... It's a common issue that white is hard to cover over existing colors as Airbrush also have this problem so that's why you need more practice.. Brush strokes are common for hand painting especially large areas, in order to void them, you'll need plenty of practice... no one say hand painting was easy.. wink.gif
very true... hand painiting not easy at all.. need to practice more.. on SD Gundam require a lot of painting to look nice or else it will look so plain unlike MG and PG tongue.gif i guess building MG is much more easier than HG and SD, at least less painting and what i only need is touching up, panel lining then top coat tongue.gif

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ May 11 2010, 10:27 AM)
hmm... isn't acrylic suppose to be mixed with water since it's water based paint... every time if you mix a color, always always "stir/mix" them well before painting... your brush start to "clog" up might be because it's starting to get dry... when painting, try not to paint with a fan/aircond on because it will dry the paint faster...
very true also... my first experience during painting the SD Strike Gundam shiled... it tends to dry up faster than i paint on the shield.... need to keep adding thinner into the color rclxub.gif or else start clogging.. (i was sitting under the ceiling fan thou, i guess that is the reason to dry up fast)
stanleysum
post May 13 2010, 01:32 AM

318 posts

AFHobby is selling Copic Marker for panel lining which is 0.03/0.02 compare to Gundam Marker 0.3. i guess is quite thin and i am planning to buy it once their stock arrive next week biggrin.gif together with some enamel paint and enamel thinner too
stanleysum
post May 13 2010, 03:22 AM

318 posts

QUOTE(inquisytor @ May 13 2010, 01:46 AM)
Copic marker has a very weak head. Be very careful not to apply too much pressure while you doing panel line.
Thanks for the tip. will keep that in mind biggrin.gif
stanleysum
post May 13 2010, 10:28 AM

318 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ May 13 2010, 07:53 AM)
Do believe that you get what you paid for. I was using Watson's cotton-bud and sad to say, they suck.

Anyway, I'll try to stock up some toothpicks. OTOH, once those Gundam marker dries up, it's not as easy to wash off compared to the acrylic. Getting a consistent and clean line is even harder. The nicest part I managed was the face. lol.

BTW, AFHobby = afhobby.com? Do they have address or contact #?
it is listed in the pin thread here rclxms.gif http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/392450

or visit AFHobby forum http://www.bbs.afhobby.com/index.php

This post has been edited by stanleysum: May 13 2010, 10:31 AM
stanleysum
post May 13 2010, 11:49 AM

318 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ May 13 2010, 11:30 AM)
Thanks!

Ampang ...  sweat.gif
it is actually walking distance from XL-Shop
stanleysum
post May 17 2010, 04:53 PM

318 posts

just bought a bottle of Mr.Hobby Mr.Retarder Mild. it can be used for both acrylic and enamel? most of my paint is acrylic thou but i just wanted to confirm because i gonna use wash technique using enamel biggrin.gif
stanleysum
post May 17 2010, 06:32 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(chriswoo @ May 17 2010, 06:27 PM)
for my advice please don't use any Mr.hobby or Mr.Retarder at any enamel paint. For enamel they have their own thinner.  smile.gif
For my understanding.. it can be used for acrylic.. i'm just wondering can it be used on enamel too tongue.gif now i got the answer thanks to you notworthy.gif
stanleysum
post Aug 29 2010, 03:28 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(rayloke @ Aug 27 2010, 02:17 PM)
This is not paint, it's dry.

Btw, if u dont mind getting the whole box, which i think cost around RM70, u can go online shop. hobby search n hwj not carrying this. HLJ yes, back ordered now.

That's the reason why we repack them into smaller pack to sell. Imagine what entau did with his spoon is just like a sesame seed size patch. If u buy the whole packet, might last you whole life tongue.gif

Local shop carrying this (repack) as far as i know is mgs2u.com and Infinite Creation Workshop (ICW)
the demo done on white plastic spoon and i assume there is no coloring involved. the effect actually polish straight out from the white plastic spoon? that's all? i wonder how is the outcome if done it on color plastic? laugh.gif

0.0209sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:50 PM