Audio Technica Headphones/Earphones Fan Club V3, Bring it up all....AT Fans..

Quazacolt
post Mar 8 2011, 04:06 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

hai guise! just gotten my new AD900 from Singapore Jaben (06-03-2011). do add me into the list please TS
Quazacolt
post Mar 10 2011, 02:15 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Mar 9 2011, 11:55 PM)
Do you know how much is M50 in Singapore?
hmm didnt ask lolz. however i whatever Singapore is offering, Jaben Malaysia can match up with them. So you can just check out with Jaben Malaysia smile.gif

Added on March 10, 2011, 2:15 pm
QUOTE(Sop.qiqi @ Mar 10 2011, 01:14 AM)
welcome to the club  smile.gif
thanks! smile.gif

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Mar 10 2011, 02:15 PM
Quazacolt
post Mar 13 2011, 05:25 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(009haru @ Mar 12 2011, 09:54 PM)
AD700 or M50? what are the pros and cons?
AD700 is open can while M50 being closed, and a monitoring headphone

M50
http://www.audio-technica.com.sg/product.php?prodid=1

AD700
http://www.audio-technica.com.sg/con_product.php?prodid=14

generally open cans will offer more dynamic and "livelier" sound production, while closed cans or monitoring will offer more accurate sound, better clarity and even sound stage though it can sound rather, "dull".
if you prefer more classical, instrumental or mellow music, M50 may be a better choice. If you prefer something more upbeat like rock, then AD700 will be better.

Another thing to note is that the AD series, while being open can, they tend to leak sound really bad. much worse than other cans that i've auditioned/observed. so if "noise leakage" would be an issue, then you may want to stay away from AD700. for example, if you want to listen to your headphone in the train/public transport, AD series would be bad as anyone around you will hear almost everything you're hearing. you're practically having 2 speakers attached to your head lol.
Quazacolt
post Mar 14 2011, 05:23 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(CoolBoy89 @ Mar 13 2011, 10:38 PM)
Of course not that loud, but still leak quite alot. I don't think it is usable in public place like library, sure very annoying to the others. And they don't isolate noise well too. U gonna use it as portable phones or only use at home?
well, it wont be as loud to the point that people beside can hear the complete full details of the music that you're hearing, however it is loud enough to the point what most laptop speakers can perform at ~half volume. which also means that people beside can pretty much hear what you're hearing, and thats pretty bad imo.

while i havent auditioned the AD300, i've tried the AD700/900/1000. and all 3 of them leak noise out like no other headphones could rofl. to put it simply, 2 damn desktop speakers attached to your head rofl XD
Quazacolt
post Mar 15 2011, 09:57 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(vaizard @ Mar 15 2011, 12:36 AM)
tq for ur info bro...
err...
may i know why they build open air can hp, n who usually use it?
sorry if this question is off topic.. sweat.gif  notworthy.gif
tq bro..
since i can't test that hp at my place..
so i will make decision base on ur review...
huu...
audiophile hi-fi headphones, see where the AD series is categorized at in audio technica's page smile.gif

sound travel through air, if air flow is allowed, wouldn't that help in sound reproduction?
some prefers it, some dont. same concept as full range hi-fi speakers, it moves the air around the room, where some prefer hi-fi speakers, while some may prefer closed can/noise cancelling monitoring headphones or even IEM's

in laymen terms, think of it that open can headphones are sorta in-between your normal headphones and speakers

tldr: its really up to your preference/purpose of your headphones
Quazacolt
post Mar 16 2011, 04:07 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(walabies @ Mar 15 2011, 06:19 PM)
What I compare the AD series with the A series, they are sound differences between them. AD series as the name says it is the dynamic series, the air flow will improve the dynamics and will some how improve the separation, or pulls the soundstage further. Good for music that has more than 10 types of instrument playing.
As for me I prefer the A series (Audiophile series). It has more accurate positioning and more details to obtain. So to speak, more refined.
imo its not just good for that, generally music/songs that doesn't require absolute clarity (rock, techno, trance for example) would also benefit more from the open air dynamic signature that the AD series can offer.
Quazacolt
post Mar 17 2011, 05:25 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Mar 17 2011, 05:22 PM)
Can anyone advise if buying M50 on eBay is genuine?
if you scare of imitation, better buy only from authorized dealer/reputable seller or shop then
Quazacolt
post Mar 24 2011, 06:50 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(yuheng @ Mar 24 2011, 06:21 PM)
Hi everyone,

any of you tried this before?

- Audio Technica AD1000PRM -
i've tried the AD1000 at jaben singapore, not sure if it was PRM or not? whats PRM anyways? lol
Quazacolt
post Mar 28 2011, 10:11 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(TechMy @ Mar 27 2011, 10:14 PM)
tested ad1000 at jaben today, i would say it is a relaxing headphone smile.gif
liking it...
tested that too, however really far out my budget, and the AD900 isnt too far behind the 1000, so settled for that instead.
Quazacolt
post Mar 28 2011, 02:56 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(stan001 @ Mar 28 2011, 10:36 AM)
The different models.. when you compared them... what is the "differences" did you hear ? smile.gif

Don't feel like paying for "law of diminishing returns..."
like it or not, you WILL be paying for the law of diminishing returns, and thats the nature with almost every hobby.

bottom line: AD1000 > AD900. however, i cannot afford the AD1000, thus i did not get it.

the price is almost double for the slight difference (better clarity, sound staging, instrument separation etc) that isnt justifiable for the almost double price. then again, hobbies are NEVER justifiable imo. so at the end of the day, its what YOU decide. if you think the AD1000 or even 2000 is much better, and you HAVE to have it, however cant afford it, do save up. if you can settle for lesser like the AD900 like i did, you may do that too.

in the end, its a hobby. one shouldnt stress out for it smile.gif
Quazacolt
post Mar 29 2011, 01:47 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(DaEMoNteNTAcLe @ Mar 29 2011, 12:52 PM)
my vote goes to ad500.. even tho i've never heard it, i would consider having 53mm driver as a bonus, and also it's said to be similar to ad300.
ad700 can be a little too light on the bass.
quote tag faild tongue.gif

anyways, in the end, regardless of the benefits or preference or opinions, you are still spending money, and depending on an individual, there are responsibilities and other priorities. expensive audiophile headphones are most certainly not a priority nor a necessity:)

for my case, while my preferences were NEVER headphones, as i find having something over my head/ear for long periods just plain uncomfortable, thats the cheapest and best solution i can get for my home music listening (not to mention keep my neighbors content, rather than me blasting the G500 wwwwww)

other than that, i will be using my car audio aka ICE
Quazacolt
post Mar 29 2011, 04:09 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(DaEMoNteNTAcLe @ Mar 29 2011, 04:04 PM)
talking about ICE..
i really really regret not spending that 4k for my audio system... could've easily get damn good setup..

imho ICE is bullshit.. but again, that's preference, u see the value over there.
ill be frank. it is. for just about the same level of quality/returns, you need to pay 4 times more for ICE. then again, theres also *COMPLETE* home hi-fi setups (specialized sound proofed rooms etc, those are gonna cost you a friggin bomb) which are no doubt even more expensive than ICE.

and of course i would be able to see the value if im gonna spend DAMN LOTS of time in my car XD
back/forth office also ~2+ hours a day (both way journey) multiply 5 days/week ~4 weeks/month etc. not counting other places i may go outside of normal office journey routines
Quazacolt
post Mar 29 2011, 07:14 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(DaEMoNteNTAcLe @ Mar 29 2011, 05:09 PM)
haha!
this i like.. i've heard it, and im going there.. there are things that you have to hear to know the value.. smile.gif

after getting back from work.. tired, needed to rest.. then have something that really soothes ur mind, and emotion.. >_<
unfortunately.. im already looking at 5 to 6 figure cash.. gonna be a long time till i have mine. :swt:
well its a dilemma for me, the car is a no brainer for me during my journey back home. its when im at my pc, i can no longer use the g500 to listen to music, and im not quite fond of headphones for long hours. that, and watching anime/movies/gaming with the headphone just cannot compare to a full 5.1 speaker set sad.gif
Quazacolt
post Apr 12 2011, 01:28 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(2kia @ Apr 11 2011, 11:32 PM)
okay the seller near my tiny island dsnt have the ad300

shld i get the ad500 instead? it's around rm360 compared to ad300's rm240

pretty much set on an open back design headphone, but testing em out personally would be outta the ques cuz my tiny lil island is just sad when it comes to audiophile stuff
if you're determined, save up for the time being, and when you have enough, plus a trip for KL/subang to visit jaben, try out the AD700/900. you will just forget about the AD300/500 tongue.gif tongue.gif

of course, the main purpose is to try out. if you think the AD500 (or 300) can satisfy you and you dont feel like paying the extra for 700/900, go ahead. or, you can try out other brands/models, and perhaps can find a more suitable headphone smile.gif
Quazacolt
post Apr 12 2011, 10:30 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(sheenho @ Apr 12 2011, 08:36 PM)
y dun u get it from the dealer in lyn?
i own an AD300 and AD900.. AD900 is like all-rounded, everything jz nice and good.. as for AD300, i love its bass more compared to AD900's.. and for someone wearing glasses like me, AD300 is actually more comfortable than AD900 for long time usage, the pads are thicker for AD300.. i can feel the drivers of AD900 pushing against my ears if i wear it for a long time.. well, jz my humble and novice opinion la..  blush.gif
well i listen to all sorts of anisong, so that "all rounded"ness is what i really need. and yes, the pads are quite a problem for pro-longed usage. that and i sweat a lot too, so in general, i dont really like headphones/earphones/IEM etc. still, its in a way more preferable to home hi-fi since i couldnt get a dedicated AV room so to speak.

that said, an easy solution for the AD900, is to get the AD1000 or AD2000 tongue.gif
Quazacolt
post Apr 13 2011, 12:30 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(sheenho @ Apr 12 2011, 11:31 PM)
AD1000 or AD2000? shocking.gif  hahahaha... definitely out of question.. jz got my AD900 back in February.. and, i still need to train my ears b4 upgrading to a better headphone..  tongue.gif

on side note, i really wish that there are shops here at northern part that we can audition the cans we are interested with..  sad.gif
haha i got mine on march also. and i've listened to the AD1000 at jaben singapore, they also offered me to listen to the 2000, but i rejected as i'm quite poisoned by the 1000 already. dont see the point to go further since thats totally out of my budget (even the AD900 is already blowing my budget, but i just couldn't settle for anything less rofl)

if you're in malaysia, just make a trip to Jaben subang then smile.gif
Quazacolt
post Apr 13 2011, 04:39 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(sheenho @ Apr 13 2011, 04:24 PM)
haha, same here! getting the AD900 is kinda out of my budget actually.. now aiming(saving) for a decent headamp..  rolleyes.gif

would love to do so, get poisoned by the monster cans.tongue.gif 
but too bad im staying in kedah.. quite far la..  sad.gif
i have to wonder, why would one even consider monsters when they already have an AD900 lol
Quazacolt
post Apr 13 2011, 08:51 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(sheenho @ Apr 13 2011, 08:36 PM)
mayb they have gotten use to 900 and feel like trying something more monstrous?  tongue.gif
go ahead lol
Quazacolt
post Apr 18 2011, 07:57 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

hmm any possible ear pad modifications for the AD900? i cant seem to use my AD900 for long as i sweat a lot, and after long periods sweat will be gathering around my ear causing a lot of discomfort, and the need to open up the headphone and wipe off excess sweat is just a turn-off especially when my favorite music plays. cry.gif
Quazacolt
post Apr 25 2011, 12:06 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 18 2011, 07:57 PM)
hmm any possible ear pad modifications for the AD900? i cant seem to use my AD900 for long as i sweat a lot, and after long periods sweat will be gathering around my ear causing a lot of discomfort, and the need to open up the headphone and wipe off excess sweat is just a turn-off especially when my favorite music plays.  cry.gif
^

no one have anything for the above?

0.0552sec    1.13    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:23 PM