Jul 1 2011, 11:12 PM
1,008 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: Kuala Lumpur |
2003 Xia Guan Te Ji Raw - The box version is a rare find. First release of product
![]() ![]() ![]() |
Jul 2 2011, 09:33 AM
392 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
BTW auhckw, where is this shop u visiting? its the weekend and I'm looking for a place to hangout this shop you visited seems interesting.
Jul 2 2011, 09:58 AM
QUOTE(slimfox @ Jul 2 2011, 09:33 AM) BTW auhckw, where is this shop u visiting? its the weekend and I'm looking for a place to hangout this shop you visited seems interesting. That shop is in Serdang. But today noon I may go Kepong JDX. Wanna come? I have PM you my mobile. This post has been edited by auhckw: Jul 2 2011, 10:00 AM |
Jul 2 2011, 06:57 PM
Yunnan (Xia Guan) Tuo Cha Raw 2005 - 2005 is the last year that this green box is packaged under then Yunnan name. Year 2006 onwards they changed it to Xia Guan Tuo Cha. 5+ years of aging. Light. Nothing great about this tea.
![]() ![]() ![]() |
Jul 2 2011, 07:03 PM
Dayi Yun Mei Raw 2003 - I have drank this 2 weeks ago and decided to revisit this. This pu cannot be found in the Dayi book. Some ppl are saying it is fake. But according to the seller it was featured in one of the chinese magazines. It is a special order.
Put aside real or fake, after the 3rd infusion this tea gets quite strong with some astringency but has the zhang xiang foundation. Colour is quite nice. ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() This post has been edited by auhckw: Jul 2 2011, 07:03 PM |
Jul 2 2011, 07:11 PM
1980s VIVE Liu Bao Special Grade - Has the typical woody wet stored liu bao taste. Smooth and Sweet. Nice to drink... but....
Being 4x the price of the recent golden award liu bao, I would expect more... the golden award really is outstanding by itself. Though it is 2005 it has the similarity of the 80s just that it is younger and not so smooth. But the plus point is that it tastes rich and has good body and aftertaste. ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Jul 2 2011, 07:21 PM
Yunnan (Xia Guan) Tuo Cha 2005 Raw - Bought 2 for collection purpose only.
![]() ![]() |
Jul 2 2011, 10:15 PM
Jul 3 2011, 07:37 PM
1,277 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
Hi guys....any new qing ping that are good for collection ?? Hmm...any shop selling good tea pot ?? Ermm...like those that i can found in HoJo Midvalley Garden ??
Jul 3 2011, 08:25 PM
QUOTE(egyprince @ Jul 3 2011, 07:37 PM) Hi guys....any new qing ping that are good for collection ?? Hmm...any shop selling good tea pot ?? Ermm...like those that i can found in HoJo Midvalley Garden ?? Go round the tea shops you will find many. Some are very expansive ya. Or check out the shops in chinatown. |
Jul 3 2011, 09:39 PM
822 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
i find local tea shop selling over priced tea if compare with oversea
Jul 3 2011, 10:09 PM
Jul 3 2011, 10:17 PM
DTH?TS?
Jul 3 2011, 10:28 PM
QUOTE(maxguy @ Jul 3 2011, 10:17 PM) http://stores.ebay.com/Dragon-Tea-Househttp://www.yunnansourcing.com/ |
Jul 3 2011, 11:20 PM
Jul 4 2011, 09:47 AM
992 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: Bolehland |
QUOTE(slimfox @ Jul 3 2011, 11:20 PM) I am new to this hobby. Can you please tell me which type of tea variant is overprice and (this is what I want to know most) which shops are over price so I can just avoid them. You can't judge a tea by its price. You have to taste it first and if you think it is good and reasonable pricing, then you buy. Shops that are slightly expensive are those at shopping centre such as Purple Cane, Hojo etc due to its high rental but they still got some premium tea that you can't get it elsewhere... |
Jul 4 2011, 01:55 PM
QUOTE(cuebiz @ Jul 4 2011, 09:47 AM) You can't judge a tea by its price. You have to taste it first and if you think it is good and reasonable pricing, then you buy. Ya i know Purple Cane is expansive. The tea pot that I bought for 180.00 they are selling for 430.00 (not sure if there is discount but I made sure the tea pots are the same one). I would say Purple Cane is selling more utensils (pots, cawan, etc) than tea. Where is this Hojo?Shops that are slightly expensive are those at shopping centre such as Purple Cane, Hojo etc due to its high rental but they still got some premium tea that you can't get it elsewhere... Agree shoping mall=expansive. Added on July 4, 2011, 6:21 pmJust curious, how many of you guys can tell the temperature of your water just by the sound of the boil? I read that real masters can tell the correct temperature of the water for different types of tea just by the sound of the boil. Have been experimenting the whole day (a little tea drunk right now) and I will say that it is true that different sound produces different taste with the same tea (taiwan tea ). Any opinion guys? This post has been edited by slimfox: Jul 4 2011, 06:21 PM |
Jul 4 2011, 08:34 PM
get tea thermometer
http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=bl_sr_kitchen?...dtextbin=Taylor Added on July 4, 2011, 8:40 pmor this http://www.amazon.com/Cuisinart-CPK-17-Per...9783201&sr=1-33 Added on July 4, 2011, 8:41 pmand this http://www.amazon.com/Cuisinart-PerfecTemp..._pr_product_top This post has been edited by maxguy: Jul 4 2011, 08:41 PM |
Jul 4 2011, 08:51 PM
QUOTE(slimfox @ Jul 4 2011, 01:55 PM) Ya i know Purple Cane is expansive. The tea pot that I bought for 180.00 they are selling for 430.00 (not sure if there is discount but I made sure the tea pots are the same one). I would say Purple Cane is selling more utensils (pots, cawan, etc) than tea. Where is this Hojo? Hojo is at The Gardens> http://hojotea.com/indexe.htmlAgree shoping mall=expansive. Added on July 4, 2011, 6:21 pmJust curious, how many of you guys can tell the temperature of your water just by the sound of the boil? I read that real masters can tell the correct temperature of the water for different types of tea just by the sound of the boil. Have been experimenting the whole day (a little tea drunk right now) and I will say that it is true that different sound produces different taste with the same tea (taiwan tea ). Any opinion guys? They sell premium tea and nice japanese teaware. Price is quite high but quality is quite good. I like their japanese greens. Purple cane is known for being expensive. I heard they can judge the temp of the water by the look of the bubble... they give names for it... shrimp eyes about 70-80 °C (155–175 °F) – separate bubbles, rising to top crab eyes about 80 °C (175 °F) – streams of bubbles fish eyes about 80-90 °C (175–195 °F) – larger bubbles rope of pearls about 90-95 °C (195–205 °F) – steady streams of large bubbles raging torrent rolling boil, swirling and roiling <wiki> |
| Change to: | 0.0215sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:37 PM |