Lenovo ideapad Y460/Y560 Thread, Gaming nerd in a business package
unknownhammie
May 20 2010, 03:51 PM
QUOTE(jotaro12 @ May 20 2010, 03:45 PM) That's considered unlucky and flashing BIOS does have risk involved. It would be better you send your laptop to their SC at Subang when you're free just to flash the BIOS. Got 2 service centre now now : a) 4.20, 4th Floor, Plaza Low Yat b) No. 100 SS14/1 Subang Jaya This post has been edited by unknownhammie: May 20 2010, 03:52 PM
unknownhammie
May 21 2010, 09:29 AM
QUOTE(samlee860407 @ May 20 2010, 08:25 PM) hm...any of you guys try to plug in e-sata to your y460? i cant seems to put it in leh on my y460 @@ push hard also cannot push in, dare not try harder sked later the e-sata/USB port spoilt :S Try push it to the max but not so hard, if already inside and not detecting. 2 possibility 1) Driver corrupted for esata 2) Port spoiled 3) your cable/device using esata is faulty. Try using the esata thingy at other machine.
unknownhammie
May 21 2010, 12:08 PM
QUOTE(marky @ May 21 2010, 10:43 AM) just got my Y460, y in the world they format c: bigger than d: i heard we cant change the partition size if not the OKR dont work.. any1 can confirm? There is a way thou but using Computer Management to do it. System will calculate the size for you at the max it could be done. Added on May 21, 2010, 12:09 pmQUOTE(samlee860407 @ May 21 2010, 10:44 AM) hm, after trying to push harder, it was in, but not detected not sure which is the problem though since i only got 1 esata cable and 1 device that use it :S Have you tried on other machines? This post has been edited by unknownhammie: May 21 2010, 12:09 PM
unknownhammie
May 21 2010, 12:47 PM
QUOTE(samlee860407 @ May 21 2010, 12:32 PM) all my other PC don't have e-sata port LOL Try reinstall the esata port driver?
unknownhammie
May 21 2010, 01:47 PM
QUOTE(-pWs- @ May 21 2010, 12:53 PM) I saw somewhere in the internet that Y460 is having hybrid of HDD n SDD. Anyone can confirm that? I cannot see any SSD in my Y460. Guess dun hav. -pWs-Ada, new model. Old 1 I think dont have coz belum implement. Now new de got lo.
unknownhammie
May 21 2010, 04:34 PM
QUOTE(jotaro12 @ May 21 2010, 03:33 PM) I'm skeptical on your post. If possible, do show us proof like pics so we can look at it. If it's true, then you're the only one who has it. no need prove, lolz. Older manufactured does not come with this technology. Newer machine will have this. haha.
unknownhammie
May 21 2010, 04:46 PM
QUOTE(synz @ May 21 2010, 04:41 PM) how to check if i have rapid drive technology? Usually it will come with a sticker, click this link at btm http://shop.lenovo.com/SEUILibrary/control...rience/Consumer
unknownhammie
May 21 2010, 04:52 PM
QUOTE(synz @ May 21 2010, 04:50 PM) Yup, previous manufactured model does not have this Technology. New model will have, can look at the machine if comes with this sticker.
unknownhammie
May 21 2010, 05:06 PM
QUOTE(synz @ May 21 2010, 04:54 PM) wtf is that fair? or lenovo encouraging customer to buy later btw do we need to run the rapid storage technology at startup? QUOTE(Mie131085 @ May 21 2010, 05:02 PM) what i have is Lenovo Enhanced Experience Sticker (without Rapiddrive technology)Â  LoL Hmm, aint sure. Perhaps you could read this article as curerntly Y460 that my fren use does not come with rapiddrive technology but it has the enchanced experienced sticker as well. Maybe can add the SSD and turn it into rapiddrive in future? not so sure http://shop.lenovo.com/SEUILibrary/control...Consumer%20newsThis post has been edited by unknownhammie: May 21 2010, 05:07 PM
unknownhammie
May 21 2010, 05:15 PM
QUOTE(marky @ May 21 2010, 05:11 PM) i think ur system needs to come with SSD .. maybe that model not available here yet Not sure if it is upgradable / addable. lolz. Waiting news
unknownhammie
May 21 2010, 06:15 PM
Sorry man, will reply tonight/when free. Off work now going out to enjoy first. lolz  Added on May 22, 2010, 12:06 amQUOTE(jotaro12 @ May 21 2010, 05:15 PM) @unknownhammie No offense on you but I've searched through China, US, and Europe forums on people who bought their unit recently, STILL no sign of the new rapid drive technology. Potential buyers of these forums also keep calling Lenovo for the whereabouts these few months on when it'll come out. Of course it'll be out, but when?? And it's only applies on certain Y460/Y560 models and the price won't be 3599/3299 since there's an additional SSD inside. QUOTE(jotaro12 @ May 21 2010, 05:28 PM) I can safely say the rapid drive version won't arrive in M'sia mainly because of price range. Lenovo did say Y460 does have rapid drive technology, but only a certain models which we won't know unless it's out which is why I'm skeptical on the bro's comment in the 1st place. Well, we can't be sure if they 'won't/will' be release in Malaysia. Price definitely will be exp. This post has been edited by unknownhammie: May 22 2010, 12:06 AM
unknownhammie
May 22 2010, 09:19 AM
QUOTE(-pWs- @ May 22 2010, 02:14 AM) Someone bought me a SSD Intel x25-M G2. Installed in Y460. It is so damn fast.  -pWs-nice~~~
unknownhammie
May 23 2010, 10:11 PM
lol...many new things appear..didnt login for pass 1 day++ This post has been edited by unknownhammie: May 23 2010, 10:11 PM
unknownhammie
May 24 2010, 09:33 AM
@jotaro12
lolz...Well, hopefully they come out with new driver/updates thou. Haha So far from my observation, Lenovo Y460 has the most user compared to other thread. This is the active thread only. lolz
unknownhammie
May 24 2010, 11:20 AM
@jotaro12
You're torturing the machine..lolz. 100+...When I was using Y550, once reach 90C i straight off. Scary. @@
unknownhammie
May 24 2010, 11:43 AM
QUOTE(-pWs- @ May 24 2010, 11:41 AM) Guys, There is one software missing after i reinstalled my OS. The problem is I do not know the software name. The program helps us to change the environment when either video or audio is played. Any idea? Thanks. -pWs-Have you tried using Lenovo Smartdownloading?
unknownhammie
May 24 2010, 11:55 AM
Ini sudah start selling in Thailand, Malaysia Ringgit would be RM5500~RM5800 (roughly).. Rapiddrive woo Sapa mau buy this machine? lolz ( picture model is Thailand model) Malaysia Model is I7-720QM proc 1.6GHz Win7 Home Prem 6GB DDR RAM 500GB 7200RPM Blu Ray Combo Ati Radeon 5730 DDR3 1024M 15.6" WLED 6 Cell Batt 1 Year Warranty @ RM4999 *edited on pricing* This post has been edited by unknownhammie: May 24 2010, 12:49 PM Attached thumbnail(s)
unknownhammie
May 24 2010, 02:01 PM
QUOTE(-pWs- @ May 24 2010, 01:39 PM) Here the program I try to find just now. -pWs-Ahh...Usually smart downloading is the best to be use. @jotaro12 Normal le pricey coz rapiddrive and the HDD 7200RPM. Look at the differences. lol This post has been edited by unknownhammie: May 24 2010, 02:08 PM
unknownhammie
May 24 2010, 02:22 PM
QUOTE(-pWs- @ May 24 2010, 02:09 PM) Nice spec. But I just wish to add the mSATA SSD in to complete the "Y". -pWs-Not sure how much / is it compatible.
unknownhammie
May 24 2010, 09:09 PM
QUOTE(pierrecool @ May 24 2010, 08:25 PM) would like to ask about the warranty, do any of y460 owner here got extended the warranty?? how much and how many year?? if i want to extend only when the warranty is over, can do it? Once warranty over = no more extend warranty. Maximum 3 years warranty, applicable on hardware. Accessory only 1 year