Hobbies The Bright Side V4, Malaysian Flashaholic Community

mr-2
post Aug 27 2014, 03:13 AM

733 posts

Got myself a Fenix PD35 2014 with 960 lumen along with a difusser.Very satisfied. thumbup.gif
Was planning for Jetbeam but is so expensive.

This post has been edited by mr-2: Sep 22 2014, 01:29 AM
mr-2
post Sep 23 2014, 01:07 AM

733 posts

Is this thread still alive?

Anyway! Sharing my current small mini collection. :D
Hope more Sifu can share here.

Fenix PD35 2014
Fenix TK20
Fenix E05 2014 (My EDC light)
Jetbeam RRT26
Trustfire R5-A3
Ultrafire XML-T6
and some unbranded flashlight.

mr-2
post Sep 24 2014, 07:11 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Sep 23 2014, 10:13 PM)
I'm curious on hows the E05 and the PD35 2014 serving you now
The E05 2014 serve me very well as I had attach as part of my keychain and carry it with all the time. Whenever I need bright light when walking in the dark alley where my car is being park, I just churn to the max mode 85 lumen and is brighter than most larger light I had previously. It is pretty handy since it so tiny.

The PD35 2014 is my weekend torch whenever I go I put in my EDC bag. It so crazy bright it literally lit up the whole road or field in a pitch dark area. The recent 4x4 I had with my company trip to the remote jungle came in useful as I use this single light to lit up the entire camp area for us to setup the camp with it floody light. Other time I put in my display cabinet. smile.gif

mr-2
post Sep 25 2014, 07:21 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Sep 25 2014, 12:10 AM)
haha the E05 is indeed good~
had the old one single mode... should've waited a while to get the 2014 for 3 modes ugh~

the PD35 caught my attention for years since it came out but my current customized p60 host flashlight with xml t6 is stopping me from getting the PD35
I'm still debating if I should invest on a PD35~  hmm.gif    sweat.gif
There's also Nitecore P12 and Thrunite TN12 that's bugging me too lol sweat.gif
There is a titanium edition same size as the E05 call the E99 Ti wtih 100 lumen coming soon. Should be a nice keeper. thumbup.gif

You may be glad you hold on since there much upgrade to the PD35 since then. haha. The nitecore P12 was my first choice initially, but I read some forum the failure rate for nitecore is 1 to 10, I decided not to take the risk. sweat.gif The Thrunite TN12 also has some very good review, but I can't find anybody selling locally to test the light myself. Love to have it too since I heard is cheaper than both.

Your customise P60 must really serve you well since it can hold off to buy other light. Btw, how mana lumen you upgraded to? thumbup.gif Surefire light I can only dream as is beyond my reach for now. cry.gif

mr-2
post Sep 26 2014, 02:01 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Sep 25 2014, 09:53 PM)
ahaha my p60 wasn't much

it's just this fake seraph sp6 with a 16 mode driver only~
http://www.dx.com/p/rustu-r12h-cree-xm-l-t...81#.VCQdlRafZqw
http://www.dx.com/p/16-mode-3w-3-7v-7135-c...12#.VCQdjxafZqw

I swapped the driver just to get the low,med,high mode
Still underdriven. Still bright enough to make me happy.

But however as technology grew, my greed grew too~ rclxub.gif  sweat.gif
xml were godlike LEDs of the past... and XML2... got me so greedy

plus the PD35 looked so pocket friendly compared to this wub.gif  wub.gif  wub.gif

ahh... I need to calm down lolol
Interesting, maybe you can teach me how to mod my lights. I'm still trying to figure out how to open up to look inside.
Resistance is futile. PD35 buy buy buy! tongue.gif biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Everdying)
hmm i just have some affordable Fenix...my EDC are LD01 and E15.
also got a TK09 if i want quite a bit more power.
Is the E15 good? 170 lumens? Interested in getting one myself. hmm.gif
I lost my E05! Is just too small. sad.gif
mr-2
post Sep 27 2014, 11:38 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 26 2014, 05:55 PM)
QUOTE(mr-2)

Is the E15 good? 170 lumens? Interested in getting one myself.  hmm.gif
I lost my E05! Is just too small. sad.gif
E15 is good, but the twist to change modes is about double the range of motion compared to my LD01.
both pros and cons la, E15 brighter, LD01 got dimmer mode...E15 also cheaper, but also uses CR123.

i also looked at PD35 before deciding on TK09.
since TK is tactical, first mode is high which is what i want...has a tail switch which is easier to operate...plus has a longer throw.
also the memory mode of PD35 i find irritating.
Went to test out the E15 today, like what you said the motion range seem to be too much. Also the size seem to thick for me to pocket. In the end I got back the E05 2014. Can't live without it. tongue.gif

Tested the TK32 too, seem this is a long thrower with red, green and blue light. Poison poison, only the light switch a bit complicated and the head is a bit big for EDC.

This post has been edited by mr-2: Sep 27 2014, 11:42 PM
mr-2
post Sep 27 2014, 11:48 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Sep 26 2014, 09:48 PM)
flashlight modding is simple as long as you have soldering skills~
Opening it for modding however, that's a different talent that requires money and risk to build experience (which is something you need to prepare)

well I can guide you in "simple modding" your trustfire,ultrafire and unbranded lights but modding fenix... I don't think I want you to risk it ><
advanced modding like understanding what the driver board do n such... I cannot lol tongue.gif that requires some electronic engineering skills to do so
Sifu! Pls teach me how to start modding? I am looking at this light and wonder what I could do more with it. Simple also can lah. thumbup.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
mr-2
post Sep 28 2014, 12:04 AM

733 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Sep 27 2014, 11:56 PM)
umm...uhh...idk how to start lol

firstly do you have handy hands in soldering skills?

because you can always began with swapping emitters or drivers on cheap flashlight~
Actually none, but I guess is never too late to learn. sweat.gif smile.gif
I did blow out a non-china branded led by putting in a RCR123 battery churning out 3.7v x 2 when it only support the normal 18650 3.6v battery. Was hopping to make it brighter tho. rclxub.gif sweat.gif

By driver do you mean the chip behind the LED?
mr-2
post Sep 28 2014, 03:12 AM

733 posts

QUOTE(chew3344 @ Sep 28 2014, 02:07 AM)
saw fenix pd35 recently and really  drool.gif  drool.gif  but not sure if the price is wroth it tho  laugh.gif
This PD35 seem very poisonous hor! Earlier today I went to the shop to look for a replacement for my lost E05 and ask my friend meet me there.
I ask him to wait for me in the shop for a while as i had a lunch appointment with him. He have no idea what shop he is meeting me at too. I am done in 10 mins. After he see customer testing out the light he ended self poisoning himself testing out the PD35 2014 demo unit and other light while I waited him for another 1 hours ++. doh.gif He seem to have the biggest surprise on his face as he have never seen a palm size light can be so darn bright, after toying with the lights he joyously took home the PD35 in the end spending rm300++ with charger, accessories and battery. laugh.gif
mr-2
post Sep 29 2014, 09:26 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Sep 28 2014, 03:08 PM)
go learn it quick biggrin.gif
find some old electronic boards like a broken radio to start practicing biggrin.gif

ahahaha mann you gotta remember all LEDs work only in around 3-4v max XD
there are 6v 9v 12v and even 36v LEDs too but general LED range is 3v

and by driver
yes

I'm talking bout the chip behind wink.gif
dx.com and fasttech.com lists a WIDE range of DIY parts for you to play around.
Yeah, lesson learn. Unlike the Fenix and Jetbeam they actually are much brighter with the RCR123 batt. Guess the unbranded light just don't have those protection.

Will try out the soldering and check out the website. Thx man! smile.gif
mr-2
post Sep 30 2014, 11:17 PM

733 posts

Just some fun test comparison with my car light. tongue.gif

Jetbeam DDR26
Fenix PD35 2014
Toyota Altis 2 headlights (low beam)

mr-2
post Oct 2 2014, 11:25 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Oct 1 2014, 09:15 PM)
just updating as well as trying to revive this thread~

ordered one of this in fasttech with coupon code BLF
https://www.fasttech.com/p/1574601

hopefully it'll be a drastic upgrade from my XML T6 biggrin.gif

will be tossing it in here~

Nice pic. thumbup.gif BTW what is the torch model in the 1st pic? hmm.gif
mr-2
post Oct 3 2014, 01:06 AM

733 posts

Since power911 is such inspirational. notworthy.gif Took some of my own amature pic today of my beloved lights. smile.gif

mr-2
post Oct 3 2014, 01:17 AM

733 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Oct 3 2014, 12:20 AM)
both are actually the same torch lol

it's a clone of Seraph SP6

people are familiar with the name Skyray SR5
but mine comes with a funky name called Rustu R12H

thought I mentioned it in Post #1710? sweat.gif
Pardon me, I must have miss out. Only USD13.48 and look damn cool.
I got to get one myself. drool.gif
mr-2
post Oct 3 2014, 08:07 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Oct 3 2014, 02:06 PM)
one? why not 3? flex.gif
for a p60 host flashlight, this provides very good heatsinking once you stuff aluminum strips to the drop-in module
Buy one test water first, tongue.gif I don't have any drop in module as yet.
mr-2
post Oct 4 2014, 09:45 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Oct 3 2014, 09:09 PM)
it comes with a drop in lol

no worries

just prepare a 100 plus can or some soda when it arrive biggrin.gif
Why 100 plus and soda? hmm.gif
mr-2
post Oct 6 2014, 12:46 AM

733 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Oct 5 2014, 04:14 PM)
Thx for the link. Something for me to test out on my cheaper light 'Ultrafire 502b with xm-l l2 u2 led'. It does get hot after sometime and no step down too. smile.gif
mr-2
post Oct 8 2014, 05:31 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Oct 8 2014, 12:06 AM)
was walking around the street~
Bro, is that your upgraded Rustu R12H with XM-L2 U2-4C and moded with 100-plus alluminium foil heat sink? 1100 lumen!!! Damn!!! drool.gif
mr-2
post Oct 8 2014, 10:57 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Oct 8 2014, 09:07 PM)
nahh not yet... still XML T6 under 1A power

this is the problem that's stopping me from getting the PD35
cuz it's already bright enough lol
Buy both and do a review comparison. tongue.gif
I did a test with my lux meter, PD35 lumen output is higher than most light rated higher than it. The only thing is because of the small head the heat kinda build up faster than most.

This is my own test of amp measurement on the PD35 2014 over the 5 modes.

960 lumen XM-L2 U2
Using Fenix 3600Mah 3.7v 18650 battery

Eco 14lm
0.04a

Low 50lm
0.10a

Medium 180lm
0.35a

High 460lm
1.12a - 0.36a

Turbo 960lm
1.11a
1.8a on CR123 3.0v X 2

This post has been edited by mr-2: Oct 8 2014, 11:20 PM
mr-2
post Jun 5 2015, 03:20 PM

733 posts

Anyone had these light? I am planning to get either one of these monster.
doesn't matter a throw or flood. I need lumens! tongue.gif

Olight M2X-UT Javelot
Fenix LD60
Imalent DD4R
Olight SR mini

0.1005sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:31 AM