Is Ferrari expensive to maintain?, any owners here or you know?

TSmichaeltan1943
post Apr 12 2010, 06:58 AM, updated 16y ago

1,024 posts

A friend of mine is buying a Ferrari 360 Modena F1 2004. But I told him that parts can be very very expensive.

Anyone here can advice how much a normal servicing would cost and how much roughly parts cost?

What is the worst case scenario (most expensive) of something going wrong and the cost of changing the part, labour and the part cost also?

pcang79
post Apr 12 2010, 07:16 AM

261 posts

If u afford to buy the car u can afford to servicing the car as well.
Dennos
post Apr 12 2010, 07:19 AM

2,736 posts

its ferari, it never break.
pwncake
post Apr 12 2010, 07:46 AM

Validating
112 posts

okay. just to give your friend a figure to compare, a mudguard for the front wheel of a lambo is around rm15k per side. it only costs around rm 300-400 for 'normal' cars. do the extrapolation for gear box, engine overhaul, etc, and you will get the appropriate figure for maintenance.

breaker84
post Apr 12 2010, 07:57 AM

\\//\\//\\//\\//
1,713 posts

QUOTE(Dennos @ Apr 12 2010, 07:19 AM)
its ferari, it never break.
hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif
i'll start save my money for this.... nod.gif
TSmichaeltan1943
post Apr 12 2010, 09:09 AM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(pwncake @ Apr 12 2010, 07:46 AM)
okay. just to give your friend a figure to compare, a mudguard for the front wheel of a lambo is around rm15k per side. it only costs around rm 300-400 for 'normal' cars. do the extrapolation for gear box, engine overhaul, etc, and you will get the appropriate figure for maintenance.
eh how can just per mudguard RM15,000? You tell me change timing belt for RM15,000 I believe. Or change clutch at that price also I believe.
xDjWanNabex
post Apr 12 2010, 09:22 AM

932 posts

QUOTE(pcang79 @ Apr 12 2010, 07:16 AM)
Dont answer like an ass. Many owners sell of thier car's just because they cant afford to maintain it after buying it after a few months, if they are unlucky facing many problems.
OnOne
post Apr 12 2010, 09:26 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(xDjWanNabex @ Apr 12 2010, 09:22 AM)
Dont answer like an ass. Many owners sell of thier car's just because they cant afford to maintain it after buying it after a few months, if they are unlucky facing many problems.
correct!!...so how much really the cost to maintain the horse ??
bobbychin
post Apr 12 2010, 09:26 AM

605 posts

ferrari parts very cheap la..ask him go on ahead and buy it

if no money ..then buy proton ...

This post has been edited by bobbychin: Apr 12 2010, 09:27 AM
nonexno
post Apr 12 2010, 09:52 AM

570 posts

F360 is slightly more expensive to maintain then F430. I would estimate,

Every 6 months oil change - RM3000
Tires - RM8000 (Can last up to 2 to 3 years if you travel around 3000 to 5000 per year)
Clutch - RM15000 - Depends on your driving style. Maybe 20000km to 30000km.
Timing Belt - This one not too sure. Haven't really come across it. You can call up Ferrari and ask how much. Every 15000km.
maranello55
post Apr 12 2010, 09:55 AM

Accelera Ayrton!!
3,385 posts

If u cant maintain it, just rent one.
netmatrix
post Apr 12 2010, 10:37 AM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,733 posts

There was time share ferrari cars offered here last time. I wonder if the scheme is still available?

This post has been edited by netmatrix: Apr 12 2010, 10:41 AM
ZERO_ONE
post Apr 12 2010, 11:05 AM

175 posts

Total maintenance expenditure: 40% of the car's value, every 7 years.

Simple math.

True...

Can't pay, don't play. If you have to budget and calculate maintenance, its highly likely that you're not ready for a Ferrari.
travis_ckf
post Apr 12 2010, 11:20 AM

ambitious but rubbish......
6,413 posts

Well i think u can send to naza for servicing since they r the official distributor of ferrari here. But if u can afford the car, u sure can afford the servicing otherwise forget about it. wink.gif
nonexno
post Apr 12 2010, 11:20 AM

570 posts

QUOTE(ZERO_ONE @ Apr 12 2010, 11:05 AM)
Total maintenance expenditure: 40% of the car's value, every 7 years.

Simple math.

True...

Can't pay, don't play. If you have to budget and calculate maintenance, its highly likely that you're not ready for a Ferrari.
Not true.

I know some rich people who are really calculative by nature. Or some people who like to plan their expenditure.

antwar
post Apr 12 2010, 11:26 AM

102 posts

buy from kedai potong for part thumbup.gif
daniwc
post Apr 12 2010, 11:28 AM

121 posts

what u think?
ZERO_ONE
post Apr 12 2010, 11:31 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(nonexno @ Apr 12 2010, 11:20 AM)
Not true.

I know some rich people who are really calculative by nature. Or some people who like to plan their expenditure.
Haha...those are the worse owners.

Low spec cars with minimum maintenance done.

But its just a limited observation, on my part.
SUSsootienann
post Apr 12 2010, 11:35 AM

2,276 posts

From: subang, sunway, puchong, pj -- does_this_annoy_you?

not like u will drive it daily. its a weekend car.
ridox_orimabu
post Apr 12 2010, 11:36 AM

Rightly Guided Leadership
1,872 posts

for the one that can afford one? no, its normal for them. unless its bugatti veyron, now that's expensive!
Everdying
post Apr 12 2010, 11:42 AM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

every standard 5000km service is around RM5-7k.
of cos will go up more if got any parts replacement etc...can hit 15-20k easily.

tplcaik
post Apr 12 2010, 11:44 AM

<DeaL WiTh ConFideNcE>
3,541 posts

Buy and keep in house like many owner do should be ok.
amduser
post Apr 12 2010, 11:47 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(nonexno @ Apr 12 2010, 09:52 AM)

Tires - RM8000 (Can last up to 2 to 3 years if you travel around 3000 to 5000 per year)
Timing Belt - This one not too sure. Haven't really come across it. You can call up Ferrari and ask how much. Every 15000km.
what kind of oil the horse drink la, RM3000 is way too much wei, use full synthetic oil RM300 can already

tires got RM8k for 4 donut? depends on the size, maximum i would say RM3k-4k for 4 donut, dont use semi-slick of course

clutch and timing belt i dont know la, maybe can use normal timing belt but change it more frequent laugh.gif
maintenance
post Apr 12 2010, 11:49 AM

1,064 posts

Fully Synthetic Shell Oil ( the silver color botol, made in malaysia ori)
I am selling for RM150
buy bulk i can dive discount. no need so expensive until Rm300

Noning
post Apr 12 2010, 11:50 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(pcang79 @ Apr 12 2010, 08:16 AM)
Point taken..... whistling.gif

scorgio
post Apr 12 2010, 11:51 AM

4,694 posts

QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Apr 12 2010, 09:09 AM)
eh how can just per mudguard RM15,000? You tell me change timing belt for RM15,000 I believe. Or change clutch at that price also I believe.
Believe it man.
The front fender, per side, is RM40k.

Annual maintenance, if u drive it as a weekend car only, is around RM30-40k. And that's assuming u only change brake pad once a year.

The most expensive part, is the gearbox. If it fails (auto) or change clutch (manual), be prepared for some striking digits!
victor87
post Apr 12 2010, 11:52 AM

431 posts

If your friend have to ask, for sure he can't afford.
ZERO_ONE
post Apr 12 2010, 11:55 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ Apr 12 2010, 11:51 AM)
Believe it man.

Annual maintenance, if u drive it as a weekend car only, is around RM30-40k. And that's assuming u only change brake pad once a year.

The most expensive part, is the gearbox. If it fails (auto) or change clutch (manual), be prepared for some striking digits!
The rebuild for the F360 engine is circa 350K. Add to that...
xDjWanNabex
post Apr 12 2010, 11:56 AM

932 posts

If your friend really is gonna buy, cant he directly ask the sales person a rough estimate?
scorgio
post Apr 12 2010, 12:01 PM

4,694 posts

QUOTE(ZERO_ONE @ Apr 12 2010, 11:55 AM)
The rebuild for the F360 engine is circa 350K. Add to that...
The engine can throw away & go get one from kedai potong.

A used F360 is only around RM500k. NO ONE is going to spend RM300k+ to rebuild an engine.
amduser
post Apr 12 2010, 12:05 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(maintenance @ Apr 12 2010, 11:49 AM)
Fully Synthetic Shell Oil ( the silver color botol, made in malaysia ori)
I am selling for RM150
buy bulk i can dive discount. no need so expensive until Rm300
i prefer made in US, torco brand biggrin.gif

QUOTE(scorgio @ Apr 12 2010, 11:51 AM)
Believe it man.

carbon fiber front fender?
scorgio
post Apr 12 2010, 12:25 PM

4,694 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Apr 12 2010, 12:05 PM)
i prefer made in US, torco brand biggrin.gif
carbon fiber front fender?
Ferrari original.

I don't know if it's carbon fiber. BUT if u want carbon fiber, money alone can get it done.

How I knew that damn thing is worth a MyVI? I got a friend who borrowed his uncle's F360 modena.

He was driving on the highway, didn't know the tyre & brakes need to warm up b4 it could achieve the required performance.

When overtaking, lose control & hit the road divider. Towed back to the SC & was told the fender need RM40k to replace + paint.

zftrans
post Apr 12 2010, 12:31 PM

191 posts

For a Lamborghini Gallardo, a standard service cost RM12k at Lamborghini KL. But you can get it done for RM8k at specialized workshops.

So for a F360, it should costs somewhere between RM5k to RM7k at outside workshops. Not sure what Naza charges..

Know how much the Scuderia Ferrari shields on the front fender of most Ferrari's cost? RM12k per side. And its an option when you buy a brand new Ferrari. Its so expensive cause you are paying royalty to the Scuderia Ferrari F1 Team to use their shield.
the_catacombs
post Apr 12 2010, 01:03 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

buy and put at home...
zero maintenance...
erictham
post Apr 12 2010, 01:22 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(victor87 @ Apr 12 2010, 11:52 AM)
Totally agreed!
People who want to buy a Ferarri would be concerned about which model, color, condition, etc... rather than how much it would cost. Perhaps a more relevant question to think about before buying a Ferarri is - should I buy 1 unit or 2? Haha...
SUSLiLFreaK
post Apr 12 2010, 01:36 PM

374 posts

QUOTE(erictham @ Apr 12 2010, 01:22 PM)
Totally agreed!
People who want to buy a Ferarri would be concerned about which model, color, condition, etc... rather than how much it would cost. Perhaps a more relevant question to think about before buying a Ferarri is - should I buy 1 unit or 2? Haha...
i think no doubt people who buy brand new ferrari will have no problem maintaining.

but when the car gets older the price drops and more people will be able to buy the buying price

but the catch is, the total ownership cost after maintainence added into the picture
TSmichaeltan1943
post Apr 12 2010, 06:04 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Apr 12 2010, 10:37 AM)
There was time share ferrari cars offered here last time. I wonder if the scheme is still available?
this time share thing is very interesting. I have seen it overseas. Any more info on the time hsare Ferrari in Msia?

Added on April 12, 2010, 6:20 pm
that is a stupid thing to say. He may be prudent.

This post has been edited by michaeltan1943: Apr 12 2010, 06:20 PM
Roland San
post Apr 12 2010, 06:38 PM

262 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Apr 12 2010, 11:47 AM)
what kind of oil the horse drink la, RM3000 is way too much wei, use full synthetic oil RM300 can already

tires got RM8k for 4 donut? depends on the size, maximum i would say RM3k-4k for 4 donut, dont use semi-slick of course

clutch and timing belt i dont know la, maybe can use normal timing belt but change it more frequent laugh.gif
oil change includes oil and mesh filters, and the o-rings and plugs.
can't simply use any oil, read here.
So RM3k would sound about right.

the staggered set of tyres would not run to 8k, but it won't be 4k cheap. probably in between, somewhere around rm6k, the rears would cost more and you'd be wanting pilot sports or potenzas or p-zeros.

ultimately, once out of warranty, you'd be looking at setting aside 20k per annum for the car. if lucky, it won't use all that money. if unlucky, or if there's big service jobs due, maybe having twice that set aside would be a good idea.
Omage007
post Apr 12 2010, 06:52 PM

Warn : 95%
3,009 posts

Porsche maintain fee should be cheaper then Ferrari. . . ??

QUOTE(nonexno @ Apr 12 2010, 09:52 AM)

Those parts is make by Ferrari, it is expensive, but how come it is not even as durable as normal car spare part?
Roland San
post Apr 12 2010, 06:57 PM

262 posts

QUOTE(Omage007 @ Apr 12 2010, 06:52 PM)
Those parts is make by Ferrari, it is expensive, but how come it is not even as durable as normal car spare part?
Porsches are generally cheaper to maintain that their equivalent Ferraris.
Parts are durable, the thing is the car is a performance machine, and therefore puts far more stress on parts. Tolerances are tighter to extract more performance. What would last 10k km on a regular car won't last half that on a performance car.
Cryin'
post Apr 12 2010, 07:28 PM

go to fchat and research the models in interest ?
Omage007
post Apr 12 2010, 07:33 PM

Warn : 95%
3,009 posts

QUOTE(Roland San @ Apr 12 2010, 06:57 PM)
Porsches are generally cheaper to maintain that their equivalent Ferraris.
Parts are durable, the thing is the car is a performance machine, and therefore puts far more stress on parts. Tolerances are tighter to extract more performance. What would last 10k km on a regular car won't last half that on a performance car.
Ya I know it is a performance machine, but driving a Ferrari does not mean it will be always run in the red line zone at 7000rpm or above, nor speedy at 200km/h++, I am talking about normal driving; even for a normal car if always stress into the red line zone the spare part also will gone 50% faster.
amduser
post Apr 12 2010, 07:56 PM

5,542 posts

the parts inside a ferrari car is tune for performance, not for durable, higher performance means less durable, that's the sense of it...

if you have been to service center and service car before (i mean normal road cars) even some of the parts that is still usable and can last for at least few service interval, they will still change it, reason is for safety purpose and the performance and durability of the car, they will just follow the list...

let's assume, if you have a ferrari, and you dont drive it often, let's say a weekend car, and you dont go redline or drive aggressively, the parts inside sure will last longer, and doesn't really necessary to change some parts inside the car
ray6369
post Apr 12 2010, 07:58 PM

453 posts

can buy that car, still need to worry how to maintain meh?
tishaban
post Apr 12 2010, 08:04 PM

3,615 posts

I don't have a Ferrari but I have read somewhere that it'll typically cost RM2-5 per km in servicing alone depending on the model, not including tires etc. So figure around RM10k for the service, more for tires etc.

A BMW 3-series already costs Rm1500-2000 per year of servicing if you go to authorized dealers. The Ferrari is a magnitude more expensive.

OC4/3
post Apr 12 2010, 08:06 PM

4,746 posts

Seem like there are a lot of misinfo here laugh.gif
Head over to ferrarichat.com and do your homework biggrin.gif
As with all car,you can save a lot on maintenance cost if you know how to do your own servicing tongue.gif
For 360,seem like it is important to have all the recall stuff done,like Transmission Software,Cam Variator etc
Head over to ferrarichat.com for more info
scorgio
post Apr 12 2010, 08:36 PM

4,694 posts

Porsche are build by Germans.

Ferrari by Italians. Italy is known as the land of supercars by car mags.
But there's also a saying, the Italians are genius in designing performance machine, they just don't know how to make it reliable. tongue.gif
SUSgrinders
post Apr 12 2010, 09:40 PM

93 posts

Hows the roadtax ,insurance and petrol if want to own one ferrari

Does Workshop in Malaysia suddenly playing trick by charging 200% more like how malaysia tax to cons the ferrari owner.
azxel
post Apr 12 2010, 09:53 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

QUOTE(Omage007 @ Apr 12 2010, 07:33 PM)
Ya I know it is a performance machine, but driving a Ferrari does not mean it will be always run in the red line zone at 7000rpm or above, nor speedy at 200km/h++, I am talking about normal driving; even for a normal car if always stress into the red line zone the spare part also will gone 50% faster.
uumm.. on the contrary, like the Italian made Alfa Romeo, you tend to end up with more problematic parts if you don't redline your bella often... why? I also dunno why but my Bella gives less problems if I really drive it rather than take it out for a stroll...

so I don't quite 't agree that all parts will wear out... some parts like tyres, brake pads, perhaps...

QUOTE(tishaban @ Apr 12 2010, 08:04 PM)
I don't have a Ferrari but I have read somewhere that it'll typically cost RM2-5 per km in servicing alone depending on the model, not including tires etc. So figure around RM10k for the service, more for tires etc.

A BMW 3-series already costs Rm1500-2000 per year of servicing if you go to authorized dealers. The Ferrari is a magnitude more expensive.
Hmm.. I recently did the 5k service oil change for less than RM200 for my dad's 318 (E36)... so I'm not sure what servicing would cost RM1500-RM2000 on a beemer...

anyway, as to why a Ferrari part would cost a bomb?
- They are considered a Luxury vehicle... Exclusivity does come with a price
- Not very high demand so they don't really make money out of selling a part for you at 'normal' price
- Comparing to 'normal' cars like Honda or Beemer where the production line never stops, its different for a Ferrari production line... which will stop many times a day and the body work is hand checked for details, defects, etc.
- The engines are partially hand made and if there are faults, its gonna be melted down again and then remade.
TSmichaeltan1943
post Apr 12 2010, 10:36 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(ray6369 @ Apr 12 2010, 07:58 PM)
I know so many people who buy 5 million ringgit homes but still worry when their electric bill is over RM500, so what is wrong worrying about maintaining an expensive car?

Like I said earlier, one must be very stupid to say that if you can afford a ferrari, you should not worry about maintenance bill.

Added on April 12, 2010, 10:38 pm
classic example....

This post has been edited by michaeltan1943: Apr 12 2010, 10:38 PM
tishaban
post Apr 13 2010, 12:31 AM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(azxel @ Apr 12 2010, 09:53 PM)
Hmm.. I recently did the 5k service oil change for less than RM200 for my dad's 318 (E36)... so I'm not sure what servicing would cost RM1500-RM2000 on a beemer...
The 325 E90 is roughly RM800 per service per ~10k km if you're going to AB etc. So it's close to RM2k per year depending on how much you drive. The E36 and E46 are obviously cheaper and bringing the E90 outside the overpriced dealers helps too.

Anyway OT BMW stuff on a Ferrari topic. I did dream of buying Ferrari 360, the price has gone down significantly but there's no way I can afford the maintenance...

JC999
post Apr 13 2010, 12:41 AM

659 posts

My friend runs a 19" on his beemer low profile, and it cost RM1500 per tyre and can last him 6 months on the road.. daily use in the city only.

Got another friend drives a porsche, the last time i heard just to service is RM5k
Roland San
post Apr 13 2010, 12:49 AM

262 posts

QUOTE(azxel @ Apr 12 2010, 09:53 PM)
uumm.. on the contrary, like the Italian made Alfa Romeo, you tend to end up with more problematic parts if you don't redline your bella often... why? I also dunno why but my Bella gives less problems if I really drive it rather than take it out for a stroll...

The Italian Flush is the solution to 90% of an Alfa's running issues.
The other 10% will cost twice the car is worth tongue.gif
netmatrix
post Apr 13 2010, 02:09 AM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,733 posts

After all that talk, in the end, the answer to TS questions is YES!
VarioCam
post Apr 13 2010, 11:42 AM

126 posts

QUOTE(JC999 @ Apr 13 2010, 12:41 AM)
Got another friend drives a porsche, the last time i heard just to service is RM5k
compared to them ferraris, i'd rather maintain a porsche (IF i own one, that is)
not saying them germans build a better car,italian guys thend to make better looking vehicles. but it's just that i'd often find german makes are quite reliable.
azxel
post Apr 13 2010, 01:29 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

That said... some say The Ferrari is in a different class from a lot of the Porshe... Ferrari competitors would be the Lambo, Bugatti Veyron, Pagani or Merc SLR class? Not sure how true that is though...
Roland San
post Apr 13 2010, 02:47 PM

262 posts

QUOTE(azxel @ Apr 13 2010, 01:29 PM)
That said... some say The Ferrari is in a different class from a lot of the Porshe... Ferrari competitors would be the Lambo, Bugatti Veyron, Pagani or Merc SLR class? Not sure how true that is though...
Ferraris on par with Lambos.
Bugattis, Paganis on a different level, along with SLRs too I guess. I know there are a handful of MB SLR specialists who will fly out anywhere around the world to repair them.
wandiana
post Apr 13 2010, 04:17 PM

85 posts

go here... http://www.ferrariownersclub.com.my
alpha0201
post Apr 13 2010, 05:10 PM

¡¡¡llǝ� ǝuoƃ �ou s,�ɐɥ�
911 posts

QUOTE(azxel @ Apr 13 2010, 01:29 PM)
I remember last month EVO magazine when they reviewed the old Bentley Mulsanne Turbo, the engine that was suppose to be used in Rolls Royce was rejected. Not because its was too powerful or problematic in anyway but they afraid that the demand might increase.

So you could imagine the low volume production like Ferrari could easily drive the price of spare/service parts up which not easily ready.
FlamingFox
post Apr 13 2010, 10:04 PM

o(@_@)o
1,344 posts

QUOTE(pwncake @ Apr 12 2010, 07:46 AM)
Wow really? My Persona only cost RM20 lol
xeratos_85
post Apr 14 2010, 12:51 PM

1,369 posts

QUOTE(ray6369 @ Apr 12 2010, 07:58 PM)
i think it is normal. same like buying perdana or BLM, still need to worry about maintenance right?
phas3r
post Apr 14 2010, 05:02 PM

1,206 posts

the purchase price is rather cheap, a 360 modena is about rm590k only.
even a 2005 f430 cost only rm800k now

but don't be fooled by the cheap price
Dominant Star
post May 30 2010, 05:26 PM

263 posts

Old thread.. never mind.. felt like posting anyway..

The purchasing price is quite affordable to many crazy MLM'ers..
but not many are able to maintain it.

I know of a crazy MLM kid who owns an F430.. paid Rm 100,000 cash and subsequently Rm14,000 per month installments.

Purchase price is about Rm 84x,xxx something.. very affordable for him. But that is purchase price.. here comes the best part.

Owned the car for like 3 months and now sakit already.. normal maintenance and servicing costs him Rm30,000 every single time.

It's like Rm1 for every kilometer. Not to mention the fuel.. full tank can only lasts him about a day or two (about Rm250 to Rm300) for town driving which our normal daily car would take at least 5 days before the next re-fill.

Now the car only get out of the garage like once or two per months.
Pity the owner..

Lesson here:
Unless you are a real millionaire.. don't ever think of getting this crazy horse or any other luxury sports car. Rm 50,000 a month might seem a lot (his earning is 50k per month through his MLM business).. but a single Ferrari is enough to make a 50k per month dude broke early every month. laugh.gif

But the car does bring him a couple of good thing.. heard he manage to recruit even more people into his Uptrend2u team (or is it Luxor.. forgot edy).. that car is his team's flag car in almost every event he goes to.

LoL.. I wonder what happen to cikgu amir's f430 now. But that dude earns more than 100k per month.. i guess no problem for him. how i hope im rich as well.. cry.gif

This post has been edited by Dominant Star: May 30 2010, 05:46 PM
OC4/3
post May 30 2010, 07:48 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(Dominant Star @ May 30 2010, 05:26 PM)
Old thread.. never mind.. felt like posting anyway..
The purchasing price is quite affordable to many crazy MLM'ers..
but not many are able to maintain it.

I know of a crazy MLM kid who owns an F430.. paid Rm 100,000 cash and subsequently Rm14,000 per month installments.

Purchase price is about Rm 84x,xxx something.. very affordable for him. But that is purchase price.. here comes the best part.

Owned the car for like 3 months and now sakit already.. normal maintenance and servicing costs him Rm30,000 every single time.

It's like Rm1 for every kilometer. Not to mention the fuel.. full tank can only lasts him about a day or two (about Rm250 to Rm300) for town driving which our normal daily car would take at least 5 days before the next re-fill.

Now the car only get out of the garage like once or two per months.
Pity the owner..
Lesson here:
Unless you are a real millionaire.. don't ever think of getting this crazy horse or any other luxury sports car. Rm 50,000 a month might seem a lot (his earning is 50k per month through his MLM business).. but a single Ferrari is enough to make a 50k per month dude broke early every month. laugh.gif

But the car does bring him a couple of good thing.. heard he manage to recruit even more people into his Uptrend2u team (or is it Luxor.. forgot edy).. that car is his team's flag car in almost every event he goes to.

LoL.. I wonder what happen to cikgu amir's f430 now. But that dude earns more than 100k per month.. i guess no problem for him. how i hope im rich as well..  cry.gif
What kind of maintenance?Normal oil change?
AFAIK,oil change is more or less like your normal car,not 30k
And 30k service is like 3 or 5years for 360 or F355(Major service replacing timing belt,seal,gasket,rebuild waterpump,cam timing adjustment etc)
Or 30k for clutch???
For price reference,go to ricambi america to know the parts price and labour as per charge
Is even cheaper if you DIY maintenance

yngwie
post May 30 2010, 07:55 PM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

the answer is definitely NO.
if you could afford a ferrari, fuel and maintenance is not an issue. period.
1st service for an enzo is a mere 19k! it's clutch replacement before 10k mileage i cheap too whistling.gif
citytale
post May 30 2010, 09:01 PM

i guess this is the one you guys talking about...

Izzizoiz
post Dec 3 2014, 12:58 AM

250 posts

can someone explain to me why 2nd hand ferraris are cheap in malaysia?
testarossas usually retails at rm400k in uk but in malaysia you can get one at least half that.
SUSnm7
post Dec 3 2014, 10:15 AM

192 posts

Testarossa? shocking.gif

That is a relic. This cars no demand lar. It's not going to fetch or retain good prices for long.

And if you look at it. It depreciates as much as normal euro marques in percentage. Just because the cost of the car is higher, you see a bigger lump of money going down the drain compared to something that a normal consumer can buy.

This cars are toys, not some people carrier that can be expected to retain road value after you decide to discard it.

If you have something like a limited F50 or 250GTO. Then it's a different story.
yeezai
post Dec 3 2014, 03:34 PM

-using no way as way-having no limitation as limitation-
2,531 posts

transplant nissan engine in it ..cheapo parts
OC4/3
post Dec 3 2014, 06:10 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(Izzizoiz @ Dec 3 2014, 12:58 AM)
can someone explain to me why 2nd hand ferraris are cheap in malaysia?
testarossas usually retails at rm400k in uk but in malaysia you can get one at least half that.
Because old car like that all is cash transaction only laugh.gif
So you see most car after 15 years old is very very cheap due to this very reason

doyh
post Feb 5 2016, 11:14 PM

QUOTE(pcang79 @ Apr 12 2010, 07:16 AM)
It is not entirely correct to assume that in my view.
boonwuilow
post Feb 5 2016, 11:31 PM

Diesel rocks
3,836 posts

If expensive to maintain, go scrape yard, find yourself a Ferrari with a title stated "Repairable wrecked", fix it the redneck way, and in the end swap the engine with a Corvette LS series and last but not least, replace the Ferrari logo with a Chevy one... xD

0.0308sec    0.74    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:24 AM