12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

BenQ JoyBook Lair V21, where the Joy begins...

BBXiong
post Apr 11 2010, 11:31 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

that one must remove the LCD first, then only possible...

take away the front top part(the power button portion), then disconnect the LCD, unscrew the lcd, take out keyboard, gently, cos there is a connecter underneath it, and after that, u should be able to remove the top part...but dont try forcefully...i wont be responsible for any damage cause.. XD
BBXiong
post Apr 12 2010, 12:05 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

ya...quite a lot of small things to pay attention one...

oh ya, news flash, i played Just Cause 2, and lowest possible setting in native res only give s42 ~25fps, but i notice the GPU temperature is just around 87C, means not yet stress to max, so i did overclocking, i tested 530/1400/850, and the framerate raise till i can get ~28fps with 2x MSAA, without MSAA is >30fps most of the time. Temperature also is not all that bad, 96C going to 97C after around 40 minutes gameplay, and without cooling pad, quite a stable temperature i would say...
BBXiong
post Apr 12 2010, 09:20 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

mine is stable at 60C on any room...just that the load temp would differ on cooling pad presence and room temp..haha

didnt try medium setting wor..cos the lowest setting also, everything is like crysis medium with partial high setting liao...and btw there are totally no flicker at all...looks like 530/1400/850 is within OC range for me...i think as long as core is lower then 575, everything should be fine..

This post has been edited by BBXiong: Apr 12 2010, 09:25 AM
BBXiong
post Apr 12 2010, 09:50 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

to be honest, DO NOT TRUST 3D mark at all..too many times they try to cheat, and drivers being written to enhance on it, it's not really that fair to compare, use real game performance, push it up, and run the same game, see if u get extra fps

i recall when i last time used previous DoX's driver, i cannot push the sliders to a too high value, it will stop me saying value invalid or whatever one...
but the latest DoX(195.78 right?) no such problem...maybe u can try nautis's drivers..u can set increment bit by bit, increase 50, apply, then increase again, and repeat..but be careful, i remember i had problem going back to stock clock a few times, same thing, invalid value was entered bla bla bla...need to restart and do it again...program bug i think
BBXiong
post Apr 12 2010, 10:34 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

BS2? native res with post processing on and texture high if i recall properly, constantly staying on 93C, and sometimes peaked to 94C

This post has been edited by BBXiong: Apr 12 2010, 10:35 AM
BBXiong
post Apr 12 2010, 10:54 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

ya...
it's consider quite high edi actually..cos games normally will go up to Just Cause 2 (Non-OC) temp only..around 87C-90C, depends on scene
BBXiong
post Apr 12 2010, 06:18 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

o.o
i never get that temp even at non air conditioned room ler...
what settings u use? i cannot really remember my setting right now and i uninstall liao, i think looking at the settings menu again would help...
and looks like my heatsink bending was a success??
BBXiong
post Apr 12 2010, 07:27 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

someone pls do heatsink mod...lol
BBXiong
post Apr 12 2010, 08:13 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

i played with vertical sync and shadow mapping off...but with on also, most is 96c wor...i got use this setting before
BBXiong
post Apr 12 2010, 08:57 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(Bushido @ Apr 12 2010, 08:47 PM)
@BB: you know how to open up the S57 to access the heatsink and stuff ? i might be interested to put in some of the small copper heatsinks.. haha. i wanna put some cooling gel also
sorry, nope. but i think all laptops are disassembled with similar method la, take off the upper front panel(power button part), take away LCD, detach keyboard, detach upper casing, unscrew all the inner screw, then the mobo can come out liao...

but unless you are willing to take the risk, i suggest not to..
and just another finding that i would like to advice...since normally laptop heatsinks would have gaps around ~1-2mm, it's always suggested to use thermal pad instead of thermal paste, but adding copper heatsink would most likely help...

one thing that really bugs me..dunno s42 can trully fit in those copper heatsink a not, cos as i recall the remaining space from mobo to casing aint that much also...

Added on April 12, 2010, 8:58 pm@mia: his result sadly say cannot really represent s42..haha

this week imma going pc fair, so maybe grab a few heatsinks from there maybe...hehe

need to see how first, if the GPU ram cooler really cannot fit, then i'll think of something else...

This post has been edited by BBXiong: Apr 12 2010, 08:58 PM
BBXiong
post Apr 12 2010, 09:41 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

no la..that means unscrew the whole LCD part nia...no need to open up the LCD
BBXiong
post Apr 13 2010, 01:47 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

submarine spotted......
so low temp meh? quite nice wor like that
dunno mine can get this temp a not...
BBXiong
post Apr 14 2010, 09:33 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

@Lee: as far as i know...single stick 3GB i think is DDR3 only got...but not sure
BBXiong
post Apr 15 2010, 11:35 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(monza84 @ Apr 15 2010, 11:17 AM)
O mai...what a day..just now playing BS2, with the setting that i posted before and with 197.25 driver, guess what...this driver is not recommendable for BenQ S42...played BS2 for almost 40min, what i get...a total shutdown sweat.gif...yes, OVERHEAT SHUTDOWN guys, my GPU temp was @ 109C before the laptop took the miraculous step of shutting down cry.gif...o mai, wai is this sweat.gif...was so into the game that i dun check the heat shakehead.gif...

Added on April 15, 2010, 11:18 amNeed to do some major clean-up sad.gif
shocking.gif
i edi alt+F4 when i see 98C...and u can top me up with another 11C....mia, pls do heatsink mod also if u opening up tongue.gif
BBXiong
post Apr 15 2010, 11:43 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

but as far as i recall, really don think those GPU ram heatsink can fit into our casing lo...the one that did the heatsink mod was a 15'' laptop right?
BBXiong
post Apr 15 2010, 11:47 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

need to use sand paper somemore...quite lazy to do that yawn.gif
dunno which kind of sand papar to use also...

This post has been edited by BBXiong: Apr 15 2010, 11:48 AM
BBXiong
post Apr 15 2010, 12:06 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

@@
monza, you truly fit the description 'crazy'
BBXiong
post Apr 15 2010, 02:48 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

@@

i think that dust filter of yours is too dusty until air cannot properly get thru la...
BBXiong
post Apr 16 2010, 12:37 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

ya, what Lee says is correct...ION platform consist of a 9400M and a Atom

imo ION is the balance between battery life and performance...it can accelerate flash using the 9400M yet maintain low power draw..i read somewhere before this that they claim that the ION is just 5W higher then the whole intel atom + sucks GMA, and yet delivers so much better performance...
BBXiong
post Apr 19 2010, 09:48 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

@highwind: probably your front speaker port got problem edi...might wanna check it out...

lol weekend also got so many page?? me went jalan jalan PC fair on saturday, with my LX-3..keep take pics only..didnt really bother about product also tongue.gif

12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0188sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:30 PM