How to reduce the pain of menstrual cycle?

Oriental
post May 8 2010, 12:54 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(ccheryl @ May 7 2010, 11:32 AM)
i dunno if this work for your gf but after i take fish oil tablets daily, i dun have menstrual pain anymore.

the reason i started to take fish oil was not for the menstrual pain. anyway, it is good to have that "side-effect". haha
Can you share what fish oil are you consuming and how long have you taken it?
kamiekapi
post May 9 2010, 06:04 AM

last time i also used to have menstrual pain ^^"

after that my mum always boil me ba chen and give me eat bak fung yin once a month after menstrual. Beside that, avoid drinking cold drinks as much as possible and drink more warm water. When menstrual hit, you won't feel pain anymore wink.gif
Oriental
post May 9 2010, 07:29 AM

81 posts

QUOTE(kamiekapi @ May 9 2010, 06:04 AM)
last time i also used to have menstrual pain ^^"

after that my mum always boil me ba chen and give me eat bak fung yin once a month after menstrual. Beside that, avoid drinking cold drinks as much as possible and drink more warm water. When menstrual hit, you won't feel pain anymore wink.gif
I have just started drinking dong quai right after my recent menstrual. Is ba zhen or dong quai better? I also take bak fung yin every 2 weeks. Really hope can help with the menstrual pains sad.gif
kamiekapi
post May 9 2010, 07:59 PM

thats I dont know ohh.. i never drink dong quai so much. been drinking ba zhen for many years. It doesn't really taste bitter though =P
ccheryl
post May 10 2010, 02:04 PM

20 posts

I am taking usana fish oil for less than 2 months. it has been 2 menstrual cycle since i started taking it. really no pain at all, a little also dun have. cant believe it myself.

before that, the menstrual pain is really a big problem for me as i work 7 days a week. cant take leave even if i cannot tahan. used to pop the pink panadol but recently my uncle got his stomached removed and doctor suspect it is due to the panadol intake. so luckily with the fish oil, now i dun even have to pop pils.

i used to have a little pain 1-2days before the period come. now cant notice it anymore, think that is the only cons. haha
Oriental
post May 10 2010, 07:09 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(ccheryl @ May 10 2010, 02:04 PM)
I am taking usana fish oil for less than 2 months. it has been 2 menstrual cycle since i started taking it. really no pain at all, a little also dun have. cant believe it myself.

before that, the menstrual pain is really a big problem for me as i work 7 days a week. cant take leave even if i cannot tahan. used to pop the pink panadol but recently my uncle got his stomached removed and doctor suspect it is due to the panadol intake. so luckily with the fish oil, now i dun even have to pop pils.

i used to have a little pain 1-2days before the period come. now cant notice it anymore, think that is the only cons. haha
You're lucky to have found your cure. How many capsules do u take?
ccheryl
post May 10 2010, 11:32 PM

20 posts

2 capsules a day. my mum, my little bro are also taking. but the reason of taking fish oil for everyone is different.

as for me, it helps in skin (yea and of course the menstrual pain)
my mum - high cholestrole (and skin)
my little bro - omega for brain development and it is free from heavy metal like leads and mercury

yea, feel lucky to have it. so far we are all satisfied, RM85 1 bottle, very convenient to eat also
Oriental
post May 11 2010, 12:36 PM

81 posts

I used to take the one with Fish Oil + EPO (Blackmores). I take 1 capsule per day but no effect on my menstrual pain so now just taking EPO alone 1 capsule per day, still no effect to menstrual pain. I don't know if I should increase my dosage to see effect, dosage on package says 1 capsule 3 times per day.
antaeusguy
post May 11 2010, 12:41 PM

209 posts

Don't take cold drink, avoid oily & spicy food, have a good diet

Diet will affect hormones and hence you get period pain
ccheryl
post May 12 2010, 02:11 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(Oriental @ May 11 2010, 12:36 PM)
I used to take the one with Fish Oil + EPO (Blackmores). I take 1 capsule per day but no effect on my menstrual pain so now just taking EPO alone 1 capsule per day, still no effect to menstrual pain. I don't know if I should increase my dosage to see effect, dosage on package says 1 capsule 3 times per day.
you may try the Usana brand. thumbup.gif
Lovely Adornment
post May 12 2010, 03:20 PM

Take folic acid.

I took Usana for supplements as well but during my menstrual, i always feel dizzy with slight numb on my tummy and back. All my energy will be very much drain and I feel weak during menstrual.

Then I meet a nurse friend and she asked me to take folic acid. It really helps. Now I'll take folic acid when the pain is unbearable. Folic acid is definitely better than panadol.

As for fish oil, i think that has to be taken for some time before effect can take place. However, I know that fish oil gives good skin complexion. Try going to any pharmacy and ask for folic acid. Really helpful to me. smile.gif
zstan
post May 12 2010, 04:07 PM

15,856 posts

hmmm..my mum takes ba zhan every month though...
ccheryl
post May 18 2010, 09:47 AM

20 posts

Omega-3 fatty acids are found in fish such as salmon, mackerel, sardines, and anchovies. They are also available in fish oil capsules, which may be the preferable form because many brands filter out any pollutants in fish, such as mercury and PCBs.

At least eight studies involving a total of 1,097 women have investigated the relationship between diet and menstrual cramps and have found that fish oil intake seemed to have a positive effect on menstrual cramps.

Animal studies suggest that the two compounds in fish oil, eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA) and docosahexaenoic acid (DHA) may decrease prostaglandin levels.

In one small study, 21 young women took fish oil (containing 1080 milligrams eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA), 720 milligrams docosahexaenoic acid (DHA), and 1.5 milligrams vitamin E) daily for two months followed by a placebo pill for two months. Another 21 young women took the placebo for two months followed by fish oil for two months. The results suggested that the women experienced significantly less menstrual cramps when they were taking the fish oil.

ccyap003
post May 18 2010, 05:28 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(guitar8888 @ Apr 6 2010, 11:46 PM)
For the ladies/men out there who knows the tricks, please feel free to spill! My girlfriend has been experiencing excruciating pain all this while.

I really want to help her

Thanks!
Hai,

My family is taking this product call "Bamboo Salt". It not only help in Menstrual pain but also reduce "White discharge" (if the person have it.)
Another benefits of consuming this salt solution is that it also reduce falling and gray hair for people who suffer from it.
The other good side of consuming this is that it also help to akaline the body intake of too much acidic food which is common among food todays.

We have been taking this regulary since 1 year ago.

kaizer3000
post May 19 2010, 01:01 AM

451 posts

erm my fren suggests drink ginger water..if u hated the taste, try mix with honey...can ease the pain..
nmbunnori
post May 19 2010, 12:09 PM

QUOTE(guitar8888 @ Apr 6 2010, 11:46 PM)
For the ladies/men out there who knows the tricks, please feel free to spill! My girlfriend has been experiencing excruciating pain all this while.

I really want to help her

Thanks!
Have u heard of pantyliner/pads with herbs?
yeah...not the one that made frm recycle papers...
the one that made frm cotton...
one of it is frm AVIAL...
me experienced it... the herbs that contained in the pads worked on my menstrual pain and back ache
my sis n friends also enjoy using it

did u know cheap sanitary pads made frm recycle paper? icon_rolleyes.gif
the process of chlorination actually contributes dioxin, a toxin that produces cancer for long term exposed
i just knew.. cry.gif .
sometimes u will feel itchy when u used it for a long period
esp. when u have only have stains..
and this will contributes long exposure to the dioxin straight to ur cervix...
that is why nowdays.. cervical cancer is the 2nd disease in malaysia

the biosanitary pads(frm avial) made frm cotton...
the herbs that contained in the pad help in women's disease solution
esp.. on the back ache, menstrual pain and foul smelling vaginal discharge..

u dont hv to take pills..esp.hormone pills n pain killer...
the most important..use the FC biopantyliner everyday.. n use the FC biopads when you have period
its only RM8(20 pads) for pantyliner and RM9-10(10 pads) for pad..
it cost u not more than RM20 per month...
and it's worth to avoid the toxin frm the cheap sanitary pads spread n cause cells mutation..
when ur cells mutated..it will contribute malfunctional just like endometriosis, fibroid and cancer...

notworthy.gif my 2 cents..knowledge is to be shared..n i share for the anti cancer campaign.. notworthy.gif
jen_yc2000
post May 19 2010, 01:46 PM

you can try phytoestrin. it help women in this matter.
klifex
post May 20 2010, 01:15 AM

847 posts

the most common treatment: try Ponstan first.

g r a p e k e y
post May 24 2010, 01:32 AM

483 posts

QUOTE(sophiagoh @ Apr 6 2010, 11:48 PM)
eat panadol..pink colour ones...
there's another brand less harm : FUCON .. Next time you visit the clinic or pharmacy, request for FUCON or ask them to brief you more on the product =) . I gotten mine in the Pharmacy located in Kota Kemuning
bluefairy
post Jul 23 2010, 03:02 PM

15 posts

As for me, i took the pink panadol last time but it doesnt work for me anymore....so i switched to Ponstan( yellow colour pill)

I have really terrible period pains till I will vomit if i eat too much during the day. It usually happens on the first day. Vomitted twice the last time i had.
Mum cooked ginger soup for me last time...I tried primrose oil later and now switched to bak fung yun from Hai-O. I find it quite helpful.

Mum told me that the only way to ease the pain is after giving birth...dunno how long more to go till i can give birth..haha>.<

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0208sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:31 PM