Cardio. How many?, How much one needs it?
TSjosephgermani
Apr 6 2010, 05:53 PM, updated 16y ago
Recently I had not been doing much of cardio, but more to strength training. Some says, the more cardio you do, you tend to lose fat or maybe even skeletal muscle mass. I don't know what to do. I am aiming to be ripped. I am 71kgs in about 175cm. How much cardio I need? P/s: Working out rocks, when you see yourself getting buffer or even the veins coming out.  Cheers
JonYeap
Apr 6 2010, 06:02 PM
wats ur goal in the 1st place?
Added on April 6, 2010, 6:03 pmu wanna bulk up, then not necessary a lot cardio. 1-2 sessions per week will do. if u wanna lose fats/weight, then maybe 4-5 sessions?
This post has been edited by JonYeap: Apr 6 2010, 06:03 PM
TSjosephgermani
Apr 6 2010, 07:33 PM
Let's say I wanna be ripped and with muscle. But, I have no idea that should the weight be an issue now? Like should I be like under 65kg or something. That's the problem. With less cardio now, I've been adding up like 2-3kgs, Maybe that's a good thing?
John91
Apr 6 2010, 07:35 PM
Dun need cardio...
JonYeap
Apr 6 2010, 07:51 PM
well, with ur height, i guess around 70-75kg?
Hammond Tan
Apr 6 2010, 09:37 PM

i read before in stronglift, rule of thumb is 1kg for every centimeter above 1 meter of height. 1.75M = 75kg ^^so you don't really need cardio. do compound exercises each work out or change it according to your preference with huge poundage and increasing weight. do isolation after you've gain enough strength. compound exercise = must do. ^^ you won't look muscular with a weight of 65kg at that height unless you are ripppppppppppppppppped
TSjosephgermani
Apr 7 2010, 12:16 AM
Thanks tonnes for the advice (: I still wanna be ripped tho. But maybe not thin ripped. Muscular ripped! Hah!
JonYeap
Apr 7 2010, 03:31 AM
then i suggest u get to around 80kg +- 5kg
TSjosephgermani
Apr 7 2010, 04:06 PM
Cooooool  Will creatine reduce ripness? Just an additional question
JonYeap
Apr 7 2010, 11:28 PM
creatine will make ur muscles look bloated if not mistaken. in a sense, u look slightly bigger, but not ripped. coz ur muscles are occupied with some water. not sure if i am rite. =.=
Hammond Tan
Apr 8 2010, 01:38 AM

remember to drink lotsa water if you take creatine. i mean A LOT! XD
TSjosephgermani
Apr 8 2010, 08:44 AM
But, I don't wanna grow big
John91
Apr 8 2010, 09:12 AM
Yea you'll grow big overnight right. This post has been edited by John91: Apr 8 2010, 09:13 AM
Hammond Tan
Apr 8 2010, 11:10 AM

Yea you'll grow big overnight right. pwaned >.<
JonYeap
Apr 8 2010, 11:22 AM
haha... its NOT that easy to grow big bro. =.=
-Dan
Apr 8 2010, 12:13 PM
QUOTE(JonYeap @ Apr 7 2010, 11:28 PM) creatine will make ur muscles look bloated if not mistaken. in a sense, u look slightly bigger, but not ripped. coz ur muscles are occupied with some water. not sure if i am rite. =.= OT: I used to be concerned about the bloating too. But I've been taking creatine for 2 months now and haven't experienced any.
iamyuanwu
Apr 8 2010, 05:47 PM
QUOTE(josephgermani @ Apr 8 2010, 08:44 AM) But, I don't wanna grow big  You talk as if it's so damn easy.
TSjosephgermani
Apr 8 2010, 05:57 PM
Memalu-fying. (: Sorry for my nobility once more. I do understand that I take things too seriously. I seincerely apologize It's always been like that. One wrong read and I straight away decide that it's gonna effect me. Still, cheers okay? Creatine's good.  Added on April 8, 2010, 5:57 pmQUOTE(-Dan @ Apr 8 2010, 12:13 PM) OT: I used to be concerned about the bloating too. But I've been taking creatine for 2 months now and haven't experienced any. Trimmed off my unneeded worry. This post has been edited by josephgermani: Apr 8 2010, 05:57 PM
uhuk-uhuk
Apr 10 2010, 06:18 AM
Since you've already decided not to pursue the Hulk image and get ripped but not big, all you have to do now is to shed the fat. Start with some cardio after weight training and slowly increase the duration, frequency and intensity. Your diet's pretty damn important too.
twhong_91
Apr 10 2010, 09:07 PM
john 91 how long have you been involving in gym?