[WTA]Logitech Z5500 vs Bose Comp 5 vs Home Theatre, Opinions needed
writesimply
Apr 9 2010, 12:09 AM
QUOTE(sterling^moss @ Apr 8 2010, 02:38 PM) is the price reasonable?? For a 5.1 setup with two floorstanding speakers, decent fronts, a 10" powered sub, and a HDMI receiver, the packages is very reasonable for an entry level 5.1 HDMI setup. What you're buying is not going to sound like it costs five times the amount, but it gives you the flexibility to upgrade slowly to better systems should you want to; that option is not what you can get with the other systems you want. fuad
Dickong
Apr 14 2010, 04:58 PM
QUOTE(power911 @ Apr 7 2010, 06:58 PM) if you guys are worried about the logitech z-5500 overheating problem then you should try edifier s550 for RM1200 worth every single cent. even better than logitech z-5500 and cheaper and it won't overheat that easily. plus the cool subwoofer design,dual passive radiators. full blown remote control that controls everything,treble,bass,subwoofer,surround and center volume. two way satellite better compared to logitech's full range speaker the only problem is that it doesn't have optical input I dont agree with you that s550 is better than logitech 5500 becos before that i have test it together n found that edifier s550 is no where near logitech 5500
htkaki
Apr 14 2010, 05:15 PM
If you ask one of our fellow forumer here, he would have raised his hands and legs to vote for Z5500 as it 'beats' the crap out of Seaton Submersive sub  . On a serious note, a separate system would be ideal as upgrade itch would probably gets the better of you within a short span of time
Dickong
Apr 15 2010, 06:29 AM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Apr 14 2010, 05:15 PM) If you ask one of our fellow forumer here, he would have raised his hands and legs to vote for Z5500 as it 'beats' the crap out of Seaton Submersive sub  . On a serious note, a separate system would be ideal as upgrade itch would probably gets the better of you within a short span of time I totally agree with u, if u are serious about HT then follow what htkaki have said. This post has been edited by Dickong: Apr 15 2010, 06:30 AM
TSsterling^moss
Apr 15 2010, 04:43 PM

QUOTE(Dickong @ Apr 15 2010, 06:29 AM) I totally agree with u, if u are serious about HT then follow what htkaki have said. I'm trying to get the best quality with the least $$ spend. At the moment, I'm 'not yet' serious abt HT  . I've been using my old ATP3 for like 6-7 yrs now, and I hope I won't catch the itch to upgrade (though it's very tempting I must say) cos it's an expensive hobby.
dlyz
Apr 15 2010, 05:01 PM
Z5500 bass is very boomy. Even when i watch movie, i dun set the bass high cos the bass not tight. It does shake the room but in a bad way. But dialog from z5500 satellite is not bad tho.
Personally my set is nothing wrong with it. Going into 4th year+ already. Keep the sub well ventilated away from stuffy corners.
TSsterling^moss
Apr 20 2010, 08:32 AM

QUOTE(dlyz @ Apr 15 2010, 05:01 PM) Z5500 bass is very boomy. Even when i watch movie, i dun set the bass high cos the bass not tight. It does shake the room but in a bad way. But dialog from z5500 satellite is not bad tho. Personally my set is nothing wrong with it. Going into 4th year+ already. Keep the sub well ventilated away from stuffy corners. finally, we get the opinion from one of the owners. Thanks mate, your input is very much appreciated.
gerogelow88
Sep 15 2010, 09:02 AM

why you compare 2.1 and 5.1?? 2.1 sure bose lor..
squall_12
Sep 15 2010, 09:15 AM
dont get involved too much in HT stuff as it will poison u like me which i already spend more than i expected but the result of the spending is well deserved as of now i do not watch movie in theater (unless friend invite) due to my HT set is better than watching in theater..
moe81
Sep 16 2010, 12:16 AM

For my computer i'm using the logitech z5500. like someone here said before. the sub can kick ur whole apt(if u're living in one). i used to game a lot(4 years ago) when NFS hot persuit was launched. was even equiped with logitech momo stering sets. with pedal shift. the sound was amazing.. worth it.. been using it for 4 years now. and no problem.. i've even kicked it at max volume for more than 3 hours.. no issue..just need to put a fan facing the heatsink back of the sub. the volume, once it's maxed out, if u keep turning the knob, it even goes higer with a boost unit 1 to 11.. so, it's pretty damn good..
i'm not sure bout Bose companion but i'm using Bose Acoutimas 16 for my home theatre system. running it with a 7.1 compatible marantz amp.. i have to tell you it rattles my house.. something even rattlse above my plaster ceiling and it get's pretty annoying.
other home theatre system, i'd be skepticle. was never really into any other brand coz i've tested a few and never quite liked it.. after living with bose for the past 10 years, i'm not quite sure if i'll ever take a step back in home theatre system.
i hope this helps.
yupio
Sep 16 2010, 05:32 PM
My personal comparison btwn Z5500 vs HT separates, is like when using Z5500 your imagining listenin to it with curtain in front of the speaker (curtain btwn listener n speaker).
Make no mistake, for such 5.1 computer speakers, Logitech Z5500 is king...but if u bring in the HT separates, I can only say that the clarity the Z5500 produces is far from the HT separates.
[PIMPIN]
Sep 21 2010, 07:49 AM
I have the Bose Companion 3 and 5 as well as the Logitech Z5500.
The Logitech lasted maybe a month max before needing to change the fuse then after the second time it happened I got fed-up and just put it aside.
I much prefer the Bose for computers because I don't really like having 5 speakers and a huge subwoofer just to listen to songs on my PC plus it's a lot neater.
But that's just my opinion based on what I've experienced. Price wise the BC5 is of course pricier than the Z5500 but since you're considering either of them I assume you don't mind the difference.
ReiszRie
Sep 21 2010, 01:40 PM
Logitech Z-5500 is horrendous when it comes to reproduction of mids and of the low frequencies, its bass is what i'd call cheap mega bloated boomy bass that is painful to even listen to, it doesn't provide you with a heart-stopping punch that resonates through your body but instead throws a heavy boomy growl that makes you nauseous, Z-550 coupled with its technical failures is undoubtedly one of the most over-rated set of speakers i've ever used.
BOSE Companion 5's simulated surround is sufficiently realistic but its shrill, overpowering, earpiercing and fatiguing highs and inaccurate underwhelming bloated bass makes this set of 2.1 one of the most overpriced speakers in the market. BOSE speakers only sounds pleasing in their showroom with their provided demo tracks but never in a realistic environment such as your room.
for that kind of price, i'd go for Focal XS, its soundstage, imaging and audio quality is certainly one of the best if not the best 2.1 in the market for the price range
This post has been edited by ReiszRie: Sep 21 2010, 01:45 PM
Learjet35
Sep 21 2010, 01:46 PM
this thread remind me when i was a newbie about HT stuff.thinking about bose home theatre Rm18k.After made some survey,ask sifus in Lyn,end up with klipsch Rm10-12k.haha..my vote goes to HT..
ShaolinTiger
Sep 21 2010, 01:47 PM

Yah for that kinda price you can start with Klipsch Quintet for around RM2900 but you'll need to add an AVR onto that.
Learjet35
Sep 21 2010, 01:49 PM
QUOTE(ShaolinTiger @ Sep 21 2010, 01:47 PM) Yah for that kinda price you can start with Klipsch Quintet for around RM2900 but you'll need to add an AVR onto that. ya,its a bit expensive because u need to have AVR to make it works,but its last long bro.trust me..
geforce88
Sep 21 2010, 01:52 PM
logitech z5500 is just an overrated overpriced pc speakers...
anchovies93
Sep 21 2010, 01:53 PM
i think better get the htib as its a proper surround system. the logitech's ok but a pc system wont beat a proper HT system.No offence to logitech lovers.
A demo will let u hear the difference and also theres room for upgrading with htib.
ReiszRie
Sep 21 2010, 02:32 PM
QUOTE(ShaolinTiger @ Sep 21 2010, 01:47 PM) Yah for that kinda price you can start with Klipsch Quintet for around RM2900 but you'll need to add an AVR onto that. TS can also consider a set of Klipsch HD500 for his budget. This post has been edited by ReiszRie: Sep 21 2010, 02:52 PM
vinorgouki
Sep 22 2010, 11:29 AM

i personally using logitech z5500. while the input is limited. but for performance vs price, still the best at rm1500 compare with others ht around rm1500.