[WTA]Logitech Z5500 vs Bose Comp 5 vs Home Theatre, Opinions needed

TSsterling^moss
post Apr 6 2010, 04:22 PM, updated 16y ago

64 posts

To all the sifus out there:

I have a budget of RM 2000 to get myself a decent set of speakers. I have a 42" Full HD LCD and a projector (native res:1024x768). Most of the time, I'm watching movies/shows through my PC (HDMI to LCD TV, VGA to Projector). Sometimes I watch movies on pirate DVDs. I also play racing games (alot) on my PC, so i need deep bass to recreate the cars' exhaust. So my question is which one should I go for? Here are a few Pros that I can think of:

Logitech Z-5500
Pros:
1. 5.1 THX certified system
2. has onboard decoder
3. has remote
4. multiple inputs accepted
5. has optical connections
6. Price : around 1500
7. The bass! the Bass!

Cons:
1. Haven't tested before.
2. Reliability issues? (anyone can confirm this?)

Bose Companion 5
Pros
1. The brand, it's Boooose!
2. Heard how it performed b4 and was blown away by it
3. Space saving, can simulate 5.1 effect if speakers are placed properly

Cons
1. Price: RM 1900
2. USB connectivity (strictly for PC only)
3. Satelites need to be placed at exactly 24 inches apart for simulated surround to work

Home Theatre system (anything like Sony, Pioneer, Philips)
Pros
1. 5.1 System
2. Has FM reception which other 2 candidates don't
3. Standalone - no PC needed, (includes DivX)
4. upscaling feature - pirate DVDs will still look quite decent on my TV
5. cheap (depends on model, prices start from RM 800~RM2000)
6. Scalability ( can upgrade in the future when you have the dough)

Cons
1. Size (if u're getting a set with huge speakers)

I do need to highlight that I'm watching it in my room where i sleep, so I don't really need a system which is too powerful. But I really don't mind if it is. My heart is telling me to go for Bose, but my wallet says Logitech. I just dun wanna regret after I get the system.

So, I would appreciate if anyone can share their ownership experience of either candidate to enlighten me.

Thanks and have a nice day! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by sterling^moss: Apr 8 2010, 02:41 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
anchovies93
post Apr 6 2010, 04:32 PM

902 posts

HTIB or Bose
power911
post Apr 6 2010, 05:52 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

bose is good but not worth the money
So HTiB,Logitech Z-5500 or maybe you wanna try Logitech competitor Edifier S550 for RM1200
Skylinestar
post Apr 6 2010, 06:49 PM

Mega Duck
10,479 posts

just pray that Logitech Z-5500 power circuitry in the sub won't die.
ck_mon
post Apr 6 2010, 11:31 PM

133 posts

Z5500.. the sub can kick ur room biggrin.gif
writesimply
post Apr 7 2010, 12:06 AM

934 posts

You can get a Pioneer HTiB setup where you get a full-fledged HDMI receiver (accepts 5.1 audio and video via HDMI and outputs video via HDMI) and an entry level 5.1 speakers with a massive sub. The receiver has two HDMI inputs (for PS3/BD player) plus coax and optical inputs (for B.yond and DVD players). All for RM2000.

Go to Harvey Norman and look for Pioneer brochures. Ask them about this setup. With the above option, you can still upgrade to a new receiver or a decent set of speakers later on.

Whatever you do, don't go for Bose. Simulated surround isn't surround; go for the real thing.

fuad
TSsterling^moss
post Apr 7 2010, 02:14 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(writesimply @ Apr 7 2010, 12:06 AM)
You can get a Pioneer HTiB setup where you get a full-fledged HDMI receiver (accepts 5.1 audio and video via HDMI and outputs video via HDMI) and an entry level 5.1 speakers with a massive sub. The receiver has two HDMI inputs (for PS3/BD player) plus coax and optical inputs (for B.yond and DVD players). All for RM2000.

Go to Harvey Norman and look for Pioneer brochures. Ask them about this setup. With the above option, you can still upgrade to a new receiver or a decent set of speakers later on.

Whatever you do, don't go for Bose. Simulated surround isn't surround; go for the real thing.
fuad
hi, thanks mate. really appreciate your comments. I think it's a sensible choice. Come to think abt it, Bose is definitely overpriced, so does the logitech. I'm no audio enthusiast but I do think that your suggestions offers scalability. I'll have a look at the receiver. The only problem is space at the moment, guess i'll need a proper rack for all the stuff that I've got.

just pray that Logitech Z-5500 power circuitry in the sub won't die.

I've read a few issues regarding the logitech, does it really have the overheating problem? any owners care to share their ownership experience?
dlyz
post Apr 7 2010, 02:27 PM

Dynaudio
1,827 posts

I think you should go for HTiB better. Z5500 has limited capability and input. The bass is boomy tho it really can put out high sound pressure. The soundstaging is small cos its meant for nearfield usage. Since you having 42inch, i doubt you will sit very close.
TSsterling^moss
post Apr 7 2010, 04:11 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(dlyz @ Apr 7 2010, 02:27 PM)
I think you should go for HTiB better. Z5500 has limited capability and input. The bass is boomy tho it really can put out high sound pressure. The soundstaging is small cos its meant for nearfield usage. Since you having 42inch, i doubt you will sit very close.
I've read through some of the reviews online and the general consensus on the logitech is that it's good for movies (mostly due to the bass), but not so ideal for music (due to average normal and high note). After going through the reviews, my concern for the logitech is reliability, some mentioned woofer overheating, some say the knob on the control broken.

Would be grateful if anyone would share their ownership experience on either choice.

I would reckon the distance of me & my TV is around 10~12 feet ( 3.0m~3.6m) does that considered near/far field?

This post has been edited by sterling^moss: Apr 7 2010, 04:12 PM
SHOfrE3zE
post Apr 7 2010, 05:02 PM

Drop It Like It's Hot
1,895 posts

i'm also eyeing for the logitech z5500. hope to hear more answer on this.

btw, if i were to use an AV receiver, can i connect it to the z5500?
Dickong
post Apr 7 2010, 05:13 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(sterling^moss @ Apr 7 2010, 04:11 PM)
I've read through some of the reviews online and the general consensus on the logitech is that it's good for movies (mostly due to the bass), but not so ideal for music (due to average normal and high note). After going through the reviews, my concern for the logitech is reliability, some mentioned woofer overheating, some say the knob on the control broken.

Would be grateful if anyone would share their ownership experience on either choice.

I would reckon the distance of me & my TV is around 10~12 feet ( 3.0m~3.6m) does that considered near/far field?
If u love heavy bass then it alright, other than that it cant beat any avr but then again its cheap for a complete set. I have been using this baby for 1.5 year so far nothing wrong with it. No such problem like overheating, except some distortion sound from the woofer. Overall its a good buy for a small room use n for computer use too.

This post has been edited by Dickong: Apr 7 2010, 05:14 PM
power911
post Apr 7 2010, 06:58 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

if you guys are worried about the logitech z-5500 overheating problem then you should try edifier s550 for RM1200
worth every single cent.
even better than logitech z-5500 and cheaper and it won't overheat that easily.

plus the cool subwoofer design,dual passive radiators.
full blown remote control that controls everything,treble,bass,subwoofer,surround and center volume.
two way satellite better compared to logitech's full range speaker

the only problem is that it doesn't have optical input

This post has been edited by power911: Apr 7 2010, 07:00 PM
kaolen
post Apr 7 2010, 07:00 PM

164 posts

go for home theater system for btr surround and sound. thr no way a speaker build for pc can matcn home theater
power911
post Apr 7 2010, 08:38 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(kaolen @ Apr 7 2010, 07:00 PM)
go for home theater system for btr surround and sound. thr no way a speaker build for pc can matcn home theater
listen to his advice smile.gif

although this edifier speaker isn't designed for pc but for home theater wink.gif
but still it's better to choose home theater stuff icon_rolleyes.gif
writesimply
post Apr 8 2010, 01:21 AM

934 posts

QUOTE(sterling^moss @ Apr 7 2010, 02:14 PM)
hi, thanks mate. really appreciate your comments. I think it's a sensible choice. Come to think abt it, Bose is definitely overpriced, so does the logitech. I'm no audio enthusiast but I do think that your suggestions offers scalability. I'll have a look at the receiver. The only problem is space at the moment, guess i'll need a proper rack for all the stuff that I've got.

This is the Todoroki HTP-RS50. Price is RM2000. For another RM1000 is the HTP-RS70 where they upgrade you to a receiver with DTS HDMA/Dolby TrueHD decoding but the speakers are the same.

This is the HTP-819SW. Price is RM3500.
The difference between the HTP-RS70 is the speakers where they upgrade to a better looking speakers although the sub is still from the Todoroki line.

By the way, if you have a HD source, you can sit about 2 meters from your 46" HDTV. It'd feel more immersive.

fuad
loon1031
post Apr 8 2010, 09:33 AM

Photography, ICE, Die Cast & Gundam Crazy
1,105 posts

Wonder why the HTP-819SW speaker look nice but subwoofer color black pula....
TSsterling^moss
post Apr 8 2010, 10:43 AM

64 posts

QUOTE(writesimply @ Apr 8 2010, 01:21 AM)

This is the Todoroki HTP-RS50. Price is RM2000. For another RM1000 is the HTP-RS70 where they upgrade you to a receiver with DTS HDMA/Dolby TrueHD decoding but the speakers are the same.

This is the HTP-819SW. Price is RM3500.
The difference between the HTP-RS70 is the speakers where they upgrade to a better looking speakers although the sub is still from the Todoroki line.

By the way, if you have a HD source, you can sit about 2 meters from your 46" HDTV. It'd feel more immersive.
fuad
i've actually tested HTP-819SW system at SenQ b4. But i do remember correctly that the amplifier was silver not black. What I did was I brought my own CD to play (the kings' singers, and Diana krall - Live in Paris ) it was rather good. It could be due to the the environment where i tested it ( the set was right at the middle of other home theatre systems) I remembered the high notes (like cymbals) was not very impressive.

There's no doubt that the bass was good the double bass from Diana Krall's concert was good but not too much that drown out other stuff.

I din manage to test out the surround though coz at that time they din have any DVD for me to test.

scsoo
post Apr 8 2010, 10:55 AM

427 posts

Be a bit careful on the Pioneer AVR... better check the spec carefully.
One of my friend got one of such sets.. not sure which range that was going at 2999 think 1-2 years back and after pay and bring back only to find out much later that the AVR only let hdmi pass through. Ended up need to buy optical and coaxial as the AVR do not take audio through HDMI... Now all hdmi direct to tv as no point to use the AVR for pass through only...
writesimply
post Apr 8 2010, 01:18 PM

934 posts

QUOTE(scsoo @ Apr 8 2010, 10:55 AM)
Be a bit careful on the Pioneer AVR... better check the spec carefully.
One of my friend got one of such sets.. not sure which range that was going at 2999 think 1-2 years back and after pay and bring back only to find out much later that the AVR only let hdmi pass through. Ended up need to buy optical and coaxial as the AVR do not take audio through HDMI... Now all hdmi direct to tv as no point to use the AVR for pass through only...
I've checked. Both the lower end and the higher end packages that I mentioned have audio and video HDMI input (no video processing) and outputs video via HDMI. Tested the HTP-RS50 using a BD player playing an MPCM track.

fuad
TSsterling^moss
post Apr 8 2010, 02:38 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(writesimply @ Apr 8 2010, 01:18 PM)
I've checked. Both the lower end and the higher end packages that I mentioned have audio and video HDMI input (no video processing) and outputs video via HDMI. Tested the HTP-RS50 using a BD player playing an MPCM track.
fuad
i don't mind abt that, since i'm watching videos through my PC anyways. So the upscaling is done on the PC part. I only have one question, is the price reasonable?? I'm not familiar with home theatre system prices. So far I haven not seen any traditional shop out side selling this set (at least in m'cca where I am). I only see them in SenQ where the price is fixed.

I've read more reviews on Bose, seems like you need to place the speakers at exactly 24inches apart in order for it to work. So if you have a TV which is wider than 24inches horizontally then you'll have a problem. There is one plus thing about Bose unit as well is that it has its own sound card. So, another problem if you have yr own sound card.

i'm currently using my trusty old Altec lansing ATP3, so I know nothing abt surround yet. Most of the reviews on the Bose end with a note saying that the simulated surround on Bose is good, but not enough to replace the real stuff. So, it makes me wonder how is it gonna be...

0.0484sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:03 AM