iPhone 4 and iOS 4, Discussion Thread

stringfellow
post Jun 8 2010, 08:48 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(prototype_x0 @ Jun 8 2010, 08:45 PM)
cutting the simcard and put it in an expensive much awaited iphone 4 is the last thing i would do sir... it's not the sim card im worrying about, it's the iphone itself.. whatmore to put a rm10 adapter into a rm3k phone..

and please keep it a healthy discussion, not mentioning whether it is worth or not; it's nothing wrong to ask something relevance in an appropriate thread.
You tell me then what kind of answer anyone would get if he asks about cutting simcards into microsim size, at this EARLY a time where the only microsim seen by Malaysians are the ones used for iPads and/or USB 3G modems. In which I believe I have experience with since I'm using iPad 3G myself.

Might I then ask what have you contributed to keep this thread relevant and useful, my good man? smile.gif

Addendum: IF the size of the simcard is of your concern, how did we move from the old days of the credit-card size simcard to the current simcard size of today? *gasp* We cut them down to size. Or rather the telco provides you with the appropriate sized simcard that is precut down to size. Read all the other tech publications and what their take is on the microsim and what their plan is on tackling the size difference. Wanna take a wild guess what their answer is? Yep, cut-down-and-use-adapter when that time comes. If you're phobic when it comes to take the knife to your sim card, then I guess......stay with the iPhone 3G[S]? Technology does not wait for no man, and this is a perfect example of where it strides forward rather than staying stagnant.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jun 8 2010, 08:59 PM
stringfellow
post Jun 8 2010, 10:16 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Jun 8 2010, 10:10 PM)
it's pretty clear that they dont plan to sad.gif. btw, the iphone 4 A4 chip 1 ghz isnt it? saw a few websites stating that it is not known yet

btw the keynote podcast is available now in itunes
Thank you for the heads-up. Downloading the Keynote podcast now. smile.gif

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Jun 8 2010, 10:13 PM)
you are literally contradicting yourself.

your last statement basically highlights the fact the flash is indeed memory and processor power hogging.

if it is, why should apple succumb itself to such 'inefficiency'.

you are better off setting off a new trend, which you know it will be better off in the long run.

cannot possibly stick to old, conventional technologies because of 'reminiscing old times' sake.
Old habits die hard.

Post quoted for bell-ringing, nay....bell-tolling truth. thumbup.gif
stringfellow
post Jun 9 2010, 11:31 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Ojimaru @ Jun 9 2010, 11:28 AM)
HTML5 has nothing to do with Flash. In fact, HTML5 aims to remove the need for Flash for rich content.

Answer: No.

---
Question: iOS 4.0 will introduce iAds from July 1. Looking at the iAd demos, won't they murder us with data charges?
Only if you click to open the additional contents. Notice that iAds are just small banners at the bottom, either part of the game you've downloaded or a splash banner at the bottom. If the iAd is part of the game, it is downloaded together with the game, and will remain dormant as it is, until you tap it to expand. If it is part of the webpage you're surfing, the same applies. Only when you start accessing it that additional content are open to you and if you choose to explore further, additional downloads would be necessary. If you leave it alone, nothing will happen.
stringfellow
post Jun 9 2010, 11:46 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Ojimaru @ Jun 9 2010, 11:38 AM)
Then I wonder if Apple will impose a new rule for apps to that don't allow key UI functions to be placed to close to the iAd banners.
No. IF you look closely at the previous Keynote address before this current Keynote, if iAd is in an app, it is part of the app when you download it. When you tap it, it will expand. That action still does not incur any data download. The interactive action of the iAd is part of the previous data download when you first download it from AppStore. Only additional data is downloaded when you wanna further expand the interactive content beyond what's available, for example viewing additional cutscene of a movie iAd, or an iAd about a car and you wanna see how it looks behind the wheel and it zooms into a video clip that is not part of the interactive content and requires a download. I hope that makes sense.

The point is, even if you accidentally tapped it and it opens, it does not incur data downloads hence credit charges. Only if you go through several other conscious effort of exploring further, the other options buried 2 or 3 levels under will need data downloads, and I would assume the iAd itself would warn user that by doing so, they'll be downloading additional content and if not connected to WiFi, they'll be doing so via 3G which will drain their credit coffers. All this points are moot if you're doing it in a WiFi environment.
stringfellow
post Jun 9 2010, 11:57 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Jun 9 2010, 11:51 AM)
@ stringfellow

in Australia, even WiFi matters!

I get charged for using the net in uni!  laugh.gif
Not trickle downloads lah bro. iAds running on mobile devices should'nt be eating hundreds of MBs, plus who watches ads consciously, or dilligently download advertisements?

I hate ads myself, I yawned a couple of time watching that section during the Keynote, but Apple needs to find a way for indie/small scale developers so that the end user, US, can enjoy the products for free.
stringfellow
post Jun 9 2010, 12:49 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Jun 9 2010, 12:44 PM)
seriously? android support flash? to what extend?
To this extent.

Seriously, Flash is excess baggage Apple can do without. Nobody wants to carry that bloated mess around.

stringfellow
post Jun 9 2010, 01:04 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Ojimaru @ Jun 9 2010, 12:56 PM)
ZDNet's hands-on with FroYo and Gaia
Actually, one tends to hear from lots of people who miss their silly browser-based Flash games. XP (Was gonna say Farmville, but there's an App for that).
Keyword bolded. A passing fad or trivial pastime. If these folks are vehemently stubborn and wants to run these silly Flash apps as their top priority, then I'd be happy not to have them as part of the iPhone user community. Anyway, I get that you're posting this in good fun. tongue.gif

"When I was a child, I spoke like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I gave up childish ways."
- Corinthian 13:11

stringfellow
post Jun 9 2010, 02:36 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(doomx @ Jun 9 2010, 02:24 PM)
If u all goin remind ppl to read previous pages for answers it will never end. Just ignore them let them do more reading instead of being spoonfed.
My point exactly, and I agree as well. If they don't learn to educate themselves, they'll never stop asking for spoonfeeding. Posts I respond/reply to are only those who expand/extends the discussion or queries that are new and not answered before. The iPhone is now on its fourth iteration and it's been three years, I don't think it's too much to ask for some self-study or at least EXPECT some basic know-how/knowledge at this point in time.

If I get another "why iPhone bottom speaker only got sound on one side only" question, my head would probably explode.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jun 9 2010, 02:38 PM
stringfellow
post Jun 9 2010, 02:56 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Please guys. Let's not debase ourselves to Kopitiam-style postings here. Let's give DavidGary a break please, he already posted about one-liners and what direction this thread should be.
stringfellow
post Jun 9 2010, 03:07 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Guys, please drop the speaker thing. It was meant as an example, not fodder for derailment.

I'll try and bring this thread back into focus. A good place to read up on the iPhone 4 preview, pricing and availability. It has all the information you'd need to find out about both the iPhone 4 and iOS4, which TS could add as a link to on the first post.

stringfellow
post Jun 9 2010, 04:10 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(xpresside @ Jun 9 2010, 03:38 PM)
u are also trying to be smart by saying And before you say you dont like itunes, without it, you cant even start up the iphone
there are other ways to synch your iphone without using that bloated itunes that install junks in your pc. what? how ? google it
Look at where you are now. You are in the Apple section. Most if not all the folks here already know what they're getting into with their iPhones, including the requirement with syncing with iTunes or the crippling of their Bluetooth. We all accepted these limitations, and still preferred the iPhone over other options. Now, let me ask you this. What are you doing here, other than posting one-liner posts, and potentially provoking the rest with your posts? You're in an Apple iPhone section, what would you expect other than general acceptance and bias towards the iPhone? Isn't that a given? Your posts provides no new content that longtime users here have already known and accepted. So what does that left us? Other than this sneaky feeling that your presence here is just to stir the pot and cause ruckus?

I applaud your bravery in placing yourself in the middle of the firing range where you make yourself look like the underdog hero fighting against the horde of evil Apple diehards. But I suggest that you post your shortcoming and disgust towards the iPhone/Apple in the more appropriate section of this forum, namely your PC section(as you've indicated) and your choice of mobile OS platform. Because I have this sinking feeling that you've already known what response you're gonna get posting those one-liners in a section full of Apple enthusiasts, and yet you still welcome the verbal beating and abuse? What are you, a masochist? You'd get a better response and audience that will agree with you more if you post your one-liners in the non-Apple section. Why not gather your like-minded audience and post your dissatisfaction there? Is your platform of choice so boring that you have to come here and impart with us your "iTunes = bloated" and "iPhone Bluetooth = crippled" gem of a post?

Bottom line is, criticism is welcomed here, but of the constructive kind. All the anti-Apple posts seems to be more interested in the "nyah nyah nyah my phone can do this, yours cannot" -pointing fingers kind rather than discuss the shortcomings and compare it with other mobile platform constructively.

I'm sorry DG, if you feel this post isn't suitable in this volatile environment, feel free to edit/delete. I just have to get certain things off my chest because we had to deal with this every time there's a new iPhone launch. Personally, I'm getting tired of this endless tirade.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jun 9 2010, 04:17 PM
stringfellow
post Jun 9 2010, 04:27 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

One more reason to get black iPhone 4 over the white model is the grill that is evident on the white version. The grill near the ear speaker is needed for the ambient light and proximity sensor, and on the wholly white front panel, it's pretty obvious-looking.
stringfellow
post Jun 9 2010, 04:33 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Jun 9 2010, 04:29 PM)
still, im looking forward with the whites....
i always adore white things and my previous and current phone is white... so 3rd white should be a charm...
I know, I'm not gonna picky if they ran out of black ones. I had a white 3G last time, and I loved it to bits. biggrin.gif

As for protection, I'm not sure if I want to cover it in any case right now. After looking at Steve's explanation of the stainless steel band around the side of the iPhone acting like huge antennas, covering it with a case ,even Apple's Bumper case may negate some of the advantage of having that unique antennae construction. I may change my mind later if I get to see it firsthand and judge its fragility.
stringfellow
post Jun 9 2010, 04:38 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(kae_ae @ Jun 9 2010, 04:30 PM)
i disagree JB as an option. i think its reasonable to say they waiting for infra to catch up, thats cool, they want ppl to catch up to standards, but it should not be something that you have to mod/custom to achieve full potential. but knowing apple theyll prolly let ppl develop as 3rd party n app store (add on, but legal mod lah) to allow, er, backward compatibility, sort of, to video call to other phone/generic standard, just because i think jobs kinda degil like that. he kind of like dr m used to be lah tongue.gif
I don't think Jobs can stop third party developers from creating their own solution towards using the front camera for video chat that is compatible with other cellphone brands. Sure, it will look inferior compared to FaceTime, but at least it will appease the segment that wants backward compatibility with other cellphones and their video call mechanism.

I personally can't wait for apps that makes use of the Gyroscope. It'll be perfect to complement the current Layar app. We'll probably be seeing people wildly spinning around in public with their iPhones in the future. laugh.gif
stringfellow
post Jun 9 2010, 04:41 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Jun 9 2010, 04:38 PM)
probably you should skin it instead of any bulky looking casing
i wonder if the bumper helps improve the grip since it's not rounded like the previous 3G/S
Skinning wouldn't work, since both the front and back panel is layered with glass. If you skin it, and look at it from the side, the skin will be residing on a layer of glass and would look ugly IMO. Case manufacturers have to be clever to design cases for the new iPhone, so as not to impede on the antennae advantage and to keep the form factor intact.
stringfellow
post Jun 9 2010, 04:43 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Jun 9 2010, 04:39 PM)
hmm if i remember correctly the case material itself is actually radio signal transparent, so there are many ways for the signal to come and go out of the iPhone itself, very interesting indeed, i was planning to get the bumpers though haha
I read that too, that was from the leaked Gizmodo report about the back material doing that, IIANM. Watching the Keynote again, and Steve mentioned the metal framing on the side being the major contributor to the signal improvement on the new iPhone. I guess if Apple made the Bumper case, they should have thought into the design not impeding on that advantage I presume.
stringfellow
post Jun 9 2010, 04:50 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(TakanoKyohei @ Jun 9 2010, 04:43 PM)
I have a question that need you guys to share an opinion. since the antenna is divide into 2 side where 1 for it is for UMTS and and the other side is for wifi, bluetooth, what will happen if both antenna make a contact, i mean if we put in our pocket then suddenly both antenna connect via our key or etc, does it will short circuit and burnt our component in the iphone? or maybe there are small electricity flow through the antenna goes up to the component?

somehow i think its kind of danger where it touches between both antenna.
Good question. This in an uncharted territory we're going through since no other phone has this kind of material and design. I hope they figure out how not to have that scenario you've describe from happening.

I've also figure out WHY the design is no longer curvy at the edges, and had to be flat. Watch the FaceTime video posted on Apple.com. At one instance in that video, there's two girls video-calling on FaceTime and one girl was showing the other what dress/clothes to wear while the other comments. If the edges are curvy, I guesss you cant make the iPhone stand on end without toppling over, and you'd need a dock with perpendicular angle to do that. The girl left the iPhone standing on a flat surface to make this happen, and it works since the bottom end is now flat, instead of curvy. Same reasoning if you're planning to use this in landscape mode. This also makes the new iPhone perfect for taking time-delay photos since you can rest it on a flat surface, and possible invoke command to snap pics by gestures like winking or using Bluetooth remote.
stringfellow
post Jun 9 2010, 04:51 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(kae_ae @ Jun 9 2010, 04:44 PM)
actually thats what i was trying to say, prolly available in app store by 3rd party rather than apple add as builtin feature.
i was just strongly disagreeing with the whole 'nevermind, can JB' as a viable solution to majority.
I stand corrected. Thanks for elaborating. biggrin.gif

Added on June 9, 2010, 4:54 pm
QUOTE(neekun @ Jun 9 2010, 04:51 PM)
Been using both white 3G and white 3GS..I always feel that Apple products look nicer in white. However for this time around, I would go for black iPhone 4..reason being the screen is kinda "stand out" from a white front..looks weird. So..let's see what accessories me gonna get to spice up the black iPhone 4...haha..talking like already got my phone  tongue.gif
Purely cosmetics, eh? I probably can afford to be picky now since I have not seen it in person, but I'd probably crumble under pressure once I get it in my hands. Any color will do. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jun 9 2010, 04:54 PM
stringfellow
post Jun 9 2010, 10:40 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

The problem with JB is not with what it has to offer, but whether the person who jailbreaks can honor the intellectual property and copyright issues regarding what he can do after he had jailbroken.

Tell me straight in the face which person who has JBed their iPhone has not heard that he can also use pirated apps with their JB-ed iPhone and made a seriously committed conscious effort not to go "to the dark side"? Malaysians being Malaysians, can you trust them not to "do the right thing" here, and instead "do what they think is right for them"? Two different things there.

That said, I'm glad that some who did JBed, still maintain that honor system with Apple and purchase their apps instead of pirating them. Can't say for the rest who I knew does it because they have this "sense of entitlement" issue. Including some of my work colleague, whom I'm embarassed to say, can afford luxury cars and spacious bungalows, but skimp even on 99c app. Mentality problem?

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jun 9 2010, 10:43 PM
stringfellow
post Jun 15 2010, 11:24 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

A little piece of information passed to me in the form of MMS from my Maxis insider contact.In the form of registration of interest. Expect preordering date availability announcements from Maxis to come soon.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jun 15 2010, 11:32 AM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0229sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:09 AM