iPhone 4 and iOS 4, Discussion Thread

nokia2003
post Jun 8 2010, 10:13 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Jun 8 2010, 10:02 PM)
Honestly speaking, Steve should do something about getting Flash.

I saw some website comparing A4 and Snapdragon by loading website. I think its not a fair comparison to compare processor speed lor. Iphone dont load flash but the other competitor (Android) does.
you are literally contradicting yourself.

your last statement basically highlights the fact the flash is indeed memory and processor power hogging.

if it is, why should apple succumb itself to such 'inefficiency'.

you are better off setting off a new trend, which you know it will be better off in the long run.

cannot possibly stick to old, conventional technologies because of 'reminiscing old times' sake.

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jun 8 2010, 10:14 PM
nokia2003
post Jun 8 2010, 10:17 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(1GTR1 @ Jun 8 2010, 10:15 PM)
Guys, do you think after one year Apple will launch the iPhone 4 a better version? Like from the 3G to 3GS. Should I get it or wait.
erm yes.

you should wait for another year. and then another year. and so forth.

just get it if it satisfies/meets your requirements la.
nokia2003
post Jun 9 2010, 11:51 AM

5,786 posts

@ stringfellow

in Australia, even WiFi matters!

I get charged for using the net in uni! laugh.gif

nokia2003
post Jun 9 2010, 12:15 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(kayweng @ Jun 9 2010, 12:05 PM)
as i know HTML4 now ,that need some plugin to support some extended features ,like FLASH...Last time , that CEO APPLE who speak loudly about  Apple next generation products will adopt and support HTML5 as standard that can simply support multimedia since simple tag codes were added ! so i think iphone will be support Flash in future ... sad.gif
then I reckon that you better think harder.

it will not happen.

HTML5 is the new black,

because once you go black........ (tidak sesuai untuk semua lapisan masyarakat)

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jun 9 2010, 12:16 PM
nokia2003
post Jun 9 2010, 12:55 PM

5,786 posts

if flash is really a necessity & pre-requisite for an individual, isn't that like a big giant blimp, NOT to get an iPhone?

bringing this concept into real world, I can't really cannot comprehend why a person must succumb it's to old, conventional suit/technology.

if you want to be a leader in something, ditch the mundane & inefficient methods and revolutionise it!
nokia2003
post Jun 9 2010, 02:05 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(angelflames @ Jun 9 2010, 01:56 PM)
I'm sorry what? Farmville app?
Assuming that you didn't catch the WDCC keynote.

I can deduce two vital inferences from your statement alone;

1. either you are being sarcastic because it may appear to be a 'useless' app, OR

2. you are genuinely happy because now you can finally harvest your crops 24/7 (even when you are clubbing with a bunch of scantily clad gals). and even more pleased, that you have push notifications with regard to your farm!

take your pick, mate! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jun 9 2010, 02:06 PM
nokia2003
post Jun 9 2010, 02:12 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(angelflames @ Jun 9 2010, 02:07 PM)
I'm no. 2. It's farming time! lol

Anyway anyone know when it going to be released?
man! I applaud your honesty (like seriously)

*pats on the back*

erm, if i'm not wrong, end of this month
nokia2003
post Jun 9 2010, 02:54 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(DeanKueh @ Jun 9 2010, 02:50 PM)
see properly
i already see properly (as a matter of fact, scrutinise carefully somemore)

only one side got sound.

i think i need to go back to maxis and claim my warranty.

i heard that they will only give refurbished units. i don't want second hand stuffs la.

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jun 9 2010, 02:55 PM
nokia2003
post Jun 9 2010, 08:30 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(fumjusta @ Jun 9 2010, 08:25 PM)
When Steve Jobs unveiled the iPhone during Macworld 2007, he made it clear that their target was to sell 10 million iPhone in 2008 (the first full year for iPhone).

Interestingly, during the recent WWDC, he mentioned that "Apple will ship 10's of millions of FaceTime devices this year."

For a company that pays a lot of attention to details, I do wish that FaceTime will make its way into iPod Touch, iPad, and Mac.

Now, this is merely my observation, prediction, and hope. We can dream, right?  whistling.gif
if you want my honest opinion, apple would wanna stem up agreements with the cellular carriers before taking FaceTime a step further.

FaceTime is still at its infancy, with a large blimp obstacles (cellular carriers) right ahead.

and as usual apple has to pacify AT&T each time (you definitely sense jobs' sarcasm when something related to cellular carriers is being mentioned)

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jun 9 2010, 08:30 PM
nokia2003
post Jun 9 2010, 11:36 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Jun 9 2010, 11:01 PM)
dear mods,
why is there another thread here? http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1450091

@string,
some rich fellers dont even wanna pay taxes yet complain when certain things go up in prices.
because over there, one can reply via the kopitiam style.

where even the most constructive comment will be filthied by lowly garbage.
nokia2003
post Jun 12 2010, 12:13 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(1GTR1 @ Jun 11 2010, 08:33 PM)
and I don't understand why one-liner post is not allowed just like what we can see here. At least it makes sense.
not just non-constructive posts.

there were some douche, who actually posted one-liners just to inflict hatred and provoke users here.

i mean, if you wanna troll, be a professional/smart one.

don't troll just for the sake of trolling; it actually reflects your own erm, let's just leave it at there.

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jun 12 2010, 12:14 AM
nokia2003
post Jun 12 2010, 12:31 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(tineagle @ Jun 12 2010, 12:23 AM)
funny how steve jobs thinks that the iPhone is the only phone in the entire world.

"Now, we have video calling!" (when other phones have been having it for ages.) smile.gif
hah!

that's the part where you have got it wrong.

whatever (like whatever seriously) apple does, everyone will make a big deal.

like the new range of MBP, when it boosts an SD card slot (my 9 years old compaq laptop had that), everyone was raving about it.

when you can yield such market powers, you can basically do anything.
nokia2003
post Jun 17 2010, 08:04 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(johnkor @ Jun 17 2010, 07:57 PM)
go smoothmobile.com.au smile.gif
that is not from apple.

seriously, it is times like these that i wonder you are trolling or just plain...

nokia2003
post Jun 18 2010, 07:20 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(chizzu @ Jun 18 2010, 02:23 AM)
Well, same procedure here in UK altho i never sent my iPhone for repair but  I once sent my Mac for repair and they quoted me 3 weeks just to replace a DVD drive. I need my mac for daily usage and for me to live 3 weeks without it is like no way. so i ended up buying a dvd cleaner and clean up the dust and its working fine again.

They wont replace you with a new one or refund unless its within 14 days of purchase (standard UK policy). After that you will need to send to diagnose and the procedure follows.
wow. can I assume that you are referring to the UK apple store itself (and not premium resellers)?

because out of honesty, I'm more than happy to pay a premium over in australia because its service is mighty good.

all my iPhones are swapped immediately upon diagnosis.

my MBP's SuperDrive has the exact problem like yours (dusty & will not burn).

made a genius bar appointment and the bloke deduced the problem and told me that it takes about 4 business days for a new SuperDrive to arrive.

so he asks me to take my MBP home first. two days later, a phone call came and was told no genius bar appointment is necessary.

popped in at 11am, loitered around in chadstone and watched a movie.

voilà! done!

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jun 18 2010, 07:23 AM
nokia2003
post Jun 18 2010, 08:54 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(TakanoKyohei @ Jun 18 2010, 08:09 AM)
there is something that bother me as for iphone 3G and iphone 3GS, we here is maxis always hear their device problem even after 2 weeks or not in a month the phone problem and need to be sent for repair,

and for those who are buying iphone from oversea, i rarely see it has lot problem like iphone in our shore? it is because of our quality built for malaysia or because malaysia have so many user and the phone problem then we heard their phone got button problem,lcd problem etc, as for the oversea unlocked set( as i mention hardware problem not software problem), it seem that the chance of the phone getting broke down is somehow little. it is because we in here who are buying those oversea set really threat our phone nicely or it is because the user of iphone "oversea" set i little and we rarely dont heard any problem with it?

as for me, i really dont care about my warrranty issue with maxis because changing 1 iphone really take a long time to repair/changed into new/refurbish set.. and as from other place they took it sometimes not even e week to change a new iphone or even a day can get the new iphone,

it is because of we dont have apple store and it took times to repair the iphone?

i personally like the data bundle form telco that is what restrain me from buying iphone from oversea set, if not i will jump ship with you guys to get the new iphone from oversea.. =.="
LOL. you might wanna rethink your opinion again.

my 3GS is from australia and you wouldn't wanna guess the set number that i'm tentatively at now...

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jun 18 2010, 08:55 AM
nokia2003
post Jun 20 2010, 01:20 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(vui_msia @ Jun 19 2010, 11:25 PM)
is not that they don't want to do it...  i think APPLE already mentioned WIFI FACE2FACE only in 2010. and they are still working on the video call via EDGE/3G/4G  smile.gif
if you ask me and IMHO, apple isn't (still) working on the video calling over the cellular carrier; i believe the option is already there.

just that apple has to keep pacifying AT&T feeble network over at the states. try watching the WWDC again, each time an event/issue is related to the network, you can feel steve jobs' sarcasm immediately.

if apple would have enabled video calling upon the release of iPhone 4 over at the states, the entire network would crumble i reckon.
nokia2003
post Jun 22 2010, 12:41 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(Acme3003 @ Jun 22 2010, 12:34 AM)
so when??? have to wait another day or what?
just be bloody patient will you?

everyone is just like you, staying up to wait for the release.

do you see any posts that begins like "it is out", "the standalone link is".

geez
nokia2003
post Jun 22 2010, 01:12 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 22 2010, 01:11 AM)
less than 2 minutes more!!!
btw i  can update from 3.1.2 to iOS4 right?
yup. if you didn't jailbreak, shouldn't be any problem!

2 more minutes!
nokia2003
post Jun 22 2010, 01:15 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(bebeq @ Jun 22 2010, 01:15 AM)
is it we can unlock 3gs 3.1.3  5.12 baseband?
before you attempting anything silly, please do a proper research before hitting the 'update' button.

my personal advice to you.

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jun 22 2010, 01:16 AM
nokia2003
post Jun 22 2010, 01:31 AM

5,786 posts

I'M DONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

iPhone 3GS 32GB on iOS4!!!

I'M DONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

iPhone 3GS 32GB on iOS4!!!