Have you GOMAD?, Gallon Of Milk A Day

TScheezzzz
post Apr 2 2010, 11:01 PM, updated 16y ago

610 posts

Hey guys,

I wanna know if anyone of you actually tried GOMAD or is still on GOMAD? I'm on my first week, great so far - gained 2kg and going to increase my milk intake gradually. Problem is, milk is not exactly cheap haha - so does anyone know of suppliers or wholesale for that matter?

Another thing, going by the rule of 1-1.5g protein per pound of bodyweight, how much is necessary for the tissue recovery n muscle growth? I heard its at least 1.. then what happens to the excess protein if we take more than 1.5g? Cuz my protein intake everyday is 140g, I'm 60kg atm. GOMAD currently is at 1L per day which is 30g protein per day, if its at 2L itll be 60g, and I still continue to eat the same amount, meaning my protein intake will increase by 30g per week, does it enhance growth or something? Cuz I've heard stories about enormous growth within a month via GOMAD.

Pardon me for overanalysing and calculating. I'm still eating as much as I can tho, just wanted to clear the air about this.
JonYeap
post Apr 2 2010, 11:04 PM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

Nope, u dont grow more than wat ur body needed.
diff ppl have diff muscle growth rate and of coz same goes as muscle recovery. so, its hard to say. some ppl can recover their muscles in 48 hours, but some need longer time.
all of this very hard to say.
i guess best way is to maintain 1-1.5g per lbs body weight.
and do ur workout well, rest well.
then, i think naturally the growth will be visible after sometime.
TScheezzzz
post Apr 2 2010, 11:07 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(JonYeap @ Apr 2 2010, 11:04 PM)
Nope, u dont grow more than wat ur body needed.
diff ppl have diff muscle growth rate and of coz same goes as muscle recovery. so, its hard to say. some ppl can recover their muscles in 48 hours, but some need longer time.
all of this very hard to say.
i guess best way is to maintain 1-1.5g per lbs body weight.
and do ur workout well, rest well.
then, i think naturally the growth will be visible after sometime.
I was thinking the same too, diff bodies react differently. I'm thinking of slowly increasing 250ml or 500ml per week until I can find a supplier who I can get full cream milk at rm 3-3.5 per Litre (LOL IMPOSSIBLE I KNOW)

JonYeap: thanks bro! for me now just keeping a consistent diet and increasing weights consistently!
vivi99
post Apr 2 2010, 11:08 PM

484 posts

u will have risk hypercalcemia,
hehe, i think u hsould balance your dite, according to daily requirement
JonYeap
post Apr 2 2010, 11:08 PM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

I think its possible if u get in cartons. =.=
haha... try finding suppliers that can do big bulks.
maybe u can bulk with some of ur frens or lowyat members
TScheezzzz
post Apr 2 2010, 11:18 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(vivi99 @ Apr 2 2010, 11:08 PM)
u will have risk hypercalcemia,
hehe, i think u hsould balance your dite, according to daily requirement
hmmm... true.. too much of anything isnt good.. but I'm thinking its one of the quickest way to gain weight if paired with strength training, I hope to stop when I reach my target goal of 75-80kg.. see how first.. thinking of the cheapest alternative haha
JonYeap
post Apr 2 2010, 11:21 PM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

try eggs as well.
darklight79
post Apr 3 2010, 12:52 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

Milk isn't top on a bodybuilder's list of proper bulking food. All it'll do is get you fat in the long term. Do it in moderation.
Shah_15
post Apr 3 2010, 12:57 AM

~~Van Der Woodsen~~
2,395 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Apr 3 2010, 12:52 AM)
Milk isn't top on a bodybuilder's list of proper bulking food. All it'll do is get you fat in the long term. Do it in moderation.
what is the proper bulking food? im interested to know
pedro
post Apr 3 2010, 12:59 AM

Certified Broscientist
3,649 posts

QUOTE(Shah_15 @ Apr 3 2010, 12:57 AM)
what is the proper bulking food? im interested to know
Chicken
Beef
Fish
Cheese
darklight79
post Apr 3 2010, 01:00 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(pedro @ Apr 3 2010, 12:59 AM)
Chicken
Beef
Fish
Cheese
+++ eggs
- cheese
JonYeap
post Apr 3 2010, 01:06 AM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

cheese will make u fat. =.=
hahaha
chiakm
post Apr 3 2010, 10:08 AM

156 posts

What about low fat cheese?
jamis
post Apr 3 2010, 10:54 AM

Sometime just need to LOL.
3,385 posts

Gomad will definately make my stomach go mad. Tried to gulp down 1pack of HL in 3hours and the rest of the day i m having bloated stomach and feel and it feels like cramping, for all sudden i feel like a girl. =.=

this lasted til before i sleep. Crazy stuff. Lactose intolerance's enemy.
gtoforce
post Apr 3 2010, 02:17 PM

SPAM AND BECOME A SENIOR MEMBER
2,967 posts

i love milk
wudnt take my whey without them (although this is not strictly exercised)
tapi no more than 1l per day and i take skim only
Shah_15
post Apr 3 2010, 06:04 PM

~~Van Der Woodsen~~
2,395 posts

i think i am lactose intolerant. too bad. sad.gif. i hate being one. thats why i am skinny like hell.
FoxAss
post Apr 3 2010, 08:28 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(JonYeap @ Apr 3 2010, 02:06 AM)
cheese will make u fat. =.=
hahaha
cottage cheese will do for its casein and lowest fat =)

This post has been edited by FoxAss: Apr 3 2010, 08:29 PM
Reubs
post Apr 3 2010, 08:46 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(Shah_15 @ Apr 3 2010, 06:04 PM)
i think i am lactose intolerant. too bad. sad.gif. i hate being one. thats why i am skinny like hell.
take lactase pills.
Shah_15
post Apr 4 2010, 01:02 AM

~~Van Der Woodsen~~
2,395 posts

QUOTE(Reubs @ Apr 3 2010, 08:46 PM)
take lactase pills.
i still havent got the clear picture bout lactase pills. is it taken to reduce the effect of lactose intolerant?
Eisenmeteor
post Apr 4 2010, 02:31 AM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

Yea..for GOMAD..U need to spend a lot on Milk..Havent fully committed to 1L per day..too exp for me to be honest..
Karin
post Apr 12 2010, 12:26 AM

72 posts

GUYS! I feel like the dumbest(is this even a word?) person on earth!
I wanted to try GOMAD with powdered milk.. So what I did was, putting ice inside the thermos flask and fill in with milk..

I totally forgot about it and went out the next day. Is the thermos safe to use now? I heard that ur not suppose to put ice cubes inside, moreover.. BAD milk.

I still can't get over the smell now... I thought it was cheese!
=( =( =(
JonYeap
post Apr 12 2010, 01:07 AM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

errr... not sure bro
josephgermani
post Apr 12 2010, 02:01 AM

37 posts

Ouch, worst thing to happen ever. Rotten milk is </3
yeezai
post Apr 12 2010, 06:52 PM

-using no way as way-having no limitation as limitation-
2,531 posts

1litre HL milk daily coz it has the highest protein 52g per litre..for a month...ended up i lose out on meals coz i felt too bloated to even eat other stuff...
darklight79
post Apr 12 2010, 06:57 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

Ok this milk craze is kinda overrated.
JonYeap
post Apr 12 2010, 07:03 PM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

i agree!
alzaim
post Apr 12 2010, 09:13 PM

429 posts

QUOTE(yeezai @ Apr 12 2010, 06:52 PM)
1litre HL milk daily coz it has the highest protein 52g per litre..for a month...ended up i lose out on meals coz i felt too bloated to even eat other stuff...
if you want...
drink your milk after your meals..not before meals..
thats why la bloated..how to eat...
Karin
post Apr 13 2010, 02:48 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(JonYeap @ Apr 12 2010, 01:07 AM)
errr... not sure bro
=( !!

Added on April 13, 2010, 2:51 am
QUOTE(josephgermani @ Apr 12 2010, 02:01 AM)
Ouch, worst thing to happen ever. Rotten milk is </3
YOU BET! it's so pungent I almost vomited.
Personally, I don't care about the flask. but it's my mom's "beloved" so I feel kinda bad
-sigh-

This post has been edited by Karin: Apr 13 2010, 02:51 AM
RokXIII
post Apr 13 2010, 11:53 AM

C'est la vie, Chérie
1,634 posts

high protein, low fat VS low protein, high fat.

which 1 will be more suitable for GOMAD?
jamis
post Apr 13 2010, 01:55 PM

Sometime just need to LOL.
3,385 posts

GOMAD, carbs is pretty high thou.

Preferably high fat + protein
mofonyx
post Apr 17 2010, 04:19 AM

Squatting is the solution to life's problems
2,394 posts

nuts good for you bro
gtoforce
post Apr 17 2010, 09:33 AM

SPAM AND BECOME A SENIOR MEMBER
2,967 posts

and raisins...
mrPOTATO
post Apr 17 2010, 11:09 AM

2,113 posts

Adding some yoghurt to your milk everytime u drink helps reduce bloating or at least take some yoghurt in the morning. Simplest solution would be to get some enzyme pills from the pharmacy. It reduces the gas a lot.

This post has been edited by mrPOTATO: Apr 17 2010, 11:09 AM
yeezai
post Apr 23 2010, 03:48 PM

-using no way as way-having no limitation as limitation-
2,531 posts

QUOTE(mrPOTATO @ Apr 17 2010, 11:09 AM)
Adding some yoghurt to your milk everytime u drink helps reduce bloating or at least take some yoghurt in the morning. Simplest solution would be to get some enzyme pills from the pharmacy. It reduces the gas a lot.
hmm will try it out....
harris92
post Apr 23 2010, 06:24 PM

-
536 posts

Been drinking around 2 liters of milk a day for 2-3 weeks now. Gained around 4-5kg. Taking things slow.
winkybear
post Apr 23 2010, 07:16 PM

489 posts

QUOTE(harris92 @ Apr 23 2010, 06:24 PM)
Been drinking around 2 liters of milk a day for 2-3 weeks now. Gained around 4-5kg. Taking things slow.
Nice. Is fat gain apparent?
harris92
post Apr 25 2010, 12:53 PM

-
536 posts

Not really. But I'm jogging 10km everyday. Preparation for a marathon. Haha.
airiholic
post May 4 2010, 01:53 PM

237 posts

Is it okay to GOMAD with powdered milk? Powdered milk easier to store (I'm living in a hostel with no fridge)

1 Gallon=4 liters. Maybe for mat salleh, drinking 4 liters of milk a day is ok but for tiny asians.....
TScheezzzz
post May 4 2010, 02:01 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(airiholic @ May 4 2010, 01:53 PM)
Is it okay to GOMAD with powdered milk? Powdered milk easier to store (I'm living in a hostel with no fridge)

1 Gallon=4 liters. Maybe for mat salleh, drinking 4 liters of milk a day is ok but for tiny asians.....
gomad isnt a diet u can do for long, lets say your 175 cm. when you hit around 75kg u shouldn do gomad already. its kinda like to help u gain weight until you are at the weight of 1kg per every cm after 100cm of your height. i used powdered milk for awhile, but i prefer UHT milk. you can store UHT but UHT is more expensive than powdered.

read the nutritional value of wtv milk you're buying. make sure it should be at least 30g of protein and about 125-150kcal per litre. oh and full cream over low fat, unless u got a huge belly.

im trying to not rely so much on gomad now. while it got me the gains i wanted (though not completely, and not alot), its important to know u wont b chugging down so much milk once you hit your desired weight. that way u don really noe how to increase your daily calorie intake due to the milk dependancy. learning to take more oats and eggs to hit my calories daily now. biggrin.gif
Invince_Z
post May 4 2010, 02:17 PM

!M4 !3eY0nC! 1337!!!!
2,748 posts

QUOTE(yeezai @ Apr 12 2010, 06:52 PM)
drink -30 min b4 eat = bloated
drink -30 min after eat = bloated

honestly, 1 galllon is not much lah. 4L...1 hour take only 220mL/H wut (18 hours/day). spread it n drink little by little.

those who did gomad, u not drinking anything else huh? too much calcium taken, i hope would not suffer batu karang or kidney failure later on. even with 1L/day urine also smell milk biggrin.gif

where did u buy milk? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Invince_Z: May 4 2010, 02:22 PM
TScheezzzz
post May 4 2010, 02:43 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(Invince_Z @ May 4 2010, 02:17 PM)
drink -30 min b4 eat = bloated
drink -30 min after eat = bloated

honestly, 1 galllon is not much lah. 4L...1 hour take only 220mL/H wut (18 hours/day). spread it n drink little by little.

those who did gomad, u not drinking anything else huh? too much calcium taken, i hope would not suffer batu karang or kidney failure later on. even with 1L/day urine also smell milk biggrin.gif

where did u buy milk? hmm.gif
erm. like i said. gomad isnt a diet to stick with forever. u can probably hit your target weight in 1 year or less if u REALLY stick to proper training and nutrition.

cheapest milk i noe so far for UHTs are those that go for 3.50 on huge promotion at huge supermarkets - tesco those kind. or 3.99 on normal promos.
kobe8byrant
post May 4 2010, 02:54 PM

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

It's hard to get batu karang or kidney failure from just drinking milk la.
Invince_Z
post May 4 2010, 10:45 PM

!M4 !3eY0nC! 1337!!!!
2,748 posts

kobe8byrant: word of concern oni. calcium + other rejected chemicals. btw, i read that drinking milk doesn't increase chance of getting kidney stone, inversely, it reduce them. wonder how true it is.

cheezzzz: brand? 3.5 quite cheap. did u buy dozens? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Invince_Z: May 4 2010, 10:47 PM
TScheezzzz
post May 4 2010, 10:47 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(Invince_Z @ May 4 2010, 10:45 PM)
kobe8byrant: word of concern oni.

cheezzzz: brand? 3.5 quite cheap. did u buy dozens? laugh.gif
dutch lady.when they have promo liddat they limit 2 L per person. so call ur entire family help u buy like 2 dozens hahaha. cuz can keep for 1 yr + ma UHT

This post has been edited by cheezzzz: May 4 2010, 10:47 PM
Invince_Z
post May 4 2010, 10:50 PM

!M4 !3eY0nC! 1337!!!!
2,748 posts

bleh, 2 dozen not enuff lah. can tahan for 6 days oni. plus others sure want their share too. bring entire village/taman better. laugh.gif

so..it's random brand lah.
TScheezzzz
post May 4 2010, 10:54 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(Invince_Z @ May 4 2010, 10:50 PM)
bleh, 2 dozen not enuff lah. can tahan for 6 days oni. plus others sure want their share too. bring entire village/taman better. laugh.gif

so..it's random brand lah.
ahhaha. im lookin for milk wholesalers too, well used to. why not try milk powder if u plan to do long term? or just do LOMAD first.. see hows the gains.. then decide from there.. i went LOMAD for a month, now trying to eat more eggs, oats and meat biggrin.gif
Invince_Z
post May 4 2010, 11:02 PM

!M4 !3eY0nC! 1337!!!!
2,748 posts

wholesaler...i think at my place got lah. those at jabatan haiwan/veterinar. they collect milk from farmers. can ask them.
TScheezzzz
post May 4 2010, 11:04 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(Invince_Z @ May 4 2010, 11:02 PM)
wholesaler...i think at my place got lah. those at jabatan haiwan/veterinar. they collect milk from farmers. can ask them.
are u serious? leme noe if u got any news on this will ya?
Majinity
post May 4 2010, 11:10 PM

792 posts

QUOTE(Invince_Z @ May 4 2010, 11:02 PM)
Where are you located?
Invince_Z
post May 5 2010, 02:30 AM

!M4 !3eY0nC! 1337!!!!
2,748 posts

cheezzzz: sure gone there 2 years back. if i got any chance to go there, i'll drop here some news. bu it ain't a promise. dont get ur hope too high plus...u in kl, i'm at kt laugh.gif

Majinity: kuala terengganu. i guess, im too far from cheezzzz. u not sure. probably far too.

This post has been edited by Invince_Z: May 5 2010, 02:31 AM
winkybear
post May 7 2010, 04:22 AM

489 posts

QUOTE(mrPOTATO @ Apr 17 2010, 11:09 AM)
Will try this out. Have been drinking about 1000 calories / 50 g protein of milk for four days now to supplement my diet. Plan to go for it for about a month (a gallon a day seems a little too unrealistic for me to achieve). The gas is bad! lol.
Majinity
post May 8 2010, 10:16 AM

792 posts

QUOTE(Invince_Z @ May 5 2010, 02:30 AM)
cheezzzz: sure gone there 2 years back. if i got any chance to go there, i'll drop here some news. bu it ain't a promise. dont get ur hope too high plus...u in kl, i'm at kt laugh.gif

Majinity: kuala terengganu. i guess, im too far from cheezzzz. u not sure. probably far too.
Far also, I'm in Shah Alam.
The Silent Killer
post May 11 2010, 12:56 AM

657 posts

buy powder lah..much more cheaper...but u have to drink it warm...or else it will be very puke triggering...

as for my experience, i gomad for 3 weeks, then 3 cups of milk per day till now (4th month)...gomad-ing for more than a month is crazy...i shit like nobody's business thx to the lactose intolerance
darklight79
post May 11 2010, 01:27 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

Lol at the people here who GOMAD but forget the most BASIC principle in bb'ing. If it doesn't work for you, don't do it.
winkybear
post May 11 2010, 02:11 AM

489 posts

Hey guys,

My friend told me that there's a brand of milk powder called 'Ensure' which is lactose free. Apparently its sold at major supermarkets. I'm gonna look for it.

So far pretty satisfied with the results. Gained 0.7 kg in one week by +1000 calories a day. Though I only plan to continue for a month, and would then reduce my milk intake by half (3 glasses).
swks26
post May 11 2010, 08:07 AM

CEO RM20k/day
942 posts

I remember doing this thing once. Where I did 3litres on the first day.
Didn't take it slow. My shit was white and watery lol.

But after that, I got used to it. But now.. cbf doing this :\
pedro
post May 11 2010, 08:56 AM

Certified Broscientist
3,649 posts

Tried GOMAD and I went mad..

darklight79
post May 11 2010, 01:30 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(pedro @ May 11 2010, 08:56 AM)
Tried GOMAD and I went mad..
Heh... I got this:-

QUOTE(Pro Bob Chick;303631841)
Most people are lactose intolerent to begin with....not an easy protein to digest

Milk is for babies

0.0346sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 06:34 AM