aslahuddin
post Apr 6 2010, 10:09 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(cyanide @ Apr 2 2010, 05:06 PM)
wow, 7100 shakehead.gif

yours DSL or ???

do you know the price per sq ft?
or ... roughly how big is the total area?
yeah, mine is corner double storey house..
total area is around 3000++sqft..
airline
post Apr 7 2010, 01:41 PM

7 stars
7,923 posts

where can i find a grill shop in old klang road?
cutielove
post Apr 7 2010, 01:49 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(cyanide @ Apr 6 2010, 04:56 PM)
wow... RM10 /sq ft for wrought iron? quite cheap.
last i heard its about RM15. Where's the location? KL?

M.S. Grills of RM6 is it normal paint?
how about powder coating?
i saw it at 1k classified..gonna try to call them & ask 1st.
SUSlokideangelus
post Apr 7 2010, 03:56 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(cutielove @ Apr 7 2010, 01:49 PM)
i saw it at 1k classified..gonna try to call them & ask 1st.
wrought iron RM 10 ? mind to share the contact ? do pm meplease....

tq... btw had checked with my enginering guys they say wrought iron is actually mild steel .. just that it has been fabricated into design. is that true ?
TScyanide
post Apr 7 2010, 04:10 PM

193 posts

i think nowaday a lot of "fake" wrought iron.
BTW, i also not fancy those design. i like those simple horizontal bar.
so, i rather opt for those mild steel with powder-coating if price is right.
SUSlokideangelus
post Apr 7 2010, 04:19 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(cyanide @ Apr 7 2010, 04:10 PM)
that is what i thought too.. mild steel is good enough esp for condo and 17th floor... good luck if they want to steal...
cutielove
post Apr 7 2010, 04:25 PM

43 posts

oic...so wrought iron is the same as ms ahh...coz i also dunno about grill...1st time search..
Awakened_Angel
post Apr 7 2010, 05:05 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(cyanide @ Apr 7 2010, 05:10 PM)
frankly, there are no fake wrought iron.. iron and steel are still the same hundred years ago... it is the selection of thinnest and smallest and lowest grade of material by contractor and poor workmanship.... smile.gif
SUSlokideangelus
post Apr 7 2010, 05:39 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ Apr 7 2010, 05:05 PM)
frankly, there are no fake wrought iron.. iron and steel are still the same hundred years ago... it is the selection of thinnest and smallest and lowest grade of material by contractor and poor workmanship....  smile.gif
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wrought_iron

TScyanide
post Apr 7 2010, 05:50 PM

193 posts

oh... got it liao

so, most of time WI expensive is just becoz its solid compare to those hollow MS.

thanks!!!
Awakened_Angel
post Apr 7 2010, 05:52 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(cyanide @ Apr 7 2010, 06:50 PM)
oh... got it liao

so, most of time WI expensive is just becoz its solid compare to those hollow MS.

thanks!!!
wrong

Added on April 7, 2010, 5:53 pmwrought iron is more exp because it went through a process called hammerting to give its texture... both Wi and MS have hollow and solid section

This post has been edited by Awakened_Angel: Apr 7 2010, 05:53 PM
TScyanide
post Apr 8 2010, 09:15 AM

193 posts

ops... ok ok...
there's options ... paiseh...

How about aluminium grill?
looks neat. is it strong enough?

And, nowaday a lot of grill design is those simple horizontal bar (which i also like this design), is it easy for theft to "jack" using those jack from lift up car one???
Awakened_Angel
post Apr 8 2010, 10:34 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(cyanide @ Apr 8 2010, 10:15 AM)
ops... ok ok...
there's options ... paiseh...
How about aluminium grill?
looks neat. is it strong enough?

MS is the material... wrought iron used to be a material itself... But due to constant price hike, some ppl result to utilise MS to hammer and become wrought iron.. there`re many type of wrought iron.... hammering, TWISTING, TIGERSKIN ETC

alumnium is lighter and softer.. plus price for scrap al has increase.. many thieft ops for alu instead of metal nowadays

And, nowaday a lot of grill design is those simple horizontal bar (which i also like this design), is it easy for theft to "jack" using those jack from lift up car one???
it is ok.. FYI, ther are few thickness.... 1.0, 1.2,1.6 &1.9mm for the hollow section.. both MS and WI

many will choose 1.0mm one./... else, you request 1.2/1.6 mm

This post has been edited by Awakened_Angel: Apr 8 2010, 10:36 AM
JimJimKC
post Apr 8 2010, 10:57 AM

162 posts

Is powder coating more lasting and have more resistance to rust?
Awakened_Angel
post Apr 8 2010, 11:04 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(JimJimKC @ Apr 8 2010, 11:57 AM)
Is powder coating more lasting and have more resistance to rust?
yes.. but not much if they didnt apply anti oxide primer eg galvanised
TScyanide
post Apr 8 2010, 11:31 AM

193 posts

A_angel,

Thanks!

Ok. so... 1.2mm is strong enough?
i know, thicker sure better... biggrin.gif solid lagi best. But $$$ got concern.

for powder coating, can ask to apply oxide primer also?
Awakened_Angel
post Apr 8 2010, 11:48 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(cyanide @ Apr 8 2010, 12:31 PM)
A_angel,

Thanks!

Ok. so... 1.2mm is strong enough?
i know, thicker sure better... biggrin.gif  solid lagi best. But $$$ got concern.

for powder coating, can ask to apply oxide primer also?
it depends what you use and your gille size

if its main gate, say 14-15ft, 1.2 is okok .. best 1.6 laa

if you want stronger for window, also ok..

another aspect also very crucial.. its the connection of grille and wall

good luck
TScyanide
post Apr 8 2010, 02:18 PM

193 posts

connection of grille to wall?

can elaborate some details?

my old house is those wooden window frame, they just nail it onto the wooden frame.
now will aluminuim window, i think it need to fix in on the concrete wall
Awakened_Angel
post Apr 8 2010, 02:33 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(cyanide @ Apr 8 2010, 03:18 PM)
connection of grille to wall?

can elaborate some details?

my old house is those wooden window frame, they just nail it onto the wooden frame.
now will aluminuim window, i think it need to fix in on the concrete wall
http://img.alibaba.com/photo/244940929/SL_...ANCHOR.summ.jpg

THIS IS THE BEST LAA.. SLEEVE ANCHOR

SOME JUST USE CONCRETENAIL
TScyanide
post Apr 8 2010, 05:25 PM

193 posts

ok. thanks!

but from the photo, looks like not much different compare to nail.

easy to elaborate a bit? or its too complicated.

sorry... kacau u so many times

58 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0228sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:53 AM