4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

KOF XIII [Arcade|Console], Ash Crimson Saga Conclusion

TSman3k
post Jul 12 2010, 12:52 PM

52 posts

I think Yuzuko (Terry/Ryo/Kyo) would have won if Athena wasn't overpowered. Kyo is strong in XIII, but Duo Lon is far crazier.

Here's 4 page worth of new screenies:
http://news.dengeki.com/elem/000/000/278/278975/index-4.html

Among the things i've noticed is they have extended KOF XIII Intro. KOF XIII will also support Continue Service. It is also one of the first fighting game that supports training & challenge mode in arcade.

Higher-Res screens also available: http://japan.gamespot.com/arcade/screensho...635p-297,00.htm

Update: KOF XIII Official Wallpaper
http://game.snkplaymore.co.jp/download/index.php

This post has been edited by man3k: Jul 13 2010, 01:03 AM
TSman3k
post Jul 13 2010, 01:18 AM

52 posts

I have to firmly disagree, although the graphics have been revamped and the Supers have been somewhat exaggerated. KOF is still KOF. It fits nicely between SF and Guilty Gear. You can't blindly mash a continuous combo in KOF, even in XIII. The play style is simply different. Don't let the new hit effects cloud your judgement. Even with HyperDrive Mode which is similar to 02's Max Mode, you can only cancel special moves. Which requires excellent timing and command rotation. It is clearly different from GG or BB where you can make continuous hits just by linking normal punchs and kicks. Now, i'm not saying GG/BB couldn't do the same. It's just that the game focuses more on other gameplay mechanics.

Here's a new vid, Mitsuhiro Ichiki (Yuzuko) playing against 3 KOF XIII Development Staff:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Juhy_pz5rT8

This is one of the best match videos so far.. he really put an effort fighting those staff who already memory combo connections like the back of their hand. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by man3k: Jul 14 2010, 03:36 PM
TSman3k
post Jul 14 2010, 08:23 PM

52 posts

Nice update, but there's more!

Some of you may already know, Yuri & King's clothes can be torn with an aura K.O just like KOF94-95.

Light Review from MMcafe:
I'll make a short compilation from online reports later on if you want; people freak out when they get talked to.

My personal impression, it feels different from any of the previous KOFs. The game speed, hit delay, and character's size ratio to the whole screen makes it feel a bit to me like, say, somewhere in between Real Bout 2 and KOF98. You'll still be seeing a lot of jumps, but they can be punished from reaction. It feels like a step back into the old days, and at the same time, a step forward into the next decade with the new systems. Which is probably why I'm liking the game thus far.

The combos that worked in previous games still generally work, but there's a lot more to learn thanks to the drive meter. Though, I have a feeling that in the end, people might conclude that long combos scales away too much damage and drain meters ineffectively. Still, it's an additional freedom and option of strategy that's been added to the game.

Some of the Neomaxes comes out so fast that you can hit it right after a guard, and that takes away a nice chunk of life because there's no scaling. The way some of the Neomaxes can punish you after a careless move feels almost like the Revenge Attacks from vanilla SF4. Though of course it's justified in XIII when keeping in mind the required meters. And again, you have to think about whether it's worthwhile to burst out all that meter, or to hold on it for the later rounds. Strategy, strategy.

Of course, if there's any abusive bugs or moves, that spoils all the efforts that's been put into the game system. Hopefully that won't be much of the case.

Kyo Win Pose, shot after Arcade Release Gameplay: http://a.imageshack.us/img6/8062/693740.jpg

A fraction of Several Character Ending Images (SPOILER ALERT! WARNING, DO NOT CLICK IF YOU'RE NOT READY!!) mega_shok.gif

This post has been edited by man3k: Jul 14 2010, 08:42 PM
TSman3k
post Jul 15 2010, 04:04 PM

52 posts

It seems that i have misjudged you. I apologize if i was wrong. In no way was i mad or belittling your knowledge. smile.gif

Thx for the vid kding2, It looks like the same guy who did the ending for XI still doing XIII's ending. I kinda disprefer his style of drawing. But it does have that cinematic feeling.

A bunch of other team endings have been posted on youtube:
http://www.youtube.com/user/sugarboy12201984

Dunno if anyone has noticed this but...

KOF XIII Plot Revealed: http://shoryuken.com/f308/king-fighters-13...tml#post9208424

It's actually a very nice plot i'd say, if only ash wasn't flamboyant/ghey and stuff... Could've been better.

This post has been edited by man3k: Jul 17 2010, 05:04 PM
TSman3k
post Jul 18 2010, 08:05 PM

52 posts

Yeah, seriously the plot about Ash caught me unknowingly too. I didn't expect he was going to defy destiny. In that sense, he has a similarity to Iori Yagami.

From what i know, SNKP hired several novelists to do KOF XIII character dialogs (Pre-Fight Dialogs). But i'm not sure wether they did help crafting story plot.

About Kyo & Iori suddenly fighting right after Ash's dissappearance...

This post has been edited by man3k: Jul 18 2010, 08:16 PM
TSman3k
post Jul 19 2010, 01:58 PM

52 posts

All KOF XII & XIII sprites are in HD. On the previous XII, they viewed the sprites a bit too close, so XII sprites end up looking pixellated even though they're actually high resolution. Character Sprites in XIII are displayed a bit smaller so that players will see the characters in a normal way just like every other fighting game. This has resulted the background sprites looking a bit larger/more space than usual. But it's not a problem, since KOF style of gameplay is about Rushdowns.

Kding2, guess i'll just have to wait for the English version in US arcade recordings or Console for a better confirmation then.

This post has been edited by man3k: Jul 19 2010, 02:05 PM
TSman3k
post Jul 23 2010, 04:58 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(Shadow Kun @ Jul 21 2010, 03:00 PM)
so in the end..

This post has been edited by man3k: Jul 24 2010, 01:02 AM
TSman3k
post Jul 26 2010, 06:48 PM

52 posts

i can see everyone have their own ideas on which boss is cheaper to boot. yeah rugal's upgraded genocide cutter is somewhat unfair coz you can't get near him. So much life is lost just to block it and u end up giving a shoryu-type move after his landing. It's hard to beat rugal 02 with melee characters. So i often use 2 scapegoat character to charge power by doing projectiles and later spam SDM with my last man, most of the time K' Dash's Chain Drive. Sucks to admit, but it's hard for me to beat rugal 02/UM with Kyo. Rarely get to grab him with MAX2.

FTG game bosses tend to be overpowered these days, since players evolve along with the system from time to time. Developers are having a hard time to program an intelligent A.I. That's why bosses in games are made powerful and have invincible properties in their skills. Be it counter, teleport, powers filling up so fast, godly defense, insane damage.. you name it. I've seen videos where good players can defeat bosses while being fairly strategic. But for the rest of us, have we come to an age where we need to play dirty to defeat cheating bosses? Like it or not, players now need to cope up with powerup systems in order to win. I dun mind bosses having nearly-invincible skills, but programming them to play dirty so much is just the killing fun. Which is why i'm happy to see XIII boss seems "acceptable".

Omega Rugal 02UM:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NeNETNGByiI

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2keZu2fuIY8
Igniz however, in 02UM. I think he has been tuned-down a bit.. makes him less hard.

KOF Bosses i hate the most should be:
Magaki (Spam triple projectile + Teleport hand from behind)
Rugal 02UM (Crazy Genocide Cutter + Hard to Reach & Grab)
Igniz 01 (Insane Damage & Defense) Partly due to 01 system, if only 1 character active & others set as striker it will have a better damage & defense. Vice-versa most likely having a hard time.

This post has been edited by man3k: Jul 27 2010, 08:10 AM
TSman3k
post Aug 2 2010, 03:33 PM

52 posts

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BzCBK0s0VUc
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vX6bwcu9Rd8
There's a new video from SNK HK Division, i couldn't understand hope u guys translate. (Although i think nothing important was said)

As for rest of player-updated videos, i've found 2 nice uploads:
http://www.youtube.com/user/ArcadeInfinity
http://www.youtube.com/user/Kane317

This post has been edited by man3k: Aug 2 2010, 07:23 PM
TSman3k
post Aug 3 2010, 05:08 PM

52 posts

Regrettably the issue was only known after all the beta/location tests done for the arcade version. Good thing the console version is yet to come. Still got time to fix it.

This post has been edited by man3k: Aug 7 2010, 07:22 PM
TSman3k
post Aug 13 2010, 11:11 PM

52 posts

I AM LOVING the personal impressions for KOF XIII Arcade version so far:

http://www.neogaf.com/forum/showpost.php?p...&postcount=3889

http://www.neogaf.com/forum/showpost.php?p...&postcount=3903

This post has been edited by man3k: Aug 13 2010, 11:11 PM
TSman3k
post Aug 14 2010, 07:18 PM

52 posts

It's actually faster 98. But just a bit slower than XI (fastest KOF so far), and helluva lot faster than XII (slowest KOF ever). To simplify, XIII speed is somewhere between 2002-XI.

About the bugs, those are minor (infinite & float) issues caused by Vice and Ralf (which will be fixed before console release). Previous handcuff bugs concerning raiden and elisabeth does not occur anymore (not that it didn't happened before in Street Fighter). Graphics are not the only redeeming qualities for XIII, go read stuff about HyperDrive Mode, NeoMAX, The New Damage Scaling to understand.

IMHO, the fighter with the best balance is Virtua Fighter 5, followed with either Street Fighter IV or Tekken 6, and then BlazBlue. I just hope KOF XIII isn't too far behind any of those.

This post has been edited by man3k: Aug 21 2010, 07:15 AM
TSman3k
post Aug 16 2010, 02:44 AM

52 posts

Well said kding2, now for a bunch of system-related information:
Damage scaling:
- Every hit past the first one takes a 5% damage scaling cut.
- Damage scaling is normally capped at 20%. However, there are some moves (supposed to be limited to certain DMs/EX DMs/Neo Maxes) whose damage scaling is capped at 50% (Example given in the mook is if you have a 100 damage attack, no the 18th hit, you’d expect the damage to be 100 x (1- (17*0.05)) = 15, but the actual damage is 20. No actual example of a move in game is given however!)
- When doing a Max Cancel, the Neo Max ignores the regular damage scaling formula, but suffers damage scaling equal to the DM that was used for the Max Cancel. TLDR: Max Cancelling gives you slightly better damage scaling.
- Some multi hit DMs suffer the same damage scaling through all hits (e.g. if the first hit of a 6 hit DM suffers from 75% damage scaling, all 6 hits are scaled to 75%)
- Some moves are free from damage scaling entirely. Supposed to be common for the last hit of “Lock” type moves (once the first hit connects, the rest of the move connects as though the opponent is caught).
- Lowest damage value in the game is 4, hence if moves would suffer from damage scaling that would push them to a value less than 4, it’s bumped up to 4.

Guard crush:
- Most characters have a guard crush bar limit of 100 points. Ralf and Clark have 120, Maxima and Daimon have 150, making them harder to guard crush
- Opponent being guard crushed is vulnerable for 3 counts of the timer
- Guard crush bar recovers at rate of 9 points per second.

Drive Cancels:
- You can’t DC out of moves that were blocked.
- Can’t DC out of projectiles/ most command grabs (Goro can DC from dp.K)
- Can’t DC from weak version of move to strong version of move and vice versa.
- Can DC from non-EX version to EX version, but not vice versa.
- Can’t DC from one move into the same move.

Super Cancels
- CAN SC from projectiles
- CAN SC blocked moves
- CAN SC from certain moves without hitting like kara cancel. (example picture shown is Robert SCing (into Ranbu?) after a fireball while the opponent is on the other end of the screen)

Hyper Drive Mode
- Can only do when Drive bar is full.
- Can Hyper Drive in mid-air. There’s no Hyper drive animation like on the ground, but if you do BC in air apparently your character automatically does a jump C after going into Hyper Drive mode.
- Some characters can do some bypass type stuff. Example was Leona, where doing mid air qcf~hcb+BC automatically does her V-Slasher (If hit, I guess you can immediately do a Max Cancel).
- On ground activation, if you do a Hyper Drive Cancel from a normal/command move, character automatically dashes forward slightly. During this dash animation, if you input a motion/press a button, the dash animation stops.
- Can cancel from special moves to Neo Max
- Can Hyper Drive cancel even when moves are blocked.

http://www.imnextonline.com/2010/08/13/kof...iled/#more-1522

This post has been edited by man3k: Aug 16 2010, 06:22 PM
TSman3k
post Aug 17 2010, 01:57 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(kding2 @ Aug 17 2010, 12:32 AM)
So what is the point of Guard Crush when it automatically full when crushed?

They said the guard crush recovery rate is by 9 points per second. Lets say if a character's normal GC rate is 100, then recovering 9 points per second to make it back to 100 takes some time. So no problem, it's not suddenly full after GC. We just need to know which attack does the most damage on those GC meter, so that the opponent will be vulnerable faster.

This post has been edited by man3k: Aug 17 2010, 02:21 AM
TSman3k
post Aug 18 2010, 02:10 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(kding2 @ Aug 17 2010, 11:43 PM)
But the opponent still can guard, right?
Only after the 3 count. The GC meter will reload by time. But since refilling the GC meter takes time. U should be able to crush their guard again if attack before they could fully refill. That's why i said u need to be fast to attack during opponent's GC.

KOF doesn't have bursting like Guilty Gear or BlazBlue, so i doubt the opponent can escape your attack during GC. Unless you're late to take the oppurtunity.

What makes u think the opponent can guard during GC? Any particular videos you've seen? or any notes i missed?

This post has been edited by man3k: Aug 18 2010, 02:18 AM
TSman3k
post Aug 18 2010, 08:02 PM

52 posts

hmm, as far as i know. 02UM and XIII was made by a different/seperate team. 02UM same team as 98UM (secondary). XII & XIII same team as XI (main team). Not letting your hopes up, but there's a chance it might be better.
TSman3k
post Aug 18 2010, 09:05 PM

52 posts

Well of course, the game hasn't arrived in malaysia.. tongue.gif How to test?

unsatisfied, i checked some XIII videos and found out the GC meters reduce in an acceptable manner. Blocking 2x strong punch/kick reduces around 1/4 of the GC meter. It's hard to see a GC on XIII videos, unless a really good player is bullying a noob. Which in most cases both sides are pretty good in most videos. As you may know, GC meters only reduced when the opponent is blocking your attack and not being hit by it.

IMO, the best way to deliver a GC in XIII is to rush your opponent continuosly with HyperDrive Mode (Skill Cancelling). Since HD mode in XIII is longer than Max Mode in 02/UM, a successfull combo rush is possible to GC your opponent. Besides, the information about 3 sec. GC was translated from an official Arcadia Guide Book.

I have the PDF scan of the book at hand, but it's not like i could understand it anyways.

This post has been edited by man3k: Aug 19 2010, 06:37 AM
TSman3k
post Aug 20 2010, 01:16 AM

52 posts

Nothing too new for now, you can go to http://dreamcancel.com/ for more XIII videos though.

EX Attacks (superior version of Specials). It depends on how many power stocks you have at the time. EX attacks not only give more damage and hits, it is also faster and further ranged. You can juggle a flying or faraway opponent with an EX attack to continue your combo. A Blue aura is visible when doing EX attacks. Certain character's EX Attack cannot be blocked.

EX DM or better known as SDM in previous KOF are super specials that use 2 Level. Enpowered versions of super specials. Where in classic KOF u need to have 1/3 life. In 2000+ KOF you only need 2 or more power stocks to access this without having to lower your life points.

To access it, just input the command rotation + 2 action buttons. Let's say if Orochinagi is Back > Down > Forward + 1 Punch (either 1 punch button of LP or HP). For EX DM/SDM u need to press both punchs or kicks. EX DM/SDM are stronger and faster than normal DM. In XIII, all characters can continue attacking after a DM or EX DM/SDM by cancelling the skill with a NeoMAX.

Long Story Short, EX DM is a renamed SDM.

HyperDrive Mode is simply an upgraded version of 02's Max Mode. But, in XIII you're not using power stock. Instead, there's a spesific Driver Meter (Green Color) for it just up of the power bar. HD meter fills when your're attacking or being attacked. When the HD meter is full, you can access it by pressing B+C simultaneosly (Low Kick + High Punch). Your character body will glow when HD mode is activated on ground and the character will automatically dash forward slightly. This HD Initiation Dash is used to shorten your range gap with your opponent, so that your combo rush is done easier.

Drive Cancels are skills that are connected through HyperDrive Mode itself. Skills that cannot be connected in normal state. Just like 02/UM's Max Mode, you can cancel as much skills as you want as long as the HD meter is still activated after pressing B+C. In short, they're part of the HyperDrive Mode component.

Super Cancels are the same like every other game. Cancelling a normal skill with a 1 or 2 Level DM.

NeoMAX are the new HSDM or MAX2. If in KOF XI, you can do a Dream Cancel by comboing a Normal > Super Cancel into 1 or 2 level DM > Finally Dream Cancel into HSDM/MAX2 or also known as Leader Desperation Move. In XIII, you can combo a Normal > Super Cancel into 1 or 2 level DM > Finally MAX Cancel into NeoMAX. Again, it's pretty much the same thing with a new name. The only difference is, past SDM/LDM only need 2 power stock. But NeoMAX needs 3 level. So, in order to bust your opponent before MAX Cancelling (with either HyperDrive or Super Cancel or Both), you need an extra 1 or 2 level. Which is why the Maximum Power Stock in KOF XIII is 5 levels.

HP > One Inch > HyperDrive > HP > Eins Trigger with Extension > Minute Spike with Extension (Clever, used this to chase his opponent) > Claw Byte > Super Cancel into Chain Drive > OraOraOra > MAX Cancel into NeoMAX Finish!

NeoMAX input command is the same as SDM/LDM. But aside from needing the 3 level power stock, your Green HyperDrive Meter must also be full or currently activated in order to launch it. In this video, K has 1 more level left because the player only did a 1 level Chain Drive. It should be more damaging if he did a 2 level super before finishing off with NeoMAX.

Whew~ That's pretty much everything i know so far... sweat.gif

Note: Did u notice, K's Chain Drive is a bit different now. After throwing his glasses, he immediately elbow his opponent. At the time, the opponent is in pain for a moment. While K's glasses bounce back and he catches and wears it back while saying "Ikuze!" before resuming his combo. cool2.gif

This post has been edited by man3k: Dec 6 2011, 07:52 AM
TSman3k
post Aug 21 2010, 05:14 AM

52 posts

Nope, u don't need HD meter to do EX DM. Just 2 levels. Good 'ol style without any activations.

EX attacks execution same like SF4, 2 buttons of the moves command input. Example: Normal Yami Barai is Down > Forward + 1 Punch. EX version is Down > Forward + 2 Punch simultaneosly. U won't be mistaking this as EX DM since EX moves only have 1 rotation. Unlike DM's which has double rotations. EX Attack sometimes have the same damage as 1 level DM in certain conditions. For example, try doing an EX Oniyaki to an opponent who is just about to land. You will get many hits from it.

NeoMAX's HD meter requirement is nothing since it's always full unless you're activating HD mode for Cancelling. But i agree 3 level is a bit "leceh". This reminds me of KOF 2000. Yeah, can be used alone without any skill cancelling.

Something i forgot to mention
- Drive Cancelling a normal move to an EX Attack in Normal State will eat up half of the HD meter
- Super Cancelling to 1 or 2 Level DM will also eat half of the HD meter
- Solution? Activate HyperDrive Mode if u wanna go all-out skill cancelling
- Executing a NeoMAX will deplete all of the HD meter

Correction
- HD meter fills up when you're attacking or taking a hit. Not auto fill, my bad. This is done so that players will rush instead of turtling. In a way, the HyperDrive Mode works like SF4's Ultra. Where u are given a chance to take revenge. Only this time, the person who is actively attacking is also given a chance to go all-out skill cancelling since they are "hardworking" unlike the defensive player. So it's fair for both sides. If you really fight, u can get more power. If u always block, you can revenge after suffering a justifiable amount of damage.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q-LKq8_QsXs (Look at Goro) shocking.gif (Ok, NVM actually Goro & Takuma's EX Attack meter got bug. This has been fixed with Patch 1.1)

Btw, the Kyo user in that video is super awesome! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q-LKq8_QsXs#t=2m43s drool.gif I'm drooling in excitement~ He should've just given a 3rd aeriel orochinagi for an unforgettable finish!

This post has been edited by man3k: Oct 15 2010, 07:00 AM
TSman3k
post Aug 21 2010, 08:09 PM

52 posts

I think it's worth it. It really depends on your situation as a player, if u think executing an EX attack will have a higher chance to hit rather than a DM (check your range). Then go for it.

Damage/Defence bonus for HD mode? Not sure. Maybe none. Coz you already get a lot of damage just by cancel-combo your attacks.

You don't need to activate HD Mode to launch a NeoMAX. Sometimes it is better if you activate it. Because the chances for it to hit is better when you're doing various attacks in combo before finishing off with NeoMAX. More Damage, but it's risky since you have to make sure you cancelling skills are going to hit your opponent. If not it will be for nothing and you will have to wait for the HD meter to refill in order to make another attempt to launch a NeoMAX.

Remember, when you activate HD Mode. Your character body will GLOW. So your enemy will be alerted/conscious of your behaviour. He/She will know that you're up to combo or NeoMAX. At times it is just better to launch NeoMAX in Normal State and surprise them.

This post has been edited by man3k: Oct 15 2010, 07:01 AM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0250sec    1.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 12:43 PM