Can I Hook up 2 Subwoofer with just 1 sub pre out?, possible?

matyeo
post Mar 26 2010, 04:54 PM

352 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Mar 26 2010, 04:19 PM)
Yes, you are correct on it.
need to buy spl meter soon.... biggrin.gif
radovantz
post Mar 26 2010, 05:08 PM

287 posts

most subwoofer have both input and output audio terminal, why not use the output from this subwoofer to drive the second one?

this must be better than using Y connector because it will degrade signal quality as it is shared by 2 users
TSjimjim
post Mar 26 2010, 05:35 PM

~ Frekin Life ~
1,611 posts

QUOTE(VSX-AX2as @ Mar 26 2010, 07:55 AM)
Yes by using Y-spliter.Why do you want to using twin sub..1 sub still not enough meh hmm.gif
i want to have the idea of having to expend in future if the bass is not enough for me... i've still yet to purchase myself the HT set... if the Y splitter is possible, then i can drop the idea of buying amp/receiver with 2 sub preout.. save some money there. wink.gif
some ppl say 2 smaller sub is better then 1 big sub... but, not sure will it supply less power to the sub or not...

thanks for all the feedback guys.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by jimjim: Mar 26 2010, 05:39 PM
htkaki
post Mar 26 2010, 05:38 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(radovantz @ Mar 26 2010, 05:08 PM)
most subwoofer have both input and output audio terminal, why not use the output from this subwoofer to drive the second one?

this must be better than using Y connector because it will degrade signal quality as it is shared by 2 users
They call it 'daisy chain' smile.gif
peter32
post Mar 26 2010, 05:54 PM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

QUOTE(jimjim @ Mar 26 2010, 05:35 PM)
i want to have the idea of having to expend in future if the bass is not enough for me... i've still yet to purchase myself the HT set... if the Y splitter is possible, then i can drop the idea of buying amp/receiver with 2 sub preout.. save some money there.  wink.gif
some ppl say 2 smaller sub is better then 1 big sub... but, not sure will it supply less power to the sub or not...

thanks for all the feedback guys.. smile.gif
Yes I have read about that too. Apparently Two small sub, properly placed, will sounds better than one single bigger sub in that effect.

If you go to thx.com, they have a simple guide on how to place two subs in THX configuration. First choice is actually opposing each other in the room.

For those who are buying new amp, do opt for dual sub pre-out as a feature. It helps a lot.
VSX-AX2as
post Mar 26 2010, 08:28 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(peter32 @ Mar 26 2010, 05:54 PM)
Yes I have read about that too.  Apparently Two small sub, properly placed, will sounds better than one single bigger sub in that effect.

If you go to thx.com, they have a simple guide on how to place two subs in THX configuration.  First choice is actually opposing each other in the room. 

For those who are buying new amp, do opt for dual sub pre-out as a feature.  It helps a lot.
Oh no..It's time to upgrade amp with 2 sub preout icon_idea.gif
htkaki
post Mar 26 2010, 10:32 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Better go for Denon 4810 coz it has 9.3 pre-out. Effectively, 3 sub connections. Yay!
VSX-AX2as
post Mar 27 2010, 12:59 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Mar 26 2010, 10:32 PM)
Better go for Denon 4810 coz it has 9.3 pre-out. Effectively, 3 sub connections. Yay!
rclxm9.gif Soon I will make a deal with HTKAKI to get another 2 sub icon_idea.gif
silbii
post Mar 27 2010, 01:55 AM

963 posts

subs aren't about boom..it's about feel :>
TSjimjim
post Mar 27 2010, 02:25 AM

~ Frekin Life ~
1,611 posts

guys, is there a different in sound quality between amp with 2 preout and amp with 1 preout + y splitter? will the y splitter causes lost in signal quality?
VSX-AX2as
post Mar 27 2010, 02:25 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(silbii @ Mar 27 2010, 01:55 AM)
subs aren't about boom..it's about feel :>
Agree..agree.. Correct settings then you can FEEL but otherwise you can boom..boom..pow icon_rolleyes.gif
matyeo
post Mar 27 2010, 02:44 AM

352 posts

taukeh...now got 9.3 arr...
i though only 9.2 (onkyo).... blink.gif
i think same with .1 ....and we can use y spliter to seprate our sub....right
ronaldjoe
post Mar 27 2010, 08:41 AM

3,569 posts

9.2 with XLR would be sweet.
Taukeh. Is 5507 gonna do calibration for both subs with audyssey?
Did you see that at Tan's pad?

dlyz
post Mar 27 2010, 09:14 AM

Dynaudio
1,827 posts

QUOTE(matyeo @ Mar 26 2010, 04:54 PM)
need to buy spl meter soon.... biggrin.gif
I manage to grab a 2nd hand. Looks like i listen to 85-95db
TSjimjim
post Apr 3 2010, 03:00 AM

~ Frekin Life ~
1,611 posts

guys will it degrade the quality of the signal if we split the 1 preout into 2? need some valuable input on this before i proceed on my purchase...

Added on April 5, 2010, 3:24 pmanyone?

This post has been edited by jimjim: Apr 5 2010, 03:24 PM

0.0179sec    0.59    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:08 AM