I hate Starcraft II

hydrogen
post Mar 24 2010, 03:38 PM

au contraire
1,516 posts

Everyone brought up valid points.
I'll just play everything they throw at me. What's with taking sides? We're not involved in the battle to produce the best game.

We're the consumer. Just buy the game and play the game.
Or don't buy the game and don't play the game.

Not like we can do anything else anyway.

Added on March 24, 2010, 3:41 pmOh, and Crysis, Warhead, and Borderlands were all pretty enjoyable (recent) EA Games for me.
I won't touch CnC4 after hearing the tons of bad reviews, but BFBC2 and SC2 are on my must-play lists.

p/s: WHAT'S WITH THE WOW HATE? lol
(I must admit, I'm a blizzard fanboy)

This post has been edited by hydrogen: Mar 24 2010, 03:44 PM
Shadow Kun
post Mar 24 2010, 03:56 PM

TOASTY!
621 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Mar 24 2010, 03:35 PM)
I pretty much still remember that replay's every second.

Very well played.

There are a few more memorable ones,but this one stands out the most by far.
totally understand. even the player himself must be proud of that game. it's a shame really ra3 died before i get the chance to try play it competitively.

anyways regarding topic, i think yeah blizzard is really afraid of not fulfilling the expectation of their hardcore fans. sc1 is a masterpiece and i can imagine how hard it is to create another of such. sc2 just have such a huge shoes to fill.
fujkenasai
post Mar 24 2010, 04:01 PM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Mar 24 2010, 03:10 PM)
Blizzard become rich after Starcraft and Diablo 2 where it become so popular till it's an e-sport. Then,got even richer with WoW. Therefore they can support all their games. Not like they have 10 or more games.

I wont say EA is the same as 2 years ago since John Ricettello took over.

Mass Effect 2 is the product of all the criticism and praises of the fans/media in Mass Effect 1. Mass Effect 2 have better combat,less tedious MAKO driving and epic world. People were complaining about the horrible MAKO in Mass Effect 1,and Bioware removed it in Mass Effect 2. Go ask any Mass Effect player about their MAKO experience. Most of them hate it. In the end, Mass Effect 2 was great and a big improvement from Mass Effect 1. Memorable stories with memorable characters and good combat. Now,they are going to build Mass Effect 3 on the praises and criticism of Mass Effect 2.

If they gonna milk Mass Effect the way they did with Mass Effect 2,go ahead. I would still buy it as long as it's a good game. At least there are innovations in current EA games,rather than changing just the graphics and add a few new guns/units.

If you havent played a decent EA game(especially from Bioware) in last 2 years,please stop accusing them for milking the fans.

Added on March 24, 2010, 3:22 pm

Almost everyone in this thread says SC2 is RTS killer. After what happen to MW2,where i used to say it's the FPS killer,i wont put much hope on SC2.Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment.

I wont put other RTS isnt competent enough to compete with SC2,as most RTS out now are good games but flawed in some way. Other RTS company did not have as much hype as SC2 and the hype a lone can bring a lot of sales,like what happen to MW2 or previous NFS like Carbon despite it's a shitty game.

Activision Blizzard is depending on those franchise that have good previous sales records like CoD,SC,Diablo and Warcraft to earn money. Hype it up,and millions of dollars will flow into their pockets. Once their proven franchise have started to show less sales, they will buck up to improve it. This is the same situation as what happen to EA few years ago,where EA is extremely arrogant.FIFA,Madden, NFS, C&C, MoH, Battlefield all have annual sequels during that time till the quality and sales dropped to abyss only they realise that they have been doing it all wrong. Only then,they started to come out with innovative features and new franchise. It's the same cycle,except different company.

Besides,BFBC2 rocks.
Err blizzard was as big as EA then? But Blizzard did not spam its customers like EA, within a year they can have 2 CnC series ZOMG. RA3 and CnC3. Blizzard concentrates on quality no quantity.

Well EA does not own BioWare they are just publishing for them, just like SF4 in Malaysia is being published by EA SEA.

QUOTE(hydrogen @ Mar 24 2010, 03:38 PM)
Everyone brought up valid points.
I'll just play everything they throw at me. What's with taking sides? We're not involved in the battle to produce the best game.

We're the consumer. Just buy the game and play the game.
Or don't buy the game and don't play the game.

Not like we can do anything else anyway.

Added on March 24, 2010, 3:41 pmOh, and Crysis, Warhead, and Borderlands were all pretty enjoyable (recent) EA Games for me.
I won't touch CnC4 after hearing the tons of bad reviews, but BFBC2 and SC2 are on my must-play lists.

Again EA do not own Crytek they are just publishing for them.
Cheesenium
post Mar 24 2010, 04:05 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(hydrogen @ Mar 24 2010, 03:38 PM)
Oh, and Crysis, Warhead, and Borderlands were all pretty enjoyable (recent) EA Games for me.

Borderlands wasnt EA,it was 2K.

I dont hate WoW,but the art style(cartoon like) doesnt work well with D3 and SC2.

The Egyptian High Templar still annoys me. At least he floats and moves with blue shadows now.

QUOTE(Shadow Kun @ Mar 24 2010, 03:56 PM)
totally understand. even the player himself must be proud of that game. it's a shame really ra3 died before i get the chance to try play it competitively.

anyways regarding topic, i think yeah blizzard is really afraid of not fulfilling the expectation of their hardcore fans. sc1 is a masterpiece and i can imagine how hard it is to create another of such. sc2 just have such a huge shoes to fill.
I was playing it quite competitively for a while,from Beta till 1.2.

It was really fun. Then,it died before i can get back to it.
SUSmylife4nerzhul
post Mar 24 2010, 04:09 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(Laguna @ Mar 24 2010, 02:59 PM)
So the point of this thread is that you got into haemorrhage mode because of your failed patching for BC2 and now it is transferred to SC2 ? The thing is your speculation that sc2 is a rts killer is wrong and  the only person to be blame is the other rts  company for coming up with a product that is not competent to this day standards . If your game is good has new features of game play , something different and unique I can guaranty you it would topple down all kingdoms built by pass kings .

If you saying were true, it did not extend to the fps genre because Modern warfail 2 although with it's great hype and  huge recipient  of sale  was not competent with the current release of Dice BC2 the main thing is if the game is badly made the only person to be blame is the company and not because of the surrounding competitors.
Starcraft 2 has none of that by the way.

fujkenasai
post Mar 24 2010, 04:13 PM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(mylife4nerzhul @ Mar 24 2010, 04:09 PM)
Starcraft 2 has none of that by the way.
Blizzard are SUCKING UP TO THEIR OLD FANS

So nothing new, besides none of innovative games enjoy as much success as SC. Even War3 was not as successful as SC in korea.
hydrogen
post Mar 24 2010, 04:16 PM

au contraire
1,516 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Mar 24 2010, 04:05 PM)
Borderlands wasnt EA,it was 2K.

I dont hate WoW,but the art style(cartoon like) doesnt work well with D3 and SC2.

The Egyptian High Templar still annoys me. At least he floats and moves with blue shadows now.

Oh ya, Borderlands was 2k. doh.gif paiseh.
I agree that D3 and SC2 could be less cartoony. There was nothing cartoony about D2 and the original SC, I guess I would've preferred if they stuck to their own themes. (Dingy, goth, adventure hack-slash and sci-fi,tech rts)

Oh well. Let's place our hope in Chapters 2 and 3 of SC2.
Maybe they will introduce tons of new content that will really reignite Starcraft.

nod.gif

fujkenasai
post Mar 24 2010, 04:23 PM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(hydrogen @ Mar 24 2010, 04:16 PM)
Oh ya, Borderlands was 2k.  doh.gif paiseh.
I agree that D3 and SC2 could be less cartoony. There was nothing cartoony about D2 and the original SC, I guess I would've preferred if they stuck to their own themes. (Dingy, goth, adventure hack-slash and sci-fi,tech rts)

Oh well. Let's place our hope in Chapters 2 and 3 of SC2.
Maybe they will introduce tons of new content that will really reignite Starcraft.

nod.gif
I was disappointed with the cartoonish SC2 also but they've changed quite abit since the time they showed us the alpha version. I hope they change more of it.
Cheesenium
post Mar 24 2010, 04:33 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Mar 24 2010, 04:01 PM)
Err blizzard was as big as EA then? But Blizzard did not spam its customers like EA, within a year they can have 2 CnC series ZOMG. RA3 and CnC3. Blizzard concentrates on quality no quantity.

Well EA does not own BioWare  they are just publishing for them, just like SF4 in Malaysia is being published by EA SEA.
Blizzard doesnt spam games? How about WoW expansion where it has become a yearly release after merger with Activision?

Burning Crusade 2008
Wrath of Lich King, 2009
Cataclysm, 2010

And also SC2 suddenly has become 3 separate games,rather than 1 initially?

Doesnt ring a bell that Blizzard has become greedy? Or they are still the saint that emphasis more on quality than quantity,even though they have been releasing WoW expansion yearly. Seems more like they have been affected by Activision's greed. This isnt good.

Besides,if you say EALA released 2 C&C in a year is greedy,how about Relic who had also released 2 RTS games in 2009,ToV and DoW2? Also both DoW:DC and CoH at 2006? ZOMG,Reric milking gamers now!!!!! Reric suxxors....

EA now owns Bioware on 2008.

Bioware wiki.

It just show that you still hate EA for all their past shit games and still think that they are still the same bunch of assholes.

If EA still an ass, they wouldnt have give Bioware a huge budget and long development cycle for their next game called Star Wars: Knight of the Old Republic MMO where Bioware considers the MMO as KOTOR 3,4,5,6 and 7 in one MMO.

Shadow Kun
post Mar 24 2010, 04:42 PM

TOASTY!
621 posts

i don't see any problems with WoW expansions. mmorpg players really need fresh contents once in a while.
Cheesenium
post Mar 24 2010, 04:47 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

I sense this topic gonna be closed soon.

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Mar 24 2010, 04:13 PM)
Blizzard are SUCKING UP TO THEIR OLD FANS

So nothing new, besides none of innovative games enjoy as much success as SC. Even War3 was not as successful as SC in korea.
Okay,so,if they want their old fans to come back,why the hell are they making a 10 year old game in 3D? Might as well call it Starcraft: Reloaded and sell it for 20USD.

So,now,SC is the most successful game on the planet now.What about WoW?

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Mar 24 2010, 04:23 PM)
I was disappointed with the cartoonish SC2 also but they've changed quite abit since the time they showed us the alpha version. I hope they change more of it.
It gets even more cartoonish as they approach to beta to the point where units started to look retarded like Sentry,Nullifier,Brood Lord.

The terran buildings look like as if it's made of plastic,than Neosteel.
kianweic
post Mar 24 2010, 04:49 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

EA is turning evil now, must be worshiping some Chaos God:

EA considering charging for "Very long demo"
Cheesenium
post Mar 24 2010, 04:50 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Mar 24 2010, 04:49 PM)
EA is turning evil now, must be worshiping some Chaos God:

EA considering charging for "Very long demo"
I know about that.

At least not as bad as Activision.

Even if they are charging for demo,cant be bother with it. Wait till full game release only buy.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Mar 24 2010, 04:56 PM
Frostlord
post Mar 24 2010, 04:53 PM

1,723 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Mar 24 2010, 04:33 PM)
Blizzard doesnt spam games? How about WoW expansion where it has become a yearly release after merger with Activision?

Burning Crusade 2008
Wrath of Lich King, 2009
Cataclysm, 2010

And also SC2 suddenly has become 3 separate games,rather than 1 initially?

Doesnt ring a bell that Blizzard has become greedy? Or they are still the saint that emphasis more on quality than quantity,even though they have been releasing WoW expansion yearly. Seems more like they have been affected by Activision's greed. This isnt good.

Besides,if you say EALA released 2 C&C in a year is greedy,how about Relic who had also released 2 RTS games in 2009,ToV and DoW2? Also both DoW:DC and CoH at 2006? ZOMG,Reric milking gamers now!!!!! Reric suxxors....

EA now owns Bioware on 2008.

Bioware wiki.

It just show that you still hate EA for all their past shit games and still think that they are still the same bunch of assholes.

If EA still an ass, they wouldnt have give Bioware a huge budget and long development cycle for their next game called Star Wars: Knight of the Old Republic MMO where Bioware considers the MMO as KOTOR 3,4,5,6 and 7 in one MMO.
wow this really opens up my eyes lol
i used to think EA was shit

no offense but look at C&C series

i played quite a bit of C&C till C&CZH
the reason i stop at zero hour is because finally EA makes some GOOD strategy games and i dont want to give them a chance to ruin it biggrin.gif

1 thing i hate bout C&C franchise isthe build mode. u have to build the soldier/building 1 by 1 (not sure in C&C3 but my fren tell me its still the old way). im glad they change it in C&C generals
hydrogen
post Mar 24 2010, 04:53 PM

au contraire
1,516 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Mar 24 2010, 04:47 PM)
It gets even more cartoonish as they approach to beta to the point where units started to look retarded like Sentry,Nullifier,Brood Lord.

The terran buildings look like as if it's made of plastic,than Neosteel.

hahahaaa, true.
IMO, Terrans look like Gundam/MechWarrior. Protoss look like they came out of Mass Effect.
Zerg look the same.

EDIT: High Templar looks EXACTLY like a WOW character. LOL!

This post has been edited by hydrogen: Mar 24 2010, 04:55 PM
kianweic
post Mar 24 2010, 04:54 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

I hate Blizzard for making me wait.

Who knows, Blizzard may decide to pull a C&C4 and Ubisoft constant internet connection required.
Frostlord
post Mar 24 2010, 05:06 PM

1,723 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Mar 24 2010, 04:54 PM)

Who knows, Blizzard may decide to pull a C&C4 and Ubisoft constant internet connection required.
that would seriously ruin the whole game

approx 1 month after the release, we can find all the "cracked" version on the net. its just not worth losing your customer for it
Cheesenium
post Mar 24 2010, 05:07 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(hydrogen @ Mar 24 2010, 04:53 PM)
hahahaaa, true.
IMO, Terrans look like Gundam/MechWarrior. Protoss look like they came out of Mass Effect.
Zerg look the same.

EDIT: High Templar looks EXACTLY like a WOW character. LOL!
Thats why i hate how high templar look like now. Fugly like hell.

Also that old Infester model that looks like an onion with multiple mouths.Ugh.

QUOTE(kianweic @ Mar 24 2010, 04:54 PM)

Not again,you know how shitty is my internet in Aus.

Looks like they are not using that DRM,though.
profwacko
post Mar 24 2010, 05:09 PM

31 posts

IF StarCraft 2 sucks really bad ...

DIABLO 3 kan ADAA!! hehe........
ZeneticX
post Mar 24 2010, 05:11 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(profwacko @ Mar 24 2010, 05:09 PM)
IF StarCraft 2 sucks really bad ...

DIABLO 3 kan ADAA!! hehe........
i don't think ppl will put up much expectation for diablo 3 if starcraft 2 realy sucked

11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0157sec    0.36    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:20 AM