AMD Phenom II X6, amd already started the shipping

TSmegat89
post May 13 2010, 09:21 AM

278 posts

AMD Cancels Phenom II X4 960T Quad-Core Processors Based on Thuban Die
In what could come as a bad news to enthusiasts looking forward to the AMD Phenom II X4 960T "Zosma" quad-core processor, AMD has scrapped plans to release it, at least to the retail market. The chip could still be available to OEM vendors designing their desktop products around it. In a circular to the press, an AMD representative said "I've been asked the question about whether there will be a Phenom II X4 960T "Thuban" quad-core by enough individuals, that I think it is a good idea to proactively share the answer to everyone. While there are indeed engineering CPU samples floating around of a 4-core Thuban 960T, I do not expect that processor will be released for general availability. Perhaps it may make its way to OEMs by special request, but that remains to be seen."

Phenom II X4 960T was a certain release from AMD until now. Various motherboard vendors released beta BIOS that could support the chip, and some enthusiasts with access to engineering samples were even successful in unlocking its disabled cores. The prospect of unlocking disabled cores to yield a six-core processor at the price of a typical quad-core processor is what garnered interest among some sections of the enthusiasts. For AMD, the adverse effect Zosma could have on the sales of more expensive Phenom II X6 seems to have outweighed propagating its new Turbo Core technology at more mainstream prices.

http://www.techpowerup.com/122130/AMD_Canc...Thuban_Die.html
xenon_aniki
post May 13 2010, 09:28 AM

1,069 posts

Is Gigabyte is the only provider for USB 3.0 AMD mobo?
GA-870-UD3

http://www.lowyat.net/v2/latest/gigabyte-i...d-platform.html

Do you think when USB3.0 & Sata 6GBps will become common. cant wait to upgrade to new rig
danielyeap
post May 13 2010, 12:36 PM

96 posts

I am looking for the new AMD Phenom II AM3 X6 1055T 95W. I saw some 125W around, but wondering when are they going to release the 95W part smile.gif.
Irishcoffee
post May 13 2010, 12:50 PM

ilX / Espressivo
2,994 posts

QUOTE(megat89 @ May 13 2010, 09:21 AM)
AMD Cancels Phenom II X4 960T Quad-Core Processors Based on Thuban Die
In what could come as a bad news to enthusiasts looking forward to the AMD Phenom II X4 960T "Zosma" quad-core processor, AMD has scrapped plans to release it, at least to the retail market. The chip could still be available to OEM vendors designing their desktop products around it. In a circular to the press, an AMD representative said "I've been asked the question about whether there will be a Phenom II X4 960T "Thuban" quad-core by enough individuals, that I think it is a good idea to proactively share the answer to everyone. While there are indeed engineering CPU samples floating around of a 4-core Thuban 960T, I do not expect that processor will be released for general availability. Perhaps it may make its way to OEMs by special request, but that remains to be seen."

Phenom II X4 960T was a certain release from AMD until now. Various motherboard vendors released beta BIOS that could support the chip, and some enthusiasts with access to engineering samples were even successful in unlocking its disabled cores. The prospect of unlocking disabled cores to yield a six-core processor at the price of a typical quad-core processor is what garnered interest among some sections of the enthusiasts. For AMD, the adverse effect Zosma could have on the sales of more expensive Phenom II X6 seems to have outweighed propagating its new Turbo Core technology at more mainstream prices.

http://www.techpowerup.com/122130/AMD_Canc...Thuban_Die.html
no point amd release thier quad based on thuban since those thuban are based on deneb + 2core
they r same ,summore amd affairs of unlocking might affect thier hexa sales
xenon_aniki
post May 13 2010, 02:56 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(danielyeap @ May 13 2010, 12:36 PM)
I am looking for the new AMD Phenom II AM3 X6 1055T 95W. I saw some 125W around, but wondering when are they going to release the 95W part smile.gif.
I think there is no 1055T for 95W at least near future. actually it consider low power considering it has 6 real core
banks
post May 13 2010, 04:57 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(xenon_aniki @ May 13 2010, 02:56 PM)
I think there is no 1055T for 95W at least near future. actually it consider low power considering it has 6 real core
You can try and undervolt the 1055T yourself if you can't wait. Most energy efficient cpu from intel/amd are undervolted/underclocked anyway.
Moongrave
post May 13 2010, 08:19 PM

422 posts

amd thuban is just phenom x4 965 with 2 cores

if you want to get amd as a new user wait for amd bulldozer
area61
post May 13 2010, 08:30 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(Moongrave @ May 13 2010, 08:19 PM)

agreed..my guess that the gap between thuban and bulldozer would be something like the HD4800 series jump from HD3800 series hmm.gif
8tvt
post May 13 2010, 10:06 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

QUOTE(Moongrave @ May 13 2010, 08:19 PM)

that mean.. X6 is not for u coz donno how to make it useful..
same goes to the bulldozer later..
selferino
post May 13 2010, 11:41 PM

joe cole = english samba!
1,219 posts

if im not mistaken, the next bulldozer wil only work on 8 series mobo, so no-no 4 7 series mobo even they hav am3 socket there, so rather thn upgrading to thuban i suggest get an 8 series mobo smile.gif
BuCk_Real
post May 14 2010, 09:19 AM

so, which one is better 4 gaming?
Phenom II X4 965BE 3.4GHz Vs X6 1055T 2.8GHz Vs Core i5 750 2.66GHz?
8tvt
post May 14 2010, 10:00 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

QUOTE(BuCk_Real @ May 14 2010, 09:19 AM)
so, which one is better 4 gaming?
Phenom II X4 965BE 3.4GHz Vs X6 1055T 2.8GHz Vs Core i5 750 2.66GHz?
those what u listed are more than enough for average gaming..
if performance limited by the gpu.. all would be the same..

it's not like last time, where we need to oc for extra performance..

the later proc has turbo core which can speed up if needed..
leyley
post May 15 2010, 09:11 PM

2,096 posts

The turbo core can increase how many percent?
8tvt
post May 15 2010, 09:47 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

500-600mhz..
jinaun
post May 16 2010, 09:18 PM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

for those using 890fx chipset... what is your temp on the NB

mine hovering abt 55 at idle and i saw in a review website, in bios screenshot the NB is 80+!!!!

This post has been edited by jinaun: May 16 2010, 09:28 PM
selferino
post May 16 2010, 09:56 PM

1,219 posts

QUOTE(jinaun @ May 16 2010, 09:18 PM)
for those using 890fx chipset... what is your temp on the NB

mine hovering abt 55 at idle and i saw in a review website, in bios screenshot the NB is 80+!!!!
how did u check tat, izzit that the temp of the motherboard? like in everest my motherbord temp is usually
45 C, so tats my northbridge temp izzit? how bout the SB temp? my mobo is msi 770-c45 btw.
jinaun
post May 16 2010, 10:10 PM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

QUOTE(selferino @ May 16 2010, 09:56 PM)
how did u check tat, izzit that the temp of the motherboard? like in everest my motherbord temp is usually
45 C, so tats my northbridge temp izzit? how bout the SB temp? my mobo is msi 770-c45 btw.
i check using bios and also everest...

motherboard temp is not NB temp.. IIRC.. it would be called system temp in this case below

eg.

This post has been edited by jinaun: May 16 2010, 10:11 PM
TiF
post May 19 2010, 11:59 AM

1,192 posts

side track, anyone selling off their phenom IIx4 (945,955)??
selferino
post May 20 2010, 12:25 AM

1,219 posts

QUOTE(TiF @ May 19 2010, 11:59 AM)
side track, anyone selling off their phenom IIx4 (945,955)??
dun mind trading it wif u main rig tongue.gif
TiF
post May 20 2010, 09:13 AM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(selferino @ May 20 2010, 12:25 AM)
dun mind trading it wif u main rig tongue.gif
sweat.gif sweat.gif

i just wan to upgrade my 2nd rig.. tongue.gif

23 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 >Top

0.0260sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:05 AM