AMD Phenom II X6, amd already started the shipping

AMDAthlon
post May 9 2010, 12:00 AM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

QUOTE(selferino @ May 8 2010, 08:13 PM)
juz wait for the bulldozer/llano, then see if it can compete with nehalem in terms of performance. btw if im not mistaken the bulldozer/llano proc will still be in am3 socket right, according to their roadmap, correct me if im wrong..
Yes it is compatible with AM3.

Anyway,AMD Phenom II X6 were never meant to compete i7.At least,with Phenom II X6,old user can upgrade to X6 cheaply.
subrok007
post May 9 2010, 12:28 AM

Squirtle
1,632 posts

are this x6 really so lousy?? still cant par i7 920??

thinking wan migrate to AMD but now hmm.gif
AMDAthlon
post May 9 2010, 12:37 AM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

It can on par with 8 series but not on 9 series.
I repeat,this is for budget user.
What proc u using now?
If from intel > amd i suggest no becos its waste - -

Its good for old AM2+ user or newer user want get new pc with cheaper price.
subrok007
post May 9 2010, 12:52 AM

Squirtle
1,632 posts

i from intel.. using QX processor....

i dy quit AMD for long time ago since Athlon pwn Prescott that time....

Cubex01
post May 9 2010, 08:13 AM

528 posts

QUOTE(subrok007 @ May 9 2010, 12:52 AM)
i from intel..  using QX processor....

i dy quit AMD for long time ago since Athlon pwn Prescott that time....
Which QX number do u use?
superb88
post May 9 2010, 12:29 PM

170 posts

But hey guys, judging from the performance, it doesn't seem so bad like some people claimed. For the price u pay, multithreaded performance is still there. RM600+ for a hexacore, as compare to any intel offering in similar price class, its quite clear that price/performance ratio, AMD still holds it. As for the higher end AMD hexacore @ 3.2ghz vs core i7 930/920, it does the job fairly well beating i7 in some test too. Alot stronger competition now as compare to only the X4 965... That's jz my opinion, its not that bad.... =)

This post has been edited by superb88: May 9 2010, 12:30 PM
herojack41
post May 9 2010, 07:57 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

amd six core aint bad.....of course major benchmark result show i7 win....but i bet 100% u din look at da i7 price tag.
nooboy
post May 9 2010, 09:00 PM

499 posts

hope AMD will make i7 price go down abit brows.gif

subrok007
post May 9 2010, 09:24 PM

Squirtle
1,632 posts

QUOTE(Cubex01 @ May 9 2010, 08:13 AM)
Which QX number do u use?
using QX6800... now looking for sell n upgrade to thuban..

but as they claimed that x6 1055T performance still fall behind intel i7... r this really??
selferino
post May 9 2010, 10:05 PM

joe cole = english samba!
1,219 posts

QUOTE(subrok007 @ May 9 2010, 09:24 PM)

but as they claimed that x6 1055T performance still fall behind intel i7... r this really??
yup true smile.gif
onimusha_m16
post May 9 2010, 10:55 PM

Mr Bean
1,239 posts

QUOTE(subrok007 @ May 9 2010, 09:24 PM)

single core performance amd lose intel i7
multi threaded performance amd win some tests
ghost705
post May 9 2010, 11:17 PM

186 posts

AMD are impressive because they are selling a 6 core cpu at quad core price but i don't think i'll need 6 physical core for my desktop at this moment smile.gif

This post has been edited by ghost705: May 9 2010, 11:18 PM
area61
post May 10 2010, 11:51 PM

615 posts

guess they need something like HyperThreading to boost some benchmarks...hopefully the 960T can be unlocked to a hexacore...
0mars
post May 10 2010, 11:53 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ May 9 2010, 11:57 AM)
amd six core aint bad.....of course major benchmark result show i7 win....but i bet 100% u din look at da i7 price tag.
i think they bench'd compared to the i7 920 which is the closest in price to the AMD. i7 still won.

but prices are known to fall after launch so the actual pricing competitor is still unknown.
Cubex01
post May 11 2010, 10:27 AM

528 posts

X6 still winning at multi tasking, rendering, converting, encoding..
But in gaming.. X6 is far away from i7.
And i5 750 performance is also a little bit hgiher than X6.

Btw if gaming isnt ur priority, then go for X6..
It has con and pro...
Silverfire
post May 11 2010, 11:09 AM

Cruxiaer
4,947 posts

QUOTE(Cubex01 @ May 11 2010, 10:27 AM)
X6 still winning at multi tasking, rendering, converting, encoding..
But in gaming.. X6 is far away from i7.
And i5 750 performance is also a little bit hgiher than X6.

Btw if gaming isnt ur priority, then go for X6..
It has con and pro...

Multi-tasking and rendering?
8tvt
post May 11 2010, 11:19 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

if less 5fps which already surpass 50fps by average.. won't give much different..

most important thing is no stuttering or instant fps dropping while gaming..
there's no point if can hit max fps but lagging in the split second..

like from 80fps to 35fps rather than 60fps to 40fps..
Silverfire
post May 11 2010, 11:26 AM

Cruxiaer
4,947 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ May 11 2010, 11:19 AM)
if less 5fps which already surpass 50fps by average.. won't give much different..

most important thing is no stuttering or instant fps dropping while gaming..
there's no point if can hit max fps but lagging in the split second..

like from 80fps to 35fps rather than 60fps to 40fps..

So this is meant for HD5870 or GTX470?
8tvt
post May 11 2010, 12:08 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

in game we need balance.. faster cpu to drive gpu..
no point if having the world's most faster cpu if just afford to buy an average gpu..

right now.. 3.5ghz multicore just enough.. and wait for latest game that can use them up.. like BF2..
http://www.guru3d.com/article/phenom-ii-x6...1090t-review/18

it's not multicore to be blamed.. just that why game not utilize them.. move on..

reviewers also still use old games.. lol..
i found alot of site bias on their thought..

but kudos to this to show the minimum fps..
http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews/cpu_mai...x_core_review/6
Silverfire
post May 11 2010, 12:17 PM

Cruxiaer
4,947 posts

Cannot utilise? Please read my previous post. This is getting ridiculous.

23 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0265sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:50 PM