AMD Phenom II X6, amd already started the shipping

AMDAthlon
post Mar 23 2010, 11:22 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

Yes it can..but need make sure your BIOS Support it or u may need to update it..

There's no Athlon II X6 and this processor arent target on Intel 980X..It will target lower-mid Core i7 models.

You want more models?Wait next year. ~.~
AMDAthlon
post Apr 2 2010, 03:14 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

QUOTE(Pandora1988 @ Mar 31 2010, 10:41 PM)
nah
amd released 6core almost more than a year on opteron
they dun release on desktop bcoz 4 core is more than enuf for games
wan 12 core lagi
i wonder wht game can support
12 core mean for workstation , tat why they release on server only
There will be Desktop Version 8-Core Processor which is next year(Bulldozer)

QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ Apr 2 2010, 01:55 PM)
thank god i didn't buy the i5 yet, at least if i buy this and bulldozer come out i can switch to bulldozer
I think bulldozer will use another socket.
Bulldozer does support AM3..Just like AM2+ proc can be used on AM2 but with some features disabled/lowered.
But Bulldozer wont be supporting DDR2/AM2+ socket anymore.
AMDAthlon
post Apr 10 2010, 10:44 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

QUOTE(subrok007 @ Apr 10 2010, 10:37 PM)
wow, phenom x6 only can fight with i7 920... 6 core vs 4 core... sweat.gif

i hoping this thurban 6 core can fight 980X.... both also 6 core physical but 980X with 12 thread... sweat.gif again...
Thats why you have to look the price point smile.gif

Be it AMD have 24 Cores while Intel 6 Cores but if the price are much cheaper than 6 Cores yet faster,who cares?
Just like 2 GPU VS 1 GPU doh.gif
Price/performance that matters..
AMDAthlon
post Apr 22 2010, 06:36 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

It is really good for normal users.

Think about only 1-5% on the world knows overclock which the rest dont.
It benefits alot actually smile.gif

AMDAthlon
post Apr 27 2010, 02:56 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

Its the superior architechture itself that make Intel processor step ahead.
We will see on Bulldozer instead.

Afterall this is really good budget processor(for AM2+ user or new user)
AMDAthlon
post May 9 2010, 12:00 AM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

QUOTE(selferino @ May 8 2010, 08:13 PM)
juz wait for the bulldozer/llano, then see if it can compete with nehalem in terms of performance. btw if im not mistaken the bulldozer/llano proc will still be in am3 socket right, according to their roadmap, correct me if im wrong..
Yes it is compatible with AM3.

Anyway,AMD Phenom II X6 were never meant to compete i7.At least,with Phenom II X6,old user can upgrade to X6 cheaply.
AMDAthlon
post May 9 2010, 12:37 AM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

It can on par with 8 series but not on 9 series.
I repeat,this is for budget user.
What proc u using now?
If from intel > amd i suggest no becos its waste - -

Its good for old AM2+ user or newer user want get new pc with cheaper price.

0.0231sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:44 AM