Panasonic Viera TV Fan Club V.1, Plasma, LCD & LED models.

greyshadow
post Mar 29 2010, 02:27 PM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

the price for plasma & lcd TVs are really dropping like no one's business thumbup.gif

thank god i just sold my X10 last month for 2.2k tongue.gif
else I'll be rugi sial after the launch of new model laugh.gif
and thank god again I didn't buy the S10 model at RM2500 last week on impulse tongue.gif
else i'll be hitting my head on the wall now laugh.gif

with the 42" X series can go down until RM2099 (without freebies of cos), then the S series should be around RM2.5k region thumbup.gif

greyshadow
post Mar 29 2010, 08:41 PM

1,844 posts

i'm interested to see how's the new viera cast perform too
too bad the X series doesn't have it
after X is C series?
I suspect the C series is the one with viera cast but only HD ready, as I remember I read somewhere there's going to be 2 lines of HD ready plasmas.

'09 models are C, X, S, G in sequence as in features & pricing

'10 model starts with X or C? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by greyshadow: Mar 29 2010, 08:41 PM
greyshadow
post Apr 13 2010, 04:33 PM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(YiQi @ Apr 9 2010, 10:09 AM)
Actually not difficult to choose:

X : Entry level. 42" 46" 50" available
A : X series + better sound system, but 42" only
U : Entry level FullHD. 46" & 50" only
V : FullHD NeoPDP panel. 42" & 50" only
VT: FullHD 3D NeoPDP. 50" & 65" only

So, just pick one suit you.... smile.gif
was looking for a 42" fullHD plasma, was hoping they'll bring in S20 series

but crap... no new S20 for M'sia market, V series will be too expensive for me I guess...

I guess I'll settle for the old S10 then, time to squeeze my supplier for cheaper S10 (last he quoted me 2.5k b4 the announcement of the new viera line) tongue.gif
greyshadow
post Apr 30 2010, 09:07 AM

1,844 posts

panny panny... seems like this time you've disappointed lots of your fans, me included doh.gif

bought the previous 2 gen of panny plasma, pv series & the x series
than i thought of upgrade to current gen of S fullHD series... mana tahu.. TARAK!!! doh.gif cry.gif

Panny!! I'm gonna defect camp already sad.gif

greyshadow
post Jun 23 2010, 10:42 AM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(Duncan Tee @ Jun 23 2010, 09:38 AM)
We 3 brothers, 2 of us bought V series, another one bought x series, and I the one using monster s video cable, the PQ getting around 25% better, while my brother who using V series ( normal astro cable) looks  not diff between X28 and 42V while watching astro, I am very pleased with the V series and want to upgrade to V50...........
My brother started to regret invest so much investing V20 and last nite 3 am he purposely come to view soccer in my tv....... .smile.gif
IMO, u won't see much differences between the two if you're watching astro only

somemore comparing S-video cable with normal composite cable, you can see the difference clearly, nothing to do with TV model

btw, Monster cable? why spend so much on a hyped overpriced cable? a cheap jalan pasar S-video cable will do the job nicely, and you'll harly see the differences

ask your brothers to change the cable to S-video at least, then they won't regret it already wink.gif
greyshadow
post Jul 16 2010, 10:59 AM

1,844 posts

A28 is just with the so called better audio
paying 1 or 2 hundred extra just for the better built-in audio I dun think it's worth it...

i'm getting a X28 too wink.gif
greyshadow
post Jul 16 2010, 03:16 PM

1,844 posts

Just obtained the 42" X28 price from Haw Electrical in Kuching
best price RM2150 cash, free delivery & Free Ori Panny HDMI cable

so far that's the best price I gotten in Kuching

Now pending home minister's approval for purchase tongue.gif
greyshadow
post Aug 30 2010, 11:13 AM

1,844 posts

just gotten my 42" X28 plasma yesterday for RM2050 including delivery, free panasonic HDMI cable and panasonic vacuum food container set
I add on RM250 for 3 years extended warranty, so total damage = RM2300

Bought from Haw Electronic @ 5th mile, Kuching

Cheapest Deal in Kuching already thumbup.gif anyone interested can go there look for Kenny. wink.gif
greyshadow
post Sep 7 2010, 12:13 PM

1,844 posts

after using my P42X28 for 1 week++, and comparing to my past 2 gen of Panny 42" plasma (PX70 & X10)
I would say I'm very disappointed with this latest gen of Panny HD-ready plasma TV

First, the audio sucks big time, even my 3 years old PX70 has better clarity than this X28, the best is still X10

Second, the panel... feels like its inferior to the X10, but slightly better than the PX70... I play X360 games mostly on all three, and i notice some "image retention" on the X28, especially on those scene with bright items then switched to a black/dark background, you still can see the white/grey spots on the dark/black background where the bright item used to be
most obvious when watching the credit of a movie/game
I don't notice these "defects" on my PX70 and X10

Third, I can set a user-define name for my AV inputs on X10, eg: HDMI1 as XBOX360, HDMI2 as PS3, these features are gone in the X28!! mad.gif

Fourth, less features comparing to X10, X10 can play AVCHD, X28 removed the feature

in Overall comparison, excluding price, I would rate X10 as top, PX70 as second, and X28 as the worst doh.gif

gonna get a Sony soundbar to replace the horrible build-in speaker

greyshadow
post Sep 8 2010, 09:07 AM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(PoorMan @ Sep 7 2010, 06:21 PM)
The V series speakers was also sub-standard by my reckoning. It sounded very tinny compared to the Philips Matchline CRT TV I had earlier. I suppose it is one feature they could cut cost on since the trend is that most people already have/are getting home theaters to match the awesome audio available in HD movies nowadays.

@greyshadow, just out of curiosity, mind sharing the buying price for the PX70, X10 and X28 respectively when you bought them? I'm just wondering if this was due to cost-cutting measures due to the  current competitive market. HDTVs are getting cheaper but the quality is going to the drains ...
PX70 around RM4.5k about 2.5 years ago
X10 around RM2788 with the free digicam about 1 year ago
X28 RM2050 less than 2 weeks ago
All Kuching price except X10 which i bought from Jusco Sunway during JCard Day

btw, X10 gave me 3 years warranty by default, X28 only gave me 2 years, but i bought extra 3 years warranty for RM250

Oh yeah... i feel the X28's screen is much more reflective compared to the x10 and PX70

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Sep 7 2010, 08:07 PM)
The PX70/X10 has inferior black levels compared to the X28. The X10 black levels rise quite quickly before 1000hrs. The X28 has improved black levels, has slower rising blacks and has no colour decoding error. All of them do not have great colour accuracy.

On the image retention, its not fair to compare a new plasma with one that has much more hours in it. When its new, the image retention is higher as it is driven harder, especially if u r running the dynamic mode or high contrast.
Ic ic... the sifu has spoken icon_rolleyes.gif
but I wasn't running it on dynamic or high contrast mode, i only use either the default normal or game mode

will wait n see after 1 or 2 weeks of usage, see if the image retention still haunt me or not wink.gif

0.0474sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:59 AM