REIT V2, Real Estate Investment Trust
Jordy
Sep 3 2010, 11:56 PM
Entrepreneur
QUOTE(sharesa @ Sep 3 2010, 11:45 PM) if new assets acquisition come with an existing tenant on long-term contract basis, i do not see why it should drag down the whole reit yield? This should be a positive development. sharesa, The current yield of ARREIT is 8.5%, while the yield for the new acquisitions is 7.25% for the first 3 years. This automatically drags down the yield.
Jordy
Sep 4 2010, 12:41 AM
Entrepreneur
QUOTE(sharesa @ Sep 4 2010, 12:08 AM) oh......? But I thought this 7.25% = approximately 19 million will then be divided by the number of units to get the yield? Not judging by only the yield percentage from the letting-out of building premises, isn't it?  270m X 7.25% = 19.5m rental sharesa, The yield is derived based on the purchase price of the properties, so in REITs term, we are getting what we paid for. QUOTE(constant @ Sep 4 2010, 12:15 AM) Hi Jordy, What about the leverage used? I think leverage increased to 40+% meaning they part finance through loans. This might make the new acquisition yield higher than 7.25%? Added on September 4, 2010, 12:24 amWhat I don't like is they issue new units to PKNS at MARKET price of rm0.88, not rm0.95. rm0.95 was the price they bought a smaller additional investment from ARB. should have issue at 0.95 also at least. Signs of incompetent management or something fishy? constant, As mentioned above, the yield is based on the purchase price. Which means that the source of funding is not important. The important issue here is the price these properties were bought and the rental they produce. It is not for the company to decide the price for the new shares. They will have to float it based on the 5-days market average, according to the guidelines for REITs. This post has been edited by Jordy: Sep 4 2010, 12:44 AM
Jordy
Sep 6 2010, 07:45 PM
Entrepreneur
AXREIT seems to be a tool for speculation now. Suddenly 1 lot traded for 2.15 during the first half, which boosted the price to 2.15. At this price, the yield at 7.44% seems to be pricey now. Is there going to be some good news coming out from AXREIT?
Jordy
Sep 7 2010, 07:18 PM
Entrepreneur
AXREIT up another 2 cents to 2.17. I wonder if this interest could be caused by the latest distribution
Jordy
Sep 7 2010, 11:57 PM
Entrepreneur
QUOTE(yok70 @ Sep 7 2010, 11:39 PM) fyi, I spotted a 1 batang push at the end of session on yesterday and today around 4:45pm. So, it's kind of a "fake" one, and people blind blind buying the upward price.  Well, we won't know who are the ones doing the dirty work, but all is good. If it keeps going up beyond 2.20, I will start selling.
Jordy
Sep 8 2010, 07:39 AM
Entrepreneur
QUOTE(yok70 @ Sep 8 2010, 01:43 AM) But i wanna buy below 2.08  yok70, Why buy so expensive? That price is almost fully valued. QUOTE(monkeyking @ Sep 8 2010, 02:40 AM)  Just read one of the readers comment in a blog.....  I quote.... ....UNQUOTE  What say you brothers & sister....your views please...thank you all.  Cheers to all....take care too on this festive days.  monkeyking, It is what we called private placement. The new shares were sold to selected institutional investors.
Jordy
Sep 8 2010, 08:13 PM
Entrepreneur
QUOTE(yok70 @ Sep 8 2010, 12:47 PM) I think what monkeyking said is to give it for FREE. Since the profit for each unit has been diluted because of increment of units, the company suppose to give for free to existing holders such as free BI or RI offers to shareholders on good performing ordinary stocks. And ya, I also quite piss off as so far I see ALL reits don't give free gifts to shareholders.  yok70, How to give shares for FREE? That is like throwing money into the river. Even bonus issue is not free, so how do the company give it out for free? Raising fund through private placement also does not necessarily mean dilution. The funds raised will be used to acquire new properties, which will add to the income. Also, I'm grateful enough that the REITs I buy provide me stable and high yield. What other gifts I need from REITs? If you want free gifts, then you should go for Genting, not REITs.
Jordy
Sep 11 2010, 12:14 AM
Entrepreneur
QUOTE(yok70 @ Sep 10 2010, 07:50 PM) Cheers guys, I think I've used the word FREE inaccurately. Sorry. What I actually mean was, when a company wants to increase their capital, they sometimes do BI. And when they increase unit of shares to increase capital, existing shareholder's shares will be diluted. And how they treat shareholders fairly is that they offer the same amount of extra units to the shareholders. ie. 1 on 1 BI ends up shareholders holding double of shares they used to have, so that the dilution of EPS does not affects their total profit from the shares they own. Now comes to the case of REITs. When they increase capital, they DON'T offer BI. So the EPS of existing shareholders' shares becomes diluted immediately. Of course, the new assets may provide more profit in the future, but at the moment, they may not too. For non-Reit companies, after they increase capital, they also use those extra capital to gain more income in the future too. But at the moment, they offer BI to their shareholders so that the profit of their owning shares remains the same. I hope this explanation is clear enough. Cheers.  ps: I used the word "FREE" because in chinese, they wrote something like this: 手套股建議以1送1比例派送1億5986萬6976紅股。"送" in English is " free gift". yok70, I think you have mistaken bonus issue with rights issue. Bonus issue does not increase the company's capital. It in fact reduces the company's capital as they are transferring their cash into stocks and distribute it back to the investors. Bonus issue does not increase the company's value, thus a bonus issue will only dilute the price of the stock and the EPS of the stock as the outstanding shares has increased. For rights issue, companies will sell rights to buy additional shares to existing shareholders to raise capital.
Jordy
Sep 20 2010, 07:36 PM
Entrepreneur
QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 20 2010, 11:14 AM) Good news for Atrium, DHL has renewed the lease expiring this month for another 4 years. cherroy, Thanks for the news. Now that ATRIUM has broken the 1.00 resistance, I hope to see it grow like AXREIT. By the way, could you please check the volume which was transacted at 2.20 for AXREIT? I hope it wasn't a 1 batang push.
Jordy
Oct 6 2010, 07:45 PM
Entrepreneur
QUOTE(JinXXX @ Oct 6 2010, 12:36 PM) to know whats right.. we need to know what you want to achieve .... all reit is right for purchase since its REIT  JinXXX, Your reply is very misleading. REIT doesn't mean it's right. And a person who wants to invest in REITs only have one goal in mind, which is for its dividends. One has to understand the portfolio of properties held by the REITs and have a little common sense in choosing the properties with greater growth. Do not choose for example, plantation REITs because the future of plantation is uncertain. Choose one with portfolio of properties with certain future.
Jordy
Oct 7 2010, 11:47 PM
Entrepreneur
QUOTE(JinXXX @ Oct 7 2010, 01:13 AM) yeah what i ment was for the dividend boss... well obviously if somebody wants to buy reit they should do at least "SOME" research right... if no, then i can only /facepalm/ and ahhhhhh...... JinXXX, You're talking about some common sense, but most newbies starting out has no common sense as illustrated by his question "my question is: how do I pick which REIT is right for me?". They want to be given a fish, not being taught how to fish. You get me?
Jordy
Oct 20 2010, 11:52 PM
Entrepreneur
QUOTE(whizzer @ Oct 20 2010, 11:25 PM) According http://mreit.reitdata.com, yield is around 7.31%. However, today's MBB report on QCAPITA, I saw that the projected STARREIT FY11 yield at 11.6%  Dunno how they project like that  whizzer, They projected based on today's price.
Jordy
Oct 21 2010, 10:29 PM
Entrepreneur
QUOTE(cherroy @ Oct 21 2010, 12:37 AM) Wow, they have the crystal ball! Which and which properties being injected is not yet known, they already can come out with some yield number? Even use back the old properties portfolio, I don't know how to find a 11% yield.  cherroy, Weren't analysts being paid to make us (the investors) happy with their forecasts?  QUOTE(yok70 @ Oct 21 2010, 05:24 PM) Axreit close 2.22! Yeah!  yok70, That is correct, the highest close yet. With such good quarterly results and revaluation, no wonder the price surged that much. The results indicate that they still owe us 0.95 cents in dividend (out of a 4 cents dividend). Doesn't sound bad at all, considering the enlarged UIC. Just for the record, 4 out of my 5 counters did extremely well today, giving me a paper gain of RM4,700 for today. I have not seen such a huge daily gain in my portfolio since 11 years ago. I am extremely satisfied
Jordy
Oct 21 2010, 11:40 PM
Entrepreneur
QUOTE(ronnie @ Oct 21 2010, 11:29 PM) Where can we find out which month each REIT's dividend payout within 1 year ? ronnie, Today's StarBiz with Ooi Kok Hwa.
Jordy
Oct 22 2010, 08:02 PM
Entrepreneur
QUOTE(yok70 @ Oct 22 2010, 01:38 PM) wow! RM4,700 for a day! congrats!! mind to share what's your capital? but don't worry if don't wish to tell lah.  yok70, Of course I can't reveal my capital, but thanks.
Jordy
Oct 29 2010, 08:39 PM
Entrepreneur
QUOTE(veilside2010 @ Oct 29 2010, 05:37 PM) Thanks for your long words explainaion !! Ok !1 I'll take out all my FD and sai lang all to REIT,,,,Is better than put in FD,,,, veilside2010, How are you going to sai lang in BJCORP and REITs? I keep seeing your posts in these 2 threads. You betul-betul want to buy kah?
Jordy
Nov 4 2010, 11:05 PM
Entrepreneur
Someone is playing with my AXREIT. Make me syok for awhile these 2 days seeing the price touching 2.30
Jordy
Nov 6 2010, 07:34 PM
Entrepreneur
QUOTE(zhi guo @ Nov 6 2010, 07:20 PM) The AmFirst announcement said ex-date is 16/11/10 and entitlement date is 19/11/10. Can please advice on the difference between ex-date and entitlement date? When must I buy to qualify and receive the dividends? Thank you very much. zhi guo, Ex-date.
Jordy
Nov 11 2010, 12:31 PM
Entrepreneur
QUOTE(tomatotomatomy @ Nov 11 2010, 12:15 PM) How do you get 10c DPU? Isn't it 4.81c for the first Q?  tomatotomatomy, 4.81 sen is for the H1. Cherroy is expecting more for H2, as always is the case.
Jordy
Nov 13 2010, 10:23 PM
Entrepreneur