HTPC V2, Home Theater PC Setup, HOWTO and Guides

paskal
post Oct 8 2010, 10:13 PM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(pap55 @ Oct 8 2010, 02:50 PM)
mind to share whats your current hardware config now? have issue with hdmi overscale within 10.8 to 10.9,
always reset to default everytime reboot. but no problem at 10.7 or below and solved at 10.9a hotfix.

any idea how you can see noise reduction and deblocking function in advance quality setting at hd5450?

EDIT:
I know nVidia driver much better compare to ATI but that time low end version geforce still lack HD audio bitstream passthrow and PQ, Vivid colour still not good as compire to radeon IMO, used geforce and radeon gpu playback divx,xvid,h264 video in my game ring pc before.
intel dual core e5300
gigabyte ep35-ds3r
2 gb ddr2 ram
a few hdd tongue.gif
ati hd5450
powerlogic 450w trupower

hdmi to pioneer avr to 50" plasma
playback using mediabrowser calling tmt3 plugin, lpcm decompression. no idea why noise reduction and deblocking is there, but it's there.

the screen is using just fit scale thus no need overscale (overscale set at 100%)

QUOTE(Riddhy @ Oct 8 2010, 04:16 PM)
so now nvidia low end is better right even for pq i dont need bit stream g210 ddr2 will it be good?

i am really surprised my old 8600m gt had vp2 and mobility 5650 had uvd2 still vp2 shines g 210 has vp4

i will not do post process or sharpening
i'm surprised nvidia didn't implement hd audio bitstream till the last few models. ati have demo mode where half screen have processing and another half no processing. i like the one with some post processing. but that's just me.

if you don't mind the lack of bitstreaming, by all means get the nvidia. as long as you're happy hehe
paskal
post Oct 9 2010, 12:24 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(pap55 @ Oct 8 2010, 10:36 PM)
wow, thanks your info.

still no luck for noise reduction and deblocking function apper, guess need reformat after ati release new catalyst.

your screen no need overscale for fix in your plasma display? cant see black square bar with 100% scale?
nope. just the screen.
if i use 16:9 ratio then yes i need to lower the overscan. but the fonts are messed up. not in any way sharp. like a failed, anti-aliased gone wrong biggrin.gif

'just fit' makes the font as sharp as an lcd monitor. and my eyes are telling me that movies are also sharper.
paskal
post Oct 9 2010, 07:02 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(pap55 @ Oct 9 2010, 02:00 AM)
can i have your catalyst setting? at desktop & display, desktop properties and video (all setting)

i need to tune for my panasonic 42" lcd tv

thanks  notworthy.gif
you're gonna have to wait. will only be back home mid next week.
paskal
post Oct 17 2010, 09:16 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Oct 17 2010, 12:23 AM)
Currently I'm using ReClock to solve the audio bitrate switching issue when playing different high bitrate PCM like 24 bit 96 kHz FLAC files via MPC-HC 32-bit. While it is still working but sometime it's intermittently not working (no sound)... is there a way to play the unmolested PCM via WASAPI without using ReClock ??
i still can't quite grasp the idea of this reclock. care to explain?
paskal
post Oct 17 2010, 09:58 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Oct 17 2010, 08:51 PM)
according to guru3d regarding GeForce GT430,

sos: http://www.guru3d.com/article/geforce-gt-430-review/4

this statement is also mentioned in other reviews of nvidia 4XX card such as the 460 too.

is this true? no HD audio bitstream yet on nvidia?
AFAIK bitstreaming over ndivia GC are still glitchy at the moment. read that some managed to make it work, with some quirk here and there.
paskal
post Oct 17 2010, 11:03 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Oct 17 2010, 10:16 PM)
As far as I know the main purpose of ReClock is to output the unmolested source video and audio out to the AVR without any modification of Windows Audio Management. It's main purpose is to sync the video sample rate as the original like e.g. 23.976, but seriously I have not really notice the difference with ReClock on and off on the video. But one of the feature that I like to use with ReClock is to output the high bitrate PCM audio like FLAC to the AVR directly untouchable via Windows low level component/driver called WASAPI, but after few days testing, sometimes it'll work and sometimes not.
high bitrate PCM as in multichannel FLAC inside MKV wrapper. hard to find such video utilizing such arrangement. if 2 channel FLAC (audio) are concerned, you might wanna try something like foobar2000 with WASAPI plugin.
paskal
post Oct 18 2010, 02:01 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Oct 18 2010, 12:04 PM)
Yeah foobar2000 works wonderfully on its own, is there a MCE plugin for it?
never searched for it. maybe you would wanna try xbmc as it supports WASAPI natively.
i'm happy enough with multiple programs for different usage. xbmc for mkv. foobar for music. mediabrowser for bd

though one could be configured for all function, each have their own advantages so i stick to multiple programs
paskal
post Oct 18 2010, 04:04 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(ShaolinTiger @ Oct 18 2010, 03:31 PM)
You can use the external program launcher in XBMC for different file types, that's what I do biggrin.gif
XBMC can't properly read BDMV folder information.
paskal
post Oct 19 2010, 01:16 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(ShaolinTiger @ Oct 18 2010, 04:13 PM)
quoted from the thread itself:

The main limitations of this implementation are
1. No "watched" flag being set.
2. Have to manually add your full bluray rips 1 at a time.
3. I haven't tested remote control compatibility at all so am not sure how you would exit from TMT using a remote instead of a mouse/keyboard.
mediabrowser with tmt3 plugin don't have all 3 problems. thus my reason to use mediabrowser for my bd collection.
paskal
post Oct 21 2010, 11:44 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(ne0c0n @ Oct 21 2010, 06:25 PM)
Hi all sifus,

I just went through this thread from the first page and i think this is the perfect time for me to build my own HTPC.
Currently i'm using old Yamaha RXV-2092 avr with 5.1 speakers set up which only capable of encoding the Dolby Digital sound.

what do you think about this spec?

Mobo ASUS P5K deluxe wifi
Proc Intel c2d E7400
RAM 3 GB 667mhz
GPU ATI 4850
HD 640GB
Cap ayam PSU 500w
Your comments and idea are much appreciated  smile.gif  smile.gif
1st and foremost, never (ever) skimp on power supply. especially when you're gonna be running the htpc for prolonged period of time.
if you don't have the budget for an uber expensive one, get a cheap trupower psu like the huntkey 450W selling for RM150 (or so) in garage sales. or issit RM120? can't remember.

i've used that cheap trupower psu for quite a while powering my 10 hdd without problem. won't consider trying such stunt with a cap ayam psu.
tho 10 hdd is the max that i would advice anyone (all 5400rpm) for that huntkey.

and 2nd, do consider ATI 5 series GC as those support hd bitstream. saves for an upgrade later on.

3rd, if you don't game on the htpc, you don't need high clockspeed. i myself am running e5300 and works fine with high bitrate bd (even with software decoding).

4th, again if you don't game on the htpc, 2gb is more than enough.
paskal
post Oct 22 2010, 09:47 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ Oct 22 2010, 09:16 PM)
psu is important:p you guys can consider seasonic x400/460 fanless about rm400 totally silent and gold rated :i think its ideal for htpc. tongue.gif
i've researched quite a bit for an upgrade. finally bought a used 560W silverstone st56 for RM150 (used by prev owner for about 9 month and still have more than 2 years warranty). comes with 6 SATA power and 6 IDE power. and 30A max rail for 5V (when others have a rating of only 24A for 5V).
fits my bill for lots of hdd support which required lots of power connector and beefy 12V and 5V rail.

though i would advice others to consider a modular PSU like the seasonic for RM300-ish. fanless PSU is more often than not too pricey for the spec that they deliver. and i doubt anyone would ever hear the PSU fan with all the bombs and guns exploding during the movie.

but hey it's just my opinion.
from someone running more than 10hdd in his htpc together with a dedicated GC, soundcard, 3 fans and stuck inside a wooden cabinet.
paskal
post Oct 22 2010, 11:01 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(peter32 @ Oct 22 2010, 10:41 PM)
I have the following ideas, some I have tried but some not, just to share the opinion:

1. Having HTPC to play music, the aim will be to minimise the no. of cpu accessories.  So the lesser the fan, the better.  I kind of like the idea of having fanless PSU, its my first time hearing this.  I think it should be considered.

2. Do consider fanless cpu design overall.  Less fan, less electronic interference, so better sound hopefully.  I know there are HTPC design with total fanless design, just google it.

3. Liquid cooling of the chip can be considered.  Its much more quieter than high speed fan cooling it seems. 

4. If you still want to have lesser cpu accessories to reduce electronic interference but still want to have fan in it, get a used cap ayam psu, short the blue and black cable from the power line, plug it with the power socket, and the psu is turned 'on'.  You can use this independent psu to power up any no. of fan as u want and place the fan anywhere in your cabinet as you pleased.  I have tried this and it works.  I actually use this sort of shortcut to power up my fans (total of 4 fans) in my diy project.
IMHO it wouldn't make much sense. the entire computer in itself are running on a switching power regulator. which most audiophile consider as the worst possible power source available (considering that some are running from SLA battery for a clean power).

some would want to separate the DC fan from their entire system and put it as far away as possible. some could hear the difference. i, on the other hand, could not. but that might be caused from my entry level speaker system hehe tongue.gif

i could not justify the complexity of doing such stunt. as the cost of going fanless is too high considering that media player with really good DAC are selling for well under RM500. they have no fan, running on a regulated power (audiophiler classify as better than switching PSU) and have no component emitting noisy RF inteference (like inside a computer case).
paskal
post Oct 23 2010, 07:41 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(ne0c0n @ Oct 23 2010, 12:47 AM)
@paskal, stan001

thanks for the advice

1. I will consider the truepower psu just like u advice. A 2ndhand/used one should be ok rite?

2. I forgot to mention that i re-use my old proc,mobo,RAM and GC to set up the HTPC. Oh, regarding the GC, i've already bought
a GTX460 last week.i thought the recent nvidia cards can handle the HD bitstream just like ati could do but i was wrong.. doh.gif

So i'll stick to my old ATI4850 before proceeding to another upgrade. sweat.gif
1. yes

2. i reckon ati 4 series GC could do multichannel LPCM passthrough. in essence, LPCM is just decoded HD audio streams. so if you don't really need the gaming capabilities of the newer cards, 4850 is enough to enjoy HD audio on your current system. and unlike HD audio -> analog -> multichannel analog input on the AVR -> speakers topology, LPCM is bit perfect representation of the HD audio (without intermediate conversion to analog signals).
get yourself something like TotalMedia Theater 3 Platinum, and set the TMT3 output Mix to Uncompressed LPCM. or configure MPC-HC to convert to LPCM (which is a whole lot harder to do than going TMT3)
paskal
post Oct 25 2010, 12:50 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(beetle_larvae @ Oct 25 2010, 10:35 AM)
u guys already try this player ? dunno la my eyes got prob or playing tricks on me but when playing movies,somehow the quality from my hd ready TV looks like LED TV from stores.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry37263001
in which i would really like to avoid haha
my eyes got problem watching those fake color from the LED tv operating in dynamic mode displayed on the shelves.

but alas, won't hurt to try. maybe i'll install it once i reach home tonight (if i'm not lazy hehe)
paskal
post Oct 27 2010, 11:28 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(xcen @ Oct 26 2010, 11:22 PM)
Do you all use HTPC solely for media purposes and another PC for internet and gaming?

I'm currently finding a solution where 1 single PC can do both at the same time. I wonder if a single PC can play a movie on a TV and do internet browsing or gaming on a LCD monitor.

Multi monitor setup, not too sure if there's a mode for separate controls.
yes you can. you can lock programs to display on which monitor.

QUOTE(minimize @ Oct 26 2010, 11:34 PM)
Anyone already try setup your HTPC to boot directly to XBMC using EventGhost Method?
It will make HTPC functions like an 'appliance'.
i used to. just put the xbmc shortcut in the startup folder inside start menu.
paskal
post Nov 8 2010, 12:29 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(minimize @ Nov 1 2010, 01:56 PM)
Instead of using linux, any method to make XBMC is automatically infront of windows taskbar when windows boot up?
seems that there's a few ways to correct this. the easiest should be from the automatically hide the taskbar settings, run xbmc with the '-fs' switch, start in remote (whatever that means) or use the startup delayer.
google turns up this with the first few result points to some suggestion.

i wouldn't know for sure as i don't use xbmc exclusively anymore.

QUOTE(ameeyn @ Nov 8 2010, 03:08 AM)
I want to build a new htpc but a bit confused with all the parts that I need to buy to build it so I'm thinking of buying the Dell Zino HD..
I really like the XBMC interface so will it be possible to install it on the Zino HD?
or is it a better choice to buils a htpc from the ground up?
my budget is RM1500 so can you guys give me the best specification for my htpc..
XBMC is a must for me in the HTPC

my main use will be:
-play all my movies (MK,AVI,ETC)
-music
-pictures
- I will not be using it as a bluray player
blink.gif
the thing with htpc is, there's no best solution as the spec could be tailored made to fit one's need. (nearly) any spec nowadays would be able to handle movies, music and pictures flawlessly.
if you have no technical knowhow to build a pc, you gonna problems building the htpc. in that case zino might be better. but if you're concerned about heat output, noisy fan, power usage and the such, a core i3 or nvidia ion with atom cpu might be better.

and if you're just not a technical guy and don't wanna burden yourself with the configuration (which could be quite complex), a media player like the dune might be just the thing for you.

QUOTE(echoesian @ Nov 8 2010, 08:00 AM)
Has anybody successfully configured ReClock to work with Intel Core i3?
thanks to you for bringing up ReClock to me, i'm now successfully using it on top of my tmt3, resampling all my movie track to 24bit/96kHz on the fly during playback.
SOUNDS ABSOLUTELY AWESOME compared to bitstreaming at 24bit/48kHz. much more detail with better accuracy/sound projection. and made the video playback super smooth. a whole lot smoother than ATI's enforce Cinema Smooth hardware implementation. never video playback have been this smooth on my system.

though i'm running on ATI 5450. will try it out on a friend's system (core i3) once i visit back his place.
paskal
post Nov 9 2010, 03:02 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(squall_12 @ Nov 9 2010, 01:44 PM)
any help guy?

if i were you, the first i'd do is to reinstall back the drivers (since you mention that it only goes haywire after installation of the drivers). remove all the drivers first then just install the graphics driver (and not the ATI Control Center, ATI HDMI audio driver and anything else). then install the hdmi audio drivers, then everything else one by one (reboot after each one). just to pinpoint which of the drivers that are making all the fuss.

could be that the resolution or the refresh rate incorrectly set. could be a lot of things.
paskal
post Nov 17 2010, 05:15 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(rlyp @ Nov 17 2010, 04:06 PM)
Hi all,

is there any HTPC casing (preferable with VFD display) able to fit a radeon 5xxx series VGA? , i tried with silverstone LC20, it doesnt fit...

please advice
i'm running hd5450 in my lc17. fit's just fine.

together with 13 hdd.
and an ATX mainboard. regular atx that is, not mini, not micro atx.
paskal
post Nov 17 2010, 08:16 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Nov 17 2010, 07:24 PM)
Inspiron 410 Zino HD the current version has 2 hardware options, I took the highest spec model come with ATI Radeon 5450 Graphics where DTS-MA and TrueHD can bitstream from optical out where it support 5.1 and HDMI pass thru where it support 7.1
you can't bitstream hd audio from optical out. well not multichannel hd audio anyway. there's not enough bandwith from an optical connection.

Well here is the answer
well that is an answer, but (no offence) not a correct one.

with all due respect, twtang are currently running an i3 and already posted what could be the best answer thus far regarding i3 decoding performance.

and from experience building and configuring a few htpc running on i3 (all bitstreams hd to an avr) i'm inclined to comment.
1. Usually i3 can handle with 2 core + 2 thread but for good HD video performance it is preferred to use a GPU which support h264 codec hardware acceleration you can look at Nvidia Ion or Ion 2 chipset alternatively you can look at Nvidio 210m or 310m but the gaming performance is so.. so..

2. Picture Quality should have no issue if you take Ion chipset Audio another hand it depends on your needs if you look for DTS-MA or Dolby TrueHD then... sadly NO as Ion only can take 5.1 perhaps Ion2 (I have not confirm this)
1. i3 does support dxva acceleration. if it's any important. else the i3 have enough processing power to software decode. and ati currently have the cheapest card that supports hardware acceleration and hd bitstream. forget about nvidia ion.

2. picture quality should have no issue if the cpu is capable enough to software decode. nvidia ion which are usually paired with atom cpu are rubbish in this sense. if should in any way hardware decoding are compromised, then ion gonna have a problem. IMO go with ion only if you want an absolutely lowest power consumption. core i3 with its 32nm architecture have a good compromise with power usage.
paskal
post Nov 17 2010, 10:01 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Nov 17 2010, 08:41 PM)
erm... fyi I'm using a Dell vostro 3400 which is a core i3 and it is pared with a nvidia 310 mobility and a intel build in graphics (Yes it is a hybrid platform)

for what I can tell yes i3 can handle Hi def video decoding performance look it is a 2 core + 2 thread but you will be running at 50%+ processing compared to a hardware accelerated GPU which reduce cpu processing to only 10% + -

also if you look at my Zino review you will notice a i3 runs slower compared to a AMD chipset but that is gaming... video do not take up that much power...

thats why I stated quite clearly Video : no issue at all
Audio another story... if you want DTS MA or True HD you need to look at a graphic card that support 7.1 passtrough
that's strange. i reckon an i3 would not hit 50% usage when decoding hd.
but since i don't have any i3 with me i'm gonna leave it to someone who does. IIRC (when i was assembling the i3), cpu usage only hit 25-30% when running software decode.

well maybe i'm wrong anyway.

QUOTE(nakata101 @ Nov 17 2010, 08:51 PM)
Your HD5450 is 64Bit one right???
dunno. well maybe. wait i'll search....

yeah it's 64bit with 512mb ram.

9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0446sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:57 PM