The Official HDPro Media Player Owner's Thread, All about the HDPro Media Player

helob
post Apr 18 2010, 01:18 PM

265 posts

Currently I am using Linksys WAG200G Wifi-G Modem/Router.
Streaming video is a problem when the distance (>15ft) with the USB WIFI Dougle sad.gif .
Network speed is as low as 165kbps so not able to stream video sweat.gif .
What is your recommendation(Brand/Model) for a good/reliable Wifi-N Modem/Router to go with the HDPro Wifi Dongle to stream HD video?
TQ
helob
post Apr 18 2010, 06:08 PM

265 posts

Need help to install BT , SAMBA, unicgi
On my HDPro (Rev B), system info show that Samba Server & BitTorrent NOT Install.
How do I install them without reformatting my internal HD?
What is the function of SAMBA/Samba Server?
TQ

helob
post Apr 20 2010, 12:27 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(freedman @ Apr 20 2010, 09:13 AM)
icon_question.gif  i have insatlled BT Samba into my HDPRo, but i dunno how to launch the program icon_question.gif

I am using win7 homegroup to share my files in network, i can see a \\WORKGROUP folder from HDPro Browse > NET
But system keep asking me for Net ID & Password, where can i find the Net ID to login??
I can check the homegroup password from my win7 homegroup option, but there dun have any ID stated there, where should i get it??  cry.gif
i am really newbie to all this, appreciate ur help 
notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
I encountered the same problem. In browser, I have the \\WORKGROUP folder under NET.
> ask for NET ID & Net Password.
How and where to get NET ID & NET Password?
Its NOT in the manual and the manual does not reflect what is on the remote or onscreen display.

yangxi,
Care to give us a hand on our problems?
TQ

helob
post Apr 21 2010, 11:07 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(freedman @ Apr 21 2010, 09:34 PM)
have talk to yangxi just now, he is helpful still.  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

Yangxi, appreciate that if you could provide a better after sale service here.

[color=blue]I have to admit that HDPro is a nice product, but a more user friendly guide is very helpful to newbie.[/size]

I have check and comfirm my firmware version is 31-Mar-2010. I din flash with any other version after i have received the player from you. There are no "Yougu" & "Search Video" available in my Web service option. Kindly response. Thanx so much.

I totally agreed with freedman that Yangxi should provide better after sales service.
HDPro is an excellent player for its price. It has many good features but the problem is configuring them. The manual that come with the player is not very helpful as it does not go through the detail steps with illustration of how to configure the available features. Also some of the items mentioned are not reflective of the actual part e.g Remote Control buttons.
As someone suggested earlier, Yangxi should set up a blog to provide a guide on "How to ......" with detail steps and pictures and downloads for all the updates and applications.
I do hope that Yangxi take on this challenge to help his current and future customers.

Added on April 21, 2010, 11:16 pm
QUOTE(tch01 @ Apr 21 2010, 09:39 AM)
I am not sure if this help because I am using winxp and my media player is H16 but running HD-Pro firmware. The NET ID is actually the username for windows login and NET Password is the windows login password.

In my winxp I am not using simple sharing so I need to create a new user account for my H16 to access windows share folder. So I create a username:H16 and password: H16 on my windows and allow permission access to the share folder to H16 user.

Then my H16 media player could open the share folder using NET ID:H16 and NET Password:H16.

Tips:

Make sure BT and Samba is running.

Check System Info in HD-Pro and see if BT and Samba is running.

From Internet Explorer type in your HD-Pro IP address and you will see the BT Web interface. This means BT is running.

I think it is better to check if your samba server is running, you could try to open HD-Pro share folder by typing
\\your_hd_pro_ip_address\ in your window explorer. If you see the folder of HD-Pro then samba is working.

Hope this helps.
tch01,
Really appreciate your time and effort to help us out thumbup.gif .
Didn't realize that NET ID/Password are actually windows login username/password. This should be make clear in the manual.
On my WinXP, I tried what you suggested in /My shortcuts/ and it works rclxms.gif .
Thanks again for your help.

This post has been edited by helob: Apr 21 2010, 11:16 PM
helob
post Apr 23 2010, 09:54 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(freedman @ Apr 22 2010, 04:25 PM)
Found the BT SAMBA HOW TO from other site, hope it's helpful  tongue.gif

BT SAMBA HOW TO
Install BT_SAMBA
The Player is a system, it consist of operating system (Linux+AP) and application software (BT_SAMBA).
The operating system install in the internal flash; and application software will install on HDD of Media Player.
Ready for installation
Please save the relatively of BT_SAMBA files in USB Device, and insert the USB device in the Media Player first. The files are:
- btpd_0.0.1_mipsel.ipk
- samba_3.0.23c_mipsel.ipk
- unicgi_0.0.1_mipsel.ipk

HDD FORMAT
If you want to use install BT/Samba application, you must use Player’s format tool to format your HDD disk.
When you insert a Hard disc on the system at the first time, you can press into Setup menu and select HDD Format to Format HDD.
When Format completed, the box need to do restart, then begin to install BT/Samba.

Attention:
1) All data on HDD will be lost after format, So , pls. must backup your data firstly.
2) Don’t connect the two HDD into the box, otherwise, you may select the wrong way to format to cause the data lost.

Install BT/Samba Extension
Plug in the USB disk into player’s USB host port, and then navigate to setup page--system---system upgrade---Extension Package Upgrade, Press OK to start the install Bt/Samba, which will install these one by one:
- Btpd
- Samba
- Unicgi

Note:
If you find the install is fail,Please check:
i) If USB device insert the Player and if the install file is correct in the USB device.
ii)The player was shut down during install

Launch Bittorent
Launch IE or any web bowser from your pc, key in http://<media player ip address>/

At Home page, the “Neighbor web” will display Player’s status and storage device.

Bit Torrent Download
At Home page, Select “BitTorrent Download” into download interface.

At “add new torrent” page, click “Browser”button to choose torrent file path from local PC.

When you select a torrent file, press “Open” button to add.

Next , click “Yes” to confirm your select file. When select “Yes”, the page will display “Loading” before back download page.

1) Click “start” to begin download

Click every torrent file name, at the bottom of page will display the torrent file information.   And you can double click every file, when the left of little frame display, it means the files be choose. Then you can operate to select “start” ,”stop” ,”delete” ,”Refresh” and sort order “up”  and “down”.
freedman,
TQ for sharing.
As a minimum, yangxi should at least provide an up-to-date manual that is reflective of the current HDPro (Rev.B)

Added on April 23, 2010, 10:03 am
QUOTE(yangxi @ Apr 22 2010, 12:45 AM)
for more info (Realtek 1073DD player). can refer .ACryan...  haha

http://www.acryan.com/forums/viewforum.php...917991609ef8f91
my sales getting increase ...  might can't handle all customer support.  blush.gif  (1 man business)
yangxi,
Its too shortsight to just sell!!sell!!!sell!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and not provide after sales service. Your business will suffer longer term.
If we follow the acryan forum how-to and it break our HDPro, are you willing to help us to repair?
Why don't you ask your supplier to host a forum something along the same line as acryan for HDPro to help your customers?
This will help your business too!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This post has been edited by helob: Apr 23 2010, 10:03 AM
helob
post Apr 23 2010, 03:11 PM

265 posts

yangxi,
Is our HDPRO (Rev. B) the same as HDPRO-S in http://www.datage.com.cn/product/det/id/42.
If so, can we used their latest Firmware: YG_Mar 24 2010 at http://www.datage.com.cn/down
helob
post Apr 30 2010, 01:26 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(slumberjer @ Apr 29 2010, 09:39 AM)
Received yesterday and tested during the night. I'm eager to test the wifi Net streaming ability but at first I'm having difficulties with the WEP authentication. Everytime I put the WEP security password my HDPro was unable to connect to the network. Then finally I removed the WEP security of my wifi and it work. I dunno why it cannot authenticate my wifi WEP.!!! 

Ok my wifi is upstairs and my HDpro is downstairs. The signal strength I've got only at 50-60% but the streaming was flawless. I stream a mkv file with the size of 160MB for 54minutes video and here is the result.

But then when I try to use the subtitle, the stream video lag very bad. I dunno why maybe the network speed becomes bad. Yet to test again since one of the main reason I buy HDpro is the ability to stream video from my computer to my TV.

Later then I install my WD 200GB sata drive. Formatted using the internal format system.  No problem at all. Copying from the wifi network is a bad idea. Better off with usb transfer. I've tried to transfer 1.3GB of files to the internal HD and it takes like forever.

Will test more features later.
Did you plug your USB Wifi Dongle direct to the HDPro port?
Don't. Use the USB extension cable provided.
This will help to improve the network speed.
Let us know whether this help.
helob
post May 24 2010, 10:06 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(yangxi @ May 24 2010, 09:30 PM)
Can download from http://ul.to/c056p0 but slower than a snail (<10kBps).
www.4shared.com is so much faster (130-140kBps).
Take your pick.

helob
post May 26 2010, 10:55 PM

265 posts

I just formatted and install BT/Samba on a new HDD on my HDPro .
How do I add/create new folder and subfolder under the main directory?
Didn't see any add folder feature under copy file menu.
TQ
helob
post Jun 14 2010, 01:20 PM

265 posts

Subtitle NOT showing with this MKV file playing with with HDPro

Media Info.

General
Complete name : H:\uTorrent\District.9.2009.1080p.Blu-Ray.DTS.x264-WiKi\District.9.2009.1080p.BluRay.DTS.x264-WiKi.mkv
Format : Matroska
File size : 8.74 GiB
Duration : 1h 52mn
Overall bit rate : 11.2 Mbps
Encoded date : UTC 2009-11-13 05:56:45
Writing application : mkvmerge v2.9.8 ('C'est le bon') built on Aug 13 2009 12:49:06
Writing library : libebml v0.7.7 + libmatroska v0.8.1

Video
ID : 1
Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : High@L4.1
Format settings, CABAC : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames : 4 frames
Muxing mode : Container profile=Unknown@4.1
Codec ID : V_MPEG4/ISO/AVC
Bit rate : 9 450 Kbps
Width : 1 920 pixels
Height : 1 038 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 1.850
Frame rate : 23.976 fps
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
Bit depth : 8 bits
Scan type : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.198
Stream size : 7.24 GiB (83%)
Title : Video: x264_L4.1 @ 9450 Kbps
Writing library : x264 core 68 r1184M 88b35c2
Encoding settings : cabac=1 / ref=4 / deblock=1:-3:-3 / analyse=0x3:0x113 / me=umh / subme=9 / psy_rd=1.0:0.0 / mixed_ref=1 / me_range=32 / chroma_me=1 / trellis=2 / 8x8dct=1 / cqm=0 / deadzone=21,11 / chroma_qp_offset=-4 / threads=12 / nr=0 / decimate=1 / mbaff=0 / bframes=6 / b_pyramid=1 / b_adapt=2 / b_bias=0 / direct=1 / wpredb=1 / keyint=250 / keyint_min=25 / scenecut=40 / rc=2pass / bitrate=9450 / ratetol=1.0 / qcomp=0.60 / qpmin=10 / qpmax=51 / qpstep=4 / cplxblur=20.0 / qblur=0.5 / vbv_maxrate=50000 / vbv_bufsize=50000 / ip_ratio=1.40 / pb_ratio=1.30 / aq=1:0.90
Language : English

Audio #1
ID : 2
Format : DTS
Format/Info : Digital Theater Systems
Codec ID : A_DTS
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 1 510 Kbps
Channel(s) : 6 channels
Channel positions : Front: L C R, Side: L R, LFE
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Bit depth : 24 bits
Stream size : 1.18 GiB (14%)
Title : Audio: English DTS 5.1 @ 1.5 Mbps

Audio #2
ID : 3
Format : AC-3
Format/Info : Audio Coding 3
Format profile : Dolby Digital
Mode extension : CM (complete main)
Codec ID : A_AC3
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 192 Kbps
Channel(s) : 2 channels
Channel positions : Front: L R
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Stream size : 154 MiB (2%)
Title : Commentary: English Dolby Digital 2.0 @ 192 Kbps

Text #1
ID : 4
Format : UTF-8
Codec ID : S_TEXT/UTF8
Codec ID/Info : UTF-8 Plain Text
Title : English

Text #2
ID : 5
Title : Chinese Simplified
Language : Chinese

Text #3
ID : 6
Title : English for Commentary

No subtitle problem playing with VLC player on PC.
Tried adding SRT subtitle file with same name as mkv file but no joy.
Have checked and confirmed that SRT and MKV file have same name.

Any help and advise on how to turn on the embedded subtitle with HDPro will be much apprecaited.

helob
post Jun 27 2010, 04:29 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(PoorMan @ Jun 27 2010, 01:34 PM)
yangxi,

Question regarding firmware upgrade. I've done the May FW upgrade. In the May FW update, it has a "package_MP" folder.

So, for the Jun FW update, I notice there's no package_MP folder. Do I still retain the folder in the USB thumb drive and replace the "install.img" file with the Jun "install.img"?

Do I also need to take out the hard disk before upgrading to Jun FW?
I thought the newest FW is May 13 2010. Where did you get the Jun FW?
TQ
helob
post Jun 28 2010, 11:28 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(yangxi @ Jun 27 2010, 04:43 PM)
http://www.4shared.com/file/PRKcUn7w/Hdpro_20100617.html

login: yangxi

now can decode TRUEHD . ^.^
May FW can also decode TRUEHD.
What are the new features in Jun FW.
Pls provide change list.
Anyone has installed Jun FW?
Pls share your experience (Good , Bad or Indifference?)
TQ
helob
post Jul 5 2010, 12:08 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Jul 4 2010, 11:01 PM)
for coaxial digital audio, you can use any 75Ω coaxial cable such as RG-6 cable used in astro, even the RCA cable, you do not need to buy RM170 cable brows.gif
Are there any significant difference on the sound quality on using ordinary RCA cable vs 75 ohm coaxial vs expensive (>RM100) coaxial audio cable.
If so, what are the diferences?
TQ
helob
post Jul 6 2010, 02:43 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Jul 5 2010, 12:23 PM)
RCA cables:

Coaxial cables
As you can see, the difference is shielding...signals from Digital Audio is prone to interference...thats why they use Coaxial or toslinks.
It can also handle more energy than those pasar malam RCA cables for optimum digital transfer.

Difference between normal coaxial RG6U Vs a Monster coaxial RM100 one is the material they used, branding and how many shielding it has.
I once DIY a triple shielding Coaxial, but later found out, a single shield was good enough.
For DIY: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1209686

I swear by Coaxial cables over RCA cause I have experience of major interference cause i need to bundle up my cable due to space constrain.
azbro,
Tks a million for the useful info.
I will try the normal coaxial RG6U(leftover from Astro). What RCA connector do you recommend? Is gold plated connector necessary?
TQ
helob
post Jul 10 2010, 11:03 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(Ryuluvlia @ Jul 9 2010, 03:20 PM)
Hi all owner of HDPro,

Does anyone encounter this problem??
After switch off the hdpro and switch it back on, the hdd and wifi were not detected. I have to unplug the power and plug back so the player can find the wifi and hdd.
Anyone know how to solve this prob?

thx
Which FW ver are you using?
Try to update to the latest Jun ver.
Let us know whether this help.
helob
post Jul 31 2010, 03:30 PM

265 posts

Help.
Running FW YG Jun 17 2010 on HDPro.
Can no play Youtube video. Problem:"Can not play this media"
Anyone experience similar problem playin Youtube video.
Any help will be much apprciated.

helob
post Aug 1 2010, 11:49 PM

265 posts

WD has just started selling Advanced Format PC Internal drive like the 640GB WD6400AARS. ( cluster size is 4KB vs 512B conventional)
For full performance, it must either set jumpers 7-8 or use WD align software for Windows XP. Some claim that it affect perform on Linux too.
Do you know whether this will affect performance if use in HDPro as internal HD?
Anyone has experience on above, pls share.
TQ

This post has been edited by helob: Aug 1 2010, 11:49 PM
helob
post Aug 2 2010, 05:28 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(andyz @ Aug 2 2010, 04:39 PM)
From my experience with WD 2TB Advance format hard drive ..
before installing to HDPro I usually use western digital WDAlign software to convert the hard drive into conventional cluster size...(so no need to use jumpers)

No problem so far ... (Done a few already)
So you are saying that we need to install the WDAlign software.
Have you tried without installing WDAlign software?
I asked because I have used the Advanced format disk without the WDAlign software and everything is working normal.
Why didn't you use jumper Pin7-8 ?
TQ
helob
post Aug 10 2010, 11:18 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(yangxi @ Aug 9 2010, 11:37 PM)
Hdpro+/Hdpro Mini  5/8/2010

http://www.4shared.com/file/cBFg-iDk/Hdpro...00805_beta.html
-add support APE lossless audio+ Cue list 

*word first support this  blush.gif
Have you tested this beta on HDPro? Is it stable?

helob
post Sep 17 2010, 11:06 AM

265 posts

I have the HDPro for a while now.
I am trying to increase the volume but the max it will go is +31.
I did not see any config for max volume.
Is that anyway of increasing more than +31?
TQ

0.0431sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:36 AM