DFI nF3/4 series (LP and Infinity) users come in, Overclocking ability and troubleshooting

sniper69
post Jan 6 2007, 10:04 AM

.: One Shot One Kill :. .+|Level 9 Type Shit|+.
7,173 posts

doh.gif...your UCCC @2-2-2-5? try loosen it, i found it stable at loosest timing (3-4-4-8) and hit 533MHz (using Kingston KVR (Samsung UCCC Chip). set vDIMM @2.8vDIMM while vCORE at stock...1.5vCORE is way too much for such at that speed. for HTT, do make sure it's below 1GHz. even mine set at HTT x1...
sniper69
post Jan 6 2007, 02:07 PM

7,173 posts

QUOTE(ashraful @ Jan 6 2007, 02:01 PM)
thnx guys. just now i put both of my rams on orange slots and now it's already on dual channel... but then, i try to oc my cpu, again i can only reach 255Mhz, sometimes my comp will hang/ auto restart. laugh.gif

i haven't tried to increase my Vdimm yet, but i'll try. neway, i thougth when we want to oc our cpu we have to make the divider 2/3 right? and at the same time do we have to change the timing?? thnx!~!! laugh.gif notworthy.gif
i think you RAM can't go at that speed (255MHz), have you try divider? limit the RAM to maintain 200MHz and see how far your CPU can go...usually, i set my RAM divider to 100MHz and try hit as max as i can to my CPU smile.gif
sniper69
post Feb 3 2007, 04:15 PM

7,173 posts

hy guys...
i have this strange (i think tongue.gif) problem...i used to run daily 320x9 @1:1, but now, seems like it'll BSOD from time to time, until now, i have to use stock (no overclock already). my system specs is...

Enermax FMA 350W
DFI LanParty nForce4 SLI-DR
AMD64 Athlon 3000+ @2.88GHz @1.4vCORE
2x512MB Team eXtreme PC4800 @DDR640 3-4-4-8 @2.8vDIMM
3xHDD, 1xODD

the Q is, what is exactly the problem is? the RAM is faulty? i tried on my bro's system, it running well, with or without overclock, CPU? also, tested and running well, Prime95 for about 5 hrs until i have to stop it (playing games tongue.gif), HDD? i tried use single HDD, other new HDD, the old HDD, all same, it'll BSOD, a friend of mine suspected my video card is the culprit, so i swapped with my brother's card, same...BSOD too sad.gif, PSU? yeah i know, 350W is really low, but i even tried run on very basic setup, 1x512MB of RAM, 1xHDD, my bro's video card and mine (testing) still the same, BSOD... -- this is really confusing me about what happened and what have i done to my system

currently, i can't overclock it, even at 250, 275, 300 or my last best setup, 320, it'll load to windows, it'll BSOD right just after that...

from my opinion, it could be my PSU due to overstress from time to time and thinking in getting a 500W Silverstone Element series...or should i get Enermax FMA 535W?
sniper69
post Feb 3 2007, 07:38 PM

7,173 posts

QUOTE(gsan @ Feb 3 2007, 06:41 PM)
not sure about your problem, but I noticed that 2.88GHz @ 1.4v only... what a strong Venice.... rclxms.gif  btw, what's the highest speed of this baby?
yes...this Venice E6 could go up to 3.GHz @1.4vCORE (bootable to windows) but failed on all stress test even not cannot complete SuperPI 1M tongue.gif, tried raising the vCORE also, not ghelp much...anyway, from what i know, this is (i thinkla), due to my 350W, not enough for long-term run, it's like running 350W on 350W PSU maximum output compared to 350W on 550W PSU, hope you guys get what i meant...

Added on February 3, 2007, 8:16 pmlaugh.gif, my RAM could do DDR650 @3-4-4-8 @2.8vDIMM, pass 110+ in Memtest #6, but failed on Prime95...wtf doh.gif

This post has been edited by sniper69: Feb 3 2007, 08:16 PM
sniper69
post Feb 5 2007, 08:34 PM

7,173 posts

QUOTE(Westley @ Feb 5 2007, 06:46 PM)
some question about ur psu, is it atx 24pin?
does it support 8pin 12v?

for the systems, what exactly cooling u use on the ram? also cpu?
8-pin is available on Expert, not plain SLI-DR, anyway, yes, the PSU is 20+4 pin, and been used overclocked system for about 6 months already.

for cooling, i've got Vantec Spectrum 9mm direct blow to the RAM and use ThermalTake BigTyphoon Cooler as well...

Added on February 6, 2007, 8:34 amthis is my prime screen shots - it appears, my CPU got no problem as well as my PSU (software reading tongue.gif)

user posted image user posted image

1st pix, priming, 2nd is primed, as for my 2nd CPUz pix, i have to run on memory divider, it's DDR400 (stock with tweaked timing @2-3-2-6 @2.8vDIMM) -- it's like i can't overclock RAM anymore doh.gif

This post has been edited by sniper69: Feb 6 2007, 08:34 AM
sniper69
post Feb 6 2007, 03:52 PM

7,173 posts

QUOTE(Westley @ Feb 6 2007, 03:46 PM)
try dropping the voltage, tuning on ds/dds.

@gsan.
now running micron 4x1gb, the feeling is, wow!
you meant dropping vDIMM? did that, at stock (untouch - BIOS setup) @2.6, 2.7 (both BSOD), 2.8 ok, DS/DDS? what's that...doh.gif blush.gif

whoah, 4GB of RAM, now that's what i dream about, 4GB of RAM, i would go for wider space rather than overclock to the max tongue.gif
sniper69
post Feb 6 2007, 06:50 PM

7,173 posts

QUOTE(Westley @ Feb 6 2007, 05:51 PM)
when u get 4gb, and get a LP SLi-Expert+Opty 146.
u can't escape from that devil inside brows.gif , and u'll go OC.
the vram drop so terrible. 2.71v in bios only shows 2.60v, windows, 2.58v. doh.gif

DS/DDS = data strength/data drive strength.
2.8 ok, but 2.8 is actually 2.7x izzit?
try reset all to auto timing, the go for 275mhz 2.5-4-4-7 1st.

last question, why not u suspect ur mobo faulty?
whoah...brows.gif

anyway, set at 2.8, detected in BIOS 2.87, windows, 2.83
DS/DDS - hmm.gif, havent done it before, will try it tonight...auto timing? done too, same, it seems like i can't go in 1:1 doh.gif

mobo faulty?
pretty confusing, currently already 47hrs uptime overclocked too, no BSOD and very stable, done the primer too... if indeed faulty, it could be in doom now...
sniper69
post Feb 6 2007, 11:05 PM

7,173 posts

QUOTE(Westley @ Feb 6 2007, 10:39 PM)
well i'm facing some problems, but nobody here have experience.
now running 4x1gb @ 200mhz, all default.
my sli-expert get an unexpected vdrop for vdimm, set 2.66v@bios.
but, boot in windows is 2.60v, is quite acceptable.
once run sp2004, drop to 2.53! and get error doh.gif
if that, i think is about your PSU la...icon_idea.gif
sniper69
post Feb 11 2007, 12:27 AM

7,173 posts

hey guys...
regarding my problem that can't pass in primetest at DDR660 (well, i used to run in this set before this), i think it's my motherboard...not my PSU though, because change the PSU (SilverStone ST56ZF), still the same...
sniper69
post Feb 12 2007, 03:52 PM

7,173 posts

QUOTE(gsan @ Feb 11 2007, 01:10 PM)
now the ram can run ddr400 1:1 ?
not 1:1, but yes, at DDR405 to be exactly since i'm on memory divider, CPU clock at 2.835GHz while RAM's clocked at DDR405 @2-3-2-6 2.8vDIMM

QUOTE(sempronic @ Feb 11 2007, 06:58 PM)
i think he already say still cannot ar....
have try the team Xtreem to another mobo?
if yes then it is mobo problem ar... brows.gif
as i know u dont have problem running at DDR660 before right?
i tried, it runs perfect under other mobo lo...pening lalat sudah...
sniper69
post Feb 12 2007, 07:48 PM

7,173 posts

QUOTE(gsan @ Feb 12 2007, 07:34 PM)
mobo start acting weird... can take to rma liao...
doh.gif, the problem is...i bought this from one of our forummer, he's a Johorean and it's like what, almost 10 months woor till now...i hope still warranty...anyway, that (acting weird) can happen? hmm.gif...
sniper69
post Feb 12 2007, 08:16 PM

7,173 posts

tried to call him/sms him but failed, anyway...no receipt, no RMA right...sad.gif...actually he bought it from Singapore...
sniper69
post Mar 27 2007, 06:23 AM

7,173 posts

QUOTE(Masai_syoo @ Mar 27 2007, 04:17 AM)
can somebody help me?

i oc my rig to 2.6x10@260fsb..
ram ddr520@2.5-3-3-6
vcore 1.66
vdimm 2.95

i bought this mobo and proc from sempronic.. his innitial settings were:
fsb315...DDR600
multi: 8x
ldt: 3.0x
vcore 1.45
vdimm2.8..

how do i maximize my Rig in oc ability? have any of u guyz use the same rig config?

x2 3800+ toledo sockt939 def 2.0ghz
Dfi Lp ut nf4 sli-d
asus 7800gt 256mb
tt bigwater..
acbel 400wtt psu
hmm.gif, what's your problem actually? maximising OC-ing ability? i think your PSU already limit your overclocking adventure...ACBel 400W on DFI? doh.gif shakehead.gif, i've test mine on ACBel 450W, can't even go past 250MHz FSB...
sniper69
post Apr 6 2007, 07:25 PM

7,173 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Apr 6 2007, 07:05 PM)
Need some help here.Can anyone show me which setting i should see if i wanted to change my Command Rate for my Ram?I went into the DRAM setting but cant see a setting called Command Rate there.I am using CFX3200 DR
FYI, Command Rate also known as Command Per Clock icon_idea.gif, you should be abe found it in DRAM setting smile.gif
sniper69
post Apr 7 2007, 12:37 AM

7,173 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Apr 7 2007, 12:26 AM)
Yes, i found that setting just now in the DRAM setting but all i can do is set it to AUTO, ENABLE, DISABLE.Nothing else though..So, how could i change my current 2T timing to 1T?
you should set it to ENABLE, if AUTO; it's preset at DISABLE means your system will be running on 2T instead of 1T smile.gif
sniper69
post Apr 7 2007, 09:43 AM

7,173 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Apr 7 2007, 08:45 AM)
IC..Just tried it and my PC did not show any response.I enabled it, save the setting and then the monitor went blank.No response after that making me needed to reset my CMOS.Any idea what happen?

And wondering, what is the main purpose of the led in this board?I just prompt some numbers which i dont really understand.

might because of imcompatibility with your RAM and DFI? FYI DFI's Mobo is very picky, i tried mine on Corsair XMS, Kingston KVR...unstable all the time doh.gif shakehead.gif

that thing? it's for debug, you should be able to see the explaination on user manual, unlike mine (SLI-DR), using LED indicating what's going wrong on my mobo smile.gif

0.0435sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:41 AM