HTC Legend, -Aluminium Unibody Construciton-

zc_squash
post May 19 2010, 10:20 AM

1,149 posts

QUOTE(d3m0n @ May 19 2010, 10:08 AM)
My v2.2 is working just fine. No error whatsoever. Live wallpaper + SenseUI working. Nope, all apps are now installed into SD.
Can someone please post up the custom ROM UI/UX video? biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

EDIT: Oh wait, almost forgotten this one really important question. How to restore back to the original firmware? Sorry, switched from the iPhone after some 3 years. Loads to learn.

This post has been edited by zc_squash: May 19 2010, 10:36 AM
zc_squash
post May 19 2010, 11:04 PM

1,149 posts

QUOTE(072 @ May 19 2010, 08:35 PM)
Im thinking of getting the Legend, but torn between this and the iPhone. How do you feel about the Legend compared to the iPhone?
I must say the biggest thing I miss about the iPhone is the apps and the iPod. The stock music player on the Android is rather unpolished, but the good news is there are plenty of alternative players out there for download.

Other than that, I think I'm enjoying every bit of freedom Android is giving me. Now gotta find a way to flash it to the custom ROM biggrin.gif

Speaking of which, how to restore back to the original firmware. Can anyone please help?
zc_squash
post May 19 2010, 11:50 PM

1,149 posts

QUOTE(delphiniumo @ May 19 2010, 11:39 PM)
I was about to ask the same question. Haha..
Most likely we need to get the stock ROM from HTC? No?

Now that I already flashed it with custom ROM I think this phone will stay with longer than my previous phone so I guess I won't be reverting to the stock one.
LOL Hopefully someone knows. I'd be more comfortable if I could switch back to the original firmware anytime I want. Especially if I'm unfortunate enough to need to send the phone for warranty.

As for now, I'm still reading up on how to root the Legend.

Oh, one question - Does the phonebook app in Rodriguezstyle's custom ROM able to pull photos from Facebook? It's the same phonebook app found on the Nexus One isn't it?

And how does the Live Wallpaper perform on the Legend? And lags? But pretty sure it'll drain the battery even quicker now.
zc_squash
post May 20 2010, 12:27 AM

1,149 posts

QUOTE(delphiniumo @ May 20 2010, 12:16 AM)
Now that you mentioned about sending for warranty claim, it just hit me. It didn't occur to me probably because I was so sure that this phone is built like a tank and there's no need to claim warranty. haha.. how silly. Ok time to search for stock ROM now, shall we?

Regarding the phonebook, I have synced all my contacts to Gmail. So everytime I flash the phone, I save the hassle of getting my contacts back to the phone because as soon as you're connected and signed in to Gmail from the phone, it will sync all your contacts back to the phone, with their photos of course.

I'm not sure about it being able to pull photos from Facebook. There is now 'Contacts' app in Rodriguez's ROM apart from the stock 'People' which I found , to me at least, redundant. Not sure if the phonebook app is the one from Nexus One because I never had experience with Nexus One yet.

Live Wallpaper is not sluggish, no lags but I don't like the ones that come with the ROM so I just use my own wallpaper. We only use LWP when we want to show off the phone only, don't we? hehe.. just kidding.

owh btw, regarding the Sense. I was wrong about it. It is actually there but it FC on me when I want to change scenes. So I am stuck with only one scene.
Anyone managed to use other scenes, if any?
Yep, I have all my contacts sync'ed to my Gmail account too. But I love to see photos in my phonebook rather than a gray silhouette tongue.gif Hence, if it is able to pull photos from the Facebook like the current 'People' app now does would be great.

Regarding LWP - Yeah, it serves no real purpose other than being an eye candy biggrin.gif

Yep, we shall look for stock ROM. Can you please post the link up here if you manage to find it? Ditto to myself.

I'm still downloading the over 200mb of 'required files' for rooting. Not sure what is it, don't think it is mentioned in the guide, but its even larger than the custom ROM itself at 129mb LOL.

Oh btw, I don't have a card reader! Is that really necessary? Crap sad.gif

This post has been edited by zc_squash: May 20 2010, 12:28 AM
zc_squash
post May 20 2010, 08:14 AM

1,149 posts

I do have the adapter but I don't have a card reader. Hmmmm gotta leech from someone tongue.gif I'm sure it's a fun thing to do, though I hope it was as easy as jailbreaking an iPhone.

Anyway, how's your experience so far with the custom ROM?

Added on May 20, 2010, 8:15 am

I think this could be it.

But what feature are you looking for in a custom ROM. Just curious drool.gif

This post has been edited by zc_squash: May 20 2010, 08:15 AM
zc_squash
post May 20 2010, 12:50 PM

1,149 posts

I actually quite like the UI on the Nexus One. I'm still hoping someone will put up a video demo'ing Rodriguez custom ROM before I decide to flash it. In the mean time, still hunting for the card reader LOL.
zc_squash
post May 23 2010, 09:02 AM

1,149 posts

QUOTE(ochinchoon @ May 23 2010, 04:41 AM)
android 2.2 froyo is out. anyone know whether it will be available for our beloved htc legend? also anyone know when it will be released for us with htc sense?
Looking at how long it took HTC to release an update for Hero, i doubt we can see it any time soon for our Legend.

Does anyone know if i could flash it to N1's ROM? I'm prepared to lose Sense in favor of Google Experience.
zc_squash
post May 26 2010, 12:42 AM

1,149 posts

Nice but it's quite pricey for me. Am happy and contended with my RM15 Epikcase! biggrin.gif

zc_squash
post May 26 2010, 09:34 PM

1,149 posts

It's possible to get Live Wallpaper on the Legend right now without installing a custom ROM.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=689168

As I still haven't got time to explore how to root the Legend yet, this is untested personally. For those that have rooted and going to give this a shot, please post your success here wink.gif

Cheers.
zc_squash
post Jun 13 2010, 12:57 PM

1,149 posts

QUOTE(sochaiapk @ Jun 13 2010, 08:15 AM)
I posted in a few pages back about the phone consuming a lot of battery while being idled and both mobile internet and wifi turned off at night. I found a very 'unscientific' way which might help. I took off the battery from the phone last night. shake it very hard and put it back and start charging .After fully charged, i play music for about 1hr and surf net on and off in between.I also kept the wifi on throughout the night. As the time of posting this, the battery is still 90% after running for 8.5hrs since the last charge. Do try it out fellows. biggrin.gif
Interesting. But I'm just curious, where did you get the idea from? I mean... of all things, how did it cross your mind that by "shaking it very hard" it would help with the battery life?
zc_squash
post Jun 13 2010, 05:05 PM

1,149 posts

QUOTE(sochaiapk @ Jun 13 2010, 03:51 PM)
Well, i did it just out of frustration because for the last few days my battery went down to below 20% before i arrrived home at around 7.00 p.m even without making any call and with just minimum surfing. But don't know why my battery was showing 94% when i woke up this morning at 7a.m. So i suspect the shaking i did last night could have done some miracles to it. My battery still has 70% left now after 16.5hrs since last charge and normally by now. it is about 50% left. biggrin.gif
LOL That's really a cool accidental discovery! I'll try with mine later and see if it does work!
zc_squash
post Jun 19 2010, 04:00 PM

1,149 posts

QUOTE(mikewtw @ Jun 19 2010, 12:00 AM)
Phone reception on the HTC Legend is not good. Also HTC Legend runs Android 2.1 but does not support Live Wallpaper like HTC Desire or Google Nexus One. For those who wish to upgrade their OS in time to come to support new features in Android 2.2 (Froyo), then forget about HTC Legend. Its not worth buying in my opinion.

Added on June 19, 2010, 12:40 am
Oh ya...a few more things wrong with this phone.
THe Aluminium body is prone to scratches and getting chipped off if you put them together with your keys, instance. Without a protective casing, this phone will be full of scratches if one is not careful. Also the phone slips off your hands very easily due to the casing. Aside from not having Live Wallpaper ( you will notice you cannot install them into your phone),  WIFI is weak...possibly also due to the Aluminium casing I believe. Plus, HTC Sync for the HTC Legend is also flaky. Not sure why, But this could be a problem with the HTC sync software running on the PC, most likely.
Also no video call camera and battery only lasts 1 day of usage. And I heard that HTC Legend will most likely have to wait a long time before it gets the Android 2.2 (Froyo) upgrade which is full of goodies and performance improvements.
While most of the things you pointed out do make sense because they are indeed the weaker aspects of the Legend to some people (FYI, I can live with those shortcomings), I'm however surprised that you highlighted the bold text though -- no video call camera.

Seriously dude, unless you've done absolutely no research whatsoever before purchasing, you should have known this already. Unlike some of the things that you probably would not know without some hindsights (i.e. not knowing Froyo will be released extemely late to the Legend), things like not having a front camera for video call are stated CLEARLY on the spec sheet.

For a phone as bad as the Legend, I would voluntarily purchase it off you for RM50 to save you from all the agony. Let me know.

zc_squash
post Jun 19 2010, 07:12 PM

1,149 posts

QUOTE(ochinchoon @ Jun 19 2010, 05:23 PM)
u PMS ar? doh.gif  why in the world would u come into a legend topic and screw legend lol....
Phone reception is normal la...sometimes i do get full bar and most of the time at least 1 bar depending on the area u are in.
Who the hell says legend is not getting Froyo? Did HTC announce they are not going to release Froyo for legend? They SAID they are going to release Froyo updates for phones released in 2010 later on.

You tell me which new smartphones released nowadays wont get scratched when u put them together with keys/coins? Thats why there are such things in the world called casing and invisible shield...lol...If u just dun like legend because its aluminium then go buy some other phones lor...in the market got so many other choices...

Wi-Fi is yeah a bit weak but its usable. HTC sync is not because of legend its because of HTC Sync software...other phones like desire always have such common problems..Yeah android just recently released video call camera for their phone lineups, u dun see them on previous phones before legend also, ie. Nexus One and etc...

Regards to battery, which smartphones can last more than 1 day with full usage throughout the day. Even Nexus One, Desire and Iphone also cant lor...But i can tell u if i rarely use my phone i can charge my phone on the third day of usage...

Like what zc_squash said I would voluntarily purchase it off you for even RM100 to save you from all the agony, if u do even own the phone in reality. Let me know. shakehead.gif
Hey, don't spoil the market!
zc_squash
post Jun 23 2010, 11:02 AM

1,149 posts

Anyone managed to get a bigger capacity battery yet? Mine is drainning so quickly these days I wonder why.

This post has been edited by zc_squash: Jun 23 2010, 11:04 AM
zc_squash
post Jun 25 2010, 10:29 AM

1,149 posts

QUOTE(delphiniumo @ Jun 24 2010, 09:57 PM)
my personal best battery usage so far tongue.gif
2 days and 9 hours.
mostly texting and games smile.gif

How the hell....?!
zc_squash
post Jun 28 2010, 03:59 PM

1,149 posts

Hi guys,

I remember someone forwarded a few links which contain tips to improve the Legend's battery life. Can someone repost them? Can't seem to be able to find them.

On a side note, I'm still not rooting my Legend yet. Still waiting for 2.2.
zc_squash
post Jun 28 2010, 04:44 PM

1,149 posts

QUOTE(Kyl3 @ Jun 28 2010, 04:23 PM)
^
try here and here
Oh Kyl3, did anyone told you today that you're awesome?
zc_squash
post Aug 10 2010, 09:46 AM

1,149 posts

QUOTE(SpIcYjOe @ Aug 10 2010, 12:50 AM)
I don't surf the net but more towards using social apps.... like tweetcaster, bloo, facestream and facebook.... also when i'm at class, i'll do some quick research on topics.... sad.gif Sad... i really need to hunt for a better battery for HTC Legend... Hope the Froyo doesn't drain that fast or even faster!
That's my biggest complain from the very beginning. Have anyone seen a bigger capacity battery on the market already?
zc_squash
post Sep 19 2010, 10:55 PM

1,149 posts

QUOTE(quintesson @ Sep 19 2010, 09:54 PM)
how long the Legend can last for a full charge batt with at least 3-4 hours surfing moderate call daily?
2 minutes.

Okay, I exaggerated. But really, the battery life is a pain in the behind. Be prepared to charge it daily. You may want to consider buying extra chargers for your car or/and office.

This post has been edited by zc_squash: Sep 19 2010, 10:57 PM
zc_squash
post Sep 20 2010, 11:04 AM

1,149 posts

QUOTE(quintesson @ Sep 20 2010, 08:59 AM)
wow! if that's true then it will be a major drawback.
Indeed.

But that's my only complain so far. Apart from that, it's actually a very good phone.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0259sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:11 PM