Surround Speaker Cables, which brand & types?

htkaki
post Mar 22 2010, 11:24 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

The best is silver for spkr cable as been posted by Skylinestar. Cheers.
gilbertlhl
post Mar 22 2010, 06:52 PM

386 posts

sweat.gif
netherlord
post Apr 27 2010, 10:55 PM

118 posts

Has anyone tried those Cat5e / Cat6 DIY speaker cables? Wanted to know whats it like before i plonk RM300 for a box to make into speaker cables for my 5 speaker set

http://www.mejiatryti.com/SpeakerCable/fivebraid.html <-- link showing how to braid Cat5e into speaker cable config and a very brief explanation on the quality
Alias
post Apr 27 2010, 11:55 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(netherlord @ Apr 27 2010, 10:55 PM)
Has anyone tried those Cat5e / Cat6 DIY speaker cables? Wanted to know whats it like before i plonk RM300 for a box to make into speaker cables for my 5 speaker set

http://www.mejiatryti.com/SpeakerCable/fivebraid.html <-- link showing how to braid Cat5e into speaker cable config and a very brief explanation on the quality
Excelent tutorial!! thumbup.gif

I was wondering as well if anyone has used this cable as their mains/surrounds and have actually compared with branded cables.. hmm.gif
terranova
post Apr 28 2010, 02:47 AM

1,161 posts

I use the QED 79 for my surrounds.

http://www.futureshop.co.uk/qed-79-strand-...gth-p-2710.html

gilbertlhl
post Apr 28 2010, 11:55 AM

386 posts

QUOTE(netherlord @ Apr 27 2010, 10:55 PM)

I think i will try it.. but recently a bit busy so need to wait d.. Nice article..
netherlord
post Apr 28 2010, 04:10 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(gilbertlhl @ Apr 28 2010, 11:55 AM)
I think i will try it.. but recently a bit busy so need to wait d.. Nice article..
No problemo ^^ i can wait nod.gif is there any other ppl who have tried such cables willing to comment on their quality? if no one then i think gilbertlhl will be the 1st rclxms.gif

I might follow soon since i have tons of spare Cat5 lying around the house now (didn't wanna waste those cable if the whole project get messed up cry.gif ) and also I'm preparing to move into my new condo so i need to get the correct measurements and placement for all the cable I'm going to put in my bedroom (2 PC, 2 Laptops, 1 Main Server (Multimedia sharing) and also my HT set. (have GF not wife laugh.gif )

Gonna be a nightmare to hide all those cables rclxub.gif
gilbertlhl
post Apr 29 2010, 11:12 AM

386 posts

QUOTE(netherlord @ Apr 28 2010, 04:10 PM)
No problemo ^^ i can wait  nod.gif  is there any other ppl who have tried such cables willing to comment on their quality? if no one then i think gilbertlhl will be the 1st  rclxms.gif

I might follow soon since i have tons of spare Cat5 lying around the house now (didn't wanna waste those cable if the whole project get messed up  cry.gif ) and also I'm preparing to move into my new condo so i need to get the correct measurements and placement for all the cable I'm going to put in my bedroom (2 PC, 2 Laptops, 1 Main Server (Multimedia sharing) and also my HT set. (have GF not wife  laugh.gif )

Gonna be a nightmare to hide all those cables  rclxub.gif
wow u have tons of that Cat5, I need go buy. not sure where can get cheap... hmm.gif
netherlord
post Apr 29 2010, 12:21 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(gilbertlhl @ Apr 29 2010, 11:12 AM)
wow u have tons of that Cat5, I need go buy. not sure where can get cheap... hmm.gif
lol just a figure of speech, but none of them is longer than a meter biggrin.gif i think they go cheaper by the box instead of per order lengths.

Last i asked is RM285 for a box of 200M at jalan pasar but i dont quite know the quality of those cable. I was just browsing thru the shops.

Will pass you more info once i go down next week or so. Mind letting me know how much roughly you need so maybe we can share a box?

dlyz
post Apr 29 2010, 12:53 PM

Dynaudio
1,827 posts

QUOTE(terranova @ Apr 28 2010, 02:47 AM)
Did you get banana plugs with that or bare wire. How thick iszit? Im thinking of getting a pair too for my new bookshelf speaker.

Wondering where to find cheap banana plug for it. Dont need so good as Airloc and dun really like bare wire.
terranova
post Apr 30 2010, 08:28 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(dlyz @ Apr 29 2010, 12:53 PM)
Did you get banana plugs with that or bare wire. How thick iszit? Im thinking of getting a pair too for my new bookshelf speaker.

Wondering where to find cheap banana plug for it. Dont need so good as Airloc and dun really like bare wire.
It's 2.5mm2 diameter, so that shld makes it about 12/13 AWG. I bought it bare as I have some spare bananas. it would be ok for surrounds, but won't recommend for fronts.

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0165sec    0.82    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:08 AM