4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Surround Speaker Cables, which brand & types?

TSmikapoh
post Mar 2 2010, 09:09 PM, updated 16y ago

1,263 posts

Lets talk about surround speakers cables. Most of us have been concentrating on front channels cables.

What type of surround speakers cables do you use? I am using QED classic normal type. Do you think by using a sliver type will improve the rear sound significantly?
What's your view?

mpyw
post Mar 2 2010, 09:54 PM

3,603 posts

nope....even if it does...u wont feel it as it's only ambient sound....
unless u listen to orchestra a lot....for movie...any 16-12awg cable will do
htkaki
post Mar 2 2010, 10:02 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

limpe using the cheap and proven Belden 1131A for surr.
matyeo
post Mar 2 2010, 11:39 PM

352 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Mar 2 2010, 10:02 PM)
limpe using the cheap and proven Belden 1131A for surr.
me only Pasar road cable for surround........ tongue.gif
arremie
post Mar 2 2010, 11:52 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Before this I was using only Monster THX for surround but since my run is more than 50ft I have to get a bigger cable than 16awg to reduce the resistance. So now I'm using QED Original (about 13awg). Good improvement for the surround especially during peak volume.

Anyway just for reference...

[attachmentid=1464958]

For those who doesn't know what AWG your cable is...

[attachmentid=1464961]
Remember you must measure only the diameter of copper inside and not together with the insulation tongue.gif
VSX-AX2as
post Mar 3 2010, 12:38 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Mar 2 2010, 11:52 PM)
Before this I was using only Monster THX for surround but since my run is more than 50ft I have to get a bigger cable than 16awg to reduce the resistance. So now I'm using QED Original (about 13awg). Good improvement for the surround especially during peak volume.

[attachmentid=1464958]

[attachmentid=1464961]
Remember you must measure only the diameter of copper inside and not together with the insulation tongue.gif
In theorytically cable in long running distance will loss its capability to carry audio signal.
So i think u should seek lowest gauge wire for example 12 AWG etc...Only my 2 cents bro
putih
post Mar 3 2010, 12:51 AM

293 posts

QUOTE(VSX-AX2as @ Mar 3 2010, 12:38 AM)
In theorytically cable in long running distance will loss its capability to carry audio signal.
So i think u should seek lowest gauge wire for example 12 AWG etc...Only my 2 cents bro
Yep agree. But for cheapo solution, if you run thin wires for surrounds, just increase 1 or 2 db for the rear speakers. Solve most people problem. But if you are listening to audiophile multichannel sound, you'd better get proper cables.

arremie
post Mar 3 2010, 01:07 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(VSX-AX2as @ Mar 3 2010, 12:38 AM)
Why did I choose 13awg cable over a bigger cable like 12 awg or maybe even 10awg? Got a few reason.

1) Smaller cable easier to route (we are talking about surround speakers after all).
2) The bigger the cable will reduce resistance for sure but at the same time capacitance will increase. High capacitance over a longer distance will loose the higher part of audio signal. Not good for surround eh where usually carry mostly mid n high of those special effect audio.

That's why you need to know what is the optimal size for the length you are running and not simply hentam the biggest cable you can afford smile.gif
matyeo
post Mar 3 2010, 02:52 AM

352 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Mar 2 2010, 11:52 PM)

[attachmentid=1464958]

[attachmentid=1464961]
i plan to upgrade mine....this is good input... rclxms.gif
VSX-AX2as
post Mar 3 2010, 09:40 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(putih @ Mar 3 2010, 12:51 AM)
Yep agree. But for cheapo solution, if you run thin wires for surrounds, just increase 1 or 2 db for the rear speakers. Solve most people problem. But if you are listening to audiophile multichannel sound, you'd better get proper cables.
Agree..one of the way to safe my wallet icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif
TSmikapoh
post Mar 3 2010, 01:33 PM

1,263 posts

Thanks for the input.

I think all the hard & facts you could find in HT book cannot be hidden from arremie. He can digs every single facts out! tongue.gif

VSX-AX2as
post Mar 3 2010, 04:02 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(mikapoh @ Mar 3 2010, 01:33 PM)
Thanks for the input.

I think all the hard & facts you could find in HT book cannot be hidden from arremie. He can digs every single facts out!  tongue.gif
Is he head master rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
ah_chak
post Mar 4 2010, 04:03 PM

Vroom..
2,341 posts

i just use QED One Series for my surround which i think it's pretty good as my run is only 10m each..
VSX-AX2as
post Mar 4 2010, 04:59 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(ah_chak @ Mar 4 2010, 04:03 PM)
i just use QED One Series for my surround which i think it's pretty good as my run is only 10m each..
How it cost per meter
arremie
post Mar 4 2010, 05:14 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QED One only available in 10m or 20m length. Cost is about RM80 for 10m.
radovantz
post Mar 4 2010, 05:26 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Mar 4 2010, 05:14 PM)
QED One only available in 10m or 20m length. Cost is about RM80 for 10m.
where could i get the QED One that costs RM80 for 10m?
is it suitable for front channels?

I use cheap wire for surround speakers and think Audyssey MultiEq could do some balancing task hmm.gif
arremie
post Mar 4 2010, 05:30 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

if ur system cost rm800 then it's ok to use rm80 cable. if ur system is 8k then malu lah tongue.gif

http://www.futureshop.co.uk/qed-one-incogn...-10m-p-787.html
mpyw
post Mar 4 2010, 05:31 PM

3,603 posts

as long as it works....why malu??
arremie
post Mar 4 2010, 05:35 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

not the owner. the avr and speakers malu coz they use cheap cable tongue.gif
terranova
post Mar 4 2010, 06:47 PM

1,161 posts

lol. speakers and avr now also got emotions one ar? hahaha ... cute.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0219sec    0.32    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:59 AM