4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Surround Speaker Cables, which brand & types?

VSX-AX2as
post Mar 4 2010, 07:58 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(terranova @ Mar 4 2010, 06:47 PM)
lol. speakers and avr now also got emotions one ar? hahaha ... cute.
Shame to produce better sound maaa
radovantz
post Mar 5 2010, 10:58 AM

287 posts

AV Receivers in future will have emotion indicators biggrin.gif
ah_chak
post Mar 5 2010, 11:39 AM

Vroom..
2,341 posts

I got my QED One 20M per roll for RM150 in Miri.. Should be good enough for surrounds..
VSX-AX2as
post Mar 5 2010, 03:11 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(ah_chak @ Mar 5 2010, 11:39 AM)
I got my QED One 20M per roll for RM150 in Miri.. Should be good enough for surrounds..
Interested with the price..How about its AWG?
gilbertlhl
post Mar 6 2010, 10:49 AM

386 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Mar 2 2010, 11:52 PM)
Before this I was using only Monster THX for surround but since my run is more than 50ft I have to get a bigger cable than 16awg to reduce the resistance. So now I'm using QED Original (about 13awg). Good improvement for the surround especially during peak volume.

Anyway just for reference...

[attachmentid=1464958]

For those who doesn't know what AWG your cable is...

[attachmentid=1464961]
Remember you must measure only the diameter of copper inside and not together with the insulation tongue.gif
This is very good info... tongue.gif

U think copper or silver is better for sorround?
Skylinestar
post Mar 6 2010, 12:08 PM

Mega Duck
10,479 posts

of course silver is better
VSX-AX2as
post Mar 6 2010, 12:08 PM

214 posts

Silver is the best conductor of heat and electricity..but u have to pay extra for it..Copper cable is affordable meh..Only for surround maa no need to waste your money unless you desire to enjoy music that need more detail audio surround in 5.1ch
arremie
post Mar 6 2010, 12:55 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Mar 6 2010, 12:08 PM)
of course silver is better
It depends on your speaker. If you have what I called "lazy" speakers such as Wharfedale, MS, PSB, etc then silver cable will help to bring out the details. Speaker on the bright side like my Klipsch sounded better with copper cable.

For example my previous QED SA XT sounded good with PSB but make the Klipsch sounded so thin. QED XT300 which is not silver plated sounded better with Klipsch.
VSX-AX2as
post Mar 6 2010, 02:43 PM

214 posts

QED is the best...I'm also using QED XT anniversary notworthy.gif
arremie
post Mar 6 2010, 07:00 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

That's what I thought before until I tried Chord Carnival SilverScreen whistling.gif
VSX-AX2as
post Mar 6 2010, 08:08 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Mar 6 2010, 07:00 PM)
That's what I thought before until I tried Chord Carnival SilverScreen whistling.gif
How much is the cable...
maskedchan
post Mar 6 2010, 11:01 PM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Mar 6 2010, 07:00 PM)
after you try kimber..
maybe your chord will have same fate as QED SA XT? whistling.gif
matyeo
post Mar 6 2010, 11:25 PM

352 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Mar 6 2010, 11:01 PM)
after you try kimber..
maybe your chord will have same fate as QED SA XT?  whistling.gif
guys... how we want to compare between normal cable and brand cable like QED while listening...
can we know the different or we need to using other gauge... hmm.gif
maskedchan
post Mar 6 2010, 11:31 PM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(matyeo @ Mar 6 2010, 11:25 PM)
guys... how we want to compare between normal cable and brand cable like QED while listening...
can we know the different or we need to using other gauge... hmm.gif
your ears? hmm.gif
matyeo
post Mar 7 2010, 12:06 AM

352 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Mar 6 2010, 11:31 PM)
your ears? hmm.gif
but for me i like to watch movie...music not much...la..
i think my ears cannot feel different between brand and normal cable...

eventho i involve with this HT around 10 yrs....
10 yrs not enough i think.... tongue.gif

need to learn more from sifu and otai2 here... biggrin.gif
arremie
post Mar 7 2010, 12:51 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Mar 6 2010, 11:01 PM)
after you try kimber..
maybe your chord will have same fate as QED SA XT?  whistling.gif
Expensive possibility but yeah... smile.gif

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Mar 6 2010, 11:31 PM)
your ears? hmm.gif
unless you can smell it tongue.gif

QUOTE(matyeo @ Mar 7 2010, 12:06 AM)
but for me i like to watch movie...music not much...la..
for movies cap ayam cable also can but good cables can give clear dialog, more ambiance and heightened surround effect.
matyeo
post Mar 7 2010, 06:01 AM

352 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Mar 7 2010, 12:51 AM)
for movies cap ayam cable also can but good cables can give clear dialog, more ambiance and heightened surround effect.
Bro...arremie can u explain what sound will be when we connect our speaker using bi wire.... smile.gif tks
maskedchan
post Mar 7 2010, 07:36 AM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Mar 7 2010, 12:51 AM)
when the time come for u to upgrade kimber..
PM me for the chord tongue.gif

new cable smell? laugh.gif
VSX-AX2as
post Mar 7 2010, 09:03 AM

214 posts

icon_rolleyes.gif Bi-wired speakers employ crossover frequency filters. With the binding post jumper bars removed the crossover frequency filters direct the high and low frequency connections from the amplifier to the corresponding connections at the speaker terminals.

Stereo speakers that are bi-wired have a cleaner sound because separating the amplification of the high and low frequencies lowers the distortion at the amp, sending a less distorted signal to the speaker’s crossover frequency filters.

When bi-wiring, two sets of speaker cables are used (one positive and one negative) for each channel. One set of cables is wired to the high frequency (tweeter) binding posts, while the second set of cables is wired to the low frequency (woofer) binding posts.

matyeo
post Mar 7 2010, 09:05 AM

352 posts

guys which one do you think good for surround cable....

QED Micro

QED Silver Micro

QED Silver Anniversary XT

hmm.gif sweat.gif rclxms.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0260sec    0.54    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:02 AM