What exactly is Key Account Manager ?

TSnujikabane
post Mar 1 2010, 08:56 PM, updated 16y ago

United We Stand
3,212 posts

Hello all.
I am wondering about a job post known as 'Key Account Manager' . I am wondering, what does a person in that post do.
And is it by any chance related to accounting ?
Moolah
post Mar 1 2010, 09:00 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Mar 1 2010, 08:56 PM)
Hello all.
I am wondering about a job post known as 'Key Account Manager' . I am wondering, what does a person in that post do.
And is it by any chance related to accounting ?
Nothing to do with accounting. This is a sales &marketing or client servicing job. A 'key account' is an important client.
hi54ever
post Mar 1 2010, 09:00 PM

744 posts

its the person who manage the main customer of the company, which might contribute most of the companies revenue. most likely they'll do PR, handle complain and solve customers request, can also said he/she is the representative of the company. Marketing, simply. biggrin.gif
wileen_cheng
post Mar 1 2010, 09:28 PM

64 posts

Nopez, do not be confused by the word 'Account', it has nothing to do with Accounting in this instance. 'Account' in this actually means 'clients', so Key Account Managers are people who service important clients for the company, make sure hit target for company, and same time meet the demands of the client.
TSnujikabane
post Mar 1 2010, 09:59 PM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

LOL at first I reallt thought it has got to do with accounting, LOL.
Hm what qualification does it need to be Key Account Manager ?
vey99
post Mar 1 2010, 10:02 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

Key account manager is more than sales, mktg. Is main contact for the key customer.
U need service exp and also front line exp.
TSnujikabane
post Mar 1 2010, 11:00 PM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

Is it fine to assume that usually key account managers are those who begins their career as a junior staff in the same company and after years of working they will be promoted to this promotion?

Or do companies usually hire somebody from outside of the organisation ?
vey99
post Mar 2 2010, 02:21 AM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

Either way depending on the comp style.
sweet_pez
post Mar 2 2010, 08:49 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Mar 1 2010, 09:59 PM)
LOL at first I reallt thought it has got to do with accounting, LOL.
Hm what qualification does it need to be Key Account Manager ?
Experience - it's really important in holding the position of KA Manager... you can actually check that most of the vacancy requires 5-10years of experience.

My company has 2 KA Manager, covering different areas. Our KA are supermarkets and hypermarkets thus both the manager builds relationship and network with our customers. They also head to the HQ often to negotiate trade offers, in-store promotions etc. They must also consistently monitor the sales of their KA. When sales drop, they will be chased by our Director laugh.gif

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Mar 1 2010, 11:00 PM)
Is it fine to assume that usually key account managers are those who begins their career as a junior staff in the same company and after years of working they will be promoted to this promotion?

Or do companies usually hire somebody from outside of the organisation ?
Maybe, maybe not. It depends. 1 of the manager was promoted internally and he agreed to the extra responsibilities of KA Manager. The other manager assume the role as KA Manager from the 1st day he join (he was promoted internally from previous company).

Both managers come from Sales background...
VeeJay
post Mar 2 2010, 04:47 PM

3,852 posts

They key criteria for KAM is able to communicate (talk and write) convincingly and provides a win-win solution for both end the customer and the supplier.
Salience
post Mar 2 2010, 04:49 PM

top of your mind.
1,361 posts

eg. the key customers that require the most attention

therefore you have a dedicated person to layan these key accounts.

eg. if you are clothes company, your key accounts can be jaya jusco, parkson

or

eg. if you are microsoft, your key accounts can be DELL, compaq, HP etc smile.gif
thyceult
post Mar 2 2010, 06:20 PM

393 posts

+1 on the explanation. I love the word "layan". Almost makes it sinful, or "xin fu", depending on how you look at it. Haha...

If I may add: Companies like Nestle (in FMCG), for example, demand not only a KAM but several key team members to support their account.
Gary1981
post Mar 3 2010, 12:59 AM

1,610 posts

Its just a sales executive position that the supplier specifically assigned a person to serve their important or big clients.
Kelvin5717
post Mar 4 2010, 12:30 AM

742 posts

oh.. i also started a similiar thread...

i think it's similiar to client relationship manager or relationship manager as explain by the sifu to me...

but i was wondering does this post pay well?
does it leads u to somewhere else or it just end there?
TSnujikabane
post Mar 6 2010, 10:15 AM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

Whether or not it pays well, it depends on the organisation you are in.
Some companies pay better than the others.

As to whether it leads to somewhere else, I am not too sure.
Because isn't Key Account Manager the top of its ladder ?

Meaning you star as sales personnel, move your way up to being senior sales staff, and ends up to be Key Account Manager.

Isn't it ?
vanylla
post Mar 7 2010, 08:55 PM

just wanna share my exp..i was called for an i'view before, in 2008, with Procter & Gamble, for this KAM position..they told me the starting salary will be @ 3500..and mind u at that time i didnt have any experience yet..i didnt pass the face2face i'view though.. (i was late, stuck in traffic jam + perhaps didn impress them enough)..isk2.. cry.gif i was a graduate in biomedical sc..
Gary1981
post Mar 8 2010, 10:15 AM

1,610 posts

is the starting salary is basic or include others allowance ?
SUSSPS
post Mar 8 2010, 10:42 AM

1,127 posts

The Key Account Manager is a misnomer at times, I will restrict my comments on the sales function - some KAMs are not very experienced (say 2-3 years) and are entirely deferrent to various Sales group heads and ultimately the Sales Director. Their pay packet reflects that as well e.g. 3-5K per month excluding commissions.

There are also KAMs, in particular those with a regional outreach (few in Malaysia, many more in Singapore and Hong Kong) who are senior level executives (at least 10+ years of complex sales and account mgmt experience) who regularly meet and manage C-level corporate client contacts. These folks can earn upwards of RM250,000 and above per annum.

bezict84
post Mar 8 2010, 11:27 AM

QUOTE(Gary1981 @ Mar 8 2010, 10:15 AM)
Gary,

My fren is a ARM (acc relationship manager).. she earned 4k per mth excluded the allowance. I heard her allowance (travel, food, etc) is about 2k per month. But, the commissions im not too sure... (still depends on the sales per mth)..
TSnujikabane
post Mar 8 2010, 11:37 PM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

There are also KAMs, in particular those with a regional outreach (few in Malaysia, many more in Singapore and Hong Kong) who are senior level executives (at least 10+ years of complex sales and account mgmt experience) who regularly meet and manage C-level corporate client contacts. These folks can earn upwards of RM250,000 and above per annum.

What's C-level corporate client contacts ?
vanylla
post Mar 9 2010, 09:03 PM

QUOTE(Gary1981 @ Mar 8 2010, 10:15 AM)
at that time they nvr mention about any allowance..so i take is as the starting salary..i was still naive at that time..it was among my first i'view..right after i graduated.so didnt ask much..
vey99
post Mar 9 2010, 09:12 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Mar 8 2010, 11:37 PM)
What's C-level corporate client contacts ?
top mamagement like CEO,CFO,COO,CIO,CRO,CTO
danieldotcom
post Mar 10 2010, 03:33 AM

74 posts

From the point of view from bosses, if they pay u RM8K per month for your post.. they will expect you to get 16K sales for each month..
vey99
post Mar 10 2010, 09:34 AM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(danieldotcom @ Mar 10 2010, 03:33 AM)
From the point of view from bosses, if they pay u RM8K per month for your post.. they will expect you to get 16K sales for each month..
if only the target was 2x the salary

most are like 6x - 10x !
danieldotcom
post Mar 10 2010, 12:38 PM

74 posts

Totally AGREED!!!!
TSnujikabane
post Mar 10 2010, 09:11 PM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

QUOTE(danieldotcom @ Mar 10 2010, 03:33 AM)
LOL no company would ever employ staff who gives less back to the company, lol

0.0240sec    0.59    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:50 PM