12 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

The University of Nottingham - Malaysia Campus v3,, Best University in Malaysia so Far

tanjinjack
post Oct 22 2010, 10:09 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(zmyeo54 @ Oct 22 2010, 10:01 PM)
oh sorry. adrenaline fault. haha.

err. so do you guys know any seniors which is jpa SCHOLARS went for it?
The JPA scholars I know did not join that.
Those join that I know are not JPA scholars.
That's the best I can tell you.

What is so important for you to know about whether a JPA scholar has done it or not?
If it's a NO, you'll still find ways to make it a YES.
If it's a YES, it might not be YES to you as well.
And the easiest is just ask them, email/call/visit whatever!
tanjinjack
post Oct 23 2010, 01:04 AM

4,122 posts

If I am not mistaken, in the JPA contract, there is something like 'you can't work during your studies without JPA permission', sort of.
Better check back the contract to be sure. And it could only mean part-time job instead of internship during summer break. I do not know the details though.

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: Oct 23 2010, 01:05 AM
tanjinjack
post Oct 24 2010, 02:14 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Oct 24 2010, 11:24 AM)
@rxy, lol apparently my friend who knew about that ultimate ear brand only know about that brand, like how normal ppl know the brand ferrari but dun really have money buy it.

i'm a noob in this but here goes:
I've conducted the Hardness and Impact Test lab session, and am required to write a report. The problem is they were 2 experiments with it's own sets of data, just conducted in the same session one after the other. How should I approach writing the report?

The individual parts are mostly done already, i just can't decide to do it like under Results, should I put results for both experiments under the same 'Results' title, or have an entirely separate report for the other experiment, but attached to the same title page?
icon_question.gif
It's up to you.
You can write them under one report, but with 2 sections. So, at places like abstract and introduction (if any) could be grouped together but stuff like results could be separated under section A and B. Since discussion is like an essay, you could just write up one section followed by another. Simple!
tanjinjack
post Oct 28 2010, 08:14 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Oct 28 2010, 06:49 PM)
Sorry to go off-topic.

I nearly finish my NS duty. So if I got A-,B,B in STPM can I get into Pharmacy in Nottingham? Anyone here knows the cut-off point and survival rate per semester?
If your A- is Chemistry, then you stand a good chance. If it wasn't, then you may need to go though interview. Anyway, the best person to answer you will be the admission staffs, or the Pharmacy undergraduate admission tutor (which you may find it on our website in the Pharmacy section).
tanjinjack
post Nov 5 2010, 12:39 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(Nixorbe @ Nov 5 2010, 03:30 AM)
Does anyone know how to bypass bradford? I mean, I don't mind installing it if it only monitors but I do care about how it changes my system settings. Anyone knows how to use the UNMC wifi without the software modiyfing or restricting access to my own system?
Sign in with a mobile device, i.e. use a mobile phone. That's what I have been doing.
Alternatively, you might consider hacking the 'unmc-guest', try a combination of possible passwords like 1234567890, 0123456789, 1122334455 etc. etc. My guess is that, the 'unmc-guest' exists to allow guests to have internet access even without installing Bradford.

tanjinjack
post Nov 9 2010, 11:14 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Nov 5 2010, 08:05 PM)
The first time I used the SA building WiFi was a day before registration. I just connected and it didn't ask for any login information.

Few days after registration I tried to log into OWA but it kept showing me some weird website, and failed to bring me to the OWA page. Other pages loaded OK. Then i decided to delete the connection and reconnect. This time there was no way I could connect to the wifi. It said connected, but I couldn't reach the login page.

Went to IS. A guy came and diagnose. Found out it was my DNS (i used OpenDNS). He cleared it and I was able to install Bradford and proceed with using WiFi, complete with login page this time.

So... You might want to input both the following in your DNS address:

It might not work already, but still if you want to try something, this might be it.

Of coz if it screws wit anything dun come to me coz I dunno how to fix it myself. How using DNS servers will screw wit things, i dunno, but you know, just a disclaimer.

@yu_wang, you sure it won't prompt for Bradford Agent's presence after you've uninstalled it? Coz I'm not comfortable with the presense of some 'agent' looking over my shoulder...
Anyway, I've heard we get to learn foreign languages like Spanish and French on-campus. But so far the classes I've seen are Korean and Japanese offered by the respective societies. Where do I go to get info about the Spanish lessons? I heard they are conducted by the university?
Oh... DNS.. Direct Numerical Simulation...
LOL..
Too much of CFD!!
tanjinjack
post Nov 12 2010, 05:43 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(SGSuser @ Nov 12 2010, 05:34 PM)
I've problem connecting to UNMC wireless with my mobile, so the only way to solve it is to go to the IS office right?
Is it that you are prompted to register? I recalled that I blindly register and end up being able to surf internet. My friend did it in a mess as well. You might consider just proceed blindly to see how far you can go. Oh, I did the registration thing like... 1 year plus ago though.
tanjinjack
post Nov 13 2010, 05:33 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(SGSuser @ Nov 13 2010, 05:04 PM)
registering in the IS office right? wanted to go there but always hesitated  laugh.gif
What I mean is just the online registration, filling up some forms redirected when you try to get online.
tanjinjack
post Nov 16 2010, 01:45 AM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(SGSuser @ Nov 15 2010, 11:32 PM)
have no problems with pc actually, i meant my phone..sometimes can connect but most of the time can't
Did you detect the 'unmc' network? There are some 'dead' spots in the campus where you are bound not to have internet access.
tanjinjack
post Nov 18 2010, 08:22 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(CempedakCOD4 @ Nov 18 2010, 08:41 AM)
Hey, just wondering. Is it normal for us to get really really screwed up results for Uniaxial Stress and Strain?
The one with the Demec gauge (or whatever it is called)?
If I recalled correctly, only the compound bar give bad result, the others are fairly good.
That Demec gauge is something pretty expensive and it lives up to its value.
If everything screws up, that means either your Excel screws up, or you did not analyse your results correctly.

QUOTE(SGSuser @ Nov 18 2010, 06:33 PM)
yup..Can detect it, but can't always connect to it..if it connects then "obtaining IP adress" will appear on my phone, if it doesn't then it says disconnected
Maybe your phone is reacting in a way that the server doesn't like? Contact IT Support for a long-term solution I think.
tanjinjack
post Nov 19 2010, 06:12 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(CempedakCOD4 @ Nov 19 2010, 12:32 AM)
OMG you beat the Second Law of Thermodynamics! Must tell Dr Ng.  rclxms.gif
@tanjinjack

Yeah, that one. I got more reasonable results after multiplying the DEMEC values by 1000. Still quite off though. I feel the DEMEC gauge is a tad too sensitive to handle by hand?
I recalled that you should get a correcting factor (or something like that) that is close to 30, and that value is extracted from the slope of a graph of don't know what against what. Then, you use that correcting factor to find out how much force you actually applied etc.
Can't really recall too well.
Hope it helps though.
tanjinjack
post Nov 21 2010, 07:55 PM

4,122 posts

Year 1 Spring:
You'll need to design and fabricate your spring cart. (Not sure if they change it as it's a new course structure, but whatever they change into, you'll need to fabricate it.)
Another design project is car jack, which is relatively simpler if you were to ask me.
Few labs around here and there - Fluid's and maybe your EM1 - was told there was a lot of labs, but my time wasn't called EM1.

Year 2:
You'll have 4 design projects, 2 group 2 individual. 1 group project will involve fabrication.
Then few labs here and there.
That's about it I think. Well, design project will really eat up time be it you do material selection, Pro|E, business plan or whatever. It's just something that takes up your time.

Comparing Year 1 and Year 2, I would say Year 1 is somehow honeymoon, especially if you came from A-Level. Year 2 involves a lot of 'real' contents - psychometry, heat transfer in Thermo, Navier-Stoke, boundary layer, non-dimensional analysis in Fluid, more stresses and beam theories in Solid etc. Compared to Year 1's SFEE, 1st/2nd Law of Thermo, Mohr's Circle are a lot easier.
tanjinjack
post Nov 28 2010, 09:05 PM

4,122 posts

Maybe using tethering? Use your phone to connect (which doesn't require Bradford), and use your laptop to connect through your phone (your phone works as a modem).
Might sacrifice some speed, and also your phone battery though.
tanjinjack
post Dec 4 2010, 05:13 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(A-Note @ Dec 2 2010, 07:33 PM)
Isit me or what... The internet sort of gila'ed since this week ._. I on youtube i realize im on other people's account O.o same to facebook too D: and did they block the ports for online gaming as well? O.o
Must be something wrong with their servers. If you are on a flash game on facebook, better hold off the addiction. Because of the way the server reacts, you can enter other's account and others can enter yours as well. While you may be doing out of courtesy by refreshing it again, others could just bang and sell off all the stuff you want or drain your gold in few seconds.
Good that I don't play flash-based game on facebook.

There are some accounts/games who are protected as well though. Something like if you don't have the cookie you just can't take over the person - you get to see it though.
tanjinjack
post Dec 28 2010, 02:39 AM

4,122 posts

Hi Maziar,

Regarding the jobbing opportunities between a 3 years and 4 years, I think your referral (who let you know about Nottingham Malaysia, your friends or agents?) might have some clues about it. Or he/she won't be in a position to recommend us to you in the first instance, isn't it?
Anyway, for EE or its related, just for your information, the Intel plant in Malaysia doesn't really care about you being 3 or 4 years.
To be honest, the thing you might worry more could be the jobbing opportunities due to your nationality (there are bound to have companies that prefer locals over internationals), and perhaps your language (incompetence in Malay).
tanjinjack
post Dec 28 2010, 01:39 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(Maziar @ Dec 28 2010, 03:09 AM)
Hey,thanks for the reply smile.gif
Well,I actually have no referees,I was searching for Private English universities in Malaysia and I found Nottingham.
I read in few Persian forums that jobs are limited for international students and almost all companies prefer local students than internationals(just like you mentioned)
Thus, I don't think it is wise for you to plan out a career in Malaysia as it would seem unlikely at the moment. You can still prefer yourself working in Malaysia though, but do have a backup plan if you fail to secure a job here.
tanjinjack
post Dec 29 2010, 01:13 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(entryman @ Dec 29 2010, 01:09 PM)
The one pertaining to assessments regulations biggrin.gif

Meaning how one progresses to next stage.
Try accessing U drive remotely?
tanjinjack
post Dec 29 2010, 01:31 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(entryman @ Dec 29 2010, 01:27 PM)
Thanks for the idea  biggrin.gif

By the way just want to ask is there a provision saying that as long as you fail a core module you definitely need to resit it or there is no such thing at all?
In my department, it's about collecting 100 out of 120 credits and at least 50% average, then you can progress for Honours degree. If you fail that, then it's ordinary degree (no honour) for you. That's my department though, not sure if it applies uni-wide.
tanjinjack
post Dec 30 2010, 06:19 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(berylyc @ Dec 30 2010, 05:44 PM)
Nottingham University accept diploma holder in pharmacy?
I think it's negative if you are looking for 2nd year entry. Not sure if it qualifies for your 1st year entry or not. It's after all, the top course in this campus, also the only one that must be completed in the UK, imagine the quality control imposed.
tanjinjack
post Jan 2 2011, 06:23 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(entryman @ Jan 2 2011, 06:09 PM)

Can someone kindly help me with the above question?

I'm new to this topic.

Not sure where I went wrong in the above, probably understanding of the basic idea is wrong?

Ahh the agony of MS Paint....

Btw, if there's no x in front of the e,
which means if it's directly 2e instead of 2xe,
then it would be quite straightforward and simple.

But in this case, not sure if I'm correct.
If it's an integral of (AB), you cannot split into integral of A and integral of B. You can only do that if it's integral of (A+B).

That looks like integration-by-parts to me, can chain rule do the trick also?

EDIT: Yeah, it's the painful integration by part.

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: Jan 2 2011, 06:26 PM

12 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0292sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:12 PM